Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Sep 2014
By 
Brian Hamilton "brianhamilton14" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psycho-Pass Complete Series Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Another reviewer hit the nail on the head when he said that this is a perfect hard sci-fi series with strong echoes of Philip K Dick.

Set in a near future metropolis where decisions on most facets of life are made by a super computer called Sybil (yeah, I know) this anime deals with the morale wranglings of the people who have to deal with the everyday decisions of the computer.

Its a premise that is well backed up by decent characters, the normal cops are backed up by enforcers who have been deemed 'latent criminals' and need looked after by the normal officers. This leads to some pretty interesting dilemmas and moral wrestling that is handled deftly by the writers of the series.

I was really drawn into this series by the lack of magic and telepathy. The hard element is neatly backed by the near god like powers of the computer.

The animation is very good and the weapon and designs of the computers and vehicles has that typical Japanese flair and edge which, lets be honest, just looks cool.

But, this is an anime with a difference, it tackles very weighty themes without resorting to cheap storylines or cop outs.

A very intriguing series that has hit the spot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic suspense thriller, 19 Sep 2014
By 
This is the best anime of the year's releases in the UK. It has a taut and thrilling storyline driven along by plot twists that spring surprises all the time, a horrific crime theme and a cast of brilliantly conceived central characters. For atmosphere, suspense, graphics, psychological penetration it is destined to be one of those classics that end up changing hands at inflated prices. I am a Ghost in the Shell fan from way back but Psycho-Pass has one advantage over Ghost in the Shell, economy of dialogue. There is not a word wasted from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb hard SF anime, 3 Aug 2014
By 
J. S. Bower "Jon Bower" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psycho-Pass Complete Series Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
In a word, this is terrific from beginning to end. Amidst all the rampant publicity for the overhyped (and ultimately disappointing) 'Attack on Titan', this one is the real deal.

If you want and appreciate hard SF, this is for you.

Yes, its ambience and themes owe much to classic cyberpunk and Philip K Dick's novels - it even knowingly, with a wink, cites William Gibson's 'Neuromancer' and Dick's 'Do androids dream of electric sheep?' at one point. But it puts all these classic ideas in a blender and manages to come out with something new, twisty and exciting. Think of it as a natural successor and counterpart to the classic 'Ghost in the Shell' and you won't be too far out...

The animation is fluid and engaging, with mercifully restrained use of CGI. The characters are well fleshed out and interesting. The technological projection is well thought-out and wholly credible. And the genuine moral and ethical themes brought out in the mix are treated both seriously and fully. OK, there is some violence and gore; but this is not one for the kiddies anyway!

A fully realised future - without aliens, giant robots and constant explosions is refreshing enough in itself, but this anime one goes further and - like the best SF - manages to comment on the present and ask serious questions about law, order and morality.

In short, this is one of the finest animes I have seen in many years. It's just begging for a second series. Will freedom or order triumph in the end?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality if rather dark sci-fi, 8 Sep 2014
By 
D. P. Flanagan "ithuriel" (Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psycho-Pass Complete Series Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A visually stunning sci-fi anime with quite a dark story line about a young woman who joins a crime prevention unit set in a future utopia but is this really such a perfect world?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... set in the future and it is actually a super computer that decides your fate by evaluating you hue ..., 11 Sep 2014
1st off this is the complete series one you need to blow up the pic to see this secondly it has guns that can reed your mind or hue as they call it and if its unhealthy a taking gun decides your fate that right people i said the gun take to the handle and it evaluates your hue and decides your fate so if you have ever watch an anime with gun in and wonder what is miss then then answer is talking guns lol i should also mention that this is set in the future and it is actually a super computer that decides your fate by evaluating you hue level psycho pass be careful what you think !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The dark side of anime works a treat!, 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My favourite anime series to date. Looking forward to season 2. Gritty, intelligent, touching, shocking! Even the soundtrack works for me! Excellent stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A series worth watching!!, 1 Sep 2014
This is an amazing series that deserves a lot of attention. If you love the works of Philip K. Dick then this is definitely a series for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easily one of my fav animes ever .. Masterpiece, 14 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psycho-Pass Complete Series Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was aware of this series for a while and although I wanted to watch it I put off doing so ... Why I have no idea because after watching only the first half of the series it became one of my favs and iv seen alot of anime and I'm fussy to sum up quick the story is cleaver but never over complicated so its hard to follow the characters as enjoyable and I found myself watching episode after episode until I watched them all its that addictive .. Masterpiece in my mind !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't believe I've never heard of this until now, 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psycho-Pass Complete Series Collection [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The best anime I've seen in a long time, fans of ghost in the shell or cyberpunk in General, this is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing anime. Looking forward to catch up on PP2, 12 Nov 2014
By 
I. Stocchetti (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amazing anime. Looking forward to catch up on PP2. I start this series off thinking 'wow this is good, great concept' then periodically every few episodes the story somehow manages to take things up a notch. Each time I was surprised thinking 'what no way! I didn't think it could get better'. But it did! Worth watching definitely. Buying to re-watch :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Psycho-Pass Complete Series Collection [Blu-ray]
Psycho-Pass Complete Series Collection [Blu-ray] by Naoyoshi Shiotani (Blu-ray - 2014)
£47.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews