Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good to Great- But Completists Watch Out!
Speed Of Sound is, a good album, with only one track really letting the side down: Cook Of The House being SoS's Yellow Submarine.At times it is a great album, with songs such as Let 'Em In, Silly Love Songs and the majestic, epic, Beware My Love up there with the best that McCartney ever wrote and performed. Wino Junko is the only other slightly naff song, but as a...
Published 8 months ago by John W. Edelman

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Venus and Mars is a great set, but this is poor
Im not going to review the music as people have already done that .
This is a review of the box set .
Compared to the previous sets this is the disapointing one .
The two latest box set are now in a book form instead of a box with books in them .
Venus and Mars is a great set , but this is poor .
The extra music is about 21 minutes so could have...
Published 8 months ago by A. K.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Venus and Mars is a great set, but this is poor, 13 Nov. 2014
This review is from: At the Speed of Sound (Audio CD)
Im not going to review the music as people have already done that .
This is a review of the box set .
Compared to the previous sets this is the disapointing one .
The two latest box set are now in a book form instead of a box with books in them .
Venus and Mars is a great set , but this is poor .
The extra music is about 21 minutes so could have gone onto the album cd as one disc .
The dvd is poor . Original promo for Silly Love Songs , and a short film of Wings setting up in Venice which is fine but Wings fans were waiting for the film of Wings over Wembley. The problem is the whole film is not here , only a excerpt . This is meant to be the definitive version , a box set ! So why not put in the full film ?
Its seems that for such a big album that Speed of Sound was they just could not be bothered with putting in any more music or video and so compared to the other sets this is not value for money . Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good to Great- But Completists Watch Out!, 8 Nov. 2014
By 
John W. Edelman (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: At the Speed of Sound (Audio CD)
Speed Of Sound is, a good album, with only one track really letting the side down: Cook Of The House being SoS's Yellow Submarine.At times it is a great album, with songs such as Let 'Em In, Silly Love Songs and the majestic, epic, Beware My Love up there with the best that McCartney ever wrote and performed. Wino Junko is the only other slightly naff song, but as a teenager is the Seventies I well remember whole albums of rubbish being released to back a hit single from other artists and that's one thing Paul could never be accused of in the 1970's (80's maybe, but we're getting off message).
SoS doesn't quite reach as high as Venus and Mars or the pinnacle of class that was Band On The Run, but when you consider these three were released within only three years of each other it's hard not to be impressed.
As far as the remastering is concerned, I've listened to this back to back with the 1993 remaster and there is a very obvious improvement, even to my ravaged hearing (The bells, the bells!). It's difficult to be specific, suffice to say that everything is clearer and crisper; you can now hear individual instruments, with much clearer separation. The 1993 now sounds quite muddy in cpmparison. Overall, then, a success and worth the money- I think this is the fourth time I've bought it: Vinyl, Original CD release, 1993 Remaster, 2014 Remaster- so that'll probably do it until they release the Holographic, Paul singing in your living room version.
Note to Completists- I was intending to part fund this purchase in the same way as I did with the Beatles Remasters and sell the old 1993 version but I've just noticed that the bonus tracks on that version:Walking In The Park With Eloise; Bridge On the River Suite and Sally G aren't included on this 2014 release, which seems a strange decision, particularly because, although the tracks on the bonus disc are fun to hear, none of them could be described as essential. Beware My Love with John Bonham (drumming God though he was) isn't a patch on the original.
Overall I would recommend going out and getting this if you have Band On The Run and Venus and Mars (and Wings Over America) but if you're just ready to start your collection don't start with this- It's probably just outside the top five of Macca's solo releases (Flaming Pie and Chaos and Creation, in case you were wondering).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On this CD Wings was a group and not just a vehicle for an ex-Beatle., 3 Nov. 2014
By 
Stephen Reid "Stephen" (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the Speed of Sound (Audio CD)
After 'Band on The Run' it was clear that McCartney had his confidence back. 'Venus and Mars' was a successful follow-up. Then in 1976 came this, which was an equally popular album. The threesome that had recorded 'Band on the Run' had been joined by Jimmy McCulloch and Joe English to form what many regard as the strongest Wings line-up. On this CD Wings was a group and not just a vehicle for an ex-Beatle.

The remix quality of this CD is very good. The voices and instruments are clear and precisely placed. An excellent piece of work.

The CD starts with the famous track 'Let 'em In', now a standard.

Then Denny Laine takes the lead on 'The Note You Never Wrote', which is a strong track: very sad. Paul had clearly recognised that one of the Beatles' strengths was that it had four members each capable of taking the lead vocals. A variety of lead breaks up a long album. Later on Jimmy McCulloch takes the lead on 'Wino Junko', Denny leads again on 'Time to Hide', Joe English sings 'Must do Something About It' and Linda sings 'Cook of the House'. Of the eleven original tracks, five are sung by the 'other' group members and not McCartney.

'She's my Baby' is one of the weaker tracks but immediately followed by 'Beware My Love': instantly memorable.

After 'Wino Junko' comes one of McCartney's most famous ripostes to John Lennon: 'Silly Love Songs'. This is loved and reviled in equal measure. Either way, it is a once-heard, never-forgotten song. The bass-line is superb.

'Cook of the House' is Linda's contribution: many people will wince at the apparent stereotyping. It's a standard 16-bar rockabilly number: enjoyable but lightweight. 'Time to Hide' is anything but lightweight, however and Denny Laine sings it strongly. The group works together well on this. 'Must do Something About It' shows Joe English singing well, though the song itself is not one of the strongest. 'San Ferry Ann' is pleasant and 'Warm and Beautiful' is very sugary: if on one of his early solo albums they would have been panned, but here they represent a soft and mellow finish to the original LP.

So here we have an album produced by a group firing on all four cylinders, full of variety and carrying a couple of future standards, still featured occasionally in McCartney's live shows. Recommended.

As to the bonus material, only two tracks are of any note really. 'Beware my Love' with John Bonham (yes, really!) is not up to releasable quality but it's interesting to hear what a heavy-rock drummer does to the track. 'Must Do Something About It' with Paul singing is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent printing and delivery, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent printing and delivery.
Bonus one-side vinyl with John Bonham' version of "Beware my love" - was very pleasant and previously unheard surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good album - poor bonus disc., 3 Dec. 2014
By 
Endecay (Sutton Coldfield, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: At the Speed of Sound (Audio CD)
WATSOS is a somewhat mixed bag as an album and this carries forward into the newest re-issue. Back in '93 the original remaster carried Sally G and the two Country Hams tracks. These are now to be found on the Venus and Mars re-issue - which makes a whole lot more sense. It seems that WATSOS produced little in the form of extra material as fodder for b-sides as the two mega single releases were backed with tracks from the album. This is somewhat borne out by the paucity of material on the bonus disc. A few demos of songs that come alive in their studio versions, the 'John Bonham' version of Beware My Love which lacks the finesse of the original, but that's not Bonzo's fault. The one exciting bonus track was always going to be Paul's vocal version of Must Do Something About It. I was really looking forward to this - but I have to say it sounds like what it is - a guide vocal for Joe English to drum against it before recording the real vocal. This is a real shame as I think it ranks as one of Paul's finest album tracks and I would have loved to see a take done in anger.
As for the original album - There are a few weak tracks. I think the Note You Never Wrote has a weak Denny Laine vocal - it's almost like he didn't believe in the song as Time to Hide (his own composition) is storming. And Cook of The House is probably the absolute nadir of Wings. However, on this re-issue it sparkles a little more than before. Still crud though as Linda's vocal is poor. Otherwise it's a pleasant album.
So - the original album is a 4 star, but the bonus is a 1 or 2. If you're buying - get the single disc. You won't miss much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The only and crucial blemish of these reissues is absence ..., 25 Nov. 2014
By 
Jan Verner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: At the Speed of Sound (Audio CD)
The only and crucial blemish of these reissues is absence of detailed credits of all bonus tracks - the 1993 remasters mention info about bonus tracks - year of recording, B-sides of singles etc. It is very pity. And another confusing thing: all the tracks composed by Paul (as credited in older editions) are now credited as by Paul and Linda!! It is very marketing failure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great set, 23 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the Speed of Sound (Audio CD)
Great sound and even the shortish DVD is very worth watching, have been critical of some of the Dvd with these sets but Paul getting better at what puts on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic remastering job superior than 1993 edition I not regret ..., 8 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the Speed of Sound (Audio CD)
Fantastic remastering job superior than 1993 edition I not regret to buy it again.
Not better than Venus and Mars but it is has a good music too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd, 22 Dec. 2014
By 
Paul Breakell (Ramsgate Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the Speed of Sound (Audio CD)
A great album by Macca, remastered very well, nice to have extra tracks included,
Definatley recommended for McCartney Fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LETTING WINGS IN WITH SPEED, 14 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the Speed of Sound (Audio CD)
i really quite like this album from Wings even though there are a few tracks that the other band members have taken the lead vocals , i think by doing this shows that Paul was willing to tell the world that Wings are a band and not just Paul McCartney and his backing group so i say well done to Paul for making a brave move knowing that the critics would probably be rubbing their hands together to shoot him down with their sarcastic and fierce critical reviews .
but it backed fired on them because as we all know the album successfully issued two of Wings greatest and most famous singles
with the fantastic SILLY LOVE SONGS and LET EM" IN , also you can"t ignore the incredible rocker BEWARE MY LOVE , wow what a brilliant track , probably the best of the rest (in my opinion) but the rest are pretty good stuff too ,
i really enjoyed this remaster and the second disc is slightly below great standards it is still interesting enough to be worthy of this release, i like it, listened to it, and enjoyed it, and i really recommend it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At the Speed of Sound
At the Speed of Sound by Wings (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews