Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
A very good read and not short on action. Would recommend it to Honor Harrington fans.

As previous reviewer said it needs better proof reading but its so good I would happily review future works for free.

Nice work Mr Van Aulen.

PS I didn't mind the history lessons but they seem a bit long winded, keep doing them but tighten them up.
Published 23 months ago by Demos

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts... alas not always
Great premise, interesting story, indeed good characters. But too much of a lack of imagination in naming craft and classes. Followed by a page expander where the author copies verbatim from somewhere to explain the history of the name or product.

Having said that, I'd buy book two... possibly.
Published 1 month ago by B. Doswell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts... alas not always, 18 Oct 2014
By 
B. Doswell (Cyberspace of course) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Log of the Gray Wolf (Kindle Edition)
Great premise, interesting story, indeed good characters. But too much of a lack of imagination in naming craft and classes. Followed by a page expander where the author copies verbatim from somewhere to explain the history of the name or product.

Having said that, I'd buy book two... possibly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Dec 2012
By 
Demos (Chester England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read and not short on action. Would recommend it to Honor Harrington fans.

As previous reviewer said it needs better proof reading but its so good I would happily review future works for free.

Nice work Mr Van Aulen.

PS I didn't mind the history lessons but they seem a bit long winded, keep doing them but tighten them up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawed, but a great read., 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Apart from the unneccessary (and sometimes annoying) history lessons which seemed to crop up whenever a historical reference appeared, this was a great read. The presentation was poor, the spelling was appalling and, in spite of this, I have to give it 5 stars for sheer enjoyment. Hopefully there will be another in this series along soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Needs a good editor and far less historical name references, 13 Nov 2014
This review is from: The Log of the Gray Wolf (Kindle Edition)
Seriously needs a editor to have a proof read of this, added to every single ship name having a page stating it's historical use I found myself constantly skipping un needed sections which added nothing to the storyline. And a major dislike for me was the appalling lack of description a Alien race at war and the only reference to them is their skin colour? Are they humanoid? I want to know more instead of constant shallow descriptions!

Overall the story had potential was interesting but desperately needed more depth added, as political structures, past events, how the humans defeated their previous conquerors and even things such as weapons/ship systems descriptions are seriously lacking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gray Wolf review, 30 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Log of the Gray Wolf (Kindle Edition)
This is probably a book for teenage readers, although it is fairly good, it is not in the class of authors such as Asimov, Heinlein or modern SF writers like Doug Dandridge, Jack Campbell, Jay Allen et al.
Good points: Interesting story line with developing characters, will probably develop into a reasonable series.
Bad points: Author spends half a page at a time explaining every historical reference. Naming convention for starships derived soley from U.S warships. The good guys always win and never have a set back.

Summary - not too bad, potential to get much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Needs editing., 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had trouble deciding between two and three stars. In the end decided to be generous. The concept is promising and occasionally the story comes alive. However I felt nothing for the main character, and empathy is important for this type of space opera. There were also long sections of detail about repairs and the frequent historical asides got a bit annoying. There were also plenty of missed opportunities to develop other characters. Then there were the typos and grammatical errors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good story but in need of editing, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story in General is good, but the writing is poor. The characters are not developed, the point of view keeps changing, some events occur out of sequence. Overall a very frustrating read. A good story let down by poor writing. That said the fact that it is a good story overcomes the poor writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Log of the Gray Wolf (Kindle Edition)
Good story though the Author did seem to get bogged down in giving too many explanations, but having said that I'm looking forward to the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An author in need of an editor, 15 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. R. F. Harvey "greycynic" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Shane, please excuse me directing this review to you in person. I am doing so because in my opinion your book has real merit. Having said that I will continue to the big BUT. You really do need to find yourself an editor. The proofing tools that you find in word processing packages are very limited. Software does not understand what you mean to say in the way that a human can. You have sufficient misspellings in this book to be annoying. You give us too many history lessons, including two on the Alamo and the people involved. We do not need the full text of the Lord's Prayer in the King James version. These are all things that an editor would work with you to improve. If you cannot find an editor then at least find a group of friends prepared to read your work and provide helpful comments.

Having got this plea out of the way I must say that I found most of your book to be a page turner. You drew me in to the story of a young officer's voyage from junior rating to inspirational commander very effectively. I like the ideas underlying your plot. They are consistent and tie together very neatly. This book has the makings of good science fiction. You left me feeling that I already have the outline of the first chapter of your next book in my mind and I want to read it now!

Please keep up the good work. Find a technician to help you with the intricacies of publishing your work. Concentrate on what you are good at, the story telling, and please build on this otherwise excellent work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it, kept me happy on the train for ..., 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Log of the Gray Wolf (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed it, kept me happy on the train for a few days, the characters are engaging and the action was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Log of the Gray Wolf
The Log of the Gray Wolf by Shane VanAulen
£2.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews