Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars St. Clair + BBW + Shifters = Awesome
What to expect (negative): A few typos, a faster courtship pace, less depth

What to expect (positive): Strong characters, interesting concepts, pleasant storyline, the promise of even better books to come in the series

At around 150 pages, Bride of the Alpha is a sweet little novella. The length seems typical for many of the novellas coming out in...
Published 5 months ago by Ruckasaurus Rex

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars As was a bit rushed
This is the second book I've read by this author and again the idea behind the story is quite good. Though for the money it's quite a short story. This would get 4 stars if was longer and not so rushed in the storyline and 5 stars for a little more character spin offs i.e the sheriff's stir could be explained a little more or the brothers more involved.
Published 6 months ago by Louise Sawyer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars St. Clair + BBW + Shifters = Awesome, 21 Aug. 2014
By 
This review is from: Bride Of The Alpha (A BBW paranormal romance) (Timber Valley Pack Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What to expect (negative): A few typos, a faster courtship pace, less depth

What to expect (positive): Strong characters, interesting concepts, pleasant storyline, the promise of even better books to come in the series

At around 150 pages, Bride of the Alpha is a sweet little novella. The length seems typical for many of the novellas coming out in the paranormal romance genre lately, and the story does not disappoint. The cover is similar to the books in Georgette St. Clair’s Blue Moon Junction series, with a hunky male dominating the space. In comparison to the other covers, however, this cover shows the male from his trim, muscly waist nearly to the top of his head where other covers merely focused on the washboard abdominals and gorgeous pectorals. This fine specimen of a cover model is tanned, with a sculpted body packed with well-defined muscling, and short dark hair. He even has (gasp) is that an earring in his left ear?! To his right a semi-translucent wolf howls against a wooded background. The bottom third of the cover boasts the series title in white, with the book title in a darker cursive below, and the author’s name centered on the bottom in off-white. The background for the lettering is a beautiful mountain landscape with a grassy field dotted with buildings below and snowcapped mountains kissing a bright blue sky. The cover seems to be a good reflection of the book.

St. Clair writes big beautiful women (BBW) very well. The lead female character in this book is someone that I admire and would not mind having on my side in a fight. An elementary school teacher, Josephine is willing to sacrifice herself for her friend’s safety and happiness, stepping up to take her friend’s place in an arranged marriage. Giving her friend the time to escape is one thing, but the Hotty McHottenstein bridegroom makes her realize that perhaps she did not think this rescue mission all the way through…and she might be the one needing a rescue in the end!

Maxwell Battle is pleasantly surprised by the curvy beauty who shows up for the arranged marriage, but he is more than ready to take her on…right after disciplining her for her transgressions in kinky, sexy ways. How long will this farce of a marriage last? Is Maxwell actually going to force her to fulfill her end of the marriage vows, or will he release her? Despite the drama going on at center stage, there are several other conflicts orbiting around the couple in this tale that keeps the action moving through the novella.

Due to the length of the story, some pieces of the puzzle were left incomplete. I am not sure if this is an intentional omission by the author to draw readers along looking for the answers in future books, or if this was a length constraint. The story leaps almost directly into action, which is in standing with the current technique of grabbing the reader’s attention and holding it with quality writing. In exchange for the action, though, we trade off a foundation of details that informs the reader about the rules of this world. How does the pack operate, and how big is the community of shifters in this series – what type of shifters exist in this world? Also, the roles of different individuals within the pack was not quite detailed fully (like the shaman), and I felt that the role of the alpha’s bride in the pack was a little weak. That may sound horribly negative, but I just could not put my kindle down until I had finished this story. I love the Blue Moon Junction series, and I definitely make room for novellas in my reading schedule, so I appreciate the differences between full length novels and the much shorter novella. I would recommend this book as a filler between longer novels, to anyone who is looking for something different in the paranormal romance genre, and to fans of Georgette St. Clair.

Ruckie

You can find the author on her website, Facebook, or Twitter.

http://georgettewrites.com/
https://twitter.com/Georgettewrites
https://www.facebook.com/georgettewrites

If you enjoyed my review, check out my website or find me on Facebook or Twitter. Thanks for stopping by!

http://www.romancereviewsbyruckie.com/
https://www.facebook.com/ruckasaurusrex
https://twitter.com/reviewsbyruckie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars As was a bit rushed, 28 July 2014
By 
Louise Sawyer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bride Of The Alpha (A BBW paranormal romance) (Timber Valley Pack Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book I've read by this author and again the idea behind the story is quite good. Though for the money it's quite a short story. This would get 4 stars if was longer and not so rushed in the storyline and 5 stars for a little more character spin offs i.e the sheriff's stir could be explained a little more or the brothers more involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!!!!, 15 Sept. 2014
By 
Christina Hawkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bride Of The Alpha (A BBW paranormal romance) (Timber Valley Pack Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Anyone who enjoys shifter tales and wants an actual story give this a try. While I enjoy a steamy sex scene as much as many do, this book has them but not page after page with just a very small percentage left for a storyline of sorts. The characters are well developed and the story interesting and fast paced. I read it in one sitting and am about to get more in this series. My only complaint is that the book is just too short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty cool stuff., 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bride Of The Alpha (A BBW paranormal romance) (Timber Valley Pack Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Modern shifter tale, slightly different slant, with lots of twists, action, magic, romance and sex.

Plenty of sexy alphas, a heroine with a feisty attitude, lots of male dominance and some b.d.s.m. play.

I enjoyed this book, it was unique, fresh and the author was able to keep my attention, her books are definitely worth a look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A howling sex-secessful story., 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bride Of The Alpha (A BBW paranormal romance) (Timber Valley Pack Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Great storyline. First time read of this type of story. Really enjoyed it. Wasn't bored at once. Will read another by this author. Like the fact the main female character is not some perfect woman. One of the main things for me also, is that the story wasn't too long, so at the end I can still remember all the story and characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Taking a Chance, 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bride Of The Alpha (A BBW paranormal romance) (Timber Valley Pack Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I am new to this author but the blurb about this story caught my attention and I decided to take a chance. I am so glad I did. I immediately purchased the second in the series and pre-ordered the third. I hope there is more than three because I'm not ready too say goodbye to the Timber valley Pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bride Of The Alpha (A BBW paranormal romance) (Timber Valley Pack Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I started reading Georgette's books with "The Alpha meets his match" and was hooked, and I have not been disappointed in any of them... I have my fave chars and Josephine and Maxwell have definitely joined them.... Can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars must read, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bride Of The Alpha (A BBW paranormal romance) (Timber Valley Pack Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Started reading this book after work, finished it a 0230 hrs, was absolutely unable to put it down. If you have never read georgette st Clair before you really must read this book. I'm hooked can't wait to start the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bride Of The Alpha (A BBW paranormal romance) (Timber Valley Pack Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Downloaded a sample and knew I'd have to get the book by the second page. Only problem was that there were some major incidents but the book is quite short so they're not really explored in detail but still a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bride Of The Alpha (A BBW paranormal romance) (Timber Valley Pack Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. I loved everything about this story, the concept, the storyline and the characters. It was a fantastic start to a new series and I can't wait for book 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews