Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie. Bad judgement.
What a damn shame this well made movie has bombed in the states. it's performance seems to be sluggish in other territories
across the world as well. Stallone pulled all the stops out with this one and it shows. However, a lot of the blame rests with him.
The whole fanbase rose up as one more or less against the 12A/PG13 rating, but still, He and Avi Lerner...
Published 2 months ago by john

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Expendable but fun
From the moment I saw the trailer for Expendables 3 I had a feeling it would slightly disappoint and it does in some ways.I enjoyed the first one and the second one is my favourite but this third instalment falls just a bit short for me.There are some very good moments like the opening two action sequences and the final huge action scene,Mel Gibson is great as the bad guy...
Published 1 month ago by J wade


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Expendable but fun, 8 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Expendables 3 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
From the moment I saw the trailer for Expendables 3 I had a feeling it would slightly disappoint and it does in some ways.I enjoyed the first one and the second one is my favourite but this third instalment falls just a bit short for me.There are some very good moments like the opening two action sequences and the final huge action scene,Mel Gibson is great as the bad guy and Wesley Snipes is a welcome addition to the series.The main problem is,there are just too many characters and not enough time is given to any of them apart from Stallone who is in almost every scene,so many actors here are underused like Schwarzenegger,Harrison Ford,Dolph Lungdren and Jason Statham do not get enough screen time,instead we get Stallone (Barney Ross) putting together a new and younger team and it just does not work and we then get far less of the characters we do want to see.Expendables 3 could and should have been so much better,with such a big cast you expect great things but never quite happens.All that said though,it is worth a watch and there are some very good moments and plenty of fun to be had but it just does not live up to the first two films.If you want a good fun action movie,then this is for you.Could have been better but still enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie. Bad judgement., 21 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Expendables 3 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
What a damn shame this well made movie has bombed in the states. it's performance seems to be sluggish in other territories
across the world as well. Stallone pulled all the stops out with this one and it shows. However, a lot of the blame rests with him.
The whole fanbase rose up as one more or less against the 12A/PG13 rating, but still, He and Avi Lerner would not listen. They
tried this crap with EXP2 when Chuck Norris was making kid friendly noises, but thankfully, ignored him. The point is, these movies
do not work in the 12A arena. They are adult action adventure movies aimed at an older demographic who appreciate the golden
era of Joel Silver, Walter Hill and Tony Scott. The kid's of today aren't interested in Stallone et al, they see him, as I saw John
Wayne back in the 60's. As A Grandad figure. This whole business of paying homage to 80's action flicks has gotten old now and needs to stop, because they just aren't making money. Look at the box office performance of Sly, Arnie and Jason Statham's
last several movies. These guy's are my absolute action heroes, but they need to change and adapt. Or, take supporting roles
in differant types of action thrillers. At the time of writing, Rambo 5 has been announced. God forbid that Sly will go all kid friendly liberal with it. I'd hate to see rubber suckers on the end of Rambo's arrows. It's true that movie's can go further these days with
a 12A. Look at Bond and the excellent MCU. But, some things shouldn't be changed. Just imagine if The Raid 1 & 2 had
been edited down for 12A . The combined running time would only have lasted an hour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOULD YOU LIKE TO HOLD MY GUN?,, 28 July 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Expendables 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The film opens with the usual impossible rescue scene. This time it is to rescue Wesley Snipes who will be known as Dr. Death. To his dismay they did so because they needed a fifth for a mission, one that fails. Stallone must go after Mel Gibson, who is not dead, really, but decides to retire his team because he fears for their life. Kelsey Grammer helps him recruit a new team, one that is more akin to an MIB force which includes Kellen Lutz, Ronda Rousey, and Victor Ortiz. Things go their formulaic way and the old guys plus the very talkative Antonio Banderas join the picture...again.

Harrison Ford flew a helicopter like Hans Solo, Jet Li had a minor role that we can see expanding, and of course Arnold is back.

The film is lengthy and spends time to quickly develop all the new players. The banter was not as good as the previous films, but was still acceptable. Banderas' character has "Peter Sellers" potential as a screw up who seems to luck into things.

What best came out of this film was the potential for the next one.

Parental Guide: 1-2 F-bombs. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Expendables Yet!, 31 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Expendables 3 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
After seeing all the negative reviews on here my expectations were lowered a great deal, however sure enough Stallone and the gang (with a few new additions) did it again, but this time a hell of a lot better. Seriously ignore every negative review out there. You will love this movie, sure all the blood and gore is taken out of this one but it doesn't take anything away in terms of how good the movie is. Anyway, this movie has a much better story than the previous two movies and has much better character development and even the characters we are only introduced to in this movie are still very likable and by the end of the movie it feels like they've been there all along; in particular, Galgo played (very well) by Antonio Banderas who is very funny and fits into the expendables perfectly and also there is Drummer played by Harrison Ford who is much better in the CIA role than Bruce Willis was, and finally Doctor Death played by Wesley Snipes. But of all the characters the most memorable was definitely Conrad Stonebanks played extremely well by Mel Gibson. There was great chemistry between all the actors involved allowing the movie to flow better. Additionally, the addition of 4 new young actors (which i was unsure about at first) worked very well in the movie because at first you think they are just going to take over (which i didn't like) when Barney retires his old team for these young-lings, but it was handled well as they were kidnapped and the old expendables were pulled in again at the end to rescue them. Also even though i had no idea who any of the younger actors were, i still liked them and they fit in well. The action is also very good, over the top but very good. There were a few bits of bad cgi at the start but it didn't ruin the movie. And i also liked all the inside jokes (wesley snipes tax evasion) and all the one liners, old and new. I was really happy when Arnie got to say some of his classic one liners: "Get to the Chopper" and "I Lied". All the actors featured in the movie got their moments. This was the funniest expendables movie also, mostly because of Antonio Banderas. I'm not expecting everyone who goes and see's this movie to enjoy it as much as i did, because i think you enjoy it a hell of a lot more if you like all the actors in it but you will still enjoy it if you go and see it, a must for any action movie fan. And finally this had everything you want out of an action movie, best expendables yet! 9/10 Bring On Expendables 4!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Expand and flop, 16 Oct 2014
By 
This review is from: The Expendables 3 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I only wanna give it two and a half! Main topic of note, "STARING JET LI", but no martial arts though! Just shoots an uzi with Arnie for Five minutes and one other 'blink and you miss me' sceen. You see the names Jet Li or Jackie Chan you wanna see a whole lotta martial arts whoop-ass, right! The screenplay should have been thrown on the floor and then re-written, then burned! This is the type of movie that should have been sent straight to the dvd shop! But with a cast like this, it should have been a whole lot more. Stallone who directed the first two, did not so here, and I think that is what is missing. New Rocky on his mind!? Maybe? Harrison Ford may have not shot many sceens here in this movie, but acts well as a FBI/CIA agent. Gibson, as we all know, does a nut-case well, and Snipes, oh how we have all missed you! He grabs your attention from the beginning. Statham shines again, but I feel he was used in the wrong way in this outting of the Expendables. Banderas does well, but the dialog set for his character is weak. Furthermore, as meantioned in other reviews, there is too much Stallone, but I believe not enough Crews, Lundgren, Couture and Li.... and that matter, bloodshed. The movie is too long, and fails to maintain ones attention, but still alright to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars German Blu ray release Extended Cut, 17 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Expendables 3 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Just looked at Amazon Germany, They are getting the Extended cut 132 minutes, the Uk release runs at 126 minutes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Expendables 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Saw the film in cinema and was brilliant would highly recommend for people to buy and watch it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great start and opening action sequence but again falls short of the story and thrills of the 1st movie, 29 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: The Expendables 3 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Expendables has so much potential, but the action, plot and experience is jarred by the huge ever expanding cast, making no chronology of the 1, 2 and 3 as every movie more Expendables appear. This time, expendables 3 looked good to start, it had action, good humour and violence, but when the 'new' younger Expendables joined up the film went to pot.

I feel if the new expendables had joined with Stonebanks or been killed it would have tied the movie up, but it ended poorly. BEER, BOTTLE BANGING "CHEERS" was the ending, all now somehow friends.

Plot 6/10
Action 5/10 (ruined by 12A rating)
Thrills 6/10
Acting 7/10

Not as good as the original in 2010
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars give it a miss, watch 1 & 2 instead., 23 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Expendables 3 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Well here we go again another movie with the same old faces. What is wrong with this film, well firstly they did it better in the first two films, secondly you rarely see the main stars, they must have just been given the paycheck then gone on holiday with their pay. The newbies are okay but they are given way over the top roles to play, in one scene a motorbike on a self made ramp made out of concrete then jumping off the bike in mid air to land safely whilst being shot at.
This has been done a whole of a lot better in other films, don't get me wrong i am a fan of the first two films but now it is time to call it a day, the acting was quite bad, the action to way over the top, the main actors you all want to see have cameos.
Go and see another film you will be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas is coming....., 30 July 2014
This review is from: The Expendables 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The team comes to loggerheads with Conrad Stonebanks, who co-founded The Expendables with Barney. Stonebanks became a ruthless arms trader and someone who Barney was forced to kill... or so he thought.

Stonebanks, who cheated death once before, now is making it his mission to destroy The Expendables, but Barney has other plans.

Barney brings in a new era of Expendables team members, recruiting individuals who are younger, faster and more tech-savvy.

The latest mission becomes a clash of old-school versus high-tech expertise......

it's third time lucky for Stallones' massive nostalgia project, and once again, you had to be a huge fan of eighties, and early nineties action to really enjoy the absurdity of it all.

bar van Damme, The cast is the best yet, and kudos to Willis for being so greedy, as we are treated to Ford in his best supporting role in years, and even channeling Solo in the films action packed finale.

Other great additions are Snipes, who really plays it down as the newly rescued from prison (tax evasion perhaps?) member, banderas, who does overdo it a little as the comic relief, but is so full of energy, and Gibson, who hasn't been this brillaint since Payback. seriously, dismiss all of his bad press, and you realise what a phenomenal actor the guy is. Not to mention a memorable villain.

The downsides though are a pretty big deal. The idea of the young crew, isn't very well thought out, and wastes a huge chunk of the movie with recruiting, Stallones ridiculous outfits, and some very poor acting. And with this, we get very little screen time in the second act with the regulars, and it feels like they are more of a support, than the primary members.

And Li is in it for a little over five minutes, and didn't really need to be in it.

But if you put a lot into a film, you have to take a little out, and the gamble does pay off, but only just.

The action is wonderful, and the chemistry between all the charachters is still evident, and there are sparks of genius from series regulars, Lundgren, Schwarzeneggar, and Coutre, who is looking more like Gary Barlow everyday.

It's a nostalgia trip, plain and simple, and I can understand why the film will be trashed by the critics, but then, Commando, Cobra, Red Scorpion, and Tango and Cash did back them, and they are now cult classics.

And any film that warms the heart when Arnie shouts 'Get To The Chopppaaaaahhhh!', has to have the right intentions, doesn't it?

Better than the first, as good as the second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Expendables 3 [Blu-ray]
The Expendables 3 [Blu-ray] by Patrick Hughes (Blu-ray - 2014)
£13.00
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews