Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Sept. 2014
By 
Brian Hamilton "brianhamilton14" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psycho-Pass Complete Series Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Another reviewer hit the nail on the head when he said that this is a perfect hard sci-fi series with strong echoes of Philip K Dick.

Set in a near future metropolis where decisions on most facets of life are made by a super computer called Sybil (yeah, I know) this anime deals with the morale wranglings of the people who have to deal with the everyday decisions of the computer.

Its a premise that is well backed up by decent characters, the normal cops are backed up by enforcers who have been deemed 'latent criminals' and need looked after by the normal officers. This leads to some pretty interesting dilemmas and moral wrestling that is handled deftly by the writers of the series.

I was really drawn into this series by the lack of magic and telepathy. The hard element is neatly backed by the near god like powers of the computer.

The animation is very good and the weapon and designs of the computers and vehicles has that typical Japanese flair and edge which, lets be honest, just looks cool.

But, this is an anime with a difference, it tackles very weighty themes without resorting to cheap storylines or cop outs.

A very intriguing series that has hit the spot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic suspense thriller, 19 Sept. 2014
By 
This is the best anime of the year's releases in the UK. It has a taut and thrilling storyline driven along by plot twists that spring surprises all the time, a horrific crime theme and a cast of brilliantly conceived central characters. For atmosphere, suspense, graphics, psychological penetration it is destined to be one of those classics that end up changing hands at inflated prices. I am a Ghost in the Shell fan from way back but Psycho-Pass has one advantage over Ghost in the Shell, economy of dialogue. There is not a word wasted from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pycho Blast!!, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am only 6 stories into this series, but what can i say.. this was a welcomed surprise, which i only came across whilst searching for the latest from the 'Ghost in the shell' franchise.

"Welcome to a world where just thinking about a crime is enough to make you guilty.
Bad intentions can no longer be hidden, and the police know exactly which tainted
minds are about to cross over to the wrong side of the law. "

My one reservation would be the characterization of the rookie female character, which follows the wide eyed bubble gum image typically aimed at a whole different Anime audience. That said the voice of the character had an adult edge and the other female characters are better realized, as too were the male characters.. This is Anime in the spirit of 'Shell' with elements of 'Death Note' there too. eg its subtext on evil retribution and judgment .

This is the future as only Anime seem capable of depicting it, a future where technology, gadgets, bureaucracies, profiles and other autocratic systems are projected as far as they can be imagined, all underpined with elements of philosophy. Serious stuff thoughtfully explored with questions on how such a world might develop. Whilst in some ways it serves to erald the prospects of this technology, it doesn't just look at the best intentions for that technology, but instead looks with a mind to how the potential in that technology might be exploited, or worst, currupted.

This is the future now, a marrage of Scifi and Scifact eg our current 'precog' systems like CRUSH - Criminal Reduction Utilizing Statistical History, which i am sure Japan must now have a version of. This could also be seen as the domestic side of that world created in 'Ghost in the shell'. On its more speculative side, this anime has weapons which are connected directly to this system of judgment, systems where the potential for criminal behavior, is taken as a fact and those individuals are punished with no need for further questions or judgment.

As mentioned by another reviewer, its Philip K Dick, his 'Minority Report' (with its own point on the internal subversion of that precog system), all served with a added twist of imagineering. A moot commentary.

As with anything to do with Crime, or Law and Order, it can be dark in places and for that reason it has a deserved 15 certificate. This is no 'cartoon', and so one should be forewarned, like a lot of Manga it is Not for the squeamish.

Once again Hats off to the master minds behind this project. As i say it is thoughtfully explored with the author's 'reasons for' clearly part of the subtext, discourse where there can be no discussion. All this whilst trying to push the other buttons for mass Anime appeal. I can't wait for season 2. With all the talk of bringing 'Ghost in the Shell to the big screen, this anime could well be the springboard for the next Matrix ;)

Tag line:

"Welcome to the future. How Guilty are you?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb hard SF anime, 3 Aug. 2014
By 
J. S. Bower "Jon Bower" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psycho-Pass Complete Series Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
In a word, this is terrific from beginning to end. Amidst all the rampant publicity for the overhyped (and ultimately disappointing) 'Attack on Titan', this one is the real deal.

If you want and appreciate hard SF, this is for you.

Yes, its ambience and themes owe much to classic cyberpunk and Philip K Dick's novels - it even knowingly, with a wink, cites William Gibson's 'Neuromancer' and Dick's 'Do androids dream of electric sheep?' at one point. But it puts all these classic ideas in a blender and manages to come out with something new, twisty and exciting. Think of it as a natural successor and counterpart to the classic 'Ghost in the Shell' and you won't be too far out...

The animation is fluid and engaging, with mercifully restrained use of CGI. The characters are well fleshed out and interesting. The technological projection is well thought-out and wholly credible. And the genuine moral and ethical themes brought out in the mix are treated both seriously and fully. OK, there is some violence and gore; but this is not one for the kiddies anyway!

A fully realised future - without aliens, giant robots and constant explosions is refreshing enough in itself, but this anime one goes further and - like the best SF - manages to comment on the present and ask serious questions about law, order and morality.

In short, this is one of the finest animes I have seen in many years. It's just begging for a second series. Will freedom or order triumph in the end?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality if rather dark sci-fi, 8 Sept. 2014
By 
D. P. Flanagan "ithuriel" (Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psycho-Pass Complete Series Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A visually stunning sci-fi anime with quite a dark story line about a young woman who joins a crime prevention unit set in a future utopia but is this really such a perfect world?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The dark side of anime works a treat!, 1 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My favourite anime series to date. Looking forward to season 2. Gritty, intelligent, touching, shocking! Even the soundtrack works for me! Excellent stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A series worth watching!!, 1 Sept. 2014
This is an amazing series that deserves a lot of attention. If you love the works of Philip K. Dick then this is definitely a series for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't believe I've never heard of this until now, 2 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psycho-Pass Complete Series Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The best anime I've seen in a long time, fans of ghost in the shell or cyberpunk in General, this is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This series is one of the best animes I ever saw, 9 Feb. 2015
By 
N. Koizar - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series is one of the best animes I ever saw. You sit there, episode after episode and it just gets better and better. Exciting plot which gets even more thrilling the further you watch... such great characters and emotions and developments you can see! If there is an animeseries out there, which I put on my "can't wait how it goes on" list... it's this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing anime. Looking forward to catch up on PP2, 12 Nov. 2014
By 
I. Stocchetti (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amazing anime. Looking forward to catch up on PP2. I start this series off thinking 'wow this is good, great concept' then periodically every few episodes the story somehow manages to take things up a notch. Each time I was surprised thinking 'what no way! I didn't think it could get better'. But it did! Worth watching definitely. Buying to re-watch :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Psycho-Pass Complete Series Collection [Blu-ray]
Psycho-Pass Complete Series Collection [Blu-ray] by Naoyoshi Shiotani (Blu-ray - 2014)
£44.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews