Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous.
Having read about Bob Skinner for years, liked some books better than others, they all have one thing in common, a good story. This one does not disappoint. A welcome back to characters old and new always dominated by Big Bob, who has certainly put himself about a bit! No point a review telling the story before you read it, but I thoroughly recommend it, however it would...
Published 7 months ago by Mendel

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a mixture
Bob Skinner is back, although this time he's based in Glasgow in his new role as Chief Constable of Strathclyde. As he gets to grip with his new role, he is also coming to terms with his re-blossoming relationship with Sarah Grace, the former second Mrs Skinner.
While in theory his new position means he's hands off, he becomes embroiled in an ongoing murder case in...
Published 7 months ago by Bookworm58


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous., 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read about Bob Skinner for years, liked some books better than others, they all have one thing in common, a good story. This one does not disappoint. A welcome back to characters old and new always dominated by Big Bob, who has certainly put himself about a bit! No point a review telling the story before you read it, but I thoroughly recommend it, however it would be of great help if you knew the back stories of the main characters. Waiting now for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a mixture, 14 May 2014
Bob Skinner is back, although this time he's based in Glasgow in his new role as Chief Constable of Strathclyde. As he gets to grip with his new role, he is also coming to terms with his re-blossoming relationship with Sarah Grace, the former second Mrs Skinner.
While in theory his new position means he's hands off, he becomes embroiled in an ongoing murder case in Edinburgh as it involves a former adversary. Running parallel to this investigation is the problems being caused by the disappearance of the new Superintendent and his wife.

While I enjoyed the book, as I'm already a Bob Skinner fan, I must admit I found the cast of characters a bit bewildering and hard to keep up with, particularly in relation to the extended family/consorts of the murdered woman (though that could equally well be due to my age and inability to concentrate!). I also felt there was a lot more emphasis of explaining who was who in relation to Bob Skinner and the police structure than I remember from previous books. This I'm sure is due in part to trying to fill in the background for new readers, and also maybe in part to Skinner not being the main investigator.

I'm not sure how future books will work if he maintains his position as Chief Constable, as his character for me, works best when he is directly involved in investigations. Although the ending does leave his future undecided so who knows what's in store.

I received a review copy of this book via Net galley in return for an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good old skinner, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good story but found all the subplots confusing. It's been a while
Since I read the. Last story and had forgotten the subtext of the others in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IT IS GOOD BUT HAS DONE BETTER, 8 Jun 2014
By 
des one (bishopton U.K) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
His previous books that have more Skinner in them, are a more exciting read. There seems to be more police characters in this story ,which I think is a pity.This of course is my opion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tale, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
again Jardine keeps us in suspense to the last chapter with a final twist in the tail. very believable characters and well structured sub plots. bring on the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars life of Skinner revisited, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book brings together a number if stories from the last few novels. It updates Bob, now in Strathclyde, and now back with wife number 2. It also shows the promotions if the officers we have got used to. A body is washed without a head but is soon identified as a relative of one of the old Edinburgh criminal firms and it all takes off from there. Jardine does his usual magic in weaving the stories together to come to a slightly surprising ending. Can't wait for the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Author lost his touch, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series of books about Bob Skjnner used to be really good, but the last two have lost the impetus. This book has so many different characters it is difficult to follow the plot and the outcome is so predictable, yet should have been mentioned in previous books and was not. Poor quality, will not read any subsequent novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Skinner, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read every Skinner book so far and would give most 4 or 5 stars but this story was not the page turner most of the others have been. I suppose there have been so many books now that there is inevitably too many reminders about past events/characters which made it harder to keep reading. Maybe Skinner should retire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not up to usual standard of writing. Story predictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews