Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars71
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 December 2014
This sets off in familiar ground - mithridates and his ilk causing trouble and the soldiers of Dura saving the day. However, once it becomes apparent that one of the companions may still be alive and forced to fight as a gladiator by the Romans, then a new line of storytelling takes hold.
I read all of the previous four Parthian Chronicles about a year ago and enjoyed them all, rating them between three and five stars. I also enjoyed this book which is an improvement on the fourth volume despite its premise being a little contrived - the discovery of pacorus's heretofore unknown memoirs, and would recommend any reader of the previous books to pick this one up too.
Whether it would stand alone is debatable, but I particularly like the detail darman goes into when the battles and gladiatorial fights are taking place.
A few missed typos here and there don't detract from an enjoyable read, and I rather hope that more memoirs are still to be found out there somewhere....
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
Got the first book in this series by accident but decided to give it a read, very glad that I did, just finished reading companions and was not disappointed in any way. If you like roman historical books like I do, these books are for you. They give you a perspective from the people on the other side of roman rule such as the parthians , which I have to admit I didn't know much about until now, don't want to give any of the story away but do recommend these books as I found them very enjoyable and unable to put them down. Thanks to you peter darman for giving me a good series of books to add to my collection
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed this 5th book about King Pacorus, Queen Gallia and all the colourful, familiar characters so brilliantly brought to life once again. The pace is breathtaking throughout and I didn't want it to end. I hope the new Queen Claudia finds another scroll to share with us soon. I shall be waiting impatiently.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
As an end to a five book series this did not disappoint. All the characters so well drawn you feel you know them personally. Battle scenes so well described it was easy to imagine them. Any reader who likes tales of Rome and the like would surely enjoy these novels. Happy reading
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
Compulsive reading for this interested in this period of history. This book brings together the characters from the series with a familiarity that makes the reader feel like a fly on the wall actually experiencing the events as they unfold. Well written and thoroughly enjoyable
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Have read the previous books in the series and enjoyed them all. This is a good way of extending the series , and would certainly read the next one if and when it comes out
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
A superb story, having read a trilogy of Peter Darman's Parthian exploits. He is a master of historical fiction. I thoroughly recommend this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
Great series in the detail of the battles human face of the past commi to life, hope that we will have more books from the slave report period
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
This sequel works a great read of value. Wide canvas filled to the edges with real and colourful vibrant people
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
After the last book thought it was finished but great read great follow-up more scrolls to follow I hope nice
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.