Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PS3 Only
It took me a while to find a game that this controller would actually work with. I bought it because another reviewer said that it worked with any games. But be warned this is a PS3/PC controller only. It will not function with XBox games on PC. Virtually all the games I had were XBox PC games, so I had to buy an XBox 360 controller as well. I then found a PC game that...
Published 2 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great made controller at a good price - but does not work with many pc games beware
Doesnt work with many pc games - they are designed to work with an x box controller

Its a great controller - and works with windows on some things - well made

Other comments make this same point - so i would give a 5 on this basis alone

But I bought this to play bioshock infinite pc version and i cant get it to work
After searching...
Published 2 months ago by Gary Howorth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PS3 Only, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CSL - C210 wireless USB gamepad for PC including Dual Vibration | Joypad controller | Plug & Play | Black | Windows 7 + Windows 8 + Windows 8.1 (Electronics)
It took me a while to find a game that this controller would actually work with. I bought it because another reviewer said that it worked with any games. But be warned this is a PS3/PC controller only. It will not function with XBox games on PC. Virtually all the games I had were XBox PC games, so I had to buy an XBox 360 controller as well. I then found a PC game that CSL C210 was able to work with but then so did the XBox controller. So I can't help questioning whether I wasted my money or not on the CSL C210. Only time will tell as I acquire more games. Having said that this controller does respond well considering it is wireless,and is fairly comfortable to use. Basically it does what it was made for, if you can find the right games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 25 Sep 2014
This review is from: CSL - C210 wireless USB gamepad for PC including Dual Vibration | Joypad controller | Plug & Play | Black | Windows 7 + Windows 8 + Windows 8.1 (Electronics)
Considering the price of this thing, I was very surprised to open the box and find a very nice controller. It feels nice in the hand. Of course it's not an official dualshock controller but it is made very well. I had a little trouble getting it connected to the computer but once you've got it working, is very easy to use and the wireless works well at sorry short distances (haven't really tested distance) although some times the controller does feel a little unresponsive.

This controller doesn't really work too well with games like skyrim which you really need an Xbox 360 controller for. If you really want you can use software to make the buttons of the controller mimick that of a keyboard's. This does work well with emulators.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ten out of ten from me, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CSL - C210 wireless USB gamepad for PC including Dual Vibration | Joypad controller | Plug & Play | Black | Windows 7 + Windows 8 + Windows 8.1 (Electronics)
this product is very easy to set up and use... I am hopeless when it comes to computers but I had it connected and working in less than five minutes. gamepad is well worth the price, ten out of ten from me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great made controller at a good price - but does not work with many pc games beware, 31 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CSL - C210 wireless USB gamepad for PC including Dual Vibration | Joypad controller | Plug & Play | Black | Windows 7 + Windows 8 + Windows 8.1 (Electronics)
Doesnt work with many pc games - they are designed to work with an x box controller

Its a great controller - and works with windows on some things - well made

Other comments make this same point - so i would give a 5 on this basis alone

But I bought this to play bioshock infinite pc version and i cant get it to work
After searching the internet found that you can get an emulator that makes the ps3 controller look like a xbox one - its supposed to make it work

Tried motionjoy (beware of malware) betterds3 and scserver but couldnt get this to work - ps these are ps3 - xbox emulators

So because of this i give it a 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but thumbsick problems, 16 Oct 2014
This review is from: CSL - C210 wireless USB gamepad for PC including Dual Vibration | Joypad controller | Plug & Play | Black | Windows 7 + Windows 8 + Windows 8.1 (Electronics)
It ain't bad. Good battery life. Auto powers off if not used for a while.

Thumb sticks physical range of movement does not match up with the controller output; for example, it is reading 100% left, but the thumbstick has only gone half way to the left. Fine control like creep/walk/run is difficult.

Ok for a spare, or for occasional 2-player games. I paid the extra and got a WIRED xbox 360 common controller for 3 times the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Would probably be great if driver worked., 18 Aug 2014
By 
Archie Wheeldon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CSL - C210 wireless USB gamepad for PC including Dual Vibration | Joypad controller | Plug & Play | Black | Windows 7 + Windows 8 + Windows 8.1 (Electronics)
Unfortunately... At this moment in time I'll have to lowly rate this controller.
My issue: The driver that comes on the disc does NOT appear in device manager (Windows 8.1). I have uninstalled and reinstalled several times to no prevail. This has currently left me running the remote on the "HID-compliant game controller". Unfortunately this means that the "home" button does not seem to work as well as the four right side buttons not corresponding correctly within games (For example, square should punch yet it does the equivalent of X and jumps instead). In-game (after heavy and awkward configuration) I have also encountered the strange problem of the right analog stick inputting square, circle, triangle and X commands...

When this driver issue gets resolved (and I hope it does ASAP) then the remote will have been a fantastic buy!!! From what I have been able to see so far the remote is a nice build quality, shape and generally feels nice to hold. I also was able to somewhat experience the rumble effects and they aren't too bad.

If and when the product sellers contact me (Not sure how to contact them as I am unable to find contact details) I will change my review rating accordingly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Faulty R2 button., 4 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CSL - C210 wireless USB gamepad for PC including Dual Vibration | Joypad controller | Plug & Play | Black | Windows 7 + Windows 8 + Windows 8.1 (Electronics)
arrived quickly. Plugged it in and it was quick to recognise the controller. However the R2 button was broken, doesn't detect that you are holding it down. Will be returning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this product is very good and it came in through the post very quickly, 27 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CSL - C210 wireless USB gamepad for PC including Dual Vibration | Joypad controller | Plug & Play | Black | Windows 7 + Windows 8 + Windows 8.1 (Electronics)
this product is very good and it came in through the post very quickly, i can play all my games.
thank you for given us this good product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This gamepad can be made to work for at least some games on a Windows 7 64 bit PC but it’s not what I'd call Plug 'n' Play, 2 Sep 2014
By 
M. Brown (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CSL - C210 wireless USB gamepad for PC including Dual Vibration | Joypad controller | Plug & Play | Black | Windows 7 + Windows 8 + Windows 8.1 (Electronics)
Plainly the makers/sellers of this gamepad define Plug and Play (PnP) differently to me. Plugged this into my Windows 7 64 bit version PC and couldn’t play a thing. So over the course of several evenings I learnt some valuable lessons – the main one being that PC games tend to be setup to work with a Microsoft Xbox 360 gamepad only if they work with a gamepad at all.

So to get something like this controller – essentially a Chinese made PS3 type gamepad – to work you need to fool the PC into thinking it’s an Xbox 360 type controller. This requires that you use something called an “Xbox360 controller emulator” application on the PC. Do a search for “gamepad emulator” on YouTube to see what I’m talking about.

To be fair I did manage to get the controller to work for most of the games on my Windows 7 64 bit PC (Steam and EA/Origin included) after many hours research into Xbox360 emulators and gamepad drivers and the subsequent messing about on the PC – so it is possible. But it’s not what I’d call Plug and Play. Windows compatible it might be but that doesn’t mean it’s ready to use right after you plug it in for the first time. The pad, once working, is quite nice – good weight, wireless works fine and all the controls are responsive. I find the trigger buttons slightly odd due to the way they are spring loaded but that might just be me.

So my key comment is that this gamepad controller may or may not be PnP with a PS3 (I don’t know, not having a PS3) but it is far from PnP with a PC. The controller arrived with just a mini-CD containing the drivers. There were no instructions in the box at all and I could find none on the internet - I went looking after I had plugged it in and found that none of my games even recognised that there was a controller there. That’s what led me to the wonderful world of Xbox360 emulators. Bizarrely I did receive an email from the Hannover based supplier CSL which contained three documents – an invoice which was in mixed German and English and 2 other docs that were completely in German. Via Google Translate I discovered that one is a sales contract and the other is about data protection. None of these is in the least bit helpful in terms of getting the controller to work with a PC.

So: 2 stars for the fact it’s not really PnP on a PC and you need some technical knowhow to get it to work. 4 stars for the gamepad itself as its actually quite nice once it is working.

Conclusion – this controller can be made to work for at least some games on a Windows 7 64 bit PC but it’s not for the technically faint of heart. Overall - 3 stars.

If you are interested in how I got it to work then read on….

During the course of my efforts to try to get this controller to work with my PC I played with various internet downloaded apps, including things called SCP DS3, Better DS3 and MotioninJoy. I also had some really frustrating times with drivers but let’s not go there.

In the end I found that something called x360ce.exe (i.e. Xbox360 controller emulator) worked – search for this application on the internet and download it (put it into its own directory to keep things tidy). Note there are several versions of this application around – some are called xbox360ce.exe. I found what I think is the latest version (v2.1.2.191) available to download from Google.

Providing you have loaded the right drivers for the controller first (for me this ended up being things called hidclass.sys, hidparse.sys and hidusb.sys) your PC will recognise the controller as a USB input device – my PC gave it the name “PS(R) Gamepad”. I suspect that running the application on the mini-CD supplied with the controller set up the gamepad with these drivers when I first installed it – I then messed things up by trying other drivers (playing with SCP DS3 did this) and it took me a while to find and load the “right” ones again.

If you’ve got this far then run x360ce.exe – it will want to create a dll file and an ini file – let it – it creates them in the same directory as the emulator. Providing the controller is plugged in and connected to the PC the xbox360 emulator application should recognise it, connect to it and allow you to configure the buttons. The emulator has a bunch of preloaded gamepad presets – I found the “Logitech Cordless RumblePad 2” seemed to be the closest to what was needed for this particular controller – a dual stick, 12 button, d-pad controller. Loading that preset meant that almost everything was correctly identified and setup. The “Turbo” and “Clear” buttons on the gamepad were not identified as the Xbox360 gamepad has no equivalents and I quickly gave up worrying about them. Buttons 1 to 4 (the square, triangle, cross and circle) were identified but were wrongly mapped (i.e. you pressed one and a different button light up on the picture of the xbox360 controller in the emulator) - however it was easy to re-assign those buttons using the emulator so they were correctly mapped.

Once you’ve got the joysticks, D-pad and buttons mapped correctly save the ini file that the emulator has created for you as a result of your efforts (once you are happy then hitting the “Save” button overwrites the existing default x360ce.ini file with the controller configuration you’ve just set up). Exit the xbox360ce application.

Now copy the emulator .exe file, the x360ce.ini file and xinput dll file (i.e. 3 files in total) into the executable directory of the game you want to play with the controller. Start the game as normal and if you’ve done everything right the controller should now be working with your game – or at least recognised by the game if not quite working perfectly. Most games apparently look for an xinput dll in the games executable directory and load it if one is there – this is essentially the file that lets the game think your gamepad is an Xbox 360 controller. For Steam based games look in (C\Program files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\Common) to find your game directories. Remember – you need to copy all 3 files into the appropriate game directory for every game you want to use the controller with. From my experience it seems to be a bit hit or miss as to whether any particular game will actually pick up the controller – but most of my games seemed happy enough. However even if a game does pick up the controller you will almost certainly still need to assign or re-assign specific game commands to the appropriate gamepad buttons/controls within the game options menu to get things working as you’d like.

If it’s not working by now then you’ll probably need to get into the world of xbox360 emulators a bit deeper – some games look for xinput dll files with slightly different names apparently and I’ve seen reference to things called “Hooks” on the internet forums with regard to gamepads and particular games – I have no idea what they are about. Oh and there are pre-requisites around the versions of DirectX, .Net 4 framework and Visual C++ that you need to have running on the PC. As an aside I tried out x360ce on my Windows 8.1 laptop and it wouldn’t run – there seemed to be issues around the versions of DirectX and .Net that Windows 8.1 contains. I’ve decided to leave this alone for the moment as I don't really need to use this gamepad on that laptop.

Watch the video tutorials on YouTube if you can’t make any sense of what I’ve written here. That’s what I did to figure out what to try. Good luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easy to set up and play on pc, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CSL - C210 wireless USB gamepad for PC including Dual Vibration | Joypad controller | Plug & Play | Black | Windows 7 + Windows 8 + Windows 8.1 (Electronics)
Already have 3 of them, easy to set up and play on pc! Great product for a good price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews