Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Shroud Maker
There is a festival going on in Tradmouth and the place is packed with festival goers. A year ago a young woman, Jenny Bercival, disappeared and her mother has returned to the area to try and trace her daughter because she has been receiving anonymous letters saying Jenny is still alive. A body is found floating in the harbour dressed in Medieval costume. The young...
Published 15 months ago by Damaskcat

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Help,
This book has not yet been downloaded onto my kindle! You claim to have done that on 2
nd january. Please check and send it to my device.
Published 15 months ago by Mrs. N. Whitfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Shroud Maker, 27 Jan. 2014
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is a festival going on in Tradmouth and the place is packed with festival goers. A year ago a young woman, Jenny Bercival, disappeared and her mother has returned to the area to try and trace her daughter because she has been receiving anonymous letters saying Jenny is still alive. A body is found floating in the harbour dressed in Medieval costume. The young woman has been strangled. Wesley Peterson and his boss are investigating the case and the anonymous letters about Jenny.

Wesley’s friend, Neil – an archaeologist – is conducting a dig at a property which is about to be renovated by a local businessman, Chris Butcher when a skeleton is found. Ancient or modern? Could it be the missing girl from a year ago? Missing people in the twenty first century, Medieval goings on and a Victorian historian whose private life seems a little odd – not to speak of a suspicious website which has a large cult following – provide plenty of mysteries for the reader of this latest offering in the Wesley Peterson series.

I enjoyed reading this book but I had the feeling that there were just too many strands in the mysteries and the ending was a little rushed as though the book should have been longer – which is why I have not given it five stars. It is well written and the main characters are well drawn but there were too many characters which remained undeveloped – or that is how I felt about the book. It has not put me off the series but I felt a little disappointed by this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars well written who-dunnit from Ellis!!, 21 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As novel #18 in the Wesley Peterson series, readers generally know what they are getting now with a Kate Ellis novel and The Shroud Maker doesn't disappoint. Ellis easily allows the reader to imagine the hustle and bustle of a busy seaside town.
I always enjoy Ellis's use of past and present storylines within her novels, mixing archaeological finds, forgotten manuscripts with present day sources to intricately weave the plot. This storyline took the notion one step further with the present timeline focussing on a computer game and how the victim linked with it.
The story itself focusses on two similar young women who have gone missing in the town, one of whom has been found dead. This happens at a time when a yearly historic festival is taking place, meaning a surge of incomers, the majority of whom are in fancy dress. How can the police pull together a suspect list?
The only minor criticism is this storyline has similarities with "The Cadaver Game" with the life imitating video games theme, but this doesn't take anything away from this really enjoyable read with a lot of twist and a good range of characters/character viewpoints.
With enough clues (and a few surprise twists) dropped along the way to keep the reader guessing, this is another well written who-dunnit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Average, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as good as some titles, but maybe I'm getting used to the plots. Will have a break from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is My Favorite Police Procedural Series!, 22 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the Wesley Peterson series and have ever since I picked up the first one at my library many years ago. Kate Ellis is a wonderful author, who creates believable characters that make you care about them as their life stories unfold from book to book. She juggles the modern story with an incredible archaeological tale that mirrors and reflects the plot, adding atmosphere and historical nuance to each novel. When my library here in Tampa, Florida, suffered budget cuts and stopped carrying the series, I was determined to keep reading them, even if it meant establishing an account on Amazon UK and paying extra to buy and have them shipped here! The books are well worth the price and, as they usually come out in March (which is my birth month), I consider them as my favorite present to myself! If you love to read an intelligent, thought-provoking, hard-to-guess murder mystery, then Kate Ellis and her Wesley Peterson books are what you will want to buy -- after working 33+ years as a librarian, I wouldn't steer you wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Medievalism meets fantasy., 1 Mar. 2015
By 
Jane Baker "jan-bookcase" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bold creation from an author well-known for slipping easily between two ages. This is a novel about obsession and fantasy. Ellis creates so many characters who weave their way though this novel, yet they are all fully credible. Gerry's family issues are at the forefront this time, but Joyce remains well below the surface and the reader has yet to meet her. The ending is stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ancestry nut, 23 April 2015
By 
Robbo (Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love the Kate Ellis ( Wesley Peterson ) books and this one is no exception . I like the way it delves into the past as well as keeping to a traditional murder storyline . There are lots of twists and turns to keep you guessing . If you like a good murder mystery then I recommend you read Kate Ellis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another author whose books I really enjoy and this one doesn't disappoint, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
another author whose books I really enjoy and this one doesn't disappoint. I love the glimpses into the private lives Wesley, his wider family and his work colleagues. Just waiting for next in series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book could not put it down it deserves five stars would recommend it have not read a bad book from this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Shroud Maker, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another good book in the Wesley Peterson series. Good storyline and characters that you feel you get to know. Good mix of police/detective work, personal lives of the characters and a background theme of past times running throughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another solid tale, 6 Jan. 2014
By 
Kindle Customer (England, Guisborough) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet again past meets present in this tale of murder taking place during a medieval festival in Wesley Peterson's patch. the book follows the usual format for this series but is no less enjoyable for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews