Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The whole story of The Avengers, superbly researched and written, all under one umbrella!, 1 Sep 2014
If you've got other books in your Avengers collection, ones that you think tell you everything you need to know about the series, and that Bowler Hats and Kinky Boots can't possibly tell you anything you don't know... think again! This is an astonishing reference work, compiled and researched by one of the real experts on the series, Mike Richardson. No other book has brought together such a breathtaking amount of information, fascinating facts and insights for the whole of The Avengers (and The New Avengers, the movie, the stage play, the radio series and more) all under one roof in such an effective, readable way.

Like Mike Richardson, I also write books about The Avengers. I wish I had written this one, as it will surely be seen as the definitive account of the series. Indispensible.

Congratulations, Mike! This is a book that every Avengers fan should have in their library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate Avengers Book, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bowler Hats and Kinky Boots (The Avengers): The Unofficial and Unauthorised Guide to The Avengers (Kindle Edition)
So having read this in less than a week,this in my humble opinion could be the ultimate book that documents the whole history of a well loved cult classic

The author has certainly done his homework and even mentioned the less known stage play and radio series,the book goes at a nice pace giving the reader what they want to know

I would love a second volume but this is pretty much perfect so will just start reading it again

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable and detailed Avengers resource, 5 July 2014
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bowler Hats and Kinky Boots (The Avengers): The Unofficial and Unauthorised Guide to The Avengers (Kindle Edition)
Although the front cover proclaims the book to be unoffical and unauthorised, don't be fooled into thinking that this is a quick cash in. Simply put, Bowler Hats and Kinky Boots is an immaculately researched resource, covering all the aspects of The Avengers - the original tv series, the South African radio series, The New Avengers and the feature film.

Drawing on interviews with key personnel, both in-front and behind the camera, as well as plentiful production paperwork, Richardson is able to tell the complete story. Although there have been several books on the show previously published, none have presented the history of the series in such detail. Therefore there should be plenty of new facts for people to discover, from the various unmade scripts to the backstage battles. To take one example, I never knew that Diana Rigg was reluctant to sign up for the colour series and only did so after a substantial payrise. Although the amount she received for each colour episode will come as a surprise to most, as it still seems incredibly low!

It's a very much a factual book, as Richardson steers clear of offering opinons on the stories, instead he delivers the production facts. If you've ever read anything by Andrew Pixley, then this is is written in a similar style. This may be too dry for some people's tastes, but if you're after facts rather than comment and speculation then this is the book for you. It's particularly fascinating to see the production details on all the later colour episodes and to discover how many days each one took to shoot and exactly what and where they recorded on any given day. This information may be of limited interest to some, but I'm glad it's been included.

This is an invaluable read for any Avengers fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great terrific in depth book, 4 Sep 2014
By 
MARK C. BALE (SWANSEA, WEST GLAM UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bowler Hats and Kinky Boots (The Avengers): The Unofficial and Unauthorised Guide to The Avengers (Kindle Edition)
Read the kindle version, a great terrific in depth book, just one or two minor quibbles - when reviewing the N.A. episode "House of Cards" the author mixes up Annette Andre with Joanna Lumley, claiming the former was the Bishops stepdaughter when it was Lumley's Purdey. And in the biography section did I miss an entry for Patrick Newell ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Avengers Guide, 18 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bowler Hats and Kinky Boots (The Avengers): The Unofficial and Unauthorised Guide to The Avengers (Kindle Edition)
This is a truly fantastic book covering all things Avengers. Even if you think you know all the series you'll be pleasantly surprised to find that there are still lots of things to be learned about the making of this wonderful show. I can't recommend this book highly enough. Buy without hesitation 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't sure about this one till I got it....now regard it as excellent and the ultimate companion to the series., 8 Dec 2014
By 
M. Fairman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wasn't sure about this one to be honest. The idea that it is behind the scenes was always going to be of interest, but the fact that it lacks the story line of each episode rather took away the feeling that the book would be complete.

Luckily I took the plunge and brought it. It's a treasure of a book. I thought it would need the story lines, in fact, sparse as they are, they are there and it's enough. The 'dryness' one reviewer mentioned I have yet to find. In fact reading it in order as I am doing is fascinating stuff. It adds to each episode, is always interesting and to be honest, I'm amazed at how he found and complied all of this, talk about a labour of love!

Best served with the complete or complete as can be box set, this is a book you really will be glad you have if you have any interest in The Avengers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have book for all Avengers fans, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bowler Hats and Kinky Boots (The Avengers): The Unofficial and Unauthorised Guide to The Avengers (Kindle Edition)
Excellent fun...a long overdue celebration of the wonderful original Avengers TV series....I loved the show , especially the Emma Peel years and thoroughly enjoyed learning more about the show. Packed with information and behind the scenes knowledge, a must for any Avenger's fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge Work of Research, Comprehensive and Very Readable!, 5 July 2014
By 
S. Morris (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bowler Hats and Kinky Boots (The Avengers): The Unofficial and Unauthorised Guide to The Avengers (Kindle Edition)
I bought the Kindle version as it'll be easier to carry around with me if I'm travelling than the printed version.

Having only jumped about at random so far, I feel I can say that it's a *very* comprehensive look at the production of THE AVENGERS and THE NEW AVENGERS as well as a look at some of the spins offs (novels, stageplays etc). Plenty of background and production information and lots of stuff that (maybe) a hard core AVENGERS fan would know, but certainly not the more casual fan.

I've read enough to know it's an indispensible purchase not only for fans of The Avengers and The New Avengers, but also for fans of Cult TV in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOC now added to the file - Excellent Text now properly formatted - well done Telos, 4 July 2014
By 
Duncan Harvey (Lichfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bowler Hats and Kinky Boots (The Avengers): The Unofficial and Unauthorised Guide to The Avengers (Kindle Edition)
My previous review marked the book down as two stars because there was no Table of Contents

Telos have now rectified this and the book is now no longer flawed by the lack of navigation

So you can now directly address your favourite season or episodes and enjoy this authoritative text on The Avengers

Thank you Telos for listening and acting promptly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and absorbing, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bowler Hats and Kinky Boots (The Avengers): The Unofficial and Unauthorised Guide to The Avengers (Kindle Edition)
A production guide to the entire Avengers television series (including the radio productions and film), this hefty book is highly informative and interesting, if a little dry sometimes.
This is an invaluable book - a really reliable reference work that finally gathers together pretty much everything you might want to know about the series. Each story has its own few pages of detailed production information, interspersed with supporting wider context. Entries for the Tara King stories are prefaced with a piece on the various backstage upheavals of the time, for example.
Absorbing though this weight of material is, it is rather a bombardment of facts. What the book needs to balance this is a smallish appraisal of each episode. Having so diligently recorded their gestation, it's a shame the author doesn't get the opportunity to give us his opinion on the finished product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews