Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly for Monty Python die-hards
Husband (huge Monty Python fan) and myself (a bit of a Monty Python fan) went to see the live show. This DVD left me with the same sentiments as the show. It's worth watching if you have previously enjoyed Monty Python and don't mind seeing the performers who are a bit past their best re-enacting their golden moments (and rather over-relying on the original video...
Published 2 months ago by Treaclytreat

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A fine example of why you should get old bands back together!
I really wanted to get tickets to this but they were hugely expensive and very difficult to get hold of also I couldn't attend the ‘live’ cinema screening of the last night as we were on holiday. For both of these misfortunes I can now in hindsight be very glad. A re-union after such a long time is always risky and likely to disappoint, just ask many rock...
Published 2 months ago by CrazyDrummer


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly for Monty Python die-hards, 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Python Live (Mostly) - One Down Five To Go [DVD] [2014] [NTSC] (DVD)
Husband (huge Monty Python fan) and myself (a bit of a Monty Python fan) went to see the live show. This DVD left me with the same sentiments as the show. It's worth watching if you have previously enjoyed Monty Python and don't mind seeing the performers who are a bit past their best re-enacting their golden moments (and rather over-relying on the original video footage in the first half), but if you want to experience Monty Python at its greatest, I would suggest you watch their original materials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The shows were great, and you should enjoy this DVD, 10 Nov. 2014
By 
Clive R. Stacey "Clive" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monty Python Live (Mostly) - One Down Five To Go [DVD] [2014] [NTSC] (DVD)
I went to two of the shows, including the last one which is shown here. The shows were great, and you should enjoy this DVD. However, if you want an exact replica of the original sketches, buy the original series, as there are sometimes differences.
One of the two down points of this release are the occasional edits. Why do they do that? We miss John Cleese taking Terry Jones' cue card and reading it himself during the Crunchy Frog sketch, and also a rant and discussion with Michael Palin about bad reviews during the Parrot sketch. The other is the bonus features - instead of the announcement press conference, we get tiny snippets. Why? 'Highlights from the 10 shows' is just a few celebrities or stage hands in box pop clips, NOT highlights from the shows! Only the production feature comes halfway to what you expect.
So great show, rubbish features. A wasted opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars By the end, you'll know the meaning of Life., 14 July 2014
I don't know which of the performances will be immortalised in DVD and Blu-ray (I went to the first show, July 1 2014). I know that, having my sense of humor developed by endlessly watching and rewatching the Python oeuvre since my teen years, it was a magical evening. No, it's not the best way to start exploring their work - there's a perfection in timing and freshness in the original material that's unbeatable, and if you don't know where to start, just go chronologically, from Flying Circus to The Meaning of Life - but as a celebration of all these amazing veteran comedic gods created, as a warm, fuzzy, touching (and yet wicked) chance to see them together in a stage probably for the last time, it was one of the best shows I've seen in my life. Because it's not just about the quality of the sketches and musical numbers and Gilliam's terrific animations; it's deeper than that. It's about what this meant - sharing a time and a place with the guys who invented modern comedy, who opened the doors and windows to everybody, everywhere. We owe them our devotion. Even in their darkest, angriest sketches, these artists indeed made - and keeping making - our life much happier. Thank you, Pythons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Skits?, 7 Nov. 2014
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monty Python Live (Mostly) - One Down Five To Go [DVD] [2014] [NTSC] (DVD)
Some thirty four years after their last formal live appearance - and it seems openly inspired by divorces and court cases - Monty Python take one last Pension Fund hurrah by offering a shameless and typical Greatest Skits show. But does anyone really begrudge them this? Does anyone really mind? Here, Monty Python, one dead, five not, give the world a final chance to experience something we never really did at the time, and manage to provide some degree of financial comfort in their old, often-divorced years. Cleese has had one of the most expensive divorces in history, and the Python court case over royalties for a musicial must hardly have been cheap. Where there's a hit, there's a writ. And with an average age of a staggering 73, Monty Python give us all one last chance to see them before comedy extinction.

Mostly of course, it is a nostalgia show – for a troupe that have created nothing of note in the past thirty one years, it is, as you would expect, a chance to experience for one last time what the audience (mostly) could never have experienced at the time, when they irregularly played the US and UK for money, and since their last UK appearances were at Drury Lane in 1974 – before the Sex Pistols had formed, and before many 40 year olds were born, in fact – there was a sense of finality, as if for one brief moment, Halley's Comedy Comet returned for the last time. And, with a combined age of around 370 – excluding the one very obviously very dead ex-Python in Graham Chapman – there's also a clear aging. Terry Jones reads off cue cards on occasion, and John Cleese frequently forgets his lines or goes off track for his own amusement – though all these are handled in a frank and mocking way that draws attention to the absurdity of the whole thing. And a Yorkshireman asks, “Who would've thought 40 years later, we'd still be doing Monty Python?”

The choice of work is sometimes esoteric – the opening sketch is forgettable and relies on a sense of oh-My-God-It's-The-Pythons, as opposed to anything actually notable ; (after several minutes brain wracking it occurs to me it is the Llama sketch) and it's some time before the sense of novelty wears off and is replaced by genuine humour as opposed to muscle memory and rote repetition.

Luckily, the whole thing is arranged as not merely be a staid recital of well known cliches, but sketches are Frankensteined into a thematic whole – the Spanish Inquisition leads into “The Galaxy Song” which, through context sees the absurdity of some religious belief underlined ever further. Following that with a short video sequence that sees prominent scientists having a viciously physical 'think off' both underscores and deflates the point with the knowing self-awareness that sees them never get quite too big for their boots. The Pythons are always the first to burst their own balloons, and it's a skill that I probably have managed to bring into my own life.

It also recalls the ancient days of now mostly-forgotten vaudeville, Victorian baudy camp and music hall, with frequent song-and-dance moments, placing the Pythons in a historical context that only now one can see of repressed middle class white privilege. Not all the material has aged well, a handful of ancient jokes about sexuality, cross dressing, and the song “I Like Chinese” seem – a half century on – somewhat illplaced now I am not 12 years old. Some expected classics do not appear, and some forgotten gems hove back into view. It's by no means lazy, but somewhat predictable.

Graham Chapman's absence is mostly poured over cleverly, though at certain moments it cannot be concealed, and his frequent video reprises are enthusiastically received. If we're honest, he was easily the funniest one of the lot,in the face of strict competition. Cleese has fine timing when allowed to, especially in a couple of well timed and nearly intimate jibes in this enormous aircraft hanger of comedy. In the meantime, Terry Gilliam takes on many of his roles with aplomb – though there is something quite saddening about the finest living film director there is pretending to vomit baked beans into a hat and then wearing them on his head mid show. But Chapman towers over the whole thing as the absent father figure.

The final moment is... exactly what you think it is. It couldn't be anything else. Short of stripping them all naked and sticking them on crosses, it is the only way to end Monty Python. The penultimate caption rams it home. “Monty Python 1968-2014”. And so it is.

This is the end. A greatest hits, as it were, woven with a suspisciously Pythonesque flair and character. There is no way Python would not have disappointed someone, and with so much material to pick from, someone inevitably would have their favourite part missing. But looking at what there is, who would've ever thought they'd get to see any of this performed live by any of the creators, let alone all of the living ones? And thus, as the end of Python, it is a look back, a reminder, a fitting epitah to the lazy bastards. Ex-Pythons soon, and this is the last goodbye.After this show, Python will be extinct, an historical artifact. It seems churlish to deny us and them a chance to say farewell to history. Especially when executed so Pythonesquely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Deluxe Edition, say no more!, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Deluxe Edition is the one to get. I made the mistake of buying the DVD on it's own only to find it has the worst picture quality of a modern DVD release I've ever seen, thanks to Eagle Rock's policy of releasing all their SD material in the American NTSC system only. That abomination is featured in this set but thankfully you also get the crystal clear Blu-ray too - the only way to watch the show. A pity that there are edits here and there (the first overture is edited, the second missing all together and improvised banter from Crunchy Frog and Dead Parrot had been trimmed) but thankfully all these are retained in the two audio CDs which are exclusive to this set, which also omits most of the more visual filmed material, making for a much pacier show. The hardback book containing the four discs is a thing of beauty, featuring full colour photographs of every sketch and song. As a Python fan for nearly 30 years I thought this was for the most part a fitting send off to my heroes. Sure, the first half has it's problems (too much VT and Eric Idle-dominated broadway shenanigans) but the second half is pure joy. Michael Palin and Terry Gilliam in particular are on outstanding form throughout. Highly recommended (just avoid the standalone DVD release, unless you prefer wobbly backgrounds).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good - But!, 11 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Monty Python Live (Mostly) - One Down Five To Go [DVD] [2014] [NTSC] (DVD)
I really have trouble understanding some of the other reviews. You are meant to be reviewing the product not whether you think the Pythons should be doing certain material or in fact should be doing the shows at all. I was lucky enough to have attended and enjoyed one of the live shows. Yes they did the ' greatest hits' but what else would you expect? Rough around the edges? Yes, but again what would you expect? In fact it gave the performance charm. Having seen the live show broadcast on Gold with Dairmud O' Brien (crap) and the repeat with commercial breaks (again crap). This DVD gives you the full flavour of the live show. My only gripe is with the bonus features which to be honest are really poor. Having been a python fan since the begining i know that we can now expect, the deluxe version and the enhanced deluxe version and finally the boxed set, but really as a final farewell they could have given fans a bit more up front to start with. Guys do you really need the money, obviously apart from JC who will be saving for his next divorce and TJ who needs to pay off his mortgage :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I brought this for my parents who had always enjoyed Monty Python, 8 Jan. 2015
By 
F. Brewer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Python Live (Mostly) - One Down Five To Go [DVD] [2014] [NTSC] (DVD)
I brought this for my parents who had always enjoyed Monty Python, I really hoped that this was not simply going to be a bunch of old men who had perhaps been persuaded to do this because one of them had financial problems and they needed the cash, but, how wrong I was. Christmas telly 2014 was absolute rubbish as usual, the only decent things on were old films and this dvd, it was hilarious, it was so entertaining, so well choreographed and the O2 was rammed. The audience age was so varied but they were standing, cheering and having a really good time from die hard MP fans to teenagers, brilliant, it stands the test of time and the 5 remaining Pythons had a blast and it was lovely to see references to Graham Chapman, gone but not forgotten!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Python's greatest hits, 2 Jan. 2015
By 
Ian Barker (Bolton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monty Python Live (Mostly) - One Down Five To Go [DVD] [2014] [NTSC] (DVD)
I went to see the final show when it was streamed live to cinemas and this DVD is a pretty faithful reproduction. It's essentially the Python's 'greatest hits' with a few musical number thrown in.

It's unfair to compare this with the original sketches but the team are clearly enjoying themselves and the film segments are mostly of lesser known material - which is nice.

The DVD extras are just a series of short clips of press conferences and behind the scenes material and felt a little disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it is nice to see them again and it is nice to ..., 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well, time hunts us all. The Pythons are not exactly the young and new bunch that walked in and over the BBC 45 years ago. But still, it is nice to see them again and it is nice to see the old sketches in a new setting. But this movie is mainly for those of us that already have seen the light and can quote more than one line from their movies and the tv show. Even from the bad parts...

So if you have seen most of what they have done, then you must see this one also. And they are still very funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A fine example of why you should get old bands back together!, 25 Nov. 2014
I really wanted to get tickets to this but they were hugely expensive and very difficult to get hold of also I couldn't attend the ‘live’ cinema screening of the last night as we were on holiday. For both of these misfortunes I can now in hindsight be very glad. A re-union after such a long time is always risky and likely to disappoint, just ask many rock bands that tried to re-capture the old magic, and the Pythons pretty much fail in the expected ways. They’re old tired-looking men performing material written by bright energetic young men and it shows.

In many of the routines they appear to be simply going through the motions, there’s no energy or edge to the performances. The sharp comic timing is generally absent and instead there’s heavy reliance on the good will of the audience enjoying the familiar favourites.

Eric Idle and his team did put together a cleverly constructed show, with big musical and dance numbers in a Python style to give the Pythons themselves time to change costumes and, presumably, have a little lie down. Very little of it made me laugh out loud and the bits that did were generally the big-screen inserts showing famous sketches from the TV-era Python, such as Philosopher’s Football, and their series of spoofs on the Olympics, the hundred yard dash for people with no sense of direction etc.

It was great that they included Carol Cleveland, the unofficial seventh Python and the only regular female performer in the shows and films, and there are a couple of funny cameos from Professors Brian Cox and Stephen Hawking at the end of one of the few bits that really did still work, Eric Idle’s Galaxy Song from the film “The Meaning of Life”. The Argument Sketch, the Dead Parrot Sketch and The Cheese Shop Sketch all worked pretty well as did “Nudge Nudge” but aside from that very little of it would have attracted a paying audience if it wasn't part of an established and historic team.

The DVD itself was badly let down by the appalling picture quality; it was often like watching something on YouTube! It was grainy and fuzzy in almost all the close-ups and I wonder if there had in fact been no close-up shots filmed and the close-up was just a computer-enhanced zoom in on an existing wide shot with the usual loss of resolution that this entails? If so then someone from the film production team needed firing.

For die-hard Python fans only, and even then you’d be better off watching “Life Of Brian” or “Holy Grail” again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monty Python Live (Mostly) - One Down Five To Go [DVD] [2014] [NTSC]
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews