Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprising take on the UK justice system
If only some of the stories in this book are true, then the British legal system is in disarray. While the author claims that he cannot reveal all the details of his case, a quick Google shows that he was involved with the types of car he describes and this lends credence to his story. A very good read and one not to be taken lightly.
Published on 4 July 2011 by C. J. Scholfield

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mystery of the justice system
Unexpected reading of the unfairness and also the pitfalls of the justice system Was slow at a number of places
Published 9 months ago by William Morrison


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprising take on the UK justice system, 4 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chequered Justice (Hardcover)
If only some of the stories in this book are true, then the British legal system is in disarray. While the author claims that he cannot reveal all the details of his case, a quick Google shows that he was involved with the types of car he describes and this lends credence to his story. A very good read and one not to be taken lightly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chequered Justice, 14 Sep 2013
This review is from: Chequered Justice (Kindle Edition)
Chequered Justice
What an amazing book, just finished reading start to finish in 3 nights not bad seeing the last book I read was years ago. I am not what you would call a great reader
Let me give you some background, I was there some 25 years ago working on the Tiga c2 car at that infamous Brands Hatch race. The book stirred long forgotten memories of a world that so few people get to glance at or even comprehend
A story of passion, dedication and outright determination and a belief that the banking, insurance industry and justice system in this country are there to protect us; 25 years on we all know what a false belief that was.
Again what a brilliant book a must read for anyone

Mark Bowbrick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 17 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chequered Justice (Kindle Edition)
This book is almost like two books in one, half focusing on the racing and the other half on the trial for fraud. The way it written makes you care about the outcome of the court trial. The only reason it is not a 5 star is sometimes it jumps from the trial to a racing episode and it can be difficult to understand what period the book has jumped too. Even if only a small percent of this book is true its still scary that this does happen in the justice system. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping., 8 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chequered Justice (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book. A real page turner. Have saved it for my husband to read! Doesn't happen often. It's a shame that it's reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chequered Justice, 28 Feb 2012
This review is from: Chequered Justice (Kindle Edition)
I was sitting in a coffee bar when I was approached by a man who recommended that this was a good book to read.
Having spoken to the man over a coffee, I established that he was in fact the Author and so I downloaded it there and then.
I was completely engrossed in the book immediately and read it within a couple of days. The book could quite easily have been entitled "Carriage or Miscarriage of Justice" How the British Justice system could be manipulated against an individual was frightening but having said that we read every day of some miscarriage somewhere. The book was well written and was thoroughly entertaining, albeit to the detriment of the Author himself and his family who clearly have lived a number of years in a nightmare situation. I understand that he is currentley engaged in the writing of a second book which if written in a similar style will no doubt top the charts. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable!, 16 Feb 2013
By 
G. Willoughby "Ducati lover" (Kent England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chequered Justice (Kindle Edition)
I purchased this book after reading the other reviews and was not dissapointed. It is a well written and an unusual story which i found very entertaining as well as a littlethought provoking. You gather from the book that it is based on actual events and if this is true then I feel very sorry for the main character. The driving descriptions are good and I especially enjoyed the Brands Hatch bits as I live near to Brands and have been there many times and been round it a few times. Read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Injustice for all, 7 Jan 2013
By 
mountainmama "Shirley Hicks" (Charleston, West Virginia, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chequered Justice (Kindle Edition)
Will Middleton is a racecar driver who gets caught up in the legal system and finds himself on the wrong side of prison bars. The average person has no idea how easy it is for an innocent person to be found guilty. We're all taught to believe in truth and justice, and it's quite a shock to find truth has nothing to do with it - it's all an illusion. And the odds are stacked in the prosecutions' favor. It's impossible for the average person to fight an entity with unlimited financial and manpower resources. It's also nearly impossible to fight the prejudices of a jury who believes the law to be infallible and who want to believe the defendant wouldn't be there if he weren't guilty of something.

Based on true events, this fight to prove innocence is compelling reading. It is an articulate, gripping story that grabs you from the beginning and doesn't let you go. The writing is absolutely convincing and does a fabulous job of showing how flawed the judicial system is. Well done, Mr. Bartlett - an awesome job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC BOOK - MAKES YOUR BLOOD BOIL AT THE INJUSTICE, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chequered Justice (Kindle Edition)
I wouldn't normally write a review, but having just finished the book I felt compelled to recommend this to others. To have survived, let alone to have articulately written about the experience, is amazing. To turn it into a first rate thriller, that captivates the mind and demands that you stay up late into the night to chase chapter after chapter is a credit to the author. Read this great book - if you like a thriller, if you like motor-racing, if you like legal novels or just if you want to learn more about the UK's legal process and all that can go wrong, even when you are INNOCENT. Thank you John Bartlett for publishing this extra-ordinary tale. I hope the public reaction goes some way to help you rebuild your life and get recognition for your innocence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chequered Justice, 3 Dec 2010
By 
Dr. R. H. Eve - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chequered Justice (Hardcover)
Having been involved on the sidelines of this "fictional" account, I found it fascinating. A really good read. John has carefully woven the motor racing events into the harrowing story of police investigation, court appearances and injustice. It certainly creates some anxiety in the reader about the judicial system in England. At the same time giving insight into the stresses, both physically and financially, in the world of motor sport. Anyone who picks up this book will find it hard to put it down until the last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 3 Jan 2011
This review is from: Chequered Justice (Hardcover)
This is a fascinating and compelling fact based crime drama set in the world of motor racing. The book cleverly weaves various events into the court room by switching from present to past. The descriptions from life at the racing track are vivid and as the story unfolds it is difficult to put this book down. A remarkable debut novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews