Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Something different but you won't be disappointed
I don't understand the last review - this is a great Kindle Single!

This isn't the traditional chick-lit offering from Wendy Holden, but it is a fast-paced, descriptive and funny read. The language is unashamedly complex and it helps bring the (very clever) characters to life.

Like many others I love having a historical theme running through a story...
Published 5 months ago by MaiTai

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars When is a book not a book?
I feel that I was sold this 'book' under false pretences.
What started off as a good read suddenly became 'The End'
I had not noticed that the 'book' was only 20 pages long, hardly a book at all. I would like a refund please and you should stress in the blurb that this is a short story!!
Ridiculous!!
By the way Wendy Holden, I liked your writing style...
Published 5 months ago by Susan Boardman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars When is a book not a book?, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King and I (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I feel that I was sold this 'book' under false pretences.
What started off as a good read suddenly became 'The End'
I had not noticed that the 'book' was only 20 pages long, hardly a book at all. I would like a refund please and you should stress in the blurb that this is a short story!!
Ridiculous!!
By the way Wendy Holden, I liked your writing style and the outset of the story had me hooked. I thought it was going along in a 'Porterhouse Blue' sort of way.
Why did it finish so suddenly and why is Amazon selling it as a book. Perhaps if you developed the story line further you may have a very good book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something different but you won't be disappointed, 15 July 2014
This review is from: The King and I (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I don't understand the last review - this is a great Kindle Single!

This isn't the traditional chick-lit offering from Wendy Holden, but it is a fast-paced, descriptive and funny read. The language is unashamedly complex and it helps bring the (very clever) characters to life.

Like many others I love having a historical theme running through a story and this read does that without losing momentum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars If that is your cup of tea for 99p then fine, if like me you like a full length ..., 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King and I (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Just be aware, as I was not, that it is a short (very short) story! If that is your cup of tea for 99p then fine , if like me you like a full length novel to get your teeth into you'll be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great little read., 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King and I (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I have always enjoyed short stories, obviously some more so than others; this one is excellent. I would recommend this one to anyone, whether they are fellow short story fans or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed with this book, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King and I (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Very disappointed with this book, it seemed to have just got started at last, when it was finished. I was left feeling she could not be bothered to finish it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Saxon surprise!, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King and I (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Wow! Not at all what I thought it would be. I won't spoil it by making too many comments about the end of the book, just to say it's well worth reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet(?), 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King and I (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Interesting story with a twist, though I wasn't expecting a "short" kindle story so was a bit surprised when it came. Clever ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Academic Skulduggery!, 21 Sep 2014
By 
Ms. Katherine J. Taylor "Kate Taylor" (Coventry, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King and I (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
A very short piece. A discussion of an overlooked academics attempt to find the body of King Harold with a surprising twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit predictable, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King and I (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I've read many similar stories - jealousy and death with a twist. Not a particularly great.treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The king and I, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King and I (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Book ok, very thin plot - seemed more of a woman's magazine story. Not a very surprising ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The King and I (Kindle Single)
£1.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews