Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great start to the series
I am a big Margaret Atwood fan and this is a bargain but I wonder how many parts there are and how much it is going to cost buying the whole book in installments. Would I be better off waiting for it to be finished, will it be published as a whole volume eventually? A good story which is quite different from most of her oeuvre, another but a very different utopia/dystopia...
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reading by Installments
To class this as a short story is a little misleading, it's actually the first chapter of a book. The next chapter of the "Positron" book is already on sale, so it seems that Margaret Atwood hopes that we will get so hooked on the story that we will keep paying to find out what happens next, buying each chapter on an individual basis.

Not sure whether I'm...
Published on 10 Sep 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reading by Installments, 10 Sep 2012
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To class this as a short story is a little misleading, it's actually the first chapter of a book. The next chapter of the "Positron" book is already on sale, so it seems that Margaret Atwood hopes that we will get so hooked on the story that we will keep paying to find out what happens next, buying each chapter on an individual basis.

Not sure whether I'm sufficiently engrossed, to keep paying out for each chapter. It's an interesting piece of work, but nowhere near as gripping or as polished as her previous journeys into future dystopian societies ( The Handmaid's Tale (Vintage Classics), The Year of the Flood, Oryx And Crake ).

The idea is great, a community that has volunteered to take part in a social and economic experiment, where full employment and housing is guaranteed, as long as they are prepared to spend half their year as prisoners and the other half as prison warders. Their community "Consilience" is strictly controlled and observed by the "Positron" organisation. The "dual" couples share a house on a rota basis (one pair in the house, while the other pair is doing their stint in jail), and this chapter charts the sexual obsession of one of the men Stan, for a female "dual" whom he has never met.

However while the setting is intriguing, I found it hard to engage with the main characters, somehow they seemed a little flat and lifeless, and because of this, it's hard to muster up much interest in what is going to happen to them next.

I think the author may have made a tactical error with the publishing strategy for this book. Based on my enjoyment of her past work, I would have happily shelled out for the complete book without sampling it. However based on what I have read of this one so far, I'm really not sure whether I want to commit any time or money to future installments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great start to the series, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big Margaret Atwood fan and this is a bargain but I wonder how many parts there are and how much it is going to cost buying the whole book in installments. Would I be better off waiting for it to be finished, will it be published as a whole volume eventually? A good story which is quite different from most of her oeuvre, another but a very different utopia/dystopia from either the "Oryx and Crake" pair of books or Handmaids Tale. In fact it is so early in the tale that we don't really know how bad it is and quite how bad the rest of the world is outside of the environment in which we find our hero and heroine. It leaves one itching to know whats going to happen next and how it will end up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you are feeling starved of good sci-fi, try this, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pros - easy to get into, plenty to make you think.

Cons - is part of a series so there is no proper resolution.

At first glance, this opening episode of Atwood's new series is reminiscent of a slightly older style of sci-fi and definitely harks back to The Handmaid's Tale or Ray Bradbury. A simple concept based around an alternate America that is, in this case, both utopian and dystopian. However, with her deft touch, Atwood is able to raise a number of interesting regarding social reform and the human condition. This short story does contain a lot of setting up, assumedly to help with the development of the later episodes, but that doesn't necessarily detract what is an intriguing tale slowly unfolding for the reader.
I am really getting into these Kindle Singles and this is another excellent addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cynical views all round!, 10 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the story of a dystopian world set in USA! And oddly I can see this happening ....... Very surface cheerful but under currents of horror rippling through it. Very Atwood and a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Continuing the themes and ideas started in the Oryx and Crake trilogy, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like the idea of a serialised story format, just be aware that depending on when you join in with this you may have to wait for the next chapter to be released.

Margaret Atwood continues using dystopian ideas of the future started in the Oryx and Crake trilogy of books (as well as The Handmaiden's Tale) and makes us look at ideas and themes that are relevant to us now.

Her writing style is deceptively easy to read but she manages to convey ideas and the way in which we humans act and think in a much more accessible way that some authors who feel the need to use a thousand words to set a scene.

If you're already a fan of Margaret Atwood then you should have already downloaded this. If not it's a quick easy read as an introduction to her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful beginning, 25 Aug 2013
By 
Dotty "Ddg" (Jersey, Channel Islands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This looks to be a fascinating book but then I discovered it was only the first chapter and others had to be ordered through something called 'By liner'. I found this all very confusing and gave up on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must read for Atwood fans. Compelling and a fun twist. Can't wait to read next story which I bought before finishing this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars why then not - when limited resources are the privilege of the 'rich nation' and criminality all that remains for the poor - see, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'm Starved for You: Positron, Episode 1 (Kindle Edition)
Steamy thematic and character introduction in a new setting of Margaret Atwood's predilection for dystopia. Her solution proposed here equates to a damning of capitalism's entrenched and inevitable 'two nations' outcome; we see it's germinal throws now in the high-security residential enclaves in such as Mexico City; why then not - when limited resources are the privilege of the 'rich nation' and criminality all that remains for the poor - see such institutionalised by government? Consilience is the consequence of governments' inadequacy in caring for people, where greedy self-interest and the lack of humanitarianism have become societal status quo. Looking forward to the next installment, trusting things kick off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars WHAT??!!!, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unless I need to keep reading this to get into it I found the first few chapters very dull and just a little bizarre. A book needs to at least intrigue me in the first 3 chapters but this was far fetched and pointless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Irritating, 27 Sep 2013
This author's work is imaginative ,stimulating and well written. But to publish a book in this Charles Lamb way is irritating for today's reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I'm Starved for You: Positron, Episode 1
£1.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews