Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Live Another Day
Live Another Day, despite its cliched bond esque sub title, presents a slightly fresher take on the old 24 formula. Trimming the series by half and setting it in London as opposed to sunny LA was a canny move and helps revitalise a struggling series.

The usual set up's are there of course. Jack is in hiding, tempted out by a terrorist attack. The president...
Published 1 month ago by T. Cosens

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Twelve. And on a budget.
I love the 24 series, especially the first 4 or 5. But I feel I have to rate this simply "OK" in terms of a 1 to 5 star rating. It's nowhere near the par of the first few series and if my biased opinion put this down as 4 stars it would leave a lot of buyers short changed based on my review. So 3 stars it is.

24 all got a bit silly towards the end...
Published 12 days ago by D. J. Burton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Live Another Day, 26 July 2014
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Live Another Day, despite its cliched bond esque sub title, presents a slightly fresher take on the old 24 formula. Trimming the series by half and setting it in London as opposed to sunny LA was a canny move and helps revitalise a struggling series.

The usual set up's are there of course. Jack is in hiding, tempted out by a terrorist attack. The president brings him back into the fold and off he goes on his one man mission to save the world. It's fast and frantic as always and characters come and go and yes there is a mole. 24 would not be complete without a mole.

It is this mixture of old and new that makes the series work....JUST. It isnt perfect, and isnt going to erase the memories of some of the later seasons, but it is a step in the right direction. London makes for a nicely gritty and dangerous feeling location. Some of the new characters are easy to root for and some are not.

Get past the coincedences of everyone being in the same city at the same time and there is some fun to be had. The action is brutal and in some cases quite graphic. The terrorist plot to start with is quite intriguing but then descends into familiar territory with various factions involved at different levels.

The much mooted series ending was a bit of a damp squib considering what had gone before it but Fox isn't about to jeopadise its number one character!

When all is said and done Live Another Day will stand as one of the better seasons. Full of action and incident it is worth a look and with only 12 episodes it flashes by in an instant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Aug 2014
Just one word can sum up this season of 24; brilliant. I cannot begin how to describe just how much indifference I had when I heard that 24 was coming back. Sure Seasons 1 to 5 were brilliant and had some of the most gripping and thrilling episodes of any TV show ever but by the time Season 8 finished I was just so happy this show was cancelled. Season 6, 7 and 8 were just so bad (I won't include Redemption as I actually liked Redemption). The show in Seasons 6, 7 and 8 struggled to fill 24 episodes with enough action to keep you interested while also concentrating on some of the worst side characters ever. Instead of characters I actually cared about like Tony Almedia and David Palmer I was forced to watch characters I could care less about and also watch recycled plots.

24 Live Another Day has the brilliant advantage of having just 12 episodes to fill while also bringing back classic characters such as James Heller (last seen as the President in the Dark Knight Rises) and Audrey Raines. The show contains a lot less episodes which are basically filler as the writers don't have enough material to go forward with the story. Nobody gets caught in a bear trap (Season 2) although the show does contain the obligatory side characters and plots that somehow become important to the main story.

Simply put the new format works amazingly well and provides 24 with a much needed boost. If you expect the new format means that this show will somehow become more realistic then look elsewhere as the plots are just as ridiculous as ever. But unlike Seasons 6, 7 and 8 Live Another Day is ridiculously entertaining.

If you lost interest in Season 8 and are wondering whether to begin watching again then the answer is Yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 24: Live Another Day mini-series review, 16 July 2014
After 4 years away from the screen (and failed attempts at making a feature film) Jack finally returns in a shorter story (taking place largely over 12 hours instead of 24).

President Heller is in danger in London & Bauer surfaces to save him. But things in this show have never been that simple. The usual twists, developments, & edge of the seat drama seem far more logical and intriguing thanks to the tighter, shorter, faster pace of the 12 episode run.

New strong characters emerge, particularly Kate, a female agent with similarities to Bauer & a possible future lead character should Jack ever leave these dark days behind him.

Live Another Day has rekindled my memories of Sunday nights watching Bauer in the early 2000's, hopefully this limited series could develop into a new generation and relaunch of this incredible series which after 13 years is still fresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Bauer is BACK!! And off course with ..., 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jack Bauer is BACK!! And off course with style. Most of the cast is new, but yet we still have some old and important faces. Heller, Audrey, and the most surprising is Chloe O Brian. Yes she is still hacking but for a different reason. But as always she is still helping Bauer and giving him the tactical advantage. He is looking a bit old and he should be after 4 years but he yields gun as nobody does. On one side we have Die Another Day and James Bond, and here we have Live Another Day and Jack Bauer. It seems cliche but they have a lot in common. Martini , shaken , not stirred . Dammit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack's back! Love it., 21 July 2014
By 
N. Robson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pace, action, loads of great British acting plus the bonus of playing where did they film that bit in London. Hope they do another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars and I delighted in Jack's novel way of dealing with Margot et ..., 7 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. K. H. Plunkett (Fareham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have not missed an episode of this series since the very beginning; and it was a reward to us Brits to get an adventure of our own in UK. The action was fast and furious as expected; and I delighted in Jack's novel way of dealing with Margot et al after de-activating the last drone. Pretty fair acting all round; although I doubt that MI5 would have announced their presence before entry!! Never mind!
it is perhaps in our best interests to allow the USA to regard us as lowly subjects; it is all the sweeter when they find us there when needed! The sub plot with regard to the London CIA station and Zoe is a bit confusing at times; but all in all an excellent return for Jack Bauer; Long May He Reign!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... all seasons this year and 9 is just as good as the rest, 13 Aug 2014
By 
V. devereaux (london uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have watched all seasons this year and 9 is just as good as the rest. I want jack to have my back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Twelve. And on a budget., 10 Sep 2014
By 
D. J. Burton (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I love the 24 series, especially the first 4 or 5. But I feel I have to rate this simply "OK" in terms of a 1 to 5 star rating. It's nowhere near the par of the first few series and if my biased opinion put this down as 4 stars it would leave a lot of buyers short changed based on my review. So 3 stars it is.

24 all got a bit silly towards the end and a bit too coincidental, and they've tried to rectify that a little in this series but without much success. The plot is sound, with good twists and turns and the usual "who-done-it" that 24 brings to the table. It's also worthy of Jack, but I strongly feel that bringing Jack back has been at the detriment of the rest of the remaining budget and the producer has had to cut corners with the rest of the actors and the special effects.

Not to mention this is twelve, not twenty-four episodes. I honestly was left completely aghast when the twelfth episode said "twelve hours later" halfway through it. I'm sorry but what were they thinking? We'd all just say "OK fine that's it then". Robbed!

So, on to the actors. A completely mixed bag, which is not normal of 24. There are some major parts that may as well have been played by wooden puppets. Thankfully Jack, the president, and a couple of others bring the average talent rating back up to watchable.

The final reason I've lowered my rating is the special effects. They simply shouldn't have bothered trying to use CGI - it's that bad. Think "Clint Eastwood in Firefox" bad and you're not far off. Very 1990's. Nothing would have been lost if they hadn't used CGI.

So, in conclusion the plot and the handful of decent actors save this from losing any more stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 24LAD is brill & the BluRay has 24: Solitary, The Shocking Story Extension to Live Another Day (even if it is only 3 mins long), 5 Aug 2014
I'm an avid 24 fan and thoroughly enjoyed the latest series 'Live another Day' The shortened 12 episode format worked well, saving a significant amount of unnecessary filler. Some of the story lines have been far fetched over the years, although I'm not sure they couldn't happen at any point and dare I say it, some have also been a tad repetitive (a mole.....again?) But.....I still love it, it's one of the most fast paced, action packed programmes on the TV. The quality of the casting and acting is beyond superb and in my opinion, always has been. Even the frequently derided series 6 has some amazing, iconic scenes. One of the most memorable is the penultimate scene with Sec of Defence Heller & Jack Bauer. In 24LAD, Heller is now President and yet again the acting is of an incredibly high standard this season by all the cast members but the stand out performances are William Devane (Heller) and Kiefer Sutherland (Bauer) The final episode has some amazing scenes (credit to the production team & writers) which I can guarantee will generate emotion - even if not the normal emotions you have come to expect watching 24!
For those of you who are also avid fans of the show, you will be aware of the tradition that the 24 team have had producing prequels and sequels in between series. This year is no different. According to the official FOX press release http://tinyurl.com/mgquyzp the BluRay has an extra feature. 24: Solitary, The Shocking Story Extension to Live Another Day. However, the run time for the BluRay is listed as 574 minutes versus the DVD's 571 mins. Once they've done the opening titles, the 'previously on 24' and the closing credits, I'm not sure there's a huge amount of time left for any shocking story extension! Hasn't stopped me from pre-ordering it though ;-) Oh and in case you're interested, Prequels have been made for Seasons 4, 5, 6, and 7(aka Redemption - film on DVD) And Day 6 Debrief - Most were only available on the Region 1 (US) DVDs but they are all (apart from Redemption understandably) on YouTube
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack is Back, 16 July 2014
Last episode of 24 aired tonight in the UK and the series has been amazing! Just like the previous 8 seasons of 24, live another day has you on the edge of your seat all the way through, just when you think they would have run out of new ideas there are amazing plot twists that you couldn't of thought of... 5 stars can't wait till blu ray release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

11:00 A.M. - 12:00 P.M.
11:00 A.M. - 12:00 P.M. by Kiefer Sutherland
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews