Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRIPPING, PAGE TURNING COMPLEX PLOT
Jack Gregory lies dying in a hospital in the slums of Calcutta. his terrible wounds inflicted in the savage fight he’s had with Carlton “Priest” Williams, the person he holds responsible for the murder of his brother. Sister Mary Judith came across his body and dragged him back to her very sparse clinic and watches as his life drains away...
Published 7 months ago by Best Selling Crime Thrillers

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Exciting!
Very exciting, action filled book that kept me hooked throughout. I find Richard Philips' writing style to be lacking in finesse; he writes like a Hollywood blockbuster. He does excel when it comes to the action sequences.

His characters are well developed and the heroes of the book are loveable; you find yourself either wanting to be them, or wanting to be...
Published 2 months ago by Texuspete


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRIPPING, PAGE TURNING COMPLEX PLOT, 19 Aug. 2014
Jack Gregory lies dying in a hospital in the slums of Calcutta. his terrible wounds inflicted in the savage fight he’s had with Carlton “Priest” Williams, the person he holds responsible for the murder of his brother. Sister Mary Judith came across his body and dragged him back to her very sparse clinic and watches as his life drains away.

Jack has always heard about the white tunnel that one passes through when dying, but his tunnel is more like a grey fog - he’s given a chance to accept Anchanchu, a brain worm, (who had occupied many people like Caligula, Nero and most notorious of all, Jack the Ripper). He gives Jack the chance to accept him and return to life. Jack decides that he’ll take the offer, (not fully understanding what this will entail in his future!)

In the year since his “rebirth”, Jack has taken on several clients with problems that needed sorting. His latest client, Rachel Koenig employs him as she’s convinced that Vladimir Roskov, leader of a Russian Mafia, has a hold over her husband, Rolf, a brilliant scientist building a machine that is intended to help look for minerals on the moon and other planets, bringing untold wealth to all who have bought into his scheme.

Jack very quickly discovers that not all is as it seems and finds that he’s facing enemies from all sides including a rogue group within the CIA. (His ex-employers)

I’m struggling to come up with a description that will push you into purchasing this book. I wanted to describe it as sipping a beautiful cabernet, but somehow with so many dead bodies, thought it would be inappropriate!

Normally I’m a fast reader, but I found myself re-reading some sections just for the pure enjoyment of the words the author had written. I was completely drawn in to this amazing plot, and felt like I had become intimate with each of the characters.

Thank you Richard Phillips for writing this brilliant, complex story. I’m sad that I have to bid farewell to Jack Gregory and his reluctant partner, Janet Price and can only hope that there will be another book in this series in the very near future. - Treebeard

Rating: 5 Stars.

bestsellingcrimethrillers.com was provided with an advanced copy for review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast moving and thrilling, 26 Aug. 2014
By 
Cathy "Audiobook junkie!" (Ilminster, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
All through The Rho Agenda I was intrigued by the characters of Jack Gregory and Janet Price. What was their story? Why did Jack’s eyes sometimes seem to have a red glint? In this first of three prequels we get to learn much more about Jack and Janet and what makes them who they are.

Jack, a CIA agent on the trail of his brother’s killer, finds himself facing Carlton ‘Priest’ Williams and a gang of knife wielding thugs in a Calcutta alley. After a bloody fight Jack, well outnumbered and badly wounded, is found by a nun. Taken to a basic clinic and unable to be saved, Jack is pronounced dead. Until, that is, he’s visited by the demon, Anchanchu. Jack has an unimaginable decision to make.

Jack has been freelance since his revival and it’s his latest client who inadvertently involves him and Janet in a plot, masterminded by an accomplished scientist, the Russian mafia and corrupt members of the CIA, which threatens the safety and security of the United States. Once again the integrity of intelligence agencies and governments, and the way they operate at the highest levels, is called into question.

I love the supernatural twist in the story and how it relates to Jack and his deadly skills. Richard Phillips has created a fascinating and compelling protagonist, fulfilling the promise which began in the Rho Agenda. The narrative pulled me into the story totally and, as always, MacLeod Andrews gives a superbly delivered performance whilst actually raising the bar. As each chapter comes from a different point of view so the narration reflects that person’s characterisation. It works really well. Significant character development and an extremely fast-moving plot kept me hooked until the end. This was well worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced tight page-turner of a thriller, 24 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read Richard Phillips' Rho Agenda Trilogy I couldn't wait for this book to be released and pre ordered. Short chapters add to the fast pace of this spy/espionage thriller giving a magical back story to Jack 'The Ripper' Gregory prior to his appearance in the Second Ship (Book 1 Rho Agenda Trilogy). It matters not which you read first (this or the trilogy) because I firmly believe you will read everything from this author. Fast paced tight page-turner of a thriller.
Next please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... about the 'Inception' series as it sounded a lot like a half-baked prequel idea, 4 Mar. 2015
Was a little sceptical about the 'Inception' series as it sounded a lot like a half-baked prequel idea, but happily I think I preferred this to the regular Rho agenda series. It mainly focusses on the Jack Gregory character and is slightly less 'sic-fi' than the other trilogy, but this shouldn't put you off even if you're into spaceships and aliens. Properly good - a full on story with great character development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100% wild ride!, 20 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book The Ripper is very like Reacher with a supernatural twist! Great story, fantastic action. I would also recommend the Rho project trilogy (first book is called the second ship) in which Jack and Janet are also featured. Not going to give away any plot lines just read and enjoy the ride....... 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grapplehooked, 26 Jan. 2015
By 
J. M. Ridgway (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I almost considered ditching this book after the first few pages - so glad I didn't - what an absolute corker I never heard of Richard Phillips before I just came across him and boy am am I glad I did, straight onto the next book for me - he has me totally hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Aug. 2014
Readers of the hugely addictive Rho Agenda series will know Jack 'The Ripper' Gregory. This prequel to Rho Agenda tells how Jack acquires his particularly deadly skill-set in a gripping thriller with a touch of the paranormal. A totally enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good and excellent story, 21 Aug. 2014
Absolutely brilliant book.Really enjoyed.Loved the Dark Passenger' effect with bit of Jack Reacher thrown in.Hopefully another one soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put it down, 2 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full on action all the way through the book. From close quarter knife fights and gun battles to the political infighting between government agencies and the frustration of the right guy not being heard. Love the writing style where a scene is replayed in the role of different characters to give their view and what they wanted to achieve. The demonic possession is a nice twist too. Great writing style that lets your imagination explode...a must read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Exciting!, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very exciting, action filled book that kept me hooked throughout. I find Richard Philips' writing style to be lacking in finesse; he writes like a Hollywood blockbuster. He does excel when it comes to the action sequences.

His characters are well developed and the heroes of the book are loveable; you find yourself either wanting to be them, or wanting to be with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews