Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner
Dead Money is a detective story that is a real page turner that kept you guessing. The book reminded me of similar good books by Peter James and Ian Rankin. The storyline is strong and easy to follow, I have found some detective stories get me lost and end up going back to be able to read forward. Dead Money leads you through with the odd twist in a well written story...
Published on 19 Jan. 2013 by Alex

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent read
A decent introduction to the team from Lincolnshire Police as they investigate a murder perpetrated in a flat in a supposedly secure block. There is always a weak spot however . . . Someone with malicious intent has access that no-one knows about. Inspector Amos follows the usual routine of investigating a murder, but when that isn't yielding results he turns to less...
Published 18 months ago by Aurora


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner, 19 Jan. 2013
By 
Dead Money is a detective story that is a real page turner that kept you guessing. The book reminded me of similar good books by Peter James and Ian Rankin. The storyline is strong and easy to follow, I have found some detective stories get me lost and end up going back to be able to read forward. Dead Money leads you through with the odd twist in a well written story that will have many detective/crime book fans hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable read, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good story, good likeable and realistic characters, keeps you wanting to know what happens next. I have two complaints with the book though, the ending is very abrupt and the book was not proof read as there are many extra words eg; the the ! Otherwise I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent read, 26 Aug. 2013
By 
Aurora (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A decent introduction to the team from Lincolnshire Police as they investigate a murder perpetrated in a flat in a supposedly secure block. There is always a weak spot however . . . Someone with malicious intent has access that no-one knows about. Inspector Amos follows the usual routine of investigating a murder, but when that isn't yielding results he turns to less conventional methods to trap the killer. He may not be the most congenial of personalities but he gets the job done. Although I have read the follow on book in the series, I hope that Rodney Hobson fleshes out the character more in any subsequent books.

If I had read this one first I'm not sure that I would have gone on to read the next book Unlikely Graves (A Detective Inspector Paul Amos Lincolnshire Mystery)which really would have been a shame. That isn't to say that this book isn't worth reading, because it is, just that the sequel is better. It has passed a pleasant hour or so between chores on a Bank Holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to read and captures your attention from the very beginning. I look forward to the next novel from Hobson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 28 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. B. Maltby - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is an easy read, good story line with believable characters. It is the first Rodney Hobson book that I have read, but will not be the last!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite an easy read, 24 Mar. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (dundee, scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Found this one easy to read with a plot that does not get too contrived. Routine thriller with a fairly weak plot. Fine bedtime reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dead money, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very readable but didn't' hold me on the edge of the seat.
I feel it could have been more exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 12 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book the ending let it down a little but it kept me going to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 12 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I pick these types of book to pass away the hours on long journeys.
A good read and will no doubt look for more of this author/series in the future - although I am never one to read books by the same author in quick succession
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First In series for me, 12 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story line seemed a bit of a struggle sometimes and the characters slow to emerge. I would read another in the series but would look quite closely at the preview and other reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews