Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless
Following on with the life of Eveleen Hardcastle and her family from the author's previous book, Tangled Threads, this story takes the reader on a journey through the first World War. Showing how it wasn't only the men who went to fight that suffered and had their lives drastically changed but so did the women who were left behind to cope. It shows a compulsive timeless...
Published on 13 May 2003 by lindasykes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good read
good read had to get tangled threads as the books follow each other. the characters are good and realistic. would recommend to anyone
Published on 23 Jan. 2013 by julietromeo


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 13 May 2003
This review is from: Twisted Strands (Paperback)
Following on with the life of Eveleen Hardcastle and her family from the author's previous book, Tangled Threads, this story takes the reader on a journey through the first World War. Showing how it wasn't only the men who went to fight that suffered and had their lives drastically changed but so did the women who were left behind to cope. It shows a compulsive timeless love from the women, that never changed while their menfolk were away and how they never gave up despite the uphill struggles they encountered from dealing with difficult relatives and a different type of working skill while longing for their loved ones to come home safely from the war.
Margaret Dickinson has once again produced a rivetting story full of love and intrigue. She uses the setting this time as close to Belvoir Castle in Grantham and once again the book is hard to put down once you have commenced reading, be prepared to shed a tear for the characters and warn your family that you will be ignoring them for a while. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sequel to Tangled Threads, 29 Dec. 2011
By 
Mrs. V. Leete "Vanessa" (Great Yarmouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twisted Strands (Paperback)
This book is a sequel to Tangled Threads, Eveleen is now 30 and is married to Richard, they have a very happy marriage, Richard has never loved anyone only Eveleen, one thing would make there marriage complete is a child, which at present does not seem to happen for them. Bridie is now growing up and Mary is finding it hard to control her, as she is very strong willed, at an early age all Bridie wants is one day to marry Andrew her godfather who she has loved all her life, but unfortunately Andrew only ever loved one woman and that is Bridie dead mother Rebecca.

First world war breaks out, Bridie becomes a nurse while Eveleen has to run the factory while Richard volunteers to fight in the war.

I was a little disappointed with this book, as at the end of Tangled Threads, Eveleen was going back to Nottingham, and she was ready to love again, and obviously meet up with Richard again who fell in love with Eveleen, but then the story starts 10 years later and she was married to Richard, I would have love to be able to read when she met up with Richard again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars twisted strands., 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twisted Strands (Kindle Edition)
a good story with some memorable characters. however, to me , the ending seemed rather rushed, almost as though the author had had enough and just wanted to end it. A 'feel good' story though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars marvellous, 27 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twisted Strands (Kindle Edition)
fantastic yet again, I really do not know how she does it .I have not read a bad novel from her yet.Keep them coming Margaret.thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRRREAT, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twisted Strands (Kindle Edition)
Another great read by this author. It is an amazing fantastic book to read. Once you start reading you can't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twisted Strands (Kindle Edition)
Good story I did enjoyed it, I have read lot of this authors books, although It is not one of her best books in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You can't beat a good Margaret Dickinson Novel.., 19 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Twisted Strands (Kindle Edition)
I was hooked from very early on and Twisted Strands stopped me doing a lot of jobs! I had read Tangled Threads but a long time ago, I remembered some of the story line but you could read this as a stand alone novel. Margaret Dickinson is the ultimate 'old times' story teller and I love to get engrossed in the characters and how they lived in yesteryear, brilliant, easy read that I couldn't put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Twisted strands, 1 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twisted Strands (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book, it kept me captivated throughout. With our lives so busy rushing about its great to open my book and go back in time to be thoroughly engrossed in their lives if only for a short time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Twisted Strands by Margaret Dickinson, 20 Oct. 2012
By 
M. Hillier - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twisted Strands (Paperback)
Twisted Strands by Margaret Dickinson is another great novel written by her. And as usual grips you into the story so much you dont want to stop reading. A novel not to miss out on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Twisted Strands, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twisted Strands (Kindle Edition)
Another good read from Margaret Dickinson. Follows on from Tangled Threads. Stories well linked although would be just as good as stand alone stories. Thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews