Customer Reviews


198 Reviews
5 star:
 (148)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Thriller
Emma Dockery is suspended from her job as an FBI research analyst for refusing the sexual advances of her boss. Her sister, Marta, died alone in a house fire eight months earlier. Emma refuses to believe it was accidental. She becomes obsessed with home fires associated with a single fatality. She establishes and analyses 53 cases. A pattern emerges of a serial killer...
Published 10 months ago by ACB(swansea)

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor read
Wish i had downloaded a sample first instead of paying over £6. Really dissapointed, couldn't get into the story at all, poorly written for a James Patterson book.
Published 9 months ago by Fran


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Thriller, 1 Aug. 2014
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invisible (Kindle Edition)
Emma Dockery is suspended from her job as an FBI research analyst for refusing the sexual advances of her boss. Her sister, Marta, died alone in a house fire eight months earlier. Emma refuses to believe it was accidental. She becomes obsessed with home fires associated with a single fatality. She establishes and analyses 53 cases. A pattern emerges of a serial killer (unknown subject). The victim is always found at the point of origin of the fire, always a bedroom, where any evidence will be destroyed and deaths appear accidental, hence no autopsy. With the help of her ex-fiancé, Books, himself an ex-FBI agent, they endeavour to provide the FBI with substance to back her theories. Early in the book, 'Graham' begins a series of recordings stating, 'I have killed a lot of people' and announcing his selected victims with prophetic accuracy. A formal investigation begins headed by Books. An ingenious, meticulous, cold-blooded murderer is roaming freely in the states of America. The task is to capture him before the death toll climbs.

The story line is cleverly conceived. Emma's character comes across as tough and determined, rather cold and not particularly likeable, prepared to cross boundaries in her mission, putting others at risk. Books is a thinker, well-organised and tolerant even when pressured by Emma and the frustrations of chasing a killer always one step ahead of his best laid plans. Tension is developed by the killer and the fires with the investigative team gradually gaining more information on patterns of his idiosyncratic behaviour. He has covered all eventualities in the unlikely event the authorities will close on him. He considers himself too clever, invisible, untouchable, a man ahead of the game. His character is well-developed and captivating right to the end as his self-confessed thoughts and personality are revealed in a piece-meal fashion.

The chase is full of suspense and the twists leading up to the ending come with a thump, skilfully executed. The narrative runs fluently with most of the action occurring in the latter stages of the novel. The finale itself comes over as a bit rushed when the excitement and suspense could have been developed given the major surprises it contains. Having said that, it is thrilling with the outcome hanging by a thread.

Patterson and collaborator David Ellis have produced an easy, enjoyable murder thriller. The arguments will no doubt continue as to who wrote what but this stand alone book is, in my opinion, a 'good read'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read but got the twist., 11 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Invisible (Kindle Edition)
Maybe I am just getting used to reading lots of thrillers but I got the twist on this one long before the end and assume others more experienced and cleverer than me would do the same. Similarly with the main character's initial predicament and solution.
Still a good page-turner and interesting plot-line but I get the idea that production is exceeding quality for Mr Patterson as his co-writers use him to sell their own Patterson-proofed storylines.
A good read but as a 40p library reserve not an £8 purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on track!, 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invisible (Kindle Edition)
AS A LIFE LONG FAN OF J P I WAS STARTING TO FIND SOME OF THE BOOKS, MEDIOCRE AND PREDICTABLE. A BIT LIKE A CONVEYER BELT OF MASS PRODUCTION. HOWEVER THIS ONE IS RIGHT ON THE MONEY. STRONG,SASSY CHARACTERS AND A VERY UNPREDICTABLE TWIST. VERY ENJOYABLE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great story from these wonderful writers, 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invisible (Hardcover)
I loved it, thought it was a great stand alone thriller by James Patterson & David Ellis. I enjoyed the twist in the story near the end. Enjoyed the chemistry between the characters Emmy and Books. I actually would love it, if they wrote a sequel to see how their relationship progress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars patterson does it again, 15 Aug. 2014
By 
Karon Goldman "kaz" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invisible (Kindle Edition)
when I started reading invisible I thought oh this is very different to other Patterson books but as you read on wow
is this book good he is the man and he has done it again people Invisible is a great read well recommended
karon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, but the ending is easy to guess, 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invisible (Kindle Edition)
James Patterson & David Ellis wrote a good book here, and I enjoyed it enough to give it a 4 star rating. The ending was very predictable and easy to guess though. I really like short chapters though, and this is a trademark of JP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invisible (Kindle Edition)
I an already hooked on James Patterson's books and have read all his books except the Alex Cross series.

I have to say that this is one of my favourites!

I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Invisible, 30 Mar. 2015
By 
This review is from: Invisible (Paperback)
James Patterson is one of them authors where you are guaranteed a very good read.

There's a serial killer on the loose and an FBI employee who learns about it. It is supposed to hidden but she takes you on a journey to stop it and catch the perpetrator. But throw in a love story as well and you a very good read as I stated earlier. Highly recommend this book, just could not put it down as I continually wanted to know what was going to happen next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a page turner!, 31 July 2014
This review is from: Invisible (Kindle Edition)
This new character fro Patterson is very believable, and the short chapters kepf my interest from start to finish. A great thriller with chilling undertones - cracking story!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sadistic killing, 21 Mar. 2015
By 
Peter Joiner (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invisible (Audio CD)
FBI analyst not satisfied with the outcome of the investigation into her sisters death digs around herself and discovers a serial killer who has probably murder scores of people undetected, only nobody believes her. The story reveals a sadistic killer on the prowl who is very good at what they do and stays well ahead of law enforcement, you are lead in one direction only to find red herrings then of you go in another direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews