Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great deal!, 26 Oct. 2014
By 
Sulley (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS Chromebox M031U Desktop (Celeron 2955U 1.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS) (Personal Computers)
This Chromebox is supplied exactly as described. Wireless keyboard and mouse with 1 USB nano receiver, batteries, VESA mounting bracket and screws all included. What a great deal! Keyboard really excellent, mouse adequate, if a little on the small side. Not a complaint, but I think the AmazonBasics Wireless Mouse with Nano Receiver is better, but each to their own. Bear in mind that no drivers can be downloaded to Chrome OS devices so plug and play is the only option.

The other reviews, to date, of this product, are spot on, especially Captain Awesome's for its depth.

I also have a Chromebook history: a Samsung Series 5 550 Wi-Fi Chromebook which has similar technical specifications to the Asus. My reason for buying the Asus Chromebox is to take the pressure off the Chromebook's battery as I use it primarily for streaming from BBC iPlayer and Netflix which is intensive and shortens the life of a laptop's battery.

Plugged in my VGA monitor using Accell B101B-003B UltraAV Display Port with VGA Active Adapter and external speakers to 3.5mm headphone socket and was up and running in minutes. This may be obvious, but this Asus Chromebox does not come with a webcam or mic, so if your tastes run towards social media and video chatting, you may need to buy add-ons. The good thing about this is that the Asus has 4 USB 3.0 ports so plenty of room to add stuff, not forgetting that one of these is being used for the supplied keyboard/mouse combo.

My advice? If you need a replacement desktop (my 10 year old Medion Windoze XP was really struggling) and already have the peripherals, spend the small amount more for this 4GB RAM model rather than the 2GB version, and unless you really need the i3 or i7 chipsets (and why would you?) buy this one to save money.

For Chromebook/box aficionados, this tiny computer exceeds 12000 running Octane 2.0 on Google Chrome OS Version 39.0.2171.25 beta (64-bit).

If you know little about the Chrome Operating System, this means it's very quick.

If you need to print from the Chrome OS you will need to know how printers work with it, so you will need to do some research first about Google Cloud Print, (I have an Epson Expression HOME XP 415 Colour Multifunctional Printer which prints, copies and scans and was easy to set up with my Chromebook/Box and also my non-wireless desktop dinosaur) or be prepared to be an idiot who has bought something thinking that it's the same as a MS or Mac product when it's not. For me, It's better. For you? Your decision.

Go here: https://productforums.google.com/forum/#!categories/chromebook-central

It is an excellent resource and I recommend it highly, as do I this brilliant Chromebox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Desktop Chromebook, 6 Oct. 2014
By 
Captain Awesome (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: ASUS Chromebox M031U Desktop (Celeron 2955U 1.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS) (Personal Computers)
This is my review of the same model, but with 2 gigs less RAM and no keyboard and mouse. Otherwise, the experience is identical, so I thought it may be of help here, too.

This will be a detailed review; I'll include a summary of the software at the start and why you might want this at the bottom.
I've previously owned Google's test/beta Chromebook (the Cr-48) and then got the first generation Samsung Chromebook. My current Chromebook is the Acer C270 and I'm very pleased with it. Hopefully my experience with Chrome devices will make this review useful.

Chrome OS

For those unclear, Chrome OS (which Chromebooks and this Chromebox runs) isn't like Windows. It's designed for web use, so you can't install regular software.
You can use Chrome browser extensions and apps, but not native Windows software. Android app support is coming soon, though this a developing feature and in a preview/beta state right now.
When you're buying a Chrome OS machine, you're buying a super fast, easy-to-use machine that accesses the web. It's for your email, Facebook, YouTube and things like that. You won't generally find sophisticated, PC-like games and you won't be using this machine to run Photoshop or Final Cut Pro. Basically, it's a fast, cheap web browsing machine.

Support & updates

Chrome OS is updated every 6 weeks, with bug fixes and new features. All updates happen in the background and updates are applied when you reboot, so you never need to worry about them.
All Chrome devices get a minimum of 5 years support from Google (from the time the device was introduced), with security and feature updates arriving regularly. Unlike Windows, there is never a charge for software updates.

Security

As normal applications can't be installed on this machine, it can offer extra security. For example, if there's something installed that shouldn't be (like a virus) the Chromebox will reset itself to factory settings. Upon login, your settings will be restored and it'll update to the latest version.
Some plugins are not supported on Chrome OS, however the mainstream things work as expected; Flash is supported, so video sites like iPlayer work just fine. Netflix and YouTube work (via HTML5) but Java is the main problem for some: no Minecraft here.

Speed

Like other Chrome devices, this Chromebox boots in under 10 seconds.

This Chromebox will almost certainly be faster a year from now than it is today. That's because a big part of how a Chrome device is used is opening web pages. As the Chrome browser gets faster at doing that, Chrome devices get the benefits too and speed up over time, as well as gaining features.

Simplicity

If you mess something up and think you can't fix it, just go into the settings and choose Powerwash. It'll reset everything to exactly how it was when it left the factory. Login and all your settings will be downloaded and your device will update to the latest version. It's essentially a fast web browser, so there's nothing to mess up or confuse anyone; this would be great as a first computer, or for someone who isn't very technical.

Getting things done

This is where the big problem is for some people; you can't install normal software packages. You're currently limited to software that's delivered through a browser, though Android applications are coming. That said, would you expect Photoshop to work well on a sub-£200 machine? Keep the price in mind and your expectations should be met. There are also a good amount of applications and tools that work offline for Chrome OS now.
Check the Chrome Web Store for what you need, consider the limitations and you should be fine.

Other drawbacks

Some things don't work how they work on a regular computer. For instance, it's not possible to watch MKV video files with audio (at the time this was written) without converting them. If you upload a video to Google Drive, it'll process it in a way that works though. I do this regularly and it works well.
Printing is different too, as you can't just plug in a printer on Chrome OS. For those that are curious, Google has a service called Cloud Print, which involves connecting your printer to the internet, by using a Wi-Fi enabled printer or using a 'classic' printer by plugging it into a regular machine running Chrome. It's a little awkward, but offers remote printing benefits.

Storage

A key thing about Chrome devices is that they usually come with a 16GB, smaller, faster drive.
SD cards are supported for additional storage and external hard drives should work without a problem. 16 gigabytes of storage is considered very low by modern standards. It's worth considering however that this machine is designed to be on-line and if you're mostly using an on-line storage solution such as Microsoft's One Drive, Dropbox or Google Drive, it's not necessarily a problem at all to not have much local storage.

Google Drive is integrated into the Files application, meaning you can save files directly to your account and access them from other devices, too. Integration for other on-line storage (such as Dropbox) is in development.
As noted earlier, a Chrome device comes with 100GB of Google Drive storage free for two years, if bought new. A second hand device doesn't qualify for this.
If after two years you're using more than whatever the normal free allowance is at that point, you'll still be able to access what you've added, but not add new files that take up space. Existing files will not be deleted.

Though Google's services are featured, this device is perfectly functional if you use it in guest mode and never login.

Hardware specifics

There are four USB ports available for use here, as well as a HDMI and DisplayPort for the monitor. There's Wi-Fi and Bluetooth for connectivity, as well as a wired (Ethernet) internet port. There's also the standard headphone/microphone jack, SD card support and a Kensington lock for security.
As is standard, the USB ports will support things like a keyboard, mouse, external headsets, webcams and the like. Certain things do not work via USB, such as printers, which I've already covered. A full list of supported hardware can be found pretty easily via Google.

Hardware capability

This Chromebox uses an Intel Celeron chip.
Celeron is Intel's basic offering, so is intended for moderate computing use. In other words, if you have just a few tabs open, it'll be fast and responsive.
Other configurations are available; a Core i3 (a much faster processor) is offered, if you feel you'll need that. Most people won't, however. It should only really be considered if you almost always have 20+ tabs open, or frequently have HD video streaming, as well as multiple other tabs running, given the increased cost.

Summary

For me, this is the perfect computer; I don't use any specialist software and on my old Windows machine only used Chrome and a media player. This delivers that in a tiny box and is faster and dirt cheap. This should be strongly considered if you just want a simple, crazy fast machine to use. If you need to use specialist applications and the Chrome Web Store doesn't offer usable alternatives though, this is likely not a candidate for your primary computer. However, given the low cost, it might be worth considering it as a second machine for fast web access.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dream come true, 6 Jan. 2015
By 
David Banks (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS Chromebox M031U Desktop (Celeron 2955U 1.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS) (Personal Computers)
I've had mine a few weeks now and I am still as pleased as punch with it. I was looking around for a replacement for my Mac Mini, which had suffered from a lightning strike, and I stumbled on a positive review of it in PC-Pro's Nov 2014 issue and took the plunge.
For me it's a dream come true. It's much faster than the Mac. It hangs on the back of the monitor, so takes up no desk space (the SD card slot and on/off switch are on top, so you just reach over the top of the monitor). It makes no noise at all. Best of all, after years of getting tangled up with Windows and OSX (never got my head round either of them) at last I have an operating system I feel confident with. I had to buy a new printer which works with Google Cloud Print, but the Asus is cheap and printers are cheaper, so it was still within budget. To any new computer user who has space for a desktop kit and doesn't want to be hunched over a little laptop I would say - get one of these!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is a great little machine, 13 Mar. 2015
This review is from: ASUS Chromebox M031U Desktop (Celeron 2955U 1.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS) (Personal Computers)
Assuming you understand the advantages and limitations of ChromeOS, this is a great little machine. I bought it mostly out of curiosity, to mount on the back of a new monitor I'd bought, but I'm now using it as my primary computer about 80% of the time. Very good option for a non-techie friend or relative, or someone who just uses online services.

Great performance and 5-6 second boot-up time. Presumably there's a fan inside, but I've never heard it, even when playing HD video. Good selection of ports too.

The biggest criticism I can lay against it is that I don't like the power button.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant little computer, 4 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS Chromebox M031U Desktop (Celeron 2955U 1.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS) (Personal Computers)
What a little cracker the Chromebox is. It is perfect for the many people who simply want a computer to browse the web, do email, listen to music, watch online video, or to create documents or spreadsheets.
You never have to worry about updates. It does it all itself.
You never need to worry about expensive anti virus software. It does not need it.
You never need to worry about a disc failure trashing all your documents and photos. They are all stored securely in Googles cloud.

Hardware wise the Chromebox uses similar components to a low end laptop, but because the ChromeOS does not have the bloat of Windows 8, this modest hardware positively flies. Windows pop up instantly and video plays flawlessly.

ChromeOS is really easy to use. A simple application launcher comes pre loaded with everything you need. Almost all the ChromeOS apps are simply links to web pages such as Google Docs. Because all the hard work is done by Google's servers the Chromebox does not need much processing power.

I am using mine with my existing VGA monitor. The Chromebox has two video outputs, an HDMI port, and a Displayport socket. I therefore bought this HDMI TO VGA with Audio Adapter which is really cheap and neat

The supplied keyboard and mouse is fine. No setup is required. Just plug the receiver into a usb port and switch on. Or you can use any USB keyboard or mouse you may own. Although the Chromebox supports Bluetooth, it is not enabled by default, so if you had a Bluetooth keyboard or mouse I think you would need a different keyboard to get started.

Importing files from an SD card, a Flash drive or an external disc drive is dead easy. Just plug in the drive and the file manager pops up, then cut and paste into Google Drive.

It is also easy to import files from your existing computer. All you have to do is get a google account and log into 'Google Drive' (https://drive.google.com/drive) and press the 'New' button to upload files. Anything imported into 'Google Drive' will be available to all your ChromeOS or Android devices. For your existing music files import them into 'Google Play' (https://play.google.com/music/listen).

Intel also provide a migration tool for Apple and Windows http://www.omgchrome.com/intels-new-easy-migration-apps-makes-switching-chromebooks-simple/ I have not tried it myself as migration was easy enough without it.

ChromeOS does have its limitations. It is not possible to attach an external DVD or Blu-Ray drive and watch films. Nor is it possible to install Windows games or software.
However there are Google equivalents for most common needs.
Use Google Docs instead of Office (yes they are compatible).
Use Google Hangouts instead of Skype (Hangouts is available on Apple iPhone)

If you are worried about the security aspects of storing all your documents and photos in the cloud, then enable Google 2 stage authentication from your Google account page. Only logins from designated devices will then be permitted, so a hacker could not access your documents even if they had your username and password.

I can think of several people who really ought to ditch their old computers and convert to a Chromebox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does everything my old PC did but actually better: boots faster, 1 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS Chromebox M031U Desktop (Celeron 2955U 1.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS) (Personal Computers)
Ive done away completely with my old PC running windows and now use these as both my home machines and office. Ive gone over to google drive from dropbox as well. Cant fault it. Does everything my old PC did but actually better: boots faster, google docs etc is so much better than the MS office software. The only downside is no high end games but if you are into that sort of thing get a console. Cant fault it really. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite and powerfull little browser based pc, 31 Aug. 2014
By 
Barry Munro - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS Chromebox M031U Desktop (Celeron 2955U 1.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS) (Personal Computers)
Chrome browser in a box and nothing more, that's fine for 90% of what I used my laptop for. Plenty powerful enough for watching Youtube and Netfix in HD although the lack of Silverlight means Amazon Instant Video and a few other that rely on it will not work.

It's totally silent and the included keyboard is really good, the mouse not so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another star from ASUS and the Chrome OS, 12 Jan. 2015
By 
Billy The Baker - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS Chromebox M031U Desktop (Celeron 2955U 1.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS) (Personal Computers)
I bought this to go along with my Chromebook laptop and the more I use them both I find the less is my need for Windows. I doubt if I'll ever buy any sort of computer again except for Chrome. So simple to set up, plug in the cables, switch on, sign in to your Google account and there is everything just as you like it from your account details in the cloud. Favourites/bookmarks etc all there instantly and ready to go.
And another great advantage is it is *fast*. Most of my time these days is spent browsing, plus online shopping, and online banking etc., and this together with the Chrome laptop fills all my needs.
Highly recommended for anyone who mainly use their computers in the way I have described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, silent and fast., 18 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS Chromebox M031U Desktop (Celeron 2955U 1.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS) (Personal Computers)
My previous desktop was a rather large tower with 2 hard drives and multiple fans that sounded like an aircraft taking off. I could never use it without thinking of the electricity bill. What a relief to replace it with this tiny Asus that scarcely makes a sound and costs so much less to run. It boots in 7 seconds and is really easy to set up. I have used Chromebooks before, but this Chromebox means I can enjoy a full sized screen and full keyboard and mouse, rather than the washed out screens and cheap keyboards on most Chromebooks. It is also faster than most Chromebooks as it has 4GB of RAM compared to the 2GB that most Chromebooks have at this price point. After using it nearly everyday for 3 weeks, I have found it plenty fast enough with no lag despite having multiple tabs open and listening to music played through YouTube.

The main downsides I have experienced are that I need to switch to my Windows laptop for more complex Word and Excel tasks. The Google versions are a bit basic and converting Word documents to Google Docs is very hit and miss to say the least. Printing is another issue - my Canon MG6350 is not listed among those that are Google Cloud Print ready which means reaching for my Windows laptop again.

All in all, a thoroughly worthwhile purchase at a great price as long as you have a secondary machine for more complex office tasks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS Chromebox M031U Desktop (Celeron 2955U 1.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS) (Personal Computers)
Excellent product. Well made and does as specified. I cannot fault this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews