Customer Reviews


250 Reviews
5 star:
 (215)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As a collection of songs alone they are pretty cool, but they will become "Awesome" once you ...
Not bought on here. As a collection of songs alone they are pretty cool, but they will become "Awesome" once you see the movie and see how they integrate into it. The director has said he picked these songs specifically and has used them almost as another character in the movie, and when watching you can really see this and feel it so much more.
Published 3 months ago by J Halus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Delivery and packaging were good. The record itself is top class but the ...
Delivery and packaging were good. The record itself is top class but the manufacture quality was not as good as I would have expected from a "Deluxe" edition.
Published 23 days ago by FScott


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As a collection of songs alone they are pretty cool, but they will become "Awesome" once you ..., 7 Aug 2014
By 
J Halus (Norn Iron) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not bought on here. As a collection of songs alone they are pretty cool, but they will become "Awesome" once you see the movie and see how they integrate into it. The director has said he picked these songs specifically and has used them almost as another character in the movie, and when watching you can really see this and feel it so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great retro soundtrack blended into a modern sci-fi film. Awesome indeed., 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first thing I did when I got home from seeing Guardians of the Galaxy was purchase awesome mix volume one. These are well known songs which I would never have listened to normally but linking them with Guardians reminds me of great moments the film had and has made me greatly respect the music itself, I can't get Come and get you love or Hooked on a Feeling out of my head. Great music by established artists used cleverly in a fantastic film. After watching it i'd be surprised by anyone who doesn't want it. Looking forward to volume two of both the film and Awesome Mix that must come with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great soundtrack that gels well with the 'moving image', 16 Aug 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Possible Spoilers

In its second week of release, Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxy this awesome soundtrack has claimed the top position on the Billboard 200 chart Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxy : it features classics from the 1970s songs such as Blue Swede's "Hooked on a Feeling," "I'm Not in Love" by 10cc, Redbone's "Come and Get Your Love," and The Runaways' "Cherry Bomb."

For at the heart of this movie is its music, as it plays an almost central thematic role in Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy" as the 1970s songs included in the film are part of the story-line in a pretty unique way. As one of the main narrative plot points in the movie, is that Quill has a compilation tape `Awesome Mix #1' that he received from his mother before she died, which she had put together for him. It has of songs that she loved, all songs from the 1970s, and this is the only thing Quill has left of his mother, and his former home on Earth. He uses the music as a connection to his past and to the sadness he felt, but also joy - as we the viewer are engrossed in the opening sequences of the movie when Quill does impromptu dance sequence.

For Quill this is the sound track to his life. One of best Marvel films to date, with an excellent marriage between celluloid and music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The holy grail of soundtracks., 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Integral to the film in a way unparalleled by most other soundtracks Awesome Mix Vol 1 has to be the album of the decade if not the century. With its every track evoking a particular scene from the film its perfection is guaranteed. If you can listen to I want You Back and not smile you're clearly some kind of embittered Kree warlord!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Bunch of A-Holes!, 10 Aug 2014
By 
Fireball Dragon (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Marvel Movies (well, most of them!) and after watching Guardians of the Galaxy last week, it immediately became one of my favourite movies... Ever!

Acting, direction, story... everything was awesome! I normally get very easily distracted in the cinema, but this movie had me hooked from start to finish. The movie excelled at combining serious themes with humour, and the music played a huge part in making this experience possible.

The "mixed tape" concept was very well executed and made me really appreciate some songs I had admittedly never heard of before. Cherry Bomb!! And really take me back to the movie scenes when I listen to them now. The main theme is also a classic!

All in all, if you enjoyed Guardians, you will love this soundtrack. Cannot wait for the home release of the movie now! 5/5

UPDATE: Okay, I have been listening to the mixed tape now for almost two weeks! The songs really work well with the movie and bring back classic scenes. Groot's dance to "I want you back" was legendary! No wonder the mixed tape has reached no.1 in the charts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groot-ilicious, 4 Sep 2014
By 
Gareth Franklin (Antrim, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is, quite simply, one of the best soundtrack albums in a long time. I still love the first track, and the rest follow along pretty seamlessly. Unusually for me, each song reminds me of a particular scene in the film, and not necessarily the one it was originally used for either. If you love the film, get this album. If you have any taste in music whatsoever, get this album. If neither of the above apply to you, get this album anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great soundtrack., 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guardians of the Galaxy: Awesome Mix Vol. 1 (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (MP3 Download)
Great soundtrack, you remember which bits of the film each song was in rather than saying "I don’t remember that song in the movie".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked On This Album, 6 Sep 2014
By 
Star_Sea "Xing" (Salisbury, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first CD is nothing more and nothing less than Peter Quill's mixtape, which happily sat in my car CD player for over a month and buoyed up my mood no matter what had happened. The second is the orchestral soundtrack of the film, which has some surprisingly delicate and beautiful moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
By 
Neil West (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guardians of the Galaxy: Awesome Mix Vol. 1 (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (MP3 Download)
Great collection of tracks that really captures the feeling of the movie. Listen on repeat is recommended :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Soundtracks of 2014, 3 Nov 2014
The soundtrack of "Guardians of the Galaxy" is one of my favorites in a long time, and the 2-Disc Deluxe Version is the one the buy.

*****
DISC 1 - Awesome Mix Vol. 1

Disc One is the songs from the movie. All but one of them are featured in the film ("Spirit in the Sky" is not in the movie, although it was used in one of the trailers). Not only is the music good, but as you know if you've seen the film, the mixtape serves a significant narrative purpose. The songs here are presented as much more than just background music - these songs are important to the main character. My understanding is that the director even played the songs on set to help the cast understand the tone he was going for.

Favorite Tracks
[01] Hooked on a Feeling
[03] Spirit in the Sky
[08] Come and Get Your Love
[12] Ain't No Mountain High Enough

*****
DISC 2 - Original Score by Tyler Bates

The original score for the film is certainly overshadowed by the songs in the movie. But Tyler Bates is very a talented composer, and he delivers an emotional underscore here that serves the story well. It's not as compelling to listen to on it's own as disc one of this album, but there are some interesting tracks that I've found myself revisiting.

Favorite Tracks
[12] Sanctuary
[20] Sacrifice
[22] The Ballad of the Nova Corps.
[26] Groot Cocoon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews