Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read from Chris Nuttall
What can I say this author keeps delivering the goods. Earth has been invaded and conquered. But this is not the end humans being humans fight back. This is not the normal type of earth resistance book where the good guys battle overwhelming odds and always win. This is much more realistic with people having to choose between collaboration or resistance and it is not...
Published 1 month ago by Bagsy

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This whole story has been ruined by the authors own ...
This whole story has been ruined by the authors own political agenda. I thought it was written by a member of the Teaparty or UKIP. Anything to do with the NHS, BBC or any other governmental organization is denigrated from the outset as being Hysterical, Shoddy or Third rate. Civil Servants are vilified as collaborators with no explanation as to why. Even the invading...
Published 15 days ago by Captain Rum


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read from Chris Nuttall, 25 July 2014
By 
Bagsy (Northamptonshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Their Darkest Hour (Kindle Edition)
What can I say this author keeps delivering the goods. Earth has been invaded and conquered. But this is not the end humans being humans fight back. This is not the normal type of earth resistance book where the good guys battle overwhelming odds and always win. This is much more realistic with people having to choose between collaboration or resistance and it is not always a straightforward choice. The book is set in occupied Britain and without spoiling the story it describes how such an invasion might work and how people react in different ways. Suffice to say the book ends on a hopeful note but there is going to be a lot of death and destruction to come before hopefully we are free. Highly recommended. If you have not read any of this authors works before please go and read them IMHO he is a highly talented and prolific author who seems to be able to turn out books at an incredible rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Their Darkest Hour., 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Their Darkest Hour (Kindle Edition)
I have just finished reading this book, and it covers every human emotion.
The story continues seamlessly from book three and apart from some niggling sentence repetitions and "non-English" spellings, ((of which there were few), the story's familiar characters and their relationships unfolded in an orderly and easily understood way.
This is science fiction at its very best, the bad guys (Sythians), and the Humans are intent on finding Avalon,the mythical planet. The Sythians with the murderous intent of destroying it, and the Humans desire for fulfilment. The spa e battle scenes are "out of this world" and paint a picture that is so realistic, one can but close their eyes and imagine being there.

When the battle is over, the story continues on the planet but I will not spoil the enjoyment for any future readers!
I look forward with great anticipation to the next instalment, Christopher Nuttall is a top rate author and I cannot speak more highly than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good yarn... shame about the proof-reading, 16 Aug 2014
By 
D. Martin "DpMDpMDpM" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Their Darkest Hour (Kindle Edition)
I really quite enjoyed this book, it was a thumb-flicker (as in Kindle) and I got through it in a few nights. The story is gripping and the characters are a bit more than simply one-dimensional, although there are quite a few so it's difficult to keep track of everyone. I did like the fact that some distasteful actions - torture, killings - were not shied away from. I am eagerly awaiting the next instalment of the series and I will purchase it straight away if it is less than £3.

The negative aspect to this review is all the word mistakes... they're not spelling mistakes, or grammar, but lots of missing words and incorrect words. I sent an email to the author, I'm hoping it's a simple job to correct all these on a digital version of a book, it really did detract from the story as once you spot one, you're focusing on that. This book was littered with mistakes and a competent editor / proof reader should get hold of these before they are released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He does it again a well set out book and a damn good read, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Their Darkest Hour (Kindle Edition)
This is not the first of his books i have read as always this is a very good read to be set in the UK made it for me nice to have a book set here. Hope the second book will be out soon can't wait to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable., 28 Aug 2014
By 
Ed.F "edz314" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Their Darkest Hour (Kindle Edition)
A good "invasion of earth" mil-sci book from a modern British perspective. Nice pace, good treatment of an asymmetric war where the aliens are far ahead of us in some areas. Some hints of Niven & Pournell's "Footfall" which is no bad thing. Some gratuitous torture scenes of female characters by collaborators left a bad taste in the mouth though, it was unnecessary and badly handled but on the whole a promising start to a trilogy I hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This whole story has been ruined by the authors own ..., 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Their Darkest Hour (Kindle Edition)
This whole story has been ruined by the authors own political agenda. I thought it was written by a member of the Teaparty or UKIP. Anything to do with the NHS, BBC or any other governmental organization is denigrated from the outset as being Hysterical, Shoddy or Third rate. Civil Servants are vilified as collaborators with no explanation as to why. Even the invading Aliens are overseen by The State.

The author has potential to create settings that are not in the U.S.A. which to me is refreshing, so I hope he tightens up his writings and the publishers point out that the author is writing SciFi and not a Political Manifesto. The author should go on to be a popular writer. I will finish the story but I am now on the look out with each turn of the page for some additional attack on U.K. institutions which detracts from what could have been a reasonable story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Their Darkest Hour (Kindle Edition)
What can I say, I reached the end and now can't wait for the next installment. Do I see another trilogy in the making. I can only agree with all the other people who gave 5stars his work only gets better. As for the guy who gave 2 stars go get a life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant first read., 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Their Darkest Hour (Kindle Edition)
This is my first time of reading anything by this author, and I'm really enjoying his book, I will certainly be looking out for any others he's written, very good story line, the characters stand out as if it was a real event,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Their Darkest Hour (Kindle Edition)
Not complicated just us verses them goodies and baddies. I enjoyed this book. I get annoyed though that nowadays there are not stand alone books everything has to have another book attached.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excitement from start to finish, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Their Darkest Hour (Kindle Edition)
Another masterpiece. An interesting angle on the alien invades Earth scenario and how we might respond to it. Bring on the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Their Darkest Hour
Their Darkest Hour by Christopher Nuttall
£2.35
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews