Customer Reviews


195 Reviews
5 star:
 (158)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album!
With so many reviews (most of which are positive) for Oasis' second album already on here, it seems rather pointless to write another review about how good the band's second album was. I would just like to add that '(What's The Story) Morning Glory?' deserves all of the acclaim that it received and is defiantly one of the best albums to come from the 1990s. Great lyrics,...
Published 17 months ago by ReviewBlog51

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What's the story?
Well, it's not all good but it's not all bad.

It is rather annoying that the start of the album has a one second blurt of another track before "Hello" actually begins. However, that may be an error that's unique to my copy.

The multi channel mix is not life changing and won't ever be one that you use to demo your system to friends. However, it is...
Published on 17 Aug 2011 by Dr Cappo


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album!, 12 Feb 2013
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
With so many reviews (most of which are positive) for Oasis' second album already on here, it seems rather pointless to write another review about how good the band's second album was. I would just like to add that '(What's The Story) Morning Glory?' deserves all of the acclaim that it received and is defiantly one of the best albums to come from the 1990s. Great lyrics, brilliant music and a classic rock album. The tracks were so good that the four singles released in the UK all peaked within the top 2, two of them went to number one.

Very rarely do I say this, but there really isn't a bad track on here. 'Roll With It' is very catchy, 'Wonderwall' is another classic and 'Don't Look Back in Anger' and 'Champagne Supernova' (a mixture of hard-rock with a beautiful melody) are my personal favourites, the latter being the perfect way to finish the album.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars (What's the story) Morning Glory?, 23 July 2002
I could take hours just briefly summing up the brilliance and pure talent which have been packed into an album which displays the talent of Oasis. 1995's "(What's the Story) Morning Glory" was without doubt, the best album released by Oasis to date. It has everything - a vast blend of tinny, acoustic riffs, marvellous ballads, and the trademark voice of Liam Gallagher.
For once, an album I've bought has the perfect mix of various styles of music, squeezed into just twelve tracks. Every track on this album is excellent - it's not one of those albums which has one or two tracks which could have been produced better. Tracks such as "Wonderwall", "Don't look back in anger", and "Champagne Supernova" are simply brilliant - these tracks built foundations for the success of Oasis, which have become one of Britain's most popular bands in recent years.
Track 1: Hello
With the beginning of "Wonderwall" floating at the beginning of this track, the immediate use of crunching guitar solos make this a marvellous start to the album. The lyrics are extremely clever - they tell it like it is!
Track 2: Roll With It
A superb track, which proves variety as well as quality in the album. The straining vocals of Liam Gallagher make this track marvellous, and the occasional guitar solo from Noel Gallagher improves the track further.
Track 3: Wonderwall
This is one of my favourite records of all time. A beginning which blends tinny, acoustic steel-string guitars with Double-bass and drums is genius, the lyrics are very clever, and Liam's vocals are perfect for the track. You should buy the album just plainly for this track.
Track 4: Don't Look Back In Anger
A mix of John Lennon, and Noel Gallagher at the beginning of the track gets it off to a flying start. Once again, guitars, drums, piano, bass guitars, all mixed into one beautiful Oasis classic. Lyrics famously used on the terraces in football grounds across the world - unbelievable.
Track 5: Hey Now
Not saying that this track is bad, but compared to the other tracks on the album, this is probably the worst song on the album. It seems a track which has been slightly rushed, but it's still very good. The vocals of the belting Liam Gallagher remain strong.
Track 6:
Very short, simple guitar.
Track 7: Some Might Say
A classic track which combines powerful vocals and lyrics with beautiful guitar distortion. Lyrics are all cleverly written (once again) but this time have the ability to touch everyone in a certain way.
Track 8: Cast no Shadow
How do you some up a track like this? A smooth, easy-listening track which is calm, relaxed and harmonic. Beautiful vocals and backing vocals - this track displays a soft, smooth, romantic side to Oasis.
Track 9: She's Electric
It starts brilliantly, it ends perfectly. A great mix of jazz piano and guitar, rolled into one track which lasts only three minutes and forty seconds. The lyrics are hilarious, easy to remember, and one of those tracks you are not ashamed to perform at a karaoke evening. The backing vocals are similar to the last track.
Track 10: Morning Glory
You'll remember this track for a long time. Guitar solos, powerful lyrics and vocals, and a beautifully paced tempo. This track is one that reveals a rash, dirty side to Oasis.
Track 11:
Quick track, which shows the talent of Oasis guitarist Noel Gallagher.
Track 12: Champagne Supernova
This is one of the most beautiful, soothing records ever churned out by Oasis. A blend of guitar fuelled agression, which is evident from the beginning of the track. It's seven minutes of pure genius, as Oasis end an album which will be remembered forever.
A marvellous album, which is a must-buy CD for any Oasis fan. A marvellous, challenging mix of guitar, intense drumming, and powerful vocals. I can't explain the feeling you receive when you listen to an album of such quality. I seriously doubt Oasis will ever match the quality of "(What's the Story) Morning Glory?" again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STILL ONE OF THE BEST ALBUMS EVER, 12 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. C. J. Williams (Leicester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is not often that I feel compelled to write on a website but I have to say that this is Oasis at thier most amazing, ear shattering, melodic best. After this album things went seriously downhill and if Liam and Noel cannot even remeber recording this due to thier drug induced haze at the time my advice would be to go back to the drugs. For me the standout track isn;t wonderwall (overated), nor don't look back in anger (still brilliant), it is track 5 - Hey Now! What an absolute stonker of a song still being played nearly every day on my ipod 12 years on and all for the last chorus which in terms of musical arrangement and pure emotion far surpasses any other rock track I have ever listened too. Listen to i again and I defy you not to get shivers up your spine. For that I thank Oasis, for Little James I stopped buying your records. If only they were writing stuff like this now....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album. That's What The Story Is., 29 Sep 2010
By 
Matthew Stoneman "90's Guy" (North Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sometimes an album is great, but it's impossible to put into words as to why it's great. Is it the tempo? I don't know. Is it the instruments used? I don't know. Is it the lyrics and their possible meanings? I don't know. All I know is that in those situations the album just has that something special about it; that special something that separates the music that is considered "OK" and the music that makes you say "Wow! This is amazing!", and the second album by Oasis, 1995's "(What's The Story) Morning Glory?" definitely does the latter.

The album has ten songs on offer (plus a couple of unlisted short tracks, the existence of which is a mystery). Among those songs we have ROLL WITH IT, which is a cracking tune despite losing out to Blur's COUNTRY HOUSE in "The Battle of Britpop" of '95. DON'T LOOK BACK IN ANGER was the first single to show off Noel Gallagher's high quality singing talents and well as further strengthening his status as a great song writer. SOME MIGHT SAY is a loud brash song which helped the band score their first number one single; and then there's the iconic WONDERWALL. The lyrics don't make sense to me, but the tune is something I have a great deal of pleasure in allowing to play through my head again and again.

A couple of songs drag on for a little too long, such as CHAMPAGNE SUPERNOVA even though that one has a relatively good sound. But other than that "(What's The Story) Morning Glory?" is an album that I thoroughly enjoyed, and I'm more than happy to give it 5-Stars. Like I said it's impossible to say why it's great. You'll just have to listen to it for yourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oasis at their best, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Musical brilliance that is all. Champagne supernova is classic. No music collection should be without this classic album by oasis !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oasis on SACD, 4 Jan 2010
By 
Edward Finch (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
very good sound but perhaps Oasis not a great test of surround sound? A truly great album if you don't already own it in another format!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album i've ever heard, just brilliant!, 21 Jan 2004
If there is 1 album you absolutely must own it is this one. All 10 tracks are stunning (track 6 and 11 are samples from The Swamp Song, found on The Masterplan). No one can mock this album, as every single track on here could have been a single. How many albums can live up to that? Not many! Any artist would have given their right hand to have written any one of these songs. Liam's voice is breathtaking, as is Noel's on the famous Don't Look Back In Anger.
Hello - A great intro to the album, loud and brilliant lyrics
and you will be singing the chorus over and over.
Roll With It - Very catchy lyrics and great music. A bit repetetive in places but the tune is so good you don't care.
Wonderwall - This is the first of three tracks which stand out on this album. Very meaningful lyrics and great acoustic guitar and drums. You will love this song it is quite simply stunning.
Don't Look Back In Anger - Another stand out track. Noel sings this one and his effort shines through. This song will give you shivers down your spine, it is very uplifting and superb from start to finish.
Hey Now - Not one of the best songs, but still great non the less. Drags on a bit but the lyrics are good.
Some Might Say - Now this is Rock'n'Roll! Brilliant lyrics combined with stunnig guitar riffs, their first Number 1 single.
Cast no Shadow - A sad slow song to listen to when you're depressed it will cheer you up. Liam's voice is superb on this song.
She's Electric - More pop than Rock'nRoll but extremely catchy. This is the type of song you would know all the words to when you were a kid and would sing over and over again!
Morning Glory - The title track and the anthem of the album. Brilliant intro and it just gets better from there. Powerful lyrics, this song is loud!
Champagen Supernova - The last track and one of the standout tracks aswell. Over 7 minutes long but it only feels like 3! It has a very relaxing verse before building up to a heavy chorus and the lyrics are just superb. Why didn't they release this as a single?!
I've only given this 5 stars because i can't give it 500 stars. The combination of great lyrics combined with the sheer brilliance of the music make this is the best album i have ever heard, and ever will hear in my entire life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Oasis Album can match this One!, 26 Mar 2006
By A Customer
A True classic album that everyone must own, true rich Rock 'n' Roll album with great tracks. No track one this album bad, not even the slightest, Noel Gallagher must of worked his ass off to get it to be so perfect, although the lyrics don't make much sense its the music that counts, and none of tracks are bad. However, the album could of benefitted with a few more tracks.
I'll eat my hat if Oasis can create another album better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's the story? Oasis rock!!, 21 Dec 2004
By 
What is there to say about (What's The Story) Morning Glory? which hasn't already been said? I first heard this album back in '95 when it was released, and to this day I have been crazy about it. Simply put, I have loved What's The Story since I was 8 years old. Everyone knows by now this is Oasis' best album, their follow-up to the amazing Definitely Maybe. There's no doubt about it - this is the best album of the 90s, and remains one of the greatest pieces of work I have ever heard of all time.
1. Hello - "It's good to be back!" yells Noel in the background. An amazing starter, begins with the Wonderwall riff then breaks out into heavy guitar. Ace. 10/10
2. Roll With It - This song was HUGE - people were singing it everywhere! Catchy rhythm, brilliant vocals by Liam and fantastic guitar play from Noel. 10/10
3. Wonderwall - Who hasn't heard of Wonderwall? Simply put, this is Oasis' best song ever. The lyrics are outstanding; Liam's singing is amazing; and Noel is just pure genius. I have never tired of listening to this song. It is simply a classic. 10/10
4. Don't Look Back In Anger - Everyone knows the chorus - "And soooooo, Sally can wait..." A VERY close second to Wonderwall, this time it's Noel on the vocals. Incredible. 10/10
5. Hey Now! - HUGELY UNDERRATED. I can't see what people miss in Hey Now - from that awesome riff to Liam's closing cry of "Feel no shame", this song rocks. One of my all-time favourites. 10/10
6. A quick 44-second blast of heavy guitars and drums. 9/10
7. Some Might Say - You've just gotta love that riff, it is so cool! Liam's singing and Noel's work on the guitar is amazing in this song. A smash hit in the UK 10 years ago, and I still can't get enough of it. 10/10
8. Cast No Shadow - With Cast No Shadow the Gallaghers slow down the pace to a relaxing melody, "As they took his soul they stole his pride". A brilliant line. Any Oasis fan will love this to death. 9.5/10
9. She's Electric - "She's in a family full of eccentrics" Boy oh boy, this song is the best! It's full of the smartest, most humorous lines ever ("She's got one in the oven, but it's nothing to do with me" - you've just gotta love that line!). Massively popular, everyone loved this song as a kid. 10/10
10. Morning Glory - The title track makes a mighty appearance here with the craziest lyrics you'll ever hear - "All your dreams are made...when you're chained to a mirror on a razorblade.." (never quite understood how that worked). Brilliant rhythm, Liam and Noel do Oasis proud here. 9.5/10
11. Another short blast of guitars, but this time with a strange beach/waves like-sound in the background. 9/10
12. Champagne Supernova - Every Oasis fan loves this song - it is just the perfect end to an album so huge. Beautiful melody, while at the same time hard-hitting rock - "Someday you will find me, caught beneath the landslide..." This line will stick in your mind for ages! An excellent track. 10/10
Don't listen to anyone who tells you this album is over-rated - listen to it for yourself and find out why What's The Story is such a huge album. It just blows away all music you'll hear today. (What's The Story) Morning Glory? is the greatest album of the 90s - anyone to say otherwise is wrong, I can tell you!!
Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's The Story?, 25 Mar 2006
This is without a shadow of a doubt the best album I own, or have ever heard, and that's a lot. Every song on here could have been a single. This phrase is branded about a lot, but it's true for the album that defines the 90's.
1) Hello - Fantastic opener, gets you set for the classics to follow. 8/10
2) Roll With It - Classic rock 'n' roll song, everyone knows it, 'nuff said. 9/10
3) Wonderwall - Best song on the album, all time classic, perfect. 10/10
4) Don't Look Back In Anger - Just stick this song on full volume on a building site and see the results. 10/10
5) Hey Now! - Weakest song on the album, but it's very catchy. 8/10
6) Track 6 - Sample of The Swamp Song from The Masterplan album. Bit pointless, feels like an interlude for the second half.
7) Some Might Say - The band's first No 1 single, and rightly so. An absolute gem. 10/10
8) Cast No Shadow - Written with Richard Ashcroft in mind, a very good song, catchy. 8/10
9) She's Electric - Very, very catchy, everyone knows it. 9/10
10) Morning Glory - Released as a single in Australia, with good reason, excellent song. 10/10
11) Track 11 - Another Swamp Song sample, building up to another all time classic.
12) Champagne Supernova - The best song never to be released as a single. Perfection. Wonderwall's twin. 7mins of pleasure. The best possible finish to the best possible album. 10/10
That's your lot. Oasis' best album to date. The best album of the 90's, and one of the best ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

(What's The Story) Morning Glory? [Deluxe Edition]
Click for more info
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews