Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great portrait of Dr Watson
More humorous than I expected. Mercer is not afraid to laugh at the expense of Watson, but at the same time he captures his warmth and decency, at the same time as capturing Holmes' coldness and intelligence. I don't want to go too much into the plot, for fear of spoiling things - but the general conspiracy against Fenians would probably not be out of place in regards to...
Published 10 months ago by A. L. J. Benachour

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Not a lot to say other than disappointed with storyline. Felt it was rushed through and did not enjoy it. Had seen extract in newspaper but did not follow through with a Holmes type story. The extract of the next book ran into chapters which when in a short book is a lot!
Published 6 months ago by J. Tancred


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great portrait of Dr Watson, 2 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Watson's Terror (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
More humorous than I expected. Mercer is not afraid to laugh at the expense of Watson, but at the same time he captures his warmth and decency, at the same time as capturing Holmes' coldness and intelligence. I don't want to go too much into the plot, for fear of spoiling things - but the general conspiracy against Fenians would probably not be out of place in regards to British government and IRA of seventies and eighties. There's plenty of colour and historical detail for fans of Holmes and historical fiction. First third was a bit slow for my liking, but story and intrigue pick up the pace eventually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Novella, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Watson's Terror (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Unlike other books in series Dr Watson's Terror takes a little while to get going, but second half compensates for the first. In Watson and Bowler the author has created a couple of characters that readers will enjoy spending time with. Would recommend Watson's War or Bout as first books to download, but Terror was also good enough to make me carry on with series. Not just for Sherlock Holmes fans but anyone who's read Conan Doyle will get more out of books I suspect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A strong series..., 23 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Doctor Watson's Terror (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
A strong series. Author accentuates how character was originally a soldier and that, more than Holmes, Watson is a lady's man. Dialogue and writing are of a high standard, although plot flagged a bit in middle. Preferred Watson's Bout and Charge but can recommend series to general readers, as well as to Holmes fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Watson's Terror, 23 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Doctor Watson's Terror (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I have read all of Mercer's Watson books and I liked the fact that Sherlock Holmes got a bit more of a role in this one. Interesting setting with Watson going over to Ireland and getting involved with terrorists. Another exciting Sherlock/ Watson spin off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 11 Oct. 2014
By 
J. Tancred "Jackie" (Biddenham, Bedford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Watson's Terror (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Not a lot to say other than disappointed with storyline. Felt it was rushed through and did not enjoy it. Had seen extract in newspaper but did not follow through with a Holmes type story. The extract of the next book ran into chapters which when in a short book is a lot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars dr Watson always struck me as an under dog like character, who was portrayed as respecting and admiring ..., 9 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr. A. Mowatt "humour magnate" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Watson's Terror (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
dr Watson always struck me as an under dog like character, who was portrayed as respecting and admiring his friend Sherlock for his analytical mind and method of solving cases. This book is Doctor Watson getting centre stage, as it were. I do recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, always a mystery to be solved., 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Watson's Terror (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Interesting asnd enjoyed the read but then I am a great admirer of all Stories with Dr. Watson and Sherlock Holmes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Story, 9 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Watson's Terror (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
A very interesting and compolsive story very hard to put down once you've started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good description of characters, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Watson's Terror (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Well - it is OK. An interesting story and quite well written. Good description of characters. Just had something missing a bit IMHO. I guess the problem with all such books is one is always waiting for more to happen and Sherlock to be there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 27 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Watson's Terror (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Didn't find it very exiting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Watson's Terror (Kindle Single)
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews