Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars231
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 February 2016
If you like the first Purge, and by that I mean a weak storyline, an unrealistic concept, terrible acting, flat characters and a huge anticlimax, then yes, you'll love the sequel. In this movie we see the typical 'we need a back story to the characters so let's write a terrible script in 5 minutes' way of thinking, by which I mean the annoying couple that we just knew from the start when it was revealed their marriage was in tatters we reconcile by the end of the night. When the male died, there was absolutely no sympathy felt due to the fact they were not likable characters and the story behind them was so easy and predictable from the writers.

We are also met with the badass Sergeant, who somehow takes on the entire of Los Angeles whilst protecting the quite frankly useless couple and even more useless Mother and daughter. He was the only reason I have given it 2 stars instead of 1, because despite his character being a little bit ridiculous, he added some excitement to the cause.

As for the bad guys, the minigun wielding, barbecue-apron wearing antagonist doesn't really add to the storyline at all, and his presence is not at all frightening, so I'm not really sure why he is included. I would have much preferred that his character did not exist and that the masked gang from downtown LA (straight outta Compton, perhaps?) were more prominent, and maybe even acted on the peril they put forward.

Don't get me started about the 10 minutes in the 3rd quarter of the movie when they decided to turn the purge into a gameshow, which was just absurd.

And finally, just one annoyance, the movie ends by tempting a third movie, saying it is '364 days' til the next purge. It is the year 2023, and therefore the next purge is March 2024, a leap year, which means it's 365 days. Just a picky thing I picked up on but for a film to be a blockbuster, you need to eliminate mistakes such as that.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Crime in 'America' remains at an all-time low as a result of the 'Founding-Fathers' permitting an
annual permit on the 21st March -22nd March 7 p.m - 7 a.m when crime does not get punished,
kill, steal, anything goes, 365 days crime undertaken in one-night - The Purge'
If you are not participating, stay off the streets, remain at home, lock-down, if necessary protect
yourself if you are able to do so.
We follow young couple 'Shane' (Zach Gifford) and 'Liz' (Kiele Sanchez) who's car breaks down
far from safety prior to the 7 p.m lock-down, mother and 'Eva' (Carmen Ejogo) and daughter 'Cali'
('Zoe Soul) who are snatched by a group of 'purge -thrill' seekers, and saved by ex-cop vigilante
'Leo' (Frank Grillo)
Trying to seek refuge 'Shane' and 'Eva' clambering into 'Leo's' car whilst he's busy saving mother
and daughter, the five, now run, hide, and hope to be around at 7.01 a.m, though babysitting the
four wasn't really part of 'Leo's' agenda, he is seeking revenge for the death of his son.
Together, can they survive the night ?
The first in the series i feel was a far more tense affair, this though a little more predictable has
considerably more action in this kill or be killed tale played out on the city streets.
Features -
* Deleted Scenes
* Behind the Anarchy
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2015
Anytime you see the dreaded words of Michael Bay and Platinum Dunes it's usually time to run a million miles or jump for cover. So The Purge:Anarchy the sequel to The Purge is a huge surprise. Most people will know the plot by now, where residents of America are subjected to death and violence as the authorities take a blind eye on all crime for 12 hrs a year.

This sequel is far superior to the original as most of the film takes place on the streets and the tension leading up to the purge is well done. There are definetly hints of John Carpenter's work in here, especially Escape from New York. Indeed the movie is just begging for a Carpenter 80s score.

The charcaters hit off of one another well- and thankfully we are not presented with dumb one dimensional ones shouting out oh my god every other minute. Yes the movie isn't perfect- we don't get to know our characters well enough to care too much. But there is this underlining dread about the movie, like waiting for something to happen that grips your most inner fears, and this movie has that down to a tea. It could have been better and the climax isn't as rewarding as it promises to be, but The Purge: Anarchy is a real surprise.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The first "Purge" film was a glorified home break-in movie. This feature takes us to the streets and the meat of the purge. The film runs with a plot and 2 subplots that come together. The plot centers on a struggling African American lower middle class family who just want to be left alone. There is a couple whose car has broken down in the city and a cop who is out seeking vengeance.

We get to see the psychotics in the street and how the rich pay to ceremonially kill poor people. The political aspects of the film, i.e. "class warfare" that was touched on in the first film becomes a powerful theme in this one. (Hint: The word Anarchy is in the title.)

The characters were rather dull in a film that begs for quirky individuals. Does Magnolia have to make this film to get it right?

Makes for a decent Redbox rental. "Stay Safe."

Parental Guide: F-bombs. No sex or nudity. Strong class warfare message.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2015
You don't normally get a sequel which is better then the original but I have to admit this was miles better than the first film. This is because most of the film is set outside on the city streets meaning the film could be more enjoyable and on a bigger scale then the first film. It was also much more tense than the first film and features car chases and explosions etc.. However, I was a little disappointed there were fewer weapons used in this film (No Axes or Knifes) than in the first but it still didn't effect the film too much. If you have watched 'The Purge' then you MUSE SEE this awesome sequel!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2016
Watched this movie as it was recommended to us. We saw the first one and it was good but not particularly gripping and as sequels are usually not as good we didnt have high hopes, however this one was better than the first and we were actually quite gripped!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 6 December 2015
The Purge: Anarchy is a really decent sequel, which is a rare thing these days. The theme, carried on from the original Purge, is that for one night of the year, all crime is legal and there is no help from police or emergency services. Pretty scary, right? In the original, we saw how the Purge was handled in a community of rich people with the best security money can buy. This time around, we see the more ordinary folk trying to cope.

There are a few little plot niggles, but that is always to be expected, on the whole this is an exciting, tense thriller that keeps you guessing and keeps you interested. I love the concept of the Purge, and I feel that it can be used to create lots of different stories, so I will not be surprised at all if there are more sequels in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 June 2015
The purge starts again, as residents lock in them selves away as a night of crime is permitted for a few hours only.

Expanding on the theme of part one, this follow up allows the filmmakers to use the city as the playground rather than the home in the first.

A decent, relativly unknown cast play a mismatched group thrown together trying to survive the night of murder and mayhem.

Lots of (albeit small scale) action, quite tense, a few twists, this is that rare thing, a sequel better than the first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 November 2014
The first purge was a good original concept that played out really well and introduced a wide range of ideas and possibility's for sequels! The original played out in a family home and we didn't delve much deeper into what the purge is really all about, Anarchy is set out on the streets and opens up the playing fields big time for more action and violence and story! This time we follow a bunch of survivors who are unwillingly caught up in the purge outside in the streets as they try and survive the night from the chaos and murderous gangs and various other twists, it certainly is bigger and bolder than the original, great cast, great soundtrack, good effects and the overall style of the movie works really well and keeps you gripped through the running time! If your a big fan of the original then certainly check this out, great fun!

Blu-ray picture looks great quality.
Features include deleted scenes and a short behind the scenes (8mins)
Region B, 2014.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
Bad acting, bad plot, bad script, if you like P1 you will like this. P3 on the way?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)