Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fab start to a series...
What a brilliant start to a new series by K.F.Breene! If you've read her Darkness series you will love this one. It has all the best ingredients...badass female; strong, dominant males; unlikely friendships; just enough violence; just enough humour; that little sizzle of romance; plenty of swearing (I like a swear word!!) a personal history to make you cry and of course,...
Published 5 months ago by CharlieC

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad and Good here!
It’s all my fault, If just finished both of John Gwynne's books, Malice and Valour, prior to that I had read Joe Abercrombie’s latest, Half a King. Switching to Chosen by K.F.Breene was there for a shock. I like fantasy to hit me with deeply descriptive narrative, a sense of place and conjuring the most detailed "film" in my mind’s eye.
I...
Published 4 months ago by Clive Butterfield


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fab start to a series..., 8 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chosen (The Warrior Chronicles, 1) (Kindle Edition)
What a brilliant start to a new series by K.F.Breene! If you've read her Darkness series you will love this one. It has all the best ingredients...badass female; strong, dominant males; unlikely friendships; just enough violence; just enough humour; that little sizzle of romance; plenty of swearing (I like a swear word!!) a personal history to make you cry and of course, the almost obligatory cliff hanger!!
I like all the characters, they've been introduced enough to be personable while still leaving room for growth. I like the relationships they all have, particularly the boys and Shanti! I've found I have a particular soft spot for Marc! It moved along at a good enough pace; just the right amount of action, personal time, flashbacks etc. The combination worked well and I didn't feel as though too much time was spent lingering on any one particular part of the story. I really liked how we saw different charcters' points of view...I've seen another review that says they'd like to get to know The Captain's POV in the next installment...I slightly disagree...I like the air of mystery, the not knowing how and why he's feeling. Kind of coincides with that mental block he's got going on with Shanti! If she can't read him, then maybe we shouldn't either?!
I liked the story as a whole and the idea of it is intriguing. It's left me interested to see where the next book will go, what other bonds are formed and what battles will be fought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHE'S DONE IT AGAIN!!, 12 July 2014
This review is from: Chosen (The Warrior Chronicles, 1) (Kindle Edition)
Looks like she's done it again! I loved Chosen. Action, adventure, sexual tension, a kick-ass heroine and an equally awesome male counterpart. Shanti is thought to be THE Chosen. She's supposed to be the one to save her people, to bring war to an end. She is powerful, skilled, and not afraid of sacrifice. She gains support and loyalty every where she goes. Her purpose has been drilled into her head since she was a child. She carries the burden of being the Chosen all on her own. She doesn't trust easily, and with reason. Cayan is the Chief, head honcho, in the nation Shanti found herself in. He also seems to have special abilities, but he is untrained. Shanti frustrates Cayan, because she has a story she doesn't want to share. She also inspires loyalty and teaches the unteachable. She also frustrates Cayan's commanders, because they don't understand this strange woman, and why it is that she can command such loyalty. This story does end cliffy, however, it is a series. I'm just going to stress how much I can't wait for the next book. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad and Good here!, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chosen (The Warrior Chronicles, 1) (Kindle Edition)
It’s all my fault, If just finished both of John Gwynne's books, Malice and Valour, prior to that I had read Joe Abercrombie’s latest, Half a King. Switching to Chosen by K.F.Breene was there for a shock. I like fantasy to hit me with deeply descriptive narrative, a sense of place and conjuring the most detailed "film" in my mind’s eye.
I found K.F.Breene missed by a country mile, I didn’t get a sense of place, at the start of the book I wasn’t sure where this world she inhabits sat. Was she on Earth or an Earth like planet? The language of her characters is 20th century Americana, complete with military slang and GI attitude. I found this discordant and a constant reminder that I was reading a book, normally I don’t see the words just the pictures, but this dialogue grated so much I kept leaving the story. Also I didn’t enjoy the lack of character description, I like to know what the author felt their characters looked like, am used to it. K.F.Breene seems at pains to bother with character description other than for the two main characters.
BUT... what’s good about this story is the fact that the lead character delivers all she promises! She needs to fight, she fights and wins, she needs to use her Gift (Magic) she performs. There are limitations on her abilities but she does not let the reader down. I wanted a book with a Kick ass heroine and in that department this delivers. Will I read the sequal? No. This was a distraction, but a little too YA in style for an old fuddy duddy like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Warrior Chronicles" book 1, 26 Sep 2014
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chosen (The Warrior Chronicles, 1) (Kindle Edition)
When a young foreign woman is found near death, the local population have no idea how impactful she will be to their very way of life. For over a year Shanti has been on the run from her enemies. Those she loves have died to keep her alive, whilst both her own warrior skills and mind powers prove deadly in a fight. Shanti is The Chosen of her people, prophesied to unite her decimated tribe and defeat an enemy intent on using her powers to create a new race of super warriors to help in his subjugation of the world.

There is a good level of sword and sorcery as Shanti dives head first into a number of battles; leaving the men around her agog that a woman could display such skill and not wilt away like a delicate flower when on the battlefield. Shanti also manages to take a group of rookie recruits and unleash some unexpected potential. She is a gripping character; powerful but isolated and facing a strong enemy alone. When she meets the city's ruler Cayan she immediately is aware that he has mental abilities almost powerful enough to match hers; yet untrained he could be used as a weapon against her or as breeding stock by her enemy.

There are snippets of romance but I was left wondering at times if Cayan was really attracted to Shanti, or just thought that she was worth seducing because she has become so integral to the survival of his own people. That aside, their relationship is multidimensional with unexpected moments of humour as Cayan tries to understand Shanti, whilst she revels in behaving as shockingly as possible in his rather repressed society. Shanti's relationships with a number of guards are also a mix of sweet, sass and growing respect; particularly the recruits she decides to train. Overall I found this to be a thoroughly entertaining fantasy adventure. Unfortunately at this time any further books are still works in progress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking read, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chosen (The Warrior Chronicles, 1) (Kindle Edition)
Great start to this new series. The heroine is tough, driven but vulnerable and the main battle scene had me glued to the pages. Lots of room to develop the relationships between the different characters and the banter between the two main characters made me chuckle. I know there are a lot of stories of this genre but I would definitely recommend giving this one a try. I read it in one hit and can't wait for the next book. I am enjoying Ms Breene's Darkness series but this is even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! !, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chosen (The Warrior Chronicles, 1) (Kindle Edition)
Really impressed! A fantastic read, would definitely recommend this. I found the plot to have good pace and enough twists to keep you engaged. My only disappointment is to discovering it was only released this month and I can't dive straight into the next one! Waiting for the next one will drive me nuts which I haven't been able to say about many books recently!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, flawed by poor word choice at times., 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chosen (The Warrior Chronicles, 1) (Kindle Edition)
Breene writes with surety and a steady pace. The tale she weaves accelerates and relaxes in a good rhythm while we follow her oddball and interesting heroine, Shanti. There are some good set pieces and Breene holds the story well. I enjoyed reading this first volume and I look forward to the future ones. Breene's writing is confident and humorous where she wants to be, but I have to say there are many places where the choice of language and description plain jars. The book is a fantasy world of swords and walled towns, but the careless use of modern concepts like 'genetics' and 'electrolytes' simply jars with the crafted world. Other modernist language traits like modern swearing and clichés fracture the dialogue. If Breene could focus on her world and imagine the language and descriptions to match accurately the time period she envisages, the quality of the writing would lift nicely. Still, there are the following volumes and I'm sure Breene will rise to the challenge. An excellent start to her new series, look forward to more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Potentially intriguing story...shame about the porn., 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chosen (The Warrior Chronicles, 1) (Kindle Edition)
Had potential but I don't really want to read sexually graphic stuff. I don't really want to know what she's putting in her mouth or anywhere else. Shame because I would have liked to follow the story. Just not into reading porn I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced, and full of action, Shanti is ..., 5 July 2014
This review is from: Chosen (The Warrior Chronicles, 1) (Kindle Edition)
Fast paced, and full of action, Shanti is a heroine that you don't want to mess with, looking forward to reading book 2, to find out whether Shanti finds what she is looking for, and what happens to the Captain and how he develops his Gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chosen (The Warrior Chronicles, 1) (Kindle Edition)
Well fleshed out characters with lots of twists and a story to drag you in cannot wait for book 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chosen (The Warrior Chronicles, 1)
£1.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews