Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whats on The CDs--At Times Like This -The Things I Want to Hear
The Top Rank Story -1962- is a fabulous collection of Public Domain recordings available for a really amazing price of under £3 which is less than the cost of one CD single.

There are some really good recordings in here that are quite well know like Gary U.S. Bonds, The Originals, Andy Stewart, The Shirelles, Lee Dorsey, Danny & The Juniors, B. Bumble & The...
Published 19 months ago by Glenn Cook

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Top Rank RIP
These are mainly the last knocking from the label. Novelty items and little known artistes make this 3rd release very much one for the avid collector who wants to finish his set.
Published 17 months ago by Michael Daley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whats on The CDs--At Times Like This -The Things I Want to Hear, 13 Mar 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1962 (Audio CD)
The Top Rank Story -1962- is a fabulous collection of Public Domain recordings available for a really amazing price of under £3 which is less than the cost of one CD single.

There are some really good recordings in here that are quite well know like Gary U.S. Bonds, The Originals, Andy Stewart, The Shirelles, Lee Dorsey, Danny & The Juniors, B. Bumble & The Stingers and many more.
Trye there are some less well know and some that are a little bit.. well you fill in the blanks BUT at this price you really cannot go wrong.

The 42 original recordings are remastered onto two CDs and come in a digipak.
But the big thing is Amazon's listing is jumbled and hard to read so some gems you are looking for may be missed this list is an attempt to help those like me!
Too old for a paper round and too young to retire!

Track List:
[Disc 1]
1. Small Sad Sam - Phil McLean
2. Chicken - Phil McLean
3. Ev'ry Step Of The Way - Kevin McQuinn
4. Keep Me On Your Mind - Kevin McQuinn
5. Flying Circle - Frank Slay & His Orchestra
6. Cincinatti - Frank Slay & His Orchestra
7. Gimme A Little Kiss Will "Ya" Huh? - The Originals
8. At Times Like This - The Originals
9. Baby It's You - The Shirelles
10. The Things I Want to Hear (Pretty words) - The Shirelles
11. Dear Lady Twist - Gary U.S. Bonds
12. Havin' So Much Fun - Gary US Bonds
13. A Change of Heart - Craig Douglas
14. Another You - Craig Douglas
15. Twistin' All Night Long - Danny & The Juniors
16. Twistin' England - Danny & The Juniors
17. The Door Is Open - Tommy Hunt
18. I'm Wondering - Tommy Hunt
19. Do-Re-Mi - Lee Dorsey
20. People Gonna Talk - Lee Dorsey
21. The Breaking Point - Chuck Jackson
22.My Willow Tree - Chuck Jackson

[Disc 2]
1. We Gonna - Jimmy Parker
2.No Word From Betty - Jimmy Parker
3.Teen Queen Of The Week - Freddy Cannon
4. Wild Guy - Freddy Cannon
5. When My Little Girl Is Smiling - Craig Douglas
6. Ring-A-Ding - Craig Douglas
7. Nut Rocker - Bumble & The Stingers
8. Nautilus - Bumble & The Stingers
9. Twistin' Rose Of Texas - Johnny Desmond
10. Hello Honey - Johnny Desmond
11. Big Mouth Bill - Phil McLean
12. Come With Us - Phil McLean
13. Pop-Eye - Huey "Piano" Smith & His Clowns
14. Scald-Dog - Huey "Piano" Smith & His Clowns
15. Twist, Twist Senora - Gary U.S. Bonds
16. Food Of Love - Gary U.S. Bonds
17. Cowboy Jack from Skye - Andy Stewart
18. The Highland Twist - Andy Stewart
19. Just Got To Know - Jimmy McCracklin
20. The Drag - Jimmy McCracklin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy Ending, 18 Feb 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "traceyann" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1962 (Audio CD)
1962 spelled the end of the road for `Top Rank' records, from January to April saw the release of JAR 597 to JAR 617. All 42 A and B sides of those singles are represented here in chronological order. There are so many good singles on offer by the likes of - Kevin McQuinn (sadly the A side is a little distorted), The Shirelles, The Originals, Gary U.S Bonds, Craig Douglas, Chuck Jackson and the great Tommy Hunt. Not all of the tracks are good - there are far too many novelty tracks on here which aren't my bag (awful). However, some of the B sides alone are fantastic, there's lots of new to cd stuff here to discover. Overall, the sound quality is very good (except distortion on one or two tracks, NOTE:- the Jimmy Parker tracks are disc dubs which is a pity as it's a good single). As usual there is no booklet with this value for money release. I recommend this compilation, although it's probably aimed at completists - there is lots to enjoy by anyone that likes music from this era. The other 3 compilations in the series (1959, 1960, and 1961) are highly recommended. Well done 'One Day Music'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love This 4th Release of Top Rank 'A' & 'B' Sides...., 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1962 (Audio CD)
This is the fourth outing for 'The Top Rank Story 1962. I love parody singles and Phil McCleans' 'Small Sad Sam' is one based on 'Big Bad John'. Another great track is Frank Slay & His Orchestra playing 'Flying Circle'. The Shirells are present with a rare single of 'Baby Its You' as is Gary US Bond 'Dear Lady Twist' and Danny & The Juniors 'Twisting All Night Long' and 'Twisting London' the last of which I've never heard and which comes some four years before 'At The Hop' (not featured).Its a refreshing change to hear something other than 'At The Hop'! Craig Douglas is represented with 'A Change Of Heart' which isn't on any of my compilations and is refreshingly new to me. The Tommy Hunt single 'The Door Is Open' is very soulful as is the faster tempo song by Lee Dorsey single 'Do-Re-Me' which again I've never heard. Chuck Jackson also appears here with 'The Breaking Point'. Jimmy Parker has a great song called 'We Gonna' but it comes from a well-played piece of vinyl. B.Bumble & The Stingers are represented with 'Nut Rocker' which we all know and love, but the never-heard 'B' side 'Nautilus' is a strange vocal with watery sound effects. Its not very good thats for sure. Johnny Desmond does a great job with a track based on 'The Yellow Rose Of Texas' called 'Twisting Rose Of Texas' with the 'B' 'Hello Honey' side a ballad in an easy listening jazzy style. Phil McClean makes a return with another parady of 'Big Bad John' called 'Big Mouth Bill' which is as good as his 'Small Sad Sam'. He sounds a bit like Phil Harris when he speaks. Huey 'Piano' Smith has a track called 'Pop-Eye' and 'Scald-Dog' and its an interesting single having never heard it before. Gary US Bond is represented with an unfamilar track to me called 'Twist Twist Senora'. Lastly, Andy Stewart (he of 'Donald Where's Your Troosers?' fame is represented with a single called 'Cowboy Jack Of Skye' which is a cross between country and Scottish singing. Its a really odd blend of music with an equally odd lyric! The 'B' side is called 'The Highland Twist' and is as odd as is the 'A' side! Jimmy McCracklin ends off with 'Just Got To Know' which is very bluesy number and a worthy listen.

I've reviewed the 'A' sides although there are some interesting 'B' sides. Its a great finale to the series as I believe 'Top Rank' was absorbed into another record label in this year with some of these track appearing on two labels. All the tracks are clearly taken from old original vinyl singles many of which have clearly seen better days. The remastering really does show up the age of singles and its a testament to the engineering that so many of them sound this good. Its all in mono and thats a good thing - that they sound like you played them on an old Dansette with a sapphire needle and a heavy arm is as much a blessing as it is not! Overall I like this 2cd very much,and there are many tracks I've heard only for the first time today. I'm impressed with the chronological timeline of JAR597 to JAR617 inclusive and there is a continuity of tracks which makes it a worthy listen. Like the three previous 2cd sets of 'Top Rank', I feel it will have great appeal to singles collectors and record label output collectors alike and I for one am glad to own this set.

Well done to One Day Music for a really interesting set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carrying on the good work, nice edition to the series, 19 Feb 2013
By 
Walter James (Aby, Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1962 (Audio CD)
Been looking forward to this one for a while. Some nice obsucruties and cuts, shame it has to be the end of the line for Top Rank but what a story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars its the top , but not in any way rank, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1962 (Audio CD)
I had a lot of this cd on 45 singleswhen i was a teen great to listen to , some duds but not many great value if you like early 60s then this is for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TOP RANK STORY 1962 As & Bs, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1962 (Audio CD)
I was amazed when they released the 1962 Top Rank Story with the B sides whilst the others - 1959, 1960 and 1961 only have they A sides. I wonder if the B sides of those years will be released? It would be a great shame if they left the Bs sides out because these CD collections are so unique and would be fantastic for record collectors to admire. Lets hope for the B sides of the Top Rank Story to be released.

Many thanks!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rare Gems, 25 May 2013
By 
Robert Carpenter (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1962 (Audio CD)
This compilation like many from this label features some rare gems and their many hit singles(hard to believe the label didn't last long). Pre-Beatle days so it features many soloists and a main singer and their backing group so enjoy it while you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Rank Story 1962, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1962 (Audio CD)
I had all these on vinyl and very much regretted parting with them.
Wonderfully dated, I recommend getting the rest of this set as well - '59/'60/'61 - for a most enjoyable slice of the British pop chart's golden age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Top Rank RIP, 16 May 2013
By 
Michael Daley "Big Mick" (Barking,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1962 (Audio CD)
These are mainly the last knocking from the label. Novelty items and little known artistes make this 3rd release very much one for the avid collector who wants to finish his set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Top Rank Story 1962 (Audio CD)
A very good collection of oldies, which is good to reminisce with. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Top Rank Story 1962
The Top Rank Story 1962 by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album£4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews