Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 12 Rating killed the movie...
Stallone has since admitted that making this a 12 rating was a huge mistake and cost the production a lot in lost revenue... why is that? simple... with all this killing and violence, and couple of swear words, there's no way on earth that it should be anything less than a 15 rating, probably an 18 rating... to maximise the earning potential.... you don't do that by down...
Published 5 days ago by whitedragon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "Extended Version" actually adds very little.
Having seen and enjoyed both Expendables movies this one disappointed me with its 12A rating. I still saw the movie and the action scenes were still impressive enough for me to enjoy but the bloodless gunshots and stab wounds made it just that little less enjoyable compared to the previous two. Call me a sicko if you wish but when I see someone getting shot with a 50 cal...
Published 3 days ago by D. Fenwick


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 12 Rating killed the movie..., 17 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Expendables 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Stallone has since admitted that making this a 12 rating was a huge mistake and cost the production a lot in lost revenue... why is that? simple... with all this killing and violence, and couple of swear words, there's no way on earth that it should be anything less than a 15 rating, probably an 18 rating... to maximise the earning potential.... you don't do that by down grading the rating... because a 12 rating means a kids film - not an adult film....

Before release, when I heard there would be all those 'extra' action heroes I thought this is going to be overkill - too many cooks spoil the broth kind of thing - that is countered by longer running time from the 2nd movie, we get to see just enough of each one to know what they are doing there.... and they seem to fit together.... is it still too much? maybe? after all quality should always win any debate between quality and quantity....

The action and fighting scenes are just as good as the second movie, but there's a huge 'downtime' in the middle section of this one, where he dumps the old team and tries to build a new one, and we don't see the old crew for a good 30 mins or so... which gives it a strange feeling... there is humour and banter as well, like there always needs to be, but because this is a 12 rating, everything seems too humane and a bit too friendly, the evil intention or the adult elements are therefore watered down.... which inevitably means this was never going to be as good as the 2nd movie...and alas it's not.... the other thing is that the original team don't evolve - their own stroies hasn't moved on from the first movie, we don't get to see any of their lives etc... there's too much focus on the new team... and Antonio Banderas' character is just annoying....

Mel Gibson does a great job as Stonebanks though - the original founding member who turns 'real bad' and there's a lot of moralising going on when he tries to convince Stallone who the 'real bad guy' is.... Stallone, afterall thinks he's already killed him, and has no idea he's still alive... which does create a lot of tension, but again there's no real malevolence because of the rating... kids stuff... The plot is a bit thin on the ground, and there's no 'love' story added either... which makes it feel a bit emptier....

Overall, this was good viewing, but that downgrading, as Stallone has admitted, spoiled the movie... so we're left with just another ensemble action movie - nothing really special, extra-ordinary or rave reviews. 6.2/10 on IMDB is about right... the overall box office taking were also down on the others... maybe number 4 will return to the real action stuff and much grittier story lines, where we get to know a bit more about the original team...watch this space....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extended Cut Delivers A Solid Expendables Movie, 28 Nov 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Expendables 3: Extended Edition (Blu-Ray).

Blu-Ray Info.
Language: English

Resolution: 1080p
Audio:
English: Dolby Atmos
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1

Subtitles: English, Spanish
Region B/2
Aspect Ratio: 2.35 : 1
Audio: English DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1
Number of discs: 1
Classification: 15
Studio: Lions Gate Home Entertainment UK Ltd
Running Time 126 Minutes (Theatrical)
131 Minutes (Extended Unrated Edtion)

Special Features.
- The Expendables 3: Extended Edition Exclusive on Blu-ray featuring 6 minutes of extra action.
- The Expendables 3 Documentary
- New Blood: Stacked & Jacked
- The Total Action Package
- Gag Reel
- Extended Scene: Christmas Runs The Gauntlet with Jason Statham
- Also contains the theatrical version

Box Office.
Budget: $90 million
Box office Gross: $206.2 million

Cast.
Sylvester Stallone as Barney Ross
Jason Statham as Lee Christmas
Antonio Banderas as Galgo
Jet Li as Yin Yang
Wesley Snipes as Doctor Death
Dolph Lundgren as Gunner Jensen
Kelsey Grammer as Bonaparte
Randy Couture as Toll Road
Terry Crews as Hale Caesar
Mel Gibson as Conrad Stonebanks
Harrison Ford as Max Drummer
Arnold Schwarzenegger as Trench Mauser
Kellan Lutz as John Smilee
Ronda Rousey as Luna
Glen Powell as Thorn
Victor Ortiz as Mars
Robert Davi as Goran Vata

Trivia.
1)Bruce Willis was set to reprise his role of Mr. Church, at a salary of $3 million ($750,000 per day for four consecutive days). When he demanded $1 million per day instead, Sylvester Stallone & the producers refused, & he left the film. Within three days, Stallone was able to get Harrison Ford to replace the Church role as a new character Max Drummer.
2)While shooting an action scene in a truck Jason Statham almost suffered a fatal accident when the truck fell to the sea after brakes failed.
3)Sylvester Stallone tried to get Wesley Snipes to play the role taken by Terry Crews in The Expendables (2010). Crews went on to play Hale Caesar after Snipes declined due to legal matters related to his tax-evasion charges that prevented him from leaving the United States without the court's permission.
4)Although top billed, Jet Li has less than five minutes of screen presence.
5)In addition to his role of main villain, Mel Gibson was offered the chance to direct the film but he declined.
6)When Toll Road (Randy Couture) asks Doc (Wesley Snipes) why he got locked up Doc sarcastically replies: "Tax evasion". In 2008 Wesley Snipes was sentenced to three years in prison for tax evasion. He served from 2010 to 2013.
7)Sylvester Stallone offered a supporting role to Jackie Chan but Chan refused because he prefers to play a leading role.
8)Arnold Schwarzeneger's character twice quotes his previous films, "Get to the chopper" from Predator (1987) & "I lied" from Commando (1985).
9)Nicolas Cage was considered for the role of Bonaparte before Kelsey Grammer was cast.
10)At one point Mickey Rourke was set to reprise his role of Tool from The Expendables (2010).

What's The Story.
Barney Ross augments his team with new blood for a personal battle: to take down the sinister Conrad Stonebanks, the Expendables co-founder turned notorious arms trader who Barney was forced to kill, or so he thought.

Stonebanks, who cheated death once before, now is making it his mission to end The Expendables & is hell bent on wiping out Barney & every single one of his associates for good.

Timelord Thoughts.
'The Expendables 3' annoyed me when I heard the film was going to be a 12a rated movie as I felt Sly & Co had sold out the hardcore fans, & as a 39 yr old man I grew up watching Sly & Arnie in those classic 80's action flicks so I was disappointed to say the least & while the film was better than I was expected I could see where the cuts had been made to obtain the lower rating.

The good news however is that 'The Expendables 3' has been released on Blu-ray unrated inserting 6 minutes of action into the movie that does improves the movie a little by making it a (15) rated movie, the additional scenes mostly appear after the 50 minute mark with the first scene features Barney discussing the character of Conrad Stonebanks to his team on the plane & the bloodier action soon becomes is evident throughout the movies climatic final battle especially with characters Lee Christmas who you see stabbing bad guys with knives & shooting them in the face whilst using a thug as a human shield while Snipes as Doctor Death gets to do more as he has a great fight scene with knives & each character seems to have a few additional action scenes building up to the final fight that features a bloodier Barney Ross vs Stonebanks punch up & this should've been the version of the movie that was released in cinemas.

Sylvester Stallone who also co-writes this movie kicks ass in this third entry in the franchise as Barney Ross, Stallone who at 67 yrs old easily puts the younger action stars to shame while Jason Statham is always good value & shares a great chemistry with Stallone.

As for Arnold Schwarzenegger well he's well just Arnie who features mostly towards the end of the film as Trench mowing down villains with a big gun while smoking a cigar accompanied by Jet Li who briefly cameos as Yin Yang.

Dolph Lungdren is underused however as Gunner Jensen & the movie misses out on his characters eccentricity that usually allows for some great comedic value while Antonio Banderas is more annoying than anyone else playing newcomer Galgo while Wesley Snipes adds menace to his character Doc & fares a lot better in the unrated cut with his extended fight scenes.

As for the newcomers it's Ronda Rousey who comes out best as Luna who actually isn't to bad an actress & can certainly kick ass when shes on screen using her fighting skills to perfection while Kellan Lutz as John Smilee lacks any charisma who is,just plain dull & Glen Powell could've been edited from the movie for all the use he is in his part of Thorn.

Mel Gibson though is absolutely fantastic & scene steals every moment by adding a dark sinister hatred edge to main villain Conrad Stonebanks & allows his character to be ruthless & unpredictable & his scenes with Stallone are exceptionally good, yet the final fight between Barney & Stonebanks falls a little short as it doesn't take that long for Barney to kill Stonebanks even if the unrated cut is a little longer.

Stallone has written a decent enough script but it can't escape a few plot holes like why Barney wouldn't want his experienced crew to help him take out Stonebanks who abandons them & instead hires a new inexperienced crew members makes no sense & Sly should've kept to his original draft & had Terry Crews character Hale Caesar killed which would've added some character drama into the story & upped the stakes for Barneys revenge.

The extras on this Blu-ray release are pretty decent & the making of documentary is entertaining & insightful while the Blu-ray picture looks fantastic in high definition, with close-ups offering excellent fine detail even in the movies darker looking environments & also delivers a sharp, clear image while the sound 7.1 mix is astoundingly effective with things like explosions, gunfire & other mayhem while the dialogue comes through loud & clear even in the most explosive action sequences.

Overall, The Expendables 3," is a testosterone fuelled release that packs more blood, sweat & action into one film than other action movies of this type & delivers a great nostalgia fest while bringing in some newer blood & is far better movie it's unrated extended cut version than the bloodless 12a edition & for Stallone fan's is now well worth purchasing on Blu-ray for this improved cut.

Timelord Rating.
Theatrical Cut - 6/10
Unrated Cut - 8/10
Overall Rating.
7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "Extended Version" actually adds very little., 19 Dec 2014
By 
D. Fenwick "yowzer." (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having seen and enjoyed both Expendables movies this one disappointed me with its 12A rating. I still saw the movie and the action scenes were still impressive enough for me to enjoy but the bloodless gunshots and stab wounds made it just that little less enjoyable compared to the previous two. Call me a sicko if you wish but when I see someone getting shot with a 50 cal I expect to see some bits come off. Aside from the lack of blood the action scenes are still really cool to watch and the hand to hand combat is brilliant. Story wise, this is one of the better of the 3 movies. In short, with no spoilers, Barney Ross goes a mission to stop a terrorist and the terrorist turns out to be one the founding members of the Expendables Barney thought was dead. Go for a revenge/ rescue mission where hundreds of people die. The old crew don't have alot to do when Barney dumps them for a new crew none of which are memorable or interesting and Ronda Rousey is particularly cringe worthy to watch. So its nice and welcome when they get shoved aside for the old guys again. The only new character who's worth watching is Antonio Banderas who proves once again that it doesn't matter what he does he's brilliant. Overall the movie is worth a watch but its not as good as the other two.

As for the extended version well it adds virtually nothing of interest. A few extended fight scenes toward the end that are just as bloodless as the original version so I don't see why they bumped up the rating, I feel like its more a marketing thing since the 12A rating killed the movie at the cinema. I can't help but think they should have added more blood effects before the release on Blu Ray.

Like I said the movie is still good, its action scenes are fun and well executed even if the special effects are really ropey at times. It's a movie that knows what it wants to be and how to go about being it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE EXPENDABLES 3 [2014] [Extended Edition] [Blu-ray + Digital Ultraviolet], 19 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THE EXPENDABLES 3 [2014] [Extended Edition] [Blu-ray + Digital Ultraviolet] Big, Bruising and Brutal Action! Extended Edition Not Seen In Cinemas!

In ‘The Expendables 3’ Barney [Sylvester Stallone], Christmas [Jason Statham] and the rest of the team come face- to-face with an old enemy Conrad Stonebanks [Mel Gibson] and must fight old blood with new blood, and brings in a new era of Expendables team members, recruiting individuals who are younger, faster and more tech-savvy. The latest mission becomes a clash of classic old-school style versus high-tech expertise in the Expendables most personal battle yet. Featuring 6 minutes of extra action footage plus 84 minutes of extras included.

Cast: Sylvester Stallone, Jason Statham, Jet Li, Dolph Lundgren, Randy Couture, Terry Crews, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Wesley Snipes, Antonio Banderas, Mel Gibson, Harrison Ford, Kellan Lutz, Kelsey Grammer, Ronda Rousey, Victor Ortiz, Glen Powell and Robert Davi

Director: Patrick Hughes

Producers: Avi Lerner, Danny Lerner, John Thompson, Kevin King-Templeton and Les Weldon

Screenplay: Creighton Rothenberger, Katrin Benedikt and Sylvester Stallone

Composer: Brian Tyler

Cinematography: Peter Menzies Jr.

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.40:1

Audio: English: 7.1 Dolby ATMOS TrueHD Master Audio, English: 2.0 Dolby Digital English Description Audio and Spanish: 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround

Subtitles: English, English SDH and Spanish

Running Time: 126 minutes [Theatrical Version] and 131 minutes [Extended Version]

Number of discs: 1

Region: Region B/2

Studio: LIONSGATE Home Entertainment UK Ltd

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review: Say what you will about a cast of 80s action stars whose average age is over 55, but they can all still pack a powerful punch and kick all sorts of ass. I’m here to say that ‘The Expendables 3‘ is loads of awesome fun, with some good laughs, decent action scenes, and seven solid one-liners. With a movie like ‘Expendables 3‘, you have to walk into the cinema knowing what to expect. If you go in expecting something with a lot of depth and meaning, you’re going to be disappointed. But if you walk in expecting a fun thrill ride full of explosions, an impressive body count, and seeing your favourite action stars ham it up on the big screen, then you'll feel like you've won the lottery.

It’s good to see that Sylvester Stallone and his crew have finally realised what this ‘Expendables‘ franchise can be. Instead of trying to make a serious action film, they've learned that poking fun at each other and having a ball with the cast, script, and action really go a long way towards delivering a much better viewing experience. For example, they break the “fourth” wall quite a bit here with this third sequel, whether it be newcomer to the franchise Wesley Snipes saying he has been imprisoned for tax evasion or Stallone scouting a new possible member of his Elite team, who is rock climbing, and saying, “I can do that.” (reference to ‘Cliffhanger‘), it’s all here for our enjoyment and pleasure.

And producer Avi Lerner has no intention of slowing things down ‘Expendable’ wise, as a 4th and 5th instalment have already been greenlit with former 007 Bond actor Pierce Brosnan and Hulk Hogan announcing their involvement in future sequels. This third film starts off very well, as we see our ‘Expendables‘ [Sylvester Stallone, Jason Statham, Dolph Lundgren, Terry Crews, and Randy Couture] fly in via helicopter armed with giant machine guns, and boarding a fast moving train, loaded with bad guys. Given the first PG15 rating for an ‘Expendables’ film, this first scene has about 30 deaths. Sure you won’t see blood and guts too much, but the violence is there and it is brutal.

Sylvester Stallone and his team are there to rescue Wesley Snipes, who has been imprisoned for many years, who was a former original member of ‘The Expendables‘ whose expertise were knives and being a medic. The next scene has the team plus Snipes head out on a job right away, which goes haywire when the big bad villain Conrad Stonebanks [Mel Gibson], a ruthless arms dealer shows up, leaving one of ‘The Expendables’ in bad shape. This prompts Stallone to get real angry, tell his team to lead a good life, and leave the Expendables, then enlist the help of Arnold Schwarzenegger, and ask Harrison Ford to journey out again and take out Mel Gibson.

When Sylvester Stallone gets the okay, he realises he needs more people than just himself, so he figures out that he is too old to do it alone and he scouts out his friend Kelsey Grammer (a hilarious drunk jokester) to find new young recruits for his team including Kellan Lutz, Glen Powell, Victor Ortiz, Ronda Rousey, and the best character of the film Antonio Banderas. No matter what happens during the middle of the film, it all leads up to the small ‘Expendables’ team fighting Mel Gibson and his army of 500 bad guys in tanks, planes, and vehicles. And it does not disappoint. Director Patrick Hughes hasn’t done much, only a couple of short films, but Stallone must have seen something in him can gave him this impressive job. Hughes knows his way around an action scene and instead of quick cutting every second and a half, he allows the camera to fully focus on each actor’s ability to handle a gun or do their marital arts. This comes into play specifically with Wesley Snipes and Ronda Rousey, which is always good to see.

I can now see why the studio wants Patrick Hughes to direct the American remake of ‘The Raid.‘ Sure, some of the dialogue is cheesy and has no meaning, but there are some genuine moments and you can see they are all trying. But the scenes with Sylvester Stallone and Kelsey Grammer pack some great laughs as it seems Kelsey Grammer was just messing with Sylvester Stallone and trying to make him laugh the entire time. Their chemistry is spot on. And then there is the always impressive actor Antonio Banderas, whose character, Galgo is basically modelled after a 13 year old boy who gets his wish to star in a film with all of his favourite action stars. It’s too funny. Mel Gibson plays the bad guy perfectly and I wish he would take on darker roles in the future.

‘The Expendables 3‘ will not win any awards nor will it change the filmmaking game, but you’ll definitely have loads of fun with this movie. And to hear Schwarzenegger yell “Get to da Choppa” again satisfied my younger self so much that I nearly passed out. That all being said, Mr. Sylvester Stallone please include Bruce Campbell in your next instalment of ‘The Expendables’. Thank you in advance.

Blu-ray Video Quality – 'The Expendables 3' comes with an impressive 1080p HD encoded transfer and is presented in 2.40:1 aspect ratio. This action film looks mighty impressive on all fronts. This has a crystal clear image with excellent detail and clarity. However, by having this digital look to it, the big bad CG effects don't look as real as they could, but that is really the only gripe I have with this video presentation. Detail is very vivid in both close-ups and wide shots. Close-ups show every wrinkle, scar, wound, and individual hair on these aging action star's faces.

You can even see some of the plastic surgery Sylvester Stallone has had over the years quite well. Their tactical gear reveals some fine stitching and background props and sets look amazing, giving the picture some real depth when there is no CGI background. Colours pop off screen at all times, whether they are in a green field or the blue sky. All colours are well saturated and look realistic. Skin tones are always natural and never seem murky and the black levels are very deep and inky. There are zero instances of banding, aliasing, and motion blur throughout, giving this video presentation top marks.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – This release comes with an outstanding Dolby ATMOS audio presentation, but since I haven't upgraded to ATMOS yet, the audio automatically changes to a 7.1 Dolby TrueHD surround audio option, and it sound amazing. The 7.1 audio is quite impressive. This action film is full of gun shots, explosions, cars, planes, trains, boats, and fighting. I mean, what do you expect from an 'Expendables' film. The sound effects are clear, loud, and very robust. The surrounds pump the sound constantly, which fully immerses you into each gun battle and fight scene.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Feature: The Expendables 3 Documentary [1080p] [52:00] Here is a fun and extensive behind the scenes look at the making of the film. There are tons of cast and crew interviews mixed with a treasure trove of on set footage that covers the stunt work, fight choreography, characters, and more. Looks like everyone had a great time on set, which makes this a lot of fun to watch.

Feature: New Blood: Stacked and Jacked [1080p] [17:00] Here is some similar stuff from the above extra, but this one focuses more on the new young cast members. Cast and crew interviews are here along with some on set footage. Well worth the watch.

Feature: The Total Action Package [1080p] [7:00] This bonus feature centres on the stunts and visual effects of the film. Cast and crew interviews mix with on set footage that showcase a lot of wire work and green screen. This was quite fun to watch and see how they did the big set pieces.

Gag Reel [1080p] [3:00] Here is a fun blooper reel with everyone missing their cues, flubbing lines, and a lot of laughter on the set. Pretty funny.

Extended Scene: Christmas Runs the Gauntlet with Jason Statham [1080p] [3:00] Here is an extended scene of one of Jason Statham's scene where he takes out a bunch of bad guys.

Bookmarks

Finally, 'The Expendables 3' is a lot of brilliant fun the third time around. They finally found their footing and knew what type of movie to make rather than trying to be serious all the time. The result is a highly entertaining and very funny movie. The action is great and seeing all of these excellent action stars from our childhood is a riot, not to mention so much fun. With the top notch 1080p encoded image, as well as the awesome Dolby ATMOS audio presentation, are both top notch. The extras are all well worth watching and informative as well. If you're looking for a fun time with a big and entertaining action movie with tons of 80's movie stars, and 'The Expendables 3' is well worth adding to the other two ‘The Expendables’ Blu-ray Collection. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth the watch not better than previous two, 15 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
WORST FILM IN SERIES - I felt the first one and even 2 felt like a real old school star cast good action, ok stories but I felt exited about them. This goes down the toilet but lets talk about what I like first.
1). Wesley snipes and Harrison ford, Mel Gibson are excellent additions to cast all have the best acting in film, Mel Gibson as the bad guy is very interesting also Harrison Ford has that old school act underlined with a little humour, Wesley snipes character has a lot of funny moments one of the more complex characters due to past don't go to jail again I need Blade!.
2). Action especially the beginning is the overtop fun come to expect from this series.
3). More dry comedic Humour you can only get from having a cast of action heroes like this.

Now I don't like the new members or the next generation as they are bland unremarkable might as well just be cardboard cut outs only interesting one is the female as she has the most to contribute to the film would have been better to cast a few more memorable cast members not pandering to the teen audience.
Story is not epic enough all feels pointless only a few moments like the tags dangling of dead members bad guy dead to easy.
special effects are sometimes a little B movie that's fine but they even drop below this like one of those films on Syfy channel.
Overall the idea of these films to get the greatest action cast assembled put them against a great enemy with a touch of story over the top action feel epic becomes watered down with this instalment.

Worth the watch but don't expect the ride of your life if want that watch Guardians of the Galaxy the action in that is more gruesome.

Arnold returns loved him in his latest film cannot wait for Conan and Terminator
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'ANOTHER DOSE OF ENJOYABLE 'O.T.T' ACTION', 10 Dec 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Both the Theatrical and Extended Versions are on the Blu-ray release.
The film has a truly explosive beginning as a four-man team led by 'Barney Ross' (Sylvester Stallone) set about
releasing an old-pal 'Doc' (Wesley Snipes) after he's spent several years in captivity.
'Barney' needs the action-loving 'Doc' to join his team of Expendables on their next mission.
'Lee' (Jason Statham) 'Gunner Jensen' (Dolph Lundgren) 'Toll Road' (Randy Coulture) 'Caesar' (Terry Crews)
along with 'Barney' 'Doc' and piloted by 'Trench' (Arnold Schwartzenegger) head for the docks at 'Mogadishu'
After a fierce fire-fight a face from the past emerges 'Stonebanks' (Mel Gibson) who 'Barney' had believed he'd
killed long since.
After fighting their way of the Docks, 'Barney' realizes his task is by no means concluded as a former partner turned
adversary who is more than equally resourceful is still out there.
'The Special-Ops Director 'Drummer' (Harrison Ford) wants the rogue leader as much as 'Barney' does, but, alive.
'Barney' no longer wanting to put his pals in danger sets about finding a younger and fitter team to help him capture
'Stonebanks',
After some searching with his agent a team is assembled, 'Luna' (Ronda Rousey) 'Mars' (Victor Ortiz) 'Thorn' (Glen
Powell) and 'Goran' (Robert Davi) turning down, for the time being that is 'Galgo' (Antonio Banderas)
Taking 'Stonebanks' will be hard enough if not suicidal, the team have just 36 hours to complete the task, it has been
determined that 'Stonehouse' is in 'Bucharest' almost certainly selling weaponry.
All goes well....until it doesn't......things go pear-shaped seeing 'Barney's' new recruits being held, 'Sonehouse' knowing
his old pal will be back to attempt to save them.....'Galgo' along with his old team will join 'Barney'
A showdown between the two, inevitable......
This is an exciting action-packed roller-coaster ride with the usual measure of humour along the way,must admit some of
the action sequences were that good, it sure made me smile.....if you like fast paced action movies - this is a must see.
A Star-Studded Action Feast.
Great Picture and Sound Quality Throughout.
Special Features -
* The Expendables 3 Documentary
* New Blood - Stacked and Jacked Featurette
* The Total Action Package Featurette
* Gag Reel
* Christmas Runs The Gauntlet - Extended Scene
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, Could have been better, 13 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have just finished watching this Extended Cut version of Expendables 3, which I purchased on Amazon Instant Video in SD for £9.99 n.b that price went up to £11.99 after 2 days while the HD Version is £13.99. I don't know how this pricing structure works because that ain't cheap. Anyway I brought this SD version which comes with 84 mins Bonus Content (which can be found on Blu ray version only) and which plays straight after the film. I have not watched this in cinema and am not a fan of this franchise, I thought the first film was terrible the second was slightly better if not great. This third outing is no great shakes and I don't think the extra footage makes the film any better, it is basically more of the same just with the new addition of younger stars who replace the old team for the first 3rd of the movie which is a mistake because they are somewhat dull cliched characters and it is only when the older stars come back in the film starts to kick into gear but by that time the film is near the end. It is a case of way too many characters and a weak script. Mel Gibson makes a hissable bad guy but doesn't get to do much and seems to be dispatched fairly easily by Stallone, who along with Schwarzenegger & co just seems to go through the motions. Wesley Snipes seems to be the sole standout as his character is quite charismatic. The film in the end is just okay, the making off and gag reel seem better than the overall film and that's saying something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pins & Needles!, 9 Dec 2014
By 
Nomar G. Nillit "Mr. 27%" (Sodding Chipbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Expendables 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the film I've been waiting my whole life for! - or at least as long as it's been on my LOVEFiLM rental list - which is three days. It arrived today, which is nice as it only came out yesterday. Sadly the rental only copy is the cinema version (I refuse to call it the theatrical version, because of course, it is a film, and not a play) and not the much heralded slightly rougher version (I won't call it unrated, because it has a rating - '15', the same rating it had in the cinema)
Er, it's alright, I suppose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Expendable but fun, 8 Sep 2014
From the moment I saw the trailer for Expendables 3 I had a feeling it would slightly disappoint and it does in some ways.I enjoyed the first one and the second one is my favourite but this third instalment falls just a bit short for me.There are some very good moments like the opening two action sequences and the final huge action scene,Mel Gibson is great as the bad guy and Wesley Snipes is a welcome addition to the series.The main problem is,there are just too many characters and not enough time is given to any of them apart from Stallone who is in almost every scene,so many actors here are underused like Schwarzenegger,Harrison Ford,Dolph Lungdren and Jason Statham do not get enough screen time,instead we get Stallone (Barney Ross) putting together a new and younger team and it just does not work and we then get far less of the characters we do want to see.Expendables 3 could and should have been so much better,with such a big cast you expect great things but never quite happens.All that said though,it is worth a watch and there are some very good moments and plenty of fun to be had but it just does not live up to the first two films.If you want a good fun action movie,then this is for you.Could have been better but still enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The brand-new film of The Expendables 3 is back on DVD! Why not feel free to watch it, folks?, 7 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Expendables 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I feel the product of The Expendables 3 on standard DVD is excellent because this is a Christmas gift for a friend who lives in Solihull in Birmingham and the reason why I decided to order the DVD for him is because he likes action films such as this one for which I am describing to you about.

I mean, I have not seen the film this year, but hopefully I will have the chance to watch it on Blu-ray at my home whenever there is time and whenever I feel ready.

However, the value of £9.50 is again excellent and this is for Jon the Builder.

Thank you Amazon.co.uk for your reliable service.

Five stars!

By Richard Hill - age 19

From Halesowen West Midlands B62 0DY United Kingdom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Expendables 3 [DVD]
The Expendables 3 [DVD] by Patrick Hughes (DVD - 2014)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews