Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars11
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 August 2014
Very good compilation album with 30 hits of yesteryears, Some very rare tracks like Love Is Like A Violin by Leslie Uggams , Pepito by Los Machucambos (in stereo) , The Voice of Love by Johnny Nash , Tell Tommy I missed Him by Marilyn Michaels and Theme from A Summer Place by Dick Roman are included. Good sound reproduction as usual from Sepia Records. So go down memory lane with these big hits of yesterday.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
Kudos to Robin Cherry who did a great job of restoring the tracks. The audio quality of every song is almost at the audiophile level. I look forward to more CDs with songs recorded in the 60s era to be restored by Robin. All in all, a very well produced CD which should be in the collection of all 60s era song lovers.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 February 2016
INTRODUCTION:

This special release of The Big Hits Of Yesterday truly contains hits somewhere throughout either in the United Kingdom, America, Europe and even the Far East, and they feature songs and artists from the four corners of the world too. And so well have the tracks been chosen that you will find that many of them would require the purchase of a CD just to acquire one recording.

CONTENT:

To truly appreciate how great this CD is, you have to know the contents of this CD. Since Amazon.ca did not provide a song listing, I have compiled a detailed song listing (including label & no., chart positions in US, UK or Hong Kong, plus personal comments), which is as follows:

01 I’ve Told Every Little Star – Linda Scott (Canadian American 123)(US 3/1961; UK 7/1961; HK 1/1961)*the song that propelled Linda Scott to “Star-dom” with many other songs about Stars; I still have her original album with the popular Omega hair-style.
02 Sukiyaki – Kyu Sakamoto (Capitol 4945)(US 1/1961; UK 6/1961; HK 1/1961)*one of the few pure foreign language songs that topped Billboard Hot 100 (others include Volare by Domenico Modugno, Dominique by the Singing Nun, and La Bamba by Los Lobos)
03 Sad Movies – The Lennon Sisters (US 56/1961; HK 1/1961)*although Sue Thompson’s version was more popular in US, the Lennon Sisters’ version was definitely more popular in the Far East, and is also hard to find.
04 Yum Yum Cha Cha – Roberta Shore (Dot 16266)(HK 1/1961)*one of the ultra-rare song that was loved by many in the Far East; now finally making its CD debut! Wonderful! The other rare song is Sayonara by Pat Kirby (only popular in the Far East)
05 Look For A Star – Garry Mills (Liberty 55261)(US 26/1960; UK 7/1960; HK 1/1960)*famous movie hit from the movie Circus Of Horrors; don’t be confused with the knock-off version by Garry Miles (real name James Cason).
06 Love Letters – Ketty Lester (Era 3068)(US 5/1962; UK 4/1962)
07 Al Di La’ – Emilio Percicoli (Warner 5259)(US 6/1962; UK 30/1962; UK 1/1962)*from my all-time favourite movie Rome Adventure starring the beloved Suzanne Pleshette; still remember what Al Di La’ means: Far Far Away, Beyond the Beyond, Beyond This World, as mumbled by Troy Donahue; Sepia Records forgot to put ‘ after La.
08 Wheels – The String-A-Longs (Warwick 603)(US 3/1960; UK 8/1960)*other popular version by Billy Vaughn (28/1961).
09 Michael – The Highwaymen (United Artists 258)(US 1(2)/1961; UK 1/1961; HK 1/1961)*their version of The Bird Man is not readily available.
10 Summer Kisses, Winter Tears – Elvis Presley (RCA-Victor)(album cut)(HK 1/1961)*extremely popular in the Far East, especially Hong Kong; a Cantonese version by a local artist was also popular then.
11 Let’s Get Together – Hayley Mills (Buena Vista 385)(US 8/1961; UK 17/1961)*from the movie The Parent Trap starring Hayley Mills.
12 The Voice Of Love – Johnny Nash (ABC-Paramount 9996)(b-side to As Time Goes By, 1959)(HK 1/1959)*my all-time favourite love song; common song used in dedication radio programs then; no email and no texting then.
13 Theme From Dr. Kildare – Richard Chamberlain (MGM 13075)(US 10/1962; UK 12/1962; HK 1/1962)*sung by the very handsome Richard Chamberlain, who later starred in the Thorn Birds.
14 Pepito – Los Machucambos (Decca 11369)(uncharted, 1962)*very popular original version, now made into a line dance; in Hong Kong, the cover version by Giancarlo & His Italian Combos was No. 1.
15 Tell Tommy I Miss Him – Marilyn Michaels (RCA-Victor 7771)(Uncharted, 1960)*answer song to Ray Peterson’s Tell Laura I Love Her.
16 Walk Right In – The Rooftop Singers (Vanguard 35017)(US 1(2)/1963; UK 10/1963)
17 Hey! Baby – Bruce Channel (Smash 1731)(US 1(3)/1962; UK 2/1962)*John Lennon apparently learned from Bruce during their UK tour about a piano piece, that he later used in Love Me Do! A Little trivia!
18 A Little Bit Of Soap – The Jarmels (Laurie 3098)(US 12/1961)*the cover version by the Fabulous Echoes in Hong Kong topped the chart for 16 weeks!
19 Turn Around, Look At Me – Glen Campbell (Crest 1087)(US 62/1961)*Glen’s first charted hit, later made popular by the Lettermen.
20 Chariot – Petula Clark (Pye 15522)(Uncharted, 1962)*written by Paul Mauriat; later turned into a Number 1 hit as I Will Follow Him by Little Peggy March
21 Love Me With All Your Heart – The Ames Brothers (RCA-Victor, album track, 1962)*later made even more popular by the Ray Charles Singers (US 3/1964).
22 Love Is Like A Violin – Leslie Uggams (Philips 1063)(Uncharted, 1960)
23 Hey Paula – Paul & Paula (Philips 40084)(US 1(3)/1963; UK 8/1963)
24 Dominique – The Singing Nun (Philips 40152)(US 1(4)/1963; UK 7/1962)*born Jeanine Deckers, recorded under the name Soeur Sourire (Sister Smile).
25 Rhythm Of The Rain – The Cascades (Valiant 6026)(US 3/1962; UK 5/1962; HK 1/1962)*extremely popular in the Far East.
26 I Will – Vic Dana (Dolton 51)(US 47/1962)*his biggest hit was of course Red Roses For A Blue Lady (US 10/1965).
27 Crying In The Rain – The Everly Brothers (Warner 5250)(US 6/1962; UK 6/1962)
28 Pineapple Princess – Annette (Buena Vista 362)(US 11/1960) *sadly died of multiple sclerosis in 2013 at the age 70.
29 Theme From A Summer Place – Dick Roman (Harmon 1004)(US 64/1962)*rare gem; good choice; regular on Liberace’s TV show.
30 Sucu Suc – Nina & Frederik (Columbia 4632)(UK 23/1961)*vocal duo from Denmark: Baroness Nina and Baron Frederik!

POSITIVE POINTS:

1 All the songs are well chosen with many many ultra-rare gems, with some making their CD debut!
2 The sound is superbly remastered, using 24 bit Cedar System – clean with no hiss.
3 All the songs are original versions. No re-recorded versions here.
4 There is a 12-page booklet, containing an informative essay written by Ossie Dales in April 2014, plus many rare pictures of the stars like Roberta Shore and Linda Scott. Coloured picture sleeves are in the back cover of the booklet.
5 The price is reasonable, especially from seller.

NEGATIVE POINTS:

1 Some of the picture sleeves overlapped each other. For collectors, we appreciate that each picture is displayed fully.
2 I was hoping that the long version of Al Di La’ with Italian intro’ is included.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

When I listened to this CD, my heart was filled with joy and sweet memories. Many thanks to Sepia Records for superb selection of songs, covering the various continents, not just US & UK. The sound is also top-rate with no hiss. All the songs have become my new reference standards. For all oldies fans, this set is very highly recommended and a MUST-OWN!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This an interesting music-series which comes up with one or two gems rarely seen upon too many compilations, obviously
these releases are worth a glance, one might well find one or two tracks that have been hard to find.
As with the second in the series some of the numbers on-board are cover-versions which we remember being charted here
in the U.K by a different artist than is featured such as - 'Love is Like a Violin' which was a big-hit for comedian 'Ken Todd'
and - 'Theme From a Summer Place' a Chart Success for 'Percy Faith and his Orchestra'
Many of the songs are not well know hit-sounds indeed some were never chart entries, of course there are one or two fondly
remembered hits also on the play-list such as - 'Love Letters' -Ketty Lester' ....'Michael' -'The Highwaymen' which charted
alongside 'Lonnie Donegan's' version of the song ....'Hey Baby' -'Bruce Channel' the later version of which by 'DJ Otzi' can
be heard at football grounds as a 'chant' these days ....'Dominique' -'The Singing Nun' this was a massive hit, a very different
song to what we were used too back then ....'Rhythm Of The Rain' -'The Cascades' one of my all-time favourite songs, is was
in fact the groups only hit ....and ....'Crying In The Rain' -'The Everlys' ....these among the chart memories on-board this release.
Worth a glance for collectors still perhaps looking for that missing gem that's been hard too find.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
A WONDERFUL SELECTION OF GOLDEN OLDIES WHICH YOU WILL RARELY FIND ON ONE DISC.30 GRAND TRACKS VALUE FOR MONEY
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
Very good collection contains tracks not on other collections enjoyed very much
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
i remember the singing nun it was my mother's favourite song
we didn't have a record player in those days, and there wasn't much good music on TV
the radio was golden and we listened to it for hours
fast forward to today and imagine what it was like for us oldies
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2015
I'm from Japan. I bought this cd for only one reason, because it contains 'Sukiyaki ' aka in Japan 'Uyeo Muite Arukou'. A singer, Kyu Sakamoto was a versatile pop singer from 60' in Japan, but he died in a plane crash almost thirty years ago, which event is written as cd's sleeve note.
Overall, sound quality of every track is excellent.
Thanks for good job of Sepia Records.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2015
I bought this collection along with vol 2, money well spent, there are some very good tracks on here, some i've never heard of, but they are all very good recordings, and as with vol 2, they are all original
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
Received on time and has songs that you hear very often.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)