Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (125)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-buy for anyone who missed it!
If you missed this series when it aired on TV, take my advice and buy it now. The tone and pacing of the film is simply glorious and unlike anything I've seen before, aside, of course, from the Coen brothers many films.

The performances are all marvellous - there isn't a duff one in there - but the standout for me is Martin Freeman. I'm neither a fan of...
Published 9 months ago by Billy

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Greatly overrated other than for Thornton and Freeman
There is nothing very special about this series other than Billy Bob Thornton and Martin Freeman who are excellent. The rest of it is very sub-American Exposure / sub-Twin Peaks. The two other hitmen with their gimmicky sign language schtick are completely characterless without it, while the rest other than the aforementioned duo could only have so much screen time...
Published 3 months ago by Simon Turner


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-buy for anyone who missed it!, 26 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Fargo - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
If you missed this series when it aired on TV, take my advice and buy it now. The tone and pacing of the film is simply glorious and unlike anything I've seen before, aside, of course, from the Coen brothers many films.

The performances are all marvellous - there isn't a duff one in there - but the standout for me is Martin Freeman. I'm neither a fan of Sherlock or the Hobbit films, so he is best known to me as mild-mannered Tim from The Office, and If like me, this is all you know him from, put your preconceptions behind and prepare to be blown away.

This series is as close to perfection as I think any television drama can get. Utterly addictive and impossible to tear yourself away from. Simply put, Fargo is the greatest television series I've seen in the last decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh, Jeez, 20 April 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fargo - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
We live in a universe of doubters, and a series remake of a beloved film , just can't be as good as the original. True, in some sense, except the series 'Fargo' is not the same as the film. We have Minnesota, the accents that we love to copy, the cold, cold, snowy weather, and I read it was filmed in Calgary at -20 degrees at times.

The first episode has Lester Nygaard, played by Martin Freeman of Watson's Sherlock fame, and he is superb, being henpecked by his wife. We meet the up and coming policewoman, Deputy Molly Solverson, played by Allison Tolman. Bob Odenkirk from 'Breaking Bad', plays a skittish, not so smart deputy. I didn't recognize him until I read the list of characters. Colin Hanks, plays a policeman, who runs into Malvo and after listening to him speak, decides to let him go. Billy Bob Thornton, plays Lorne Malvo, a pure delight as a very intelligent hit man, who seems to have insight into everyone's lives. He acts before he is asked.

The atmosphere and the environment seem like 'Fargo'. The frozen breath, the crisp snow and the weird humour we expect. Not laugh out loud funny, but deep down, ah ha's! The episode moves along at a good pace, several murders before our eyes, and the one most unexpected is the best. Smart writing, excellent acting, good music, everything to love. Lester and Malvo seem to hit it off, and will they or won't they?

Highly Recommended. prisrob 04-20-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fargo State of Mind, 6 Sept. 2014
By 
Alan Jones (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fargo - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Welcome to the Coen brothers universe of cold, snowy, big sky Minnesota where there be dragons and the humour is dark.

In the small town of Bemidji, a couple of unfortunate events result in two strangers striking up a conversation in a hospital waiting room. Lester Nygaard, a browbeaten wimp of a man trapped in an unhappy marriage and Lorne Malvo, a softly spoken killing machine. Malvo, played brilliantly by scene stealing Billy Bob Thornton, is evil incarnate with his dead eyes, shark smile and manipulative Jedi ways. Lester, played by Martin Freeman with a large slice of Jack Lemmon, is an unlikeable insurance salesman mocked by his wife and barely tolerated by his successful younger brother. Malvo acts as a catalyst to Lester's suppressed anger and by the end of the first episode Lester has chosen to join the dark side.

Initially it appears that Malvo and Lester have both separately escaped justice, especially with the chief of police's unwillingness to conduct anything approaching a competent rigorous investigation. However, Allison Tolman's down to earth pragmatic Deputy Molly Solverson has unresolved questions and with Lieutenant Columbo-like nagging persistence slowly begins her search for the truth. The arrival of two henchmen (Gerry Adams and Glen Campbell lookalikes) also seeking answers signpost mob connections. The body count grows with each episode as this brilliant, intelligent and audacious series reaches its conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as the film? - Maybe!, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fargo - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Nice to be able to give a positive review after recently reviewing a series of 'over-hyped' dire movies - Birdman springs to mind.
I loved Fargo the film and think this TV series is at least as good, maybe better than the film, as it slows the pace down and you get to understand the characters more.
Billy Bob Thornton is mesmerising as the 'hit man' and Allison Tolman as the plodding,underrated police officer grows into the part. Also a nice performance from Bob Odenkirk as the bumbling Chief of Police - totally different from his role in Breaking Bad as the crooked lawyer Saul Goodman.
Best of all is the character played by Martin Freeman as the hapless Lester Nygaard who stumbles from one crisis to another. The whole series is laced with plenty of action, twists and turns and a good dollop of 'black humour.
The film claims to be factual - I wonder if this is true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series !!!, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fargo - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
After getting the 'Breaking Bad' box set for Christmas - and being blown away by the quality of that - I have been finding it extrememly difficult to watch much of the drivel on television at the moment
Then - along came 'Fargo' - just when I needed it most !!!
Loved every minute of this . Fantastic cast (including BB's 'Saul' Bob Odenkirk) - quirky script full of dark humour - I waited with bated breath for each new episode and was never disappointed . Fabulous ending too
Seems odd to review a DVD which hasnt been released yet - but the series is great and I will be getting it when it is available
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ya, it really is that good, 5 Aug. 2014
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fargo - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Impeccably written and superbly paced, Fargo is unforgettable telly. Watching Fargo is like reading a good book, it's gripping and mysterious with engaging characters.

Set within the world created by the Coen brothers, Fargo mixes dark humour with even darker goings on. Lester is a down trodden, bullied man who has nothing of interest going on in his life. When he bumps into an old school bully and ends up in hospital he meets the enigmatic Malvo. This meeting sets the snowball effect in motion. Malvo is an unstoppable force of nature with no moral code. Lester meanwhile starts to unveil his own darker side.

The character arc for Lester is so well crafted that watching it unravel before your eyes is a joy. He changes from meek nobody to arrogant, confident pain in the butt. Played to exceptional perfection by Martin freeman, Lester is a man that you love to hate. On his case is Molly the police chief in the making. She smells a rat and knows Lester is up to no good but proving that to her inept boss and fellow police officers proves to be a tougher challenge than catching a killer! Her story is funny, sad and humbling as you watch her traverse many challenges.

The star of the show is Billy Bob Thornton playing the nefarious Malvo. A man so steeped in darkness it is a surprise you can see him at all. He effectively is the devil in disguise. Effortlessly moving from place to place without anyone noticing and taking down his targets before slipping away again. His tongue twisting mind games trick people into his way of thinking leaving doors wide open. When Malvo is on screen you won't be able to take your eyes of it such is the magnetic force this character has.

Fargo is also expertly filmed with some stunning action scenes that would put any cinematic outing to shame. A standout hunt in a blizzard is both gripping and terrifically tense. Filmed in such a way as to dis-orientate you as the viewer as well as the characters involved, it is another step to the full immersion Fargo offers. Another superb scene is Malvo taking down a gang in a building. As the audience you seen very little but hear snippets of the action. It is as tense as any full action film you will see this year.

Coupled with a great story are the amazing locations. Snowy plains and mountains surround ths town all beautifully shot.

The quieter moments are also a joy to behold with some snappily written dialogue and such beautifully well rounded characters. Every episode is a standout and doesn't drop the ball once. The opening credits, with its nod to the film, will grip you from the first moment. Simply the best television program this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome show, 3 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fargo - Season 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was really surprised how awesome this show is. I love the film and thought the show captured the feel of the film perfectly while telling a new story. Excellent performances, cinematography and music. Just really well made and the blu ray looks amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One to savour, rewatching produces dividends and deepens the characterisation. Genius work., 2 Dec. 2014
By 
Antony Johnson (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fargo - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Astonishing TV production, script, acting, design, photography. Positively Shakespearian in its feel, very Coen-brothers in tone, quite unique it the presence of Billy Bob Thornton. Alison Tolman and Colin Hanks produce a couple of classic TV cops that you root for insanely. The panning shot of Gus driving his police car in episode 9 that turns into.... well, I don't want to give it away but all three times I've seen it, the scene (photography, music, Colin Hanks) has taken my breath away with its narrative audacity and sheer sense of potential redemption, time passing, hope/fear/joy..... my TV moment of 2014!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classy stuff, 24 Mar. 2015
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fargo - Season 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a fine piece of work - it shares the same settings, themes and tone of the Coen brothers (brilliant) film of the same name but tells a different story. A "true" story of course.

Martin Freeman plays Lester Nygaard, the put upon, down trodden everyman who makes some big mistakes after his path coincidentally crosses with that of a ruthless contract killer, Lorne Malvo (Billy Bob Thornton). Lesters wife and a few others end up dead and a bizarre, lengthy game of cat and mouse begins with a gloriously inept police force following on behind.

What follows is a deliberately paced tale of murder, hit men, kidnap, bloodshed etc etc - all told with an unnerving blend of pitch black humour, human drama and occasional bloody violence. It's more than just a two hander with Allison Tolman and Colin Hanks injecting some heart and soul as perhaps the only two cops who can crack the case. The whole thing is populated with plenty of other interesting or downright strange characters knocking about over the ten episodes to keep things entertaining.

The script is pretty sharp, the direction shows some real imagination and innovation and the desolate but beautiful snowy Minnesota landscapes are deftly used. The plot twists aŵay nicely, all the way to the tense, nerve shredding endgame in the final episode.

A second season has apparently been commissioned which has to be a good thing - a quality show which comes very much recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fargo Season 1 Blu-ray, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fargo - Season 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I loved the original film and have been recommended by many friends to watch the FX TV series
I found this series loses none of its charm and quirkiness and tells the same story but from a different angle.
The acting is fantastic and all the characters are endearing and very watchable.
Great packaging for the Blueray with lots of extras.
It is just one awesome series which I have not been disappointed by.
Throughly recommended and I cannot wait for the next series being made now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fargo - Season 1 [Blu-ray]
Fargo - Season 1 [Blu-ray] by Billy Bob Thornton (Blu-ray - 2014)
£15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews