Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The museum; the heroine.
The heroine of this soothing and soothingly predictable romantic novel is a beautiful (of course), young country girl, Eveleen, who successfully emerges hopeful, and cleverly virginal, from sexual oppression by the squire's son and from the trauma of being driven from her tied home. Eveleen nobly takes responsibility for her mother and her feckless brother on their...
Published on 17 Nov. 2009 by K. Newman

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Blank pages
Have just started reading this book on my kindle and I am very disappointed because a lot of pages are blank so unable to continue reading shame looked like it might be a good story.
Published 8 days ago by sylvia venables


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The museum; the heroine., 17 Nov. 2009
By 
K. Newman "Griswold" (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tangled Threads (Paperback)
The heroine of this soothing and soothingly predictable romantic novel is a beautiful (of course), young country girl, Eveleen, who successfully emerges hopeful, and cleverly virginal, from sexual oppression by the squire's son and from the trauma of being driven from her tied home. Eveleen nobly takes responsibility for her mother and her feckless brother on their journey, first to work for a hypocrite Christian Uncle and thence to the Dark Satanic Mills of Victorian and Edwardian Nottingham. The mother, Mary is driven temporarily witless by her husband's death and the consequent removal of the family from their tied holding and she becomes a greater burden for the youthful heroine. By pure chance, Eveleen finds work in a factory which turns out to be owned by the handsome (of course) old flame of her mother's, who might have been her (illegitimate) father. Fortunately for Eveleen and the story line, it turns out not to be so, because the old flame's son, Mr Richard, is equally handsome, dark, and presumably, heir to his father's successful business, and naturally, he falls in love, on sight, with Eveleen. He becomes her knight in shining armour and moves tactfully but inevitably to protect and save her from her several tribulations. Despite her brother James getting her cousin Rebecca pregnant and running away to sea, at last, everything ends with prospects of happiness all round, except for poor old Dad, who died early in the saga, and Rebecca who dies in childbirth leaving Eveleen with the baby. I found the author's ploy of keeping Eveleen ever pure, yet making her a mother by proxy at once ingenious, and amusing, yet touchingly realistic for the times portrayed.
What takes this novel out of the run-of -the-mill is the extraordinarily well-researched detail of the small world the characters lived and worked in. The second hero#ine) is the Ruddington Framework Knitters Museum, on which Eveleen's Uncle's framework shops and home are precisely based. This real background lifted the whole saga into vivid reality, and after the formulaic early pages, I was enthralled. There are echoes of Pride and Prejudice, but set in a lower stratum of society and with a less cerebral, but equally complex and fascinating set of characters.

Margaret Dickinson is a very experienced and popular writer and is generally very readable and enjoyable. Particularly so in this case. The amount of research that went into this book is evident, but not gratingly obvious; knitted into the pattern of the story faultlessly.

Tangled Threads will contrast and complement nicely the stock of more weighty academic and factual publications sold by the Museum. Margaret Dickinson's imagination has populated the Museum site with lively and romantic characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ***** book, 12 Aug. 2003
By 
Lydia Gray (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tangled Threads (Paperback)
I havnt enjoyed a book like this in a long time! A thoroughly gripping book about love, family and of course hidden secrets!Eveleen is such a strong character who is determined to succeed Magaret Dickinson made an excellent job. I would reccomend this book to anyone who loves a can't-put-it-down book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Spell binding read, 10 Oct. 2007
By 
This review is from: Tangled Threads (Paperback)
This is not the kind of book I would normally read, but been stuck in a quiet period at work there was nothing else to do so I started to read the first few pages.

My typical book choice would be a fantasty or a Crime Thriller so I really didn't expect much, how wrong could I be?

Within the first few pages I was hooked, the book is so well written and very engaging. I truely cared about the characters, laughing, crying and shouting along with them.

I finished the book in two days and am now going to buy the sequal, a wholely unexpected but gratefully welcomed addition to my reading list!

Whatever your taste I reccommend you read this book and get in touch with true humanity. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book by Margaret Dickinson, 29 Dec. 2011
By 
Mrs. V. Leete "Vanessa" (Great Yarmouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tangled Threads (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this novel by Margaret Dickinson

Eveleen, her mother, father and brother live in Lincolnshire, Eveleen is in love with the squire sons, Stephen, when suddenly one day she finds her dad face down in a ditch dead from a heart attack, her mother goes hysterical, her brother is not much help as he is always causing trouble. Eveleen gets betrayed by Stephen and they have to leave there farmhouse, they end up going to live with her mother's brother, who holds a grudge with Eveleen mother Mary, over what happened 20 years ago in her past.

Eveleen uncle has a daughter Rebecca, and her brother Jimmy who is the cousin of Rebecca takes a shine to her and she ends up pregnant with his child, but obviously there are a lot of twists and turns, when the uncle finds out, they are all thrown out of the house, and Eveleen takes them to Nottingham to start a new life, but her mum is so unhappy all she ever wants to do is go back to her beloved farm in Lincolnshire.

Eveleen finds a job in a factory, and the owners of the factory is father and son, and Mary's past comes back to haunt her, and Richard the son of the owner falls in love with Eveleen, but Eveleen does not trust men, after what happened with Stephen.

There is a lot more to this book, but I do not want to spoil it for you avid readers of Margaret Dickinson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic novel, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tangled Threads (Kindle Edition)
I would really love to meet Margaret and ask her so many questions, her novels bring real life into perspective and thanks to her my sleepless nights have brought me great comfort. I am a true devotee to her novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two Heroines, 10 Dec. 2006
By 
T. C. Astill "Tom Astill" (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tangled Threads (Paperback)
Book Review: " Tangled Threads" by Margaret Dickinson.

The heroine of this soothing and mainly predictable romantic novel is a beautiful (of course), young country girl, Eveleen, who successfully emerges hopeful, and cleverly virginal, from sexual oppression by the squire's son and from the trauma of being driven from her tied home. Eveleen nobly takes responsibility for her mother and her feckless brother on their journey, first to work for a hypocrite of a "Christian" Uncle and thence to the Dark Satanic Mills of Victorian and Edwardian Nottingham. The mother, Mary is driven temporarily witless by her husband's death and the consequent removal of the family from their tied holding and becomes yet another burden for the youthful heroine. By pure chance, Eveleen finds work in a factory which turns out to be owned by the handsome (of course) old flame of her mother's, who might have been her (illegitimate) father. Fortunately for Eveleen and the story line, it turns out not to be so, because the old flame's son, Mr Richard, is equally handsome, dark, and presumably, heir to his father's successful business, and naturally, he falls in love, on sight, with Eveleen. He becomes her knight in shining armour and moves tactfully but inevitably to protect and save her from her several tribulations. Despite her brother James getting her cousin Rebecca pregnant and running away to sea, at last, everything ends with prospects of happiness all round, except for poor old Dad, who died early in the saga, and Rebecca who dies in childbirth leaving Eveleen with the baby. I found the author's ploy of keeping Eveleen pure, yet making her a mother by proxy, ingenious, amusing, but touchingly realistic for the times portrayed.

What takes this novel out of the run-of -the-mill is the extraordinarily well-researched detail of the small world the characters lived and worked in. The second hero(ine) is the Ruddington Framework Knitters Museum,on which Eveleen's Uncle's framework shops and home are precisely based. This real background lifted the whole saga into vivid reality, and after the formulaic early pages, I was enthralled. There are echoes of Pride and Prejudice, but set in a lower stratum of society and with a less cerebral, but equally complex and fascinating set of characters.

Margaret Dickinson is a very experienced and popular writer and is generally very readable and enjoyable; particularly so in this case. The amount of research that went into this book is evident, but not gratingly obvious; knitted into the pattern of the story faultlessly.

Tangled Threads will contrast and complement nicely the stock of more weighty academic and factual publications held by the Museum. Margaret Dickinson's imagination has populated the Museum site with lively and romantic characters. Eveleen promises to become a local heroine of some note in the book's sequel, "Twisted Strands".

Despite an ingrained aversion to the genre, I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and can recommend it to anyone even slightly interested in the cottage industry era, the Ruddington Framework Knitters Museum in its hey-day, or a very satisfying novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tangled Threads, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tangled Threads (Kindle Edition)
A good read from Margaret Dickinson as always. Good background research of the way ordinary people lived through difficult times. Fully recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tangled Threads (Kindle Edition)
Ordered this book when taking my kindle on holiday. Good well written story, which I thoroughly enjoyed reading. Would choose this author again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impossible to put down!, 19 May 2014
This review is from: Tangled Threads (Paperback)
When I first started reading tangled threads, I did not expect much as it is not my normal read, but after a few pages I couldn't put it down! The story of beautiful, iron willed, country girl Eveleen Hardcastle is exciting with plenty of unexpected plot twists that will keep you hooked to the end. It is perfectly written and definitely worth the money. Just watch the time or else you will get caught up in Dickinson's intriguing world of fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tangled Threads, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tangled Threads (Paperback)
Really loved it, can't get enough of Dickenson's books. I would really recommend her stories to my friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews