Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read from this thankfully prolific author
I'm really hooked on these 'village murder mysteries'! They are extremely well written and well plotted, with interesting characters running through the series. If you like typical English whodunnits you'll love these. Luckily there are loads of them!
Published 3 months ago by Karin Snellock

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!
I've read all Rebecca Tope's books, & I have to say this is the most disappointing of all. A very tedious boring book with little plot. Thea's 'flu seems to be the main topic of this book! Even the dog has had a change of character!.
Published 11 months ago by Marjorie Bubbles


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!, 13 April 2014
I've read all Rebecca Tope's books, & I have to say this is the most disappointing of all. A very tedious boring book with little plot. Thea's 'flu seems to be the main topic of this book! Even the dog has had a change of character!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't start with this one, 2 Jun. 2014
By 
J. Severn (LONDON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
While some of the Cotswold series are good lightweight "cozy" murder mysteries, this one is enough to put you off the heroine for good if you haven't read any of the others. As another reviewer put it, it's Me, Me, Me Oh Misery Me most of the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Me,Me,Me., 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The previous book in this series was one of Rebecca Tope's best with a strong plot which made it a great read,so I was keen to read her latest offering.It could not have been in greater contrast. The main character,Thea Osborne, has always appeared rather self-absorbed to me,but in this book she took it to new levels.Admittedly, she could hardly help going down with 'flu during her latest
house-sitting stint and it was particularly unfortunate that it all coincided with the Christmas celebrations. Nevertheless,I was appalled by her neglect of the animals she was paid to care for and even her own beloved dog,Hepzie, experiences her displeasure.I feel sorry for Drew Slocombe, a widower with two young children, to whom she is attracted .Thea has little time for her own sex and her relationship with the females in her family, including her daughter, is strained and generally unsympathetic.I wonder if she,in her desire to bag Drew,has considered fully the problems she may face with a young girl and boy who have recently been bereaved.I await the next book with interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Woe in the Wolds, 18 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not Agatha Raison, although both are set in the Cotswolds, this book irritated and failed to convince. The basic storyline was acceptable but the main character did not convince. I forced myself to finish book but was left unconvinced by some of the story developments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read from this thankfully prolific author, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm really hooked on these 'village murder mysteries'! They are extremely well written and well plotted, with interesting characters running through the series. If you like typical English whodunnits you'll love these. Luckily there are loads of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Living in the Cotswolds, 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A little slow but I like the character as have read several of the bks before. Rereading as I have just moved to live in a Cotswold village. I can identify with the sleepiness and remoteness of it all.She creates that well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, 31 Aug. 2014
Oh dear Rebecca
What have you done to Thea? Moaning, self pitying - please don't burden poor Drew with her.
The plot was tenuous and the working out unbelievable. What a shame I have enjoyed all the previous books but this was dire
Please retire Thea to normal life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Once more this lady tells a good story well presented murder and the characters within the ..., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once more this lady tells a good story well presented murder and the characters within the storyline hold the reader's interest, the little bits of humour only enhance the enjoyment. Well done Rebecca Tope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 2 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great read as usual just love her characters, they are so realistic and you can sympathise and relate to them, mysteries abound and there is Thea in the thick of it as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars and another....., 25 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another Cotswold mystery with same formula. Not brilliant plot or characterisation, or story telling but my wife likes it as we know the area and it's 'comfortable'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews