Customer Reviews


172 Reviews
5 star:
 (138)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very impressive novel
Just like her previous two novels, Little Lies is set in suburban Australia and centres on a community that is made up of upper middle-class families.

Jane is the newcomer; she's a young, single mother with a young son called Ziggy. Jane is very different to most of the other mothers at the school. She's not obsessed with her appearance, or by money, she...
Published 1 month ago by Lincs Reader

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 Stars. Those Little Lies
No Spoilers.

Attractive and bubbly Madeleine lives in the beautiful coastal town of Pirriwee, a suburb of Sydney, with her second husband, Ed, and her three children. Her first husband, Nathan, father to Madeleine's eldest child, is now married to yoga fanatic Bonnie, and they have a daughter who, along with Madeleine's youngest child, will soon be starting...
Published 1 month ago by Susie B


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 Stars. Those Little Lies, 31 July 2014
By 
Susie B - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Little Lies (Hardcover)
No Spoilers.

Attractive and bubbly Madeleine lives in the beautiful coastal town of Pirriwee, a suburb of Sydney, with her second husband, Ed, and her three children. Her first husband, Nathan, father to Madeleine's eldest child, is now married to yoga fanatic Bonnie, and they have a daughter who, along with Madeleine's youngest child, will soon be starting kindergarten at the local primary school, where much of the action in the story takes place. Madeleine, who can be rather feisty, finds the serene Bonnie rather irritating, but she has a busy life and a good network of friends, her closest friend being the head-turningly beautiful Celeste, who is married to Perry and is the mother of twin boys. Celeste and hedge fund manager Perry seem to be the perfect couple, but before long we begin to see that Celeste is hiding a secret and that her life is nowhere near as wonderful as it might appear on the surface. Into their lives arrives Jane, a young single mother and her five-year-old son, Ziggy. Jane is struggling to move on from a traumatic incident in her past and when she moves to Pirriwee and makes friends with Madeleine and Celeste, she finally begins to feel that this is somewhere she could settle down. That is until Ziggy is accused of bullying a fellow schoolmate and the enraged mother and her fellow mummy mafia followers begin to make life extremely difficult for Jane and Ziggy. And then a disturbing incident occurs at the school 'Trivia Night' which ends in the death of one of the parents - but who dies and who causes the death? (No spoilers - we learn right at the beginning of the book that someone is killed).

Full of perceptive details of school politics, 'helicopter' parents boasting about their gifted children, malicious gossip at the school gates and pushy PTA members, Liane Moriarty's latest novel is written in a chatty tone and one that made for quite an entertaining read. This is not literary fiction (and not meant to be) and it's not really a murder mystery either - but it is a readable novel about parenthood, female friendship, bullying in its various guises and of the lies we tell ourselves and others. And although this novel tackles some rather unpleasant themes including domestic violence and physical and psychological intimidation, it does have its lighter moments too, and anyone who is a parent or who works in a school will recognise some of the characters who appear in this book and maybe have a few laughs at their expense - and the author's rather over the top descriptions of the alcohol fuelled 'Audrey and Elvis Trivia Night' where parents had to dress up as either Audrey Hepburn or Elvis Presley, were so comical that I had to smile. I will just comment that all of the intricate little details focusing on school and family life rather slowed the pace of the story in places and meant that the novel was not quite as pacy or gripping to read as I was expecting from the advance publicity; however that said, if you are looking for an easy and engaging summertime read, that is not all froth, then this could well fit the bill for you.

3.5 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very impressive novel, 31 July 2014
By 
Lincs Reader (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Little Lies (Hardcover)
Just like her previous two novels, Little Lies is set in suburban Australia and centres on a community that is made up of upper middle-class families.

Jane is the newcomer; she's a young, single mother with a young son called Ziggy. Jane is very different to most of the other mothers at the school. She's not obsessed with her appearance, or by money, she doesn't have a husband who earns a huge salary. She's desperate to be accepted though and is delighted to find friendship in two of the most powerful mothers in town. However, things begin to go very wrong for Jane and Ziggy after an incident in the school playground, and suddenly mothers are against mothers.

Little Lies is a very clever story. The reader knows from page one that something terrible happened at the School Trivia Night, we know that someone is dead, but we don't know who it is, or who the murderer is, or why.

Liane Moriarty expertly weaves this story. Hooking the reader from the start with the big whodunnit and then skipping back a few months to gradually build up both the plot and the characters. There is a real credibility to these characters and the development of their relationships are excellently done. The author expertly portrays what appears to be a perfect life on the outside whilst allowing the reader glimpses into the sordid and often violent secrets lying below the surface.

Little Lies is the sort of book that keeps me up way past my bedtime with it's compelling plotline and cleverly careless clues dotted around that hooked me and made me want to read 'just one more chapter'. There were a few gasps out loud along the way too - there is nothing I like better than to find that I'm wrong about what I think has happened, or will happen. To me, the sign of a great book and a very clever author is when I really do get a shock when something huge is revealed.

There are quite a few shocks along the way in Little Lies, there are also many secrets and lots of lies, not all of them are little either.

A very impressive novel, Liane Moriarty is quickly becoming one of my favourite authors. Great stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Lies, 31 July 2014
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Little Lies (Kindle Edition)
From the very beginning of this entertaining novel, we are aware that there has been a murder, when the ‘Audrey and Elvis’ trivia night at Pirriwee Public School spirals out of control.... Set in a small, beachside community, the novel revolves around a group of mothers, whose children attend the kindergarten at the school. There is forty year old Madeline Mackenzie, mother of Alice, Fred and five year old Chloe, single mother Jane Chapman and her son Ziggy, the beautiful Celeste, mother of twin boys, whose marriage is not as perfect as it seems, Bonnie, who is married to Madeline’s ex husband and Renata, who attends a support group for the parents of gifted children.

Although this novel is set in Australia, the school, parents, children, situations and playground politics will be all too familiar to any parent – accusations of bullying, cliques of mothers gossiping in the playground, children being excluded from parties or play dates, competitive parents, the ‘class toy’ and volunteering at the school are all covered in this book, which weaves its way through the six months leading up to the implosion of events at the trivia night.

As well as looking at life through events at the school, we also read of the lives of the women; especially the three main characters of Madeline, Jane and Celeste. Although there are very serious issues tackled in the storyline, much of this book is also extremely funny. I have to say that I was completely gripped and loved every page. The characters, the situations and feelings of the women were all authentic and it is sure to appeal to anyone who has found that taking your child to school is not always simply about their education. Highly recommended, often moving and darkly humorous, this would be a fantastic choice for book groups, with much to discuss. Lastly, I received a copy of this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, for review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Lies, 15 Aug 2014
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Little Lies (Kindle Edition)
This has to be one of the best books I've read so far this year. I started it yesterday afternoon and just had to keep reading until I finished it late yesterday evening. From the start of the book the reader knows that a death has occurred at a school trivia quiz night but doesn't know who has died or the exact circumstances. The narrative takes us back to six months before the event when Jane has just moved into the area with her five year old son, Ziggy, and he is about to start school. We know Jane has secrets but we don't know exactly what those secrets are.

Gradually the tension builds up through the interactions of the parents and children at the local primary school and we get to know a few of the parentsI rather better. Madeleine - on her second marriage with two small children and an older girl - with her ex-husband living nearby with his second wife and family; Jane and Ziggy and Celeste and Perry with their apparently perfect marriage and twin boys, Max and Josh. As we see into all their lives, secrets and tensions are revealed and these scenes are interspersed with comments made by other parents to police investigating the death which overshadows the whole book.

I loved the characters and the interactions between the parents. The way there were cliques and feuds and the way someone can suddenly become an outcast just on the say so of one person who then influences their supporters. You don't need to have children to appreciate the relationships between the parents and the way certain people are regarded as influencing the thinking of others. Without giving away too many plot elements the way rumour and supposition can rapidly turn into proven facts can be seen at work in any part of life - not just at the school gate.

This is a cross genre book as there is a mystery - more than one mystery - at the heart of it but it is also about the day to day life of parents and children. I can see that it would be a good book club choice as there are plenty of things club members can discuss - the characters themselves, loyalty to friends and family, dealing with rumours and making up your own mind rather than running with the herd. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys good writing and who wants to read about realistic characters. I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley for review purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your standard chick lit!, 3 Aug 2014
This review is from: Little Lies (Paperback)
I was lucky enough to receive a pre-release copy of ‘Little Lies’ for review. Having really enjoyed ‘The Husband’s Secret’, I was expecting great things of this book and it didn’t disappoint.
The story is centred on a small town in Australia called Pirriwee, and more specifically around the primary school children and their parents. It tells the story of the six months building up to the school’s fancy dress Trivia Night. The main characters are all well rounded and in the books 450 pages you get to know them well.
As a mother to children of a similar age, this book really resonated with me - the theme of bullying, however subtle, amongst the parents as well as the children was all too familiar, and the grouping of the mothers into cliques in the playground also rang true.
There’s Madeline, who has just turned forty and is the kind of friend you would always want on your side – fair and feisty and not afraid to stand up for what she believes in, although she has her own family complications to deal with. She’s married to Ed, with whom she has Chloe and Fred. She also has fourteen year old Alice, from her previous marriage to Patrick. Patrick is now married to Bonnie and their little girl Skye is the same age as Chloe. They have just moved back to Pirriwee so the girls are in the same school year……
Then there’s Celeste, who is married to Perry and has twin boys. Celeste is an effortless beauty but always has an air of mystery about her. Renata is a ‘tiger mum’, an investment banker who is mother to the ‘talented and gifted’ Amabella (‘not Annabella, it’s French’). And finally there’s
Jane has recently moved to Perriwee with her her son Ziggy. Jane and Madeline meet on the way to the Orientation Day at school and become firm friends. On that first day, Ziggy is accused of bullying by one of the other girls in the class and it begins a chain of events that conclude with disastrous results at the Trivia Night.
I really enjoyed this book, from the perspective of a mum of children a similar age it was a dynamic I understood, and even if I hadn’t been a mum it was still a great thriller. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding book, 1 Aug 2014
This review is from: Little Lies (Hardcover)
Another outstanding book from Liane Moriarty The story opens 6 months before Trivia Night at the Kindergarten orientation morning
You are made aware from the beginning that a tragic death occurred at the trivia night but don’t know who it is. Police are investigating it and interviews with the parents are interspersed with the story building up a picture of life in this town.

Perriwee School, is set in an idyllic seaside resort.
The three main characters are Madeline, Celeste and Jane whose lives become intertwined when their young children start kindergarten together.

Moriarity’s descriptive talents leave you feeling you really get to know the main characters well and feel empathy for them all as the story grows.

I loved the way the author captures the bitchiness that occurs in PTA committees.

There are school politics, Bullying, Domestic abuse, problems with an ex-husband and what appears to be his perfect new wife, Chinese whispers, teenage angst, exaggerated stories and absolute lies.

However despite the serious subject matter there are laugh aloud moments that will captivate the reader. Most mothers will know characters like Madeline who is totally hilarious, fighting battles and fiercely protecting her friends.

This book is definitely a page turner. I couldn’t put the book down as I was desperate to know the ending!
Highly recommended, I loved this book. It is also a great holiday read you just won’t be able to put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad, funny and shocking in equal measure, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Lies (Kindle Edition)
I totally loved Liane Moriarty's previous novels, but 'Little Lies' exceeded all my expectations. The story evolves around a school in a nice sea-fronted neighbourhood near Sydney where an unspecified tragic event takes place at a parents' fund-raiser. The story is interspersed with police interviews, adding an intriguing teaser quality to the plot, which isn't really needed because the writing is so well crafted that the reader is completely under its thrall anyway.

The story is told from the point if view of three mothers: the single mother Jane, the confident Madeline, and the beautiful Celeste, whose five-year-olds are new to the Pirrewee Public School. Any mother of a school-age child will recognise the terror and delight of those first months when a child starts school told so well in Little Lies, but this novel is about so much more. It's about lies, as the title suggests, but it's also about secrets, friendship, sex, love and marriage.

I envy anyone who has yet to read this novel; I consumed it under a week because I just could not put the book down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A total page turner, 31 July 2014
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Little Lies (Hardcover)
Oh my goodness, Liane Moriarty has done it again, another immensely readable book peopled with characters whom you feel like you could very well know. Centered on a small primary school in a fictional and idyllic Sydney beachside suburb, this is the story of three women who become firm friends when their children start kindergarten together.

Jane is a young single mother, devoted to her son but mute on the subject of his father. Celeste is the one who "has it all" - beautiful, wealthy, happily married - but she is also keeping a dark secret from everyone that she knows. And Madeleine, feisty Madeleine, is having issues with her teenage daughter who seems to prefer her father's household to Madeleine's. Woven into their stories are the various other dramas that beset the parents of that school year.

The story takes place over six months and from the outset we know that we are building towards a violent confrontation at a school trivia night in which someone will die. We are teased with this pending event from the word go, but it is not until the final chapters that everything becomes clear.

It took me three days to read the first few chapters of this book but then I finished the rest in one sitting. As you get hooked into these women's lives, it becomes impossible to put the book down. I also loved the way I could recognize so many of the characters from my own children's school: the superior parents of "gifted" children, the bullying lawyers who threaten lawsuits on anyone who crosses them, drunken misbehaviour at school fundraisers, the teachers struggling to cope - not with the children, but with the demands of their pushy and educated parents. There have been a few books recently that have tried to capture the insular world of primary schools (The Hive comes to mind), but this one does it extremely effectively.

Despite the fact that I really, really liked this book, there are a couple of things that I didn't think worked. One was the way that we keep being reminded about the trivia night and what will happen. It wasn't necessary. A prologue was all that was needed. It was a device to build tension that wasn't necessary - we had been told it was coming, that was sufficient. My other criticism is that the book is light on suspense, especially vs The Husband's Secret. (Perhaps this is why the trivia night is played up so heavily). It really isn't that difficult to figure out what Jane and Celeste's secrets will be and therefore the thing that keeps you reading is seeing how they will play out rather than wondering what they will be.

Overall, a terrific read that I am missing already. Can't wait for Liane Moriarty's next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally absorbing, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Lies (Kindle Edition)
Everyone should read this book. Women, men, teenagers, teachers. All human life in all its hilarious and ridiculous guises, is here. I laughed all the way through, and recognised so many of the characters and scenarios from my time at the school gates. And then I cried, when it all fell apart and the nasty lives that lay behind the veneer of respectability was exposed. Then I cheered for all the women who have come through and triumphed despite adversity. A wonderful, funny, sad and very very perceptive story of a small town and the secrets the inhabitants keep close, for fear of not being accepted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars things don’t get off to a good start for Jane when Ziggy is accused of hurting ..., 16 Sep 2014
This review is from: Little Lies (Paperback)
Originally reviwed for www.bookaholicconfessions.wordpress.com

Set in a suburban town in Australia, Little Lies tells the story of a group of mothers with children all at Pirriwee Public School. We meet single mother, Jane, who has moved to the area with her son, Ziggy. She’s set on a fresh start and desperate to move on from the events of her past. After a chance meeting she ends up being taken under the wing of Madeline, the outgoing, feisty mother of Fred and Chloe, who then introduces her to the gorgeous Celeste, who also has twin boys starting at the school too.
However, things don’t get off to a good start for Jane when Ziggy is accused of hurting another child on Orientation Day, and after some serious ‘playground politics’ things go from bad to worse. Mothers are divided and Jane starts to question whether her own five year old son is telling the truth as events spiral out of control.
It turns out that looks can be deceptive as the seemingly perfect town of Pirriwee is revealed to be a town full of secrets…

After enjoying The Husband’s Secret so much I knew that I was in for a treat with Little Lies, only I didn’t know just how much of a treat…
It was simply amazing! I was addicted to this story right from the start where you are told that something happens to someone on Pirriwee Public School Trivia Night. The story then goes back in time to six months before the Trivia Night and builds up to a thrilling crescendo as things finally come to a head. I loved that the story was told in this way, it’s hugely effective at keeping you guessing whilst keeping you firmly glued to the page! I was desperate to know what happened at that trivia night… Yet at the same time I was enjoying this story so much that I didn’t want to know so I could carry on reading in a breathless state of anticipation (yes, really…!)
Little Lies is written in such a clever way that it’s not at all obvious what’s going to happen either. It will keep you guessing right up until the last second and I love that in a novel. There are various clues dotted around the story which you’ll pick up as you go along, but nothing blindingly obvious. It’s not until you slot all of the pieces together that everything suddenly makes sense.
I loved the way that we are introduced to the three main mothers, Jane, Madeline and Celeste. Their stories build slowly but you’ll soon find yourself liking these brave, loyal women and reading about their friendship. Madeline was probably my favourite of the three; she’s humorous and you can’t help but like her. But Jane and Celeste are also hugely strong characters too, only it’s not until later that you find out just how strong they are.
There is so much to this novel; friendship, secrets, love, parenting, bullying (both mental and physical), the extent of the ‘Mommy Mafia’, and one or two little lies, but some pretty big whoppers as well.

Liane Moriarty is fantastic, and her writing is so impressive. I was completely enthralled by The Husband’s Secret, but I was blown-away by this clever, tense, thrilling page-turner of a novel. Liane weaves the story in such a captivating way, slowly teasing you with bits of information as more and more is revealed about the characters involved, whilst all the time never giving anything away.

You’ll never realise just how scary life at the school gates could be…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews