Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sequel that's better than the first installment?, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holes in the Ground (Kindle Edition)
OK so J A Konrath is one of my fav authors. Iain Rob Wright is one of my fav authors.

Konrath's "Origin" is one of my fav books so when it came to pass a sequel was being written and it was a collaboration with Iain Rob Wright......well I just couldn't wait for it.........I have not been disappointed. This book is just superb!!!!!!!!!

The original "Origin" is set in a secret underground facility in America where a dark secret has been kept hidden for years to be studied to try and find the secrets it holds. The main characters in it are Andy and Sun, a linguist and a vet. Without giving too much away things don't really go as planned and disaster strikes with the facility being destroyed and the dark secret "Bub" escaping.

"Holes In The Ground" is the long awaited sequel. Originally written by Wright and tweaked by Konrath this book is immense. I want to tell you so much about the plot but can't in case I give too much away. The central characters are once again Andy and Sun battling against the evil Bub, but in this book they have help from a few characters from one of the best books Iain Rob Wright has ever written, "The Final Winter". The fantastic Lucas and the somewhat annoying Jerry (definitely not annoying in this book).

There are a few things that both authors have in common. They write horror fantastically well. They add humour to their stories which is both dry, black and extremely funny at times but used in a way that is scary at the same time.

This book is 100MPH from the outset. It's scary, it's gory and it's funny but most of all it's one you won't want to put down once you start it. Do yourself a favour and buy the original "Origin" if you haven't already read it, then throw a sickie and read "Holes In The Ground" straight away. You will not regret it.

What a bloody brilliant read!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holes in the Ground (Kindle Edition)
I am not a critic or a writer so writing reviews doesn't come easy to me as I'm not great with the written word....but this book was a fantastic read made fantastic by the collaboration of iain Rob Wright and j a konrath.... I have always thought there is more on heaven and earth than we know and this book reads as I imagine what is out there be it myth or not.......
I am not going to review with snippets of the book because I urge u all to buy it and see for yourselves I can promise u that u won't put it down......excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fan fiction at its best, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holes in the Ground (Kindle Edition)
Basically this is fan fiction at its greatest!

It seems that IRW took the brilliant idea formed by JAK in Origin and then added his own fantastic spin of humour and horror, a few of his own characters, mixed them up, put them in a new hell and span them out again.

Fast, fun, and full of laughs, this is one that Konrath fans won't want to miss - made all the more interesting by Iain Rob Wright's British touches. Those that have read Origin or The Final Winter will quickly fall in love with this book because the characters are just as you remember them to be.

Each main character is well formed but flawed and you can see early on how Bub will get to them, only IRW/JAK manage to make a few good twists and surprises too. However, the parting shot from Andy annoyed the hell out of me! (no spoilers)

The setting of a monster zoo/prison really allowed both authors to run wild with their imaginations and whoever thought up Mu the talking banana was genius. IRW must have had a riot writing this.

However, there were some “bad” points for me, I did think it had a rushed ending of sorts, nothing was finalized (IMO), which I suppose leaves it open for a sequel but I think that’s a little cheeky of bot authors.

In addition, I was really disappointed to get to 52% and have it end – the last part is the original story from IRW without JAK input. Which is wonderful in of itself but I did feel cheated and which runoffthemill reader really is going to read the same story twice in a row??

Also, I wish we had more back story on Wolfie as it was such a sad story.

I think both authors could have made this into a much longer book with more expansion of the “monsters/prisoners” history, the secret society could have had more back story as could the new characters.

I do hope there is a sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i can give wolfie a home please, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holes in the Ground (Kindle Edition)
this has been a wonderful page turner great story great characters a real pleasure to read
i would highly recommend this to anybody who enjoys a bloody good read
i have decided to drop bananas as one of my five a day i dont think i could
handle the insults
a fully deserved 5 stars to the authors and hopefully maybe another book at some time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars holes in the ground, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holes in the Ground (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant story combining the charachters from Origin and Final Winter, loved the story it reads really well and if you hadn't read the other books it still makes a great stand alone novel xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy Sequel, 9 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holes in the Ground (Kindle Edition)
A worthy sequel to Konrath's "Origin". I haven't read any of Iain Rob Wright before, but I grabbed a copy of The Final Winter straight after finishing this one.

In "Holes", Andy and Sun have to face down Bub and his unholy minions at a new and improved version of the Samhain complex. Suffice to say, things don't quite go to plan...

Fast, fun, and full of laughs, this is one that Konrath fans won't want to miss - made all the more interesting by Iain Rob Wright's British touches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Liked the storyline, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holes in the Ground (Kindle Edition)
I must say this is my kind of read, weird out of this word creatures. I found the story too short though and was disappointed when it ended and the story stated again, written in a slightly different style.
I would have preferred one longer story by one author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Reading, 12 Aug 2014
By 
Dawn Swan (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holes in the Ground (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read and an interesting collaboration between one of my favourite authors and another that I like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read., 18 Aug 2014
By 
L. Anderson (N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holes in the Ground (Kindle Edition)
More of the same as ORIGIN. Good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holes in the Ground
Holes in the Ground by Iain Rob Wright
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews