Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
15
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 November 2014
A bit clunky in parts and could have done with proof reading, I hate it when words are there which should have been deleted, normally you can work out that the author started along one line of thinking and then changed his or her mind but left an extraneous word behind, but there are just too many.
Also a grammar and spellcheck would have helped, indeed that alone would have got rid of the obvious problems.

That moan over it is a good yarn that gets over the gut wrench when you lose a friend, there one minute not the next. It gives a credible start and shows how the direction of a life can be changed from something as simple as being bored of waiting. In this case the hero was enlisting in one organisation but ended up in another because he had been left with no explanation for a long delay.
Written by a marine for marines it gives a good idea of the camaraderie in any service.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
This reads like it's written by a retired US marine colonel. Which of course it is. Apart from a green skinned hooker and people with slightly unusual names it could be a book about US marine experiences in any theatre from Vietnam to Afghanistan. The bar scene with the recruits discussing the current NFL season did it for me, I gave up then. Maybe the writing and characterisation matures with the follow ups but this one is too Uncle Sam centric for me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 August 2014
A first episode, good space yarn along the line of Starship Troopers although lacking some of Robert Heinlein's great style.

A simple story of a young man who joins the Space Marines, goes through Boot Camp and into combat. The plot is simplistic but that does not make it bad and it is told with feeling and humour. The characters seem real three dimensional people, if in some cases a little strange.

This book may not be a total page turner but I enjoyed it and look forward to episode 2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
Just finished reading the final book in this series. I enjoyed them all so much I decided to write a book review for the first time ever. It seemed a good idea to put my review alongside the first one in the series rather than the last so anyone considering reading the series could see my recommendation. I have so enjoyed every single one of them and would highly recommend them. If you decide to read them - you are in for a treat! Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
Pros: Interesting concept and good attention to detail.

Cons: I wasn't interested in any of the characters. I enjoyed the first half of the book... and then it gets lost in medical centres, parades and waiting for things to happen. And when something does happen the pace is too slow and there's no sense of urgency.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
It should really be 3 and a half stars, because it's quite entertaining, but it's a tough read in that it jumps around a lot, and doesn't feel consistent all the way through. Worth a punt if you like military sci fi fun though
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
Enjoyable read following a tried and trusted formula. Knowing that the author is a retired US Marine helps because the combat sequences are all the more realistic and the downtime very real.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2015
Enjoyed it, but a bit too much marine corp. in content, maybe to set the scene for the next book, but it seemed like padding..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
An excellent read to which it is easy to become addicted! Really enjoyed the book. Immediately looked for the sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
cracking good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.