Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Number 4 in the Fire and Ice series finally exposes who murdered Magnus’ father
The end of Meltwater, book 3 in the Fire and Ice series, sees Magnus going to confront his grandfather, Hallgrimur, only to find him dead. Magnus concludes that his younger brother Ollie is responsible for this terrible deed. Sea of Stone starts with the police finding Magnus at the crime scene, seemingly deliberately interfering with the evidence, and so incriminating...
Published 7 months ago by Romancrimeblogger

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I would not recommend it.
The Icelandic names (combined with a plot which becomes more and more unbelievable) made reading this book a bit of a slog. I would not recommend it.
Published 7 months ago by "Fitz"


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Number 4 in the Fire and Ice series finally exposes who murdered Magnus’ father, 26 July 2014
The end of Meltwater, book 3 in the Fire and Ice series, sees Magnus going to confront his grandfather, Hallgrimur, only to find him dead. Magnus concludes that his younger brother Ollie is responsible for this terrible deed. Sea of Stone starts with the police finding Magnus at the crime scene, seemingly deliberately interfering with the evidence, and so incriminating himself. We know from Meltwater that Magnus is innocent, but as the reader is the only person privy to that secret, we then see polarised views of whether Magnus is a murderer or not.

Magnus has got himself into a fix. To protect his brother, Magnus avoids answering direct questions and refuses to confirm or deny certain details about what happened when he went to meet Hallgrimur. Although Magnus’ unwillingness to co-operate makes it seem like he’s innocent, it’s soon pointed out that his behaviour could equally be interpreted as a sign of his guilt and there’s at least one senior policeman, Baldur, who is prepared to believe that Magnus is guilty. As Magnus is remanded in custody, we see more of the family backstory developing, with deceit, greed, adultery and worst of all murder coming to the fore as the action speeds up with an alarming escalation of violence. The truth about Magnus’ father comes out as an excellent climax to a well developed plot, with a final shocking consequence which shows that some Icelandic traditions are far from dead.

I did wonder when I picked this book up if Ridpath could follow Meltwater with an equally good novel. Simple answer – yes! Sea of Stone has a good, easy to follow narrative with a sophisticated plot that’s built around “old fashioned” reasons for crime – human weakness, jealousy and a misguided need for revenge. The novel has a rich backstory and Ridpath makes good use of the whole cast of characters from colleagues Vigdis and Arni to Magnus’ love interest Ingileif, as well as introducing a new character Inspector Emil (the Dumpling), responsible for catching Hallgrimur’s murderer.

I love the Icelandic backdrop to the book and to me the depth of Ridpath’s understanding of Iceland, its traditions, people and their behaviours simply shines through adding a real richness to the scenes, characters and plot of the novel.

And as always, Ridpath leaves you with a little hook at the end. You know that whilst the case of who murdered Magnus’ father is finally solved, it’s still not going to be a happy ending for him and Ollie. I’m sure there’s more to come in the Fire and Ice series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A long awaited sequel in the Fire and Ice Series, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A long awaited sequel in the Fire and Ice Series featuring Magnus Ragnarsson an American detective of Icelandic birth. I suggest readers read the previous books in order first to fully appreciate the connections between characters, the interweaving of the Icelandic sagas and the impact on the current generation of these old stories. Not quite as atmospheric as the previous books in the series, it seemed some of the punch and vitality was missing; mainly I believe because Magnus' character is relegated to the side-lines. Still a very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't Put Down, 20 July 2014
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The latest Magnus Jonson title and this time our detective hero is the key suspect in the murder investigation of his grandfather. Its definitely a book that will glue the reader as we glimpse the investigation from the other side of the case and when added to some cracking sleight of hand, top notch twists and solid police work, the reader is really in for a special treat.

Back this up with great prose, wonderful pace and of course that delightfully bleak landscape all round generates a story that is nigh impossible to put down. Cracking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good but not up to the promise of Ridpath's earlier Fire and Ice series., 1 July 2014
By 
A. K. Love "Alan Keith Love" (Lisburn, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The earlier Fire and Ice novels were of a very high standard. However, this one, though still quite good, lacks the thought through plots of its predecessors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., 19 Oct. 2014
By 
Avid Reader (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book. I have enjoyed every book in the Fire and ice series and this is as good as the others. It is important to read the books in order. I wondered if the strange Icelandic names would be distracting but the writing and the plot carry you along and they are not a problem for me. I hope there will be more books in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
By 
annben (Lancs., England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and intriguing to have a policeman working in Iceland but with connections to America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ridpath Does It Again, 6 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the whole series, but you really need to have read the ones which have gone before to get the full impact of this book. Love learning all about a different culture and family dynamics, which are so intertwined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Reading as Part of a Wonderful Series, 18 Aug. 2014
By 
Paul McIntyre "SearchHigh SEO" (Nottinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic, gripping 4th book of the Fire & Ice series. The whole series is superb and compelling, with intriguing characters and wonderfully painted locations. Start with "Where the Shadow Lie" and read the whole series to get the most out of this. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Great, 16 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always look forward to a Fire and Ice book. Just keep reading until the end, the family saga which has woven throughout this series makes it a very personal story, a bit different from the usual whodunnit. Hope there will be a new chapter and new series for this family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fire and ice indeed, 29 May 2014
By 
P. Masters (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Are you brave enough to venture out into lava fields, have your life limited by a volcano, hear the Viking tales and folk lore of Iceland? And watch from the side lines as a third generation murder is witnessed? Great characters and an excellent story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews