Customer Reviews


556 Reviews
5 star:
 (350)
4 star:
 (82)
3 star:
 (75)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better Action In Extended Cut
The Expendables 3: Extended Edition (Blu-Ray).

Blu-Ray Info.
Language: English

Resolution: 1080p
Audio:
English: Dolby Atmos
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1

Subtitles: English, Spanish
Region B/2
Aspect Ratio: 2.35 : 1
Audio: English DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1
Number of discs:...
Published 5 months ago by Timelord-007

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Extended Version" actually adds very little.
Having seen and enjoyed both Expendables movies this one disappointed me with its 12A rating. I still saw the movie and the action scenes were still impressive enough for me to enjoy but the bloodless gunshots and stab wounds made it just that little less enjoyable compared to the previous two. Call me a sicko if you wish but when I see someone getting shot with a 50 cal...
Published 5 months ago by D. Fenwick


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better Action In Extended Cut, 28 Nov. 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Expendables 3: Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Expendables 3: Extended Edition (Blu-Ray).

Blu-Ray Info.
Language: English

Resolution: 1080p
Audio:
English: Dolby Atmos
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1

Subtitles: English, Spanish
Region B/2
Aspect Ratio: 2.35 : 1
Audio: English DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1
Number of discs: 1
Classification: 15
Studio: Lions Gate Home Entertainment UK Ltd
Running Time 126 Minutes (Theatrical)
131 Minutes (Extended Unrated Edtion)

Special Features.
- The Expendables 3: Extended Edition Exclusive on Blu-ray featuring 6 minutes of extra action.
- The Expendables 3 Documentary
- New Blood: Stacked & Jacked
- The Total Action Package
- Gag Reel
- Extended Scene: Christmas Runs The Gauntlet with Jason Statham
- Also contains the theatrical version

Box Office.
Budget: $90 million
Box office Gross: $206.2 million

Cast.
Sylvester Stallone as Barney Ross
Jason Statham as Lee Christmas
Antonio Banderas as Galgo
Jet Li as Yin Yang
Wesley Snipes as Doctor Death
Dolph Lundgren as Gunner Jensen
Kelsey Grammer as Bonaparte
Randy Couture as Toll Road
Terry Crews as Hale Caesar
Mel Gibson as Conrad Stonebanks
Harrison Ford as Max Drummer
Arnold Schwarzenegger as Trench Mauser
Kellan Lutz as John Smilee
Ronda Rousey as Luna
Glen Powell as Thorn
Victor Ortiz as Mars
Robert Davi as Goran Vata

Trivia.
1)Bruce Willis was set to reprise his role of Mr. Church, at a salary of $3 million ($750,000 per day for four consecutive days). When he demanded $1 million per day instead, Sylvester Stallone & the producers refused, & he left the film. Within three days, Stallone was able to get Harrison Ford to replace the Church role as a new character Max Drummer.
2)While shooting an action scene in a truck Jason Statham almost suffered a fatal accident when the truck fell to the sea after brakes failed.
3)Sylvester Stallone tried to get Wesley Snipes to play the role taken by Terry Crews in The Expendables (2010). Crews went on to play Hale Caesar after Snipes declined due to legal matters related to his tax-evasion charges that prevented him from leaving the United States without the court's permission.
4)Although top billed, Jet Li has less than five minutes of screen presence.
5)In addition to his role of main villain, Mel Gibson was offered the chance to direct the film but he declined.
6)When Toll Road (Randy Couture) asks Doc (Wesley Snipes) why he got locked up Doc sarcastically replies: "Tax evasion". In 2008 Wesley Snipes was sentenced to three years in prison for tax evasion. He served from 2010 to 2013.
7)Sylvester Stallone offered a supporting role to Jackie Chan but Chan refused because he prefers to play a leading role.
8)Arnold Schwarzeneger's character twice quotes his previous films, "Get to the chopper" from Predator (1987) & "I lied" from Commando (1985).
9)Nicolas Cage was considered for the role of Bonaparte before Kelsey Grammer was cast.
10)At one point Mickey Rourke was set to reprise his role of Tool from The Expendables (2010).

What's The Story.
Barney Ross augments his team with new blood for a personal battle: to take down the sinister Conrad Stonebanks, the Expendables co-founder turned notorious arms trader who Barney was forced to kill, or so he thought.

Stonebanks, who cheated death once before, now is making it his mission to end The Expendables & is hell bent on wiping out Barney & every single one of his associates for good.

Timelord Thoughts.
'The Expendables 3' annoyed me when I heard the film was going to be a 12a rated movie as I felt Sly & Co had sold out the hardcore fans, & as a 39 yr old man I grew up watching Sly & Arnie in those classic 80's action flicks so I was disappointed to say the least & while the film was better than I was expected I could see where the cuts had been made to obtain the lower rating.

The good news however is that 'The Expendables 3' has been released on Blu-ray unrated inserting 6 minutes of action into the movie that does improves the movie a little by making it a (15) rated movie, the additional scenes mostly appear after the 50 minute mark with the first scene features Barney discussing the character of Conrad Stonebanks to his team on the plane & the bloodier action soon becomes is evident throughout the movies climatic final battle especially with characters Lee Christmas who you see stabbing bad guys with knives & shooting them in the face whilst using a thug as a human shield while Snipes as Doctor Death gets to do more as he has a great fight scene with knives & each character seems to have a few additional action scenes building up to the final fight that features a bloodier Barney Ross vs Stonebanks punch up & this should've been the version of the movie that was released in cinemas.

Sylvester Stallone who also co-writes this movie kicks ass in this third entry in the franchise as Barney Ross, Stallone who at 67 yrs old easily puts the younger action stars to shame while Jason Statham is always good value & shares a great chemistry with Stallone.

As for Arnold Schwarzenegger well he's well just Arnie who features mostly towards the end of the film as Trench mowing down villains with a big gun while smoking a cigar accompanied by Jet Li who briefly cameos as Yin Yang.

Dolph Lungdren is underused however as Gunner Jensen & the movie misses out on his characters eccentricity that usually allows for some great comedic value while Antonio Banderas is more annoying than anyone else playing newcomer Galgo while Wesley Snipes adds menace to his character Doc & fares a lot better in the unrated cut with his extended fight scenes.

As for the newcomers it's Ronda Rousey who comes out best as Luna who actually isn't to bad an actress & can certainly kick ass when shes on screen using her fighting skills to perfection while Kellan Lutz as John Smilee lacks any charisma who is,just plain dull & Glen Powell could've been edited from the movie for all the use he is in his part of Thorn.

Mel Gibson though is absolutely fantastic & scene steals every moment by adding a dark sinister hatred edge to main villain Conrad Stonebanks & allows his character to be ruthless & unpredictable & his scenes with Stallone are exceptionally good, yet the final fight between Barney & Stonebanks falls a little short as it doesn't take that long for Barney to kill Stonebanks even if the unrated cut is a little longer.

Stallone has written a decent enough script but it can't escape a few plot holes like why Barney wouldn't want his experienced crew to help him take out Stonebanks who abandons them & instead hires a new inexperienced crew members makes no sense & Sly should've kept to his original draft & had Terry Crews character Hale Caesar killed which would've added some character drama into the story & upped the stakes for Barneys revenge.

The extras on this Blu-ray release are pretty decent & the making of documentary is entertaining & insightful while the Blu-ray picture looks fantastic in high definition, with close-ups offering excellent fine detail even in the movies darker looking environments & also delivers a sharp, clear image while the sound 7.1 mix is astoundingly effective with things like explosions, gunfire & other mayhem while the dialogue comes through loud & clear even in the most explosive action sequences.

Overall, The Expendables 3," is a testosterone fuelled release that packs more blood, sweat & action into one film than other action movies of this type & delivers a great nostalgia fest while bringing in some newer blood & is far better movie it's unrated extended cut version than the bloodless 12a edition & for Stallone fan's is now well worth purchasing on Blu-ray for this improved cut.

Timelord Rating.
Theatrical Cut - 6/10
Unrated Cut - 8/10
Overall Rating.
7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Extended Version" actually adds very little., 19 Dec. 2014
By 
D. Fenwick "yowzer." (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Expendables 3: Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Having seen and enjoyed both Expendables movies this one disappointed me with its 12A rating. I still saw the movie and the action scenes were still impressive enough for me to enjoy but the bloodless gunshots and stab wounds made it just that little less enjoyable compared to the previous two. Call me a sicko if you wish but when I see someone getting shot with a 50 cal I expect to see some bits come off. Aside from the lack of blood the action scenes are still really cool to watch and the hand to hand combat is brilliant. Story wise, this is one of the better of the 3 movies. In short, with no spoilers, Barney Ross goes a mission to stop a terrorist and the terrorist turns out to be one the founding members of the Expendables Barney thought was dead. Go for a revenge/ rescue mission where hundreds of people die. The old crew don't have alot to do when Barney dumps them for a new crew none of which are memorable or interesting and Ronda Rousey is particularly cringe worthy to watch. So its nice and welcome when they get shoved aside for the old guys again. The only new character who's worth watching is Antonio Banderas who proves once again that it doesn't matter what he does he's brilliant. Overall the movie is worth a watch but its not as good as the other two.

As for the extended version well it adds virtually nothing of interest. A few extended fight scenes toward the end that are just as bloodless as the original version so I don't see why they bumped up the rating, I feel like its more a marketing thing since the 12A rating killed the movie at the cinema. I can't help but think they should have added more blood effects before the release on Blu Ray.

Like I said the movie is still good, its action scenes are fun and well executed even if the special effects are really ropey at times. It's a movie that knows what it wants to be and how to go about being it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOULD YOU LIKE TO HOLD MY GUN?, 28 July 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Expendables 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The film opens with the usual impossible rescue scene. This time it is to rescue Wesley Snipes who will be known as Dr. Death. To his dismay they did so because they needed a fifth for a mission, one that fails. Stallone must go after Mel Gibson, who is not dead, really, but decides to retire his team because he fears for their life. Kelsey Grammer helps him recruit a new team, one that is more akin to an MIB force which includes Kellen Lutz, Ronda Rousey, and Victor Ortiz. Things go their formulaic way and the old guys plus the very talkative Antonio Banderas join the picture...again.

Harrison Ford flew a helicopter like Hans Solo, Jet Li had a minor role that we can see expanding, and of course Arnold is back.

The film is lengthy and spends time to quickly develop all the new players. The banter was not as good as the previous films, but was still acceptable. Banderas' character has "Peter Sellers" potential as a screw up who seems to luck into things.

What best came out of this film was the potential for the next one.

Parental Guide: 1-2 F-bombs. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth the watch not better than previous two, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
WORST FILM IN SERIES - I felt the first one and even 2 felt like a real old school star cast good action, ok stories but I felt exited about them. This goes down the toilet but lets talk about what I like first.
1). Wesley snipes and Harrison ford, Mel Gibson are excellent additions to cast all have the best acting in film, Mel Gibson as the bad guy is very interesting also Harrison Ford has that old school act underlined with a little humour, Wesley snipes character has a lot of funny moments one of the more complex characters due to past don't go to jail again I need Blade!.
2). Action especially the beginning is the overtop fun come to expect from this series.
3). More dry comedic Humour you can only get from having a cast of action heroes like this.

Now I don't like the new members or the next generation as they are bland unremarkable might as well just be cardboard cut outs only interesting one is the female as she has the most to contribute to the film would have been better to cast a few more memorable cast members not pandering to the teen audience.
Story is not epic enough all feels pointless only a few moments like the tags dangling of dead members bad guy dead to easy.
special effects are sometimes a little B movie that's fine but they even drop below this like one of those films on Syfy channel.
Overall the idea of these films to get the greatest action cast assembled put them against a great enemy with a touch of story over the top action feel epic becomes watered down with this instalment.

Worth the watch but don't expect the ride of your life if want that watch Guardians of the Galaxy the action in that is more gruesome.

Arnold returns loved him in his latest film cannot wait for Conan and Terminator
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'O.T.T' - 'TONGUE-IN-CHEEK ACTION' --'HUGELY ENTERTAINING NEVERTHELESS', 10 Dec. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Expendables 3: Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Both the Theatrical and Extended Versions are on the Blu-ray release.
The film has a truly explosive beginning as a four-man team led by 'Barney Ross' (Sylvester Stallone) set about
releasing an old-pal 'Doc' (Wesley Snipes) after he's spent several years in captivity.
'Barney' needs the action-loving 'Doc' to join his team of Expendables on their next mission.
'Lee' (Jason Statham) 'Gunner Jensen' (Dolph Lundgren) 'Toll Road' (Randy Coulture) 'Caesar' (Terry Crews)
along with 'Barney' 'Doc' and piloted by 'Trench' (Arnold Schwartzenegger) head for the docks at 'Mogadishu'
After a fierce fire-fight a face from the past emerges 'Stonebanks' (Mel Gibson) who 'Barney' had believed he'd
killed long since.
After fighting their way of the Docks, 'Barney' realizes his task is by no means concluded as a former partner turned
adversary who is more than equally resourceful is still out there.
'The Special-Ops Director 'Drummer' (Harrison Ford) wants the rogue leader as much as 'Barney' does, but, alive.
'Barney' no longer wanting to put his pals in danger sets about finding a younger and fitter team to help him capture
'Stonebanks',
After some searching with his agent a team is assembled, 'Luna' (Ronda Rousey) 'Mars' (Victor Ortiz) 'Thorn' (Glen
Powell) and 'Goran' (Robert Davi) turning down, for the time being that is 'Galgo' (Antonio Banderas)
Taking 'Stonebanks' will be hard enough if not suicidal, the team have just 36 hours to complete the task, it has been
determined that 'Stonehouse' is in 'Bucharest' almost certainly selling weaponry.
All goes well....until it doesn't......things go pear-shaped seeing 'Barney's' new recruits being held, 'Sonehouse' knowing
his old pal will be back to attempt to save them.....'Galgo' along with his old team will join 'Barney'
A showdown between the two, inevitable......
This is an exciting action-packed roller-coaster ride with the usual measure of humour along the way,must admit some of
the action sequences were that good, it sure made me smile.....if you like fast paced action movies - this is a must see.
A Star-Studded Action Feast.
Great Picture and Sound Quality Throughout.
Special Features -
* The Expendables 3 Documentary
* New Blood - Stacked and Jacked Featurette
* The Total Action Package Featurette
* Gag Reel
* Christmas Runs The Gauntlet - Extended Scene
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, Could have been better, 13 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have just finished watching this Extended Cut version of Expendables 3, which I purchased on Amazon Instant Video in SD for £9.99 n.b that price went up to £11.99 after 2 days while the HD Version is £13.99. I don't know how this pricing structure works because that ain't cheap. Anyway I brought this SD version which comes with 84 mins Bonus Content (which can be found on Blu ray version only) and which plays straight after the film. I have not watched this in cinema and am not a fan of this franchise, I thought the first film was terrible the second was slightly better if not great. This third outing is no great shakes and I don't think the extra footage makes the film any better, it is basically more of the same just with the new addition of younger stars who replace the old team for the first 3rd of the movie which is a mistake because they are somewhat dull cliched characters and it is only when the older stars come back in the film starts to kick into gear but by that time the film is near the end. It is a case of way too many characters and a weak script. Mel Gibson makes a hissable bad guy but doesn't get to do much and seems to be dispatched fairly easily by Stallone, who along with Schwarzenegger & co just seems to go through the motions. Wesley Snipes seems to be the sole standout as his character is quite charismatic. The film in the end is just okay, the making off and gag reel seem better than the overall film and that's saying something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The law of diminishing returns..., 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Expendables 3: Extended Edition [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It's been a month since I saw this, and for a film loaded with action stars, I'm struggling to remember any truly standout action sequences. The whole film is over-the-top and dramatic, but it feels overly familiar and obvious.
As the original gang, all of the returning cast are good fun, and the new additions of Snipes and Banderas are very amusing and flashy. The addition of younger stars does feel like a gimmick, but they hold their own. However the action sequences are now starting to feel tired. All of them have the feeling of 'how can we blow something up?' and you have to wonder how a team this bone-headedly stupid have lived long enough for a third movie.
Ironically, for a man considered a Hollywood pariah, Mel Gibson's scenes (barring a boring mis-step at an art gallery) are the ones that bring the film to life. Almost every appearance of his character improves the movie with charisma, action or snarling dialogue.
I love a good action movie, and loved the first 'The Expendables', but with every new iteration, the films are degenerating closer to the direct-to-video roots that many of the actors are trying to escape from - and I can't help feeling that without a dramatically more inventive part 4, this may well toll the end of the road for the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Feel cheated..., 2 Jan. 2015
By 
This review is from: The Expendables 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a nice film. The DVD version is the Theatrical version only. Blu-ray features Extended Cut + Theatrical Cut and Over 2 hours extra material. I feel cheated because I do not have a Blu-ray and only have a DVD player. There are others like myself missing out. Why weren’t the Extended +Theatrical Cut's, with the extra material released on DVD? The manufacturers are missing out on something here. I have given 3 stars because of this, but it would have been 5 otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 12 Rating killed the movie..., 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Expendables 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Stallone has since admitted that making this a 12 rating was a huge mistake and cost the production a lot in lost revenue... why is that? simple... with all this killing and violence, and couple of swear words, there's no way on earth that it should be anything less than a 15 rating, probably an 18 rating... to maximise the earning potential.... you don't do that by down grading the rating... because a 12 rating means a kids film - not an adult film....

Before release, when I heard there would be all those 'extra' action heroes I thought this is going to be overkill - too many cooks spoil the broth kind of thing - that is countered by longer running time from the 2nd movie, we get to see just enough of each one to know what they are doing there.... and they seem to fit together.... is it still too much? maybe? after all quality should always win any debate between quality and quantity....

The action and fighting scenes are just as good as the second movie, but there's a huge 'downtime' in the middle section of this one, where he dumps the old team and tries to build a new one, and we don't see the old crew for a good 30 mins or so... which gives it a strange feeling... there is humour and banter as well, like there always needs to be, but because this is a 12 rating, everything seems too humane and a bit too friendly, the evil intention or the adult elements are therefore watered down.... which inevitably means this was never going to be as good as the 2nd movie...and alas it's not.... the other thing is that the original team don't evolve - their own stroies hasn't moved on from the first movie, we don't get to see any of their lives etc... there's too much focus on the new team... and Antonio Banderas' character is just annoying....

Mel Gibson does a great job as Stonebanks though - the original founding member who turns 'real bad' and there's a lot of moralising going on when he tries to convince Stallone who the 'real bad guy' is.... Stallone, afterall thinks he's already killed him, and has no idea he's still alive... which does create a lot of tension, but again there's no real malevolence because of the rating... kids stuff... The plot is a bit thin on the ground, and there's no 'love' story added either... which makes it feel a bit emptier....

Overall, this was good viewing, but that downgrading, as Stallone has admitted, spoiled the movie... so we're left with just another ensemble action movie - nothing really special, extra-ordinary or rave reviews. 6.2/10 on IMDB is about right... the overall box office taking were also down on the others... maybe number 4 will return to the real action stuff and much grittier story lines, where we get to know a bit more about the original team...watch this space....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars there must be one in the near future as there are still more action heros to include in this great series., 27 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A classic action movie script, from start to finish there are shoot outs and all, or nearly all, your action hero icons. I watched it Boxing Day and it was a winner with everybody in the house. Can't wait to see if they make another one, i.e. The Expendables 4, there must be one in the near future as there are still so many more action heros to include in this great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Expendables 3: Extended Edition [Blu-ray]
The Expendables 3: Extended Edition [Blu-ray] by Patrick Hughes (Blu-ray - 2014)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews