Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Outsorcerer's Apprentice
This is another great Tom Holt book; his early books were great, but for a while there they seemed to go a bit flat. His latest three books - Doughnut, When It's a Jar, and this one are all great and he is clearly back on top form.

It makes sense to read Doughnut and When It's a Jar before reading this one, primarily because this one against touches on...
Published 10 months ago by Keen Reader

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars competently written and sometimes funny but overall a thin idea
Just doesn't really work tongue either too far in cheek or not far enough in, felt it was produced by rote rather then any real idea behind it. competently written and sometimes funny but overall a thin idea, that would probably have suited as a novella or longish short story rather than a full blown novel. None of the originality of earlier works
Published 11 months ago by James Trimble


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Outsorcerer's Apprentice, 17 Aug. 2014
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This is another great Tom Holt book; his early books were great, but for a while there they seemed to go a bit flat. His latest three books - Doughnut, When It's a Jar, and this one are all great and he is clearly back on top form.

It makes sense to read Doughnut and When It's a Jar before reading this one, primarily because this one against touches on multiverse theories, and there's an ongoing theme again with the doughnuts (you'll know what I mean if you have already read the previous two books). I think you could read this one as a standalone, but I'm sure you'd understand the context of it a lot better if you read the previous two first.

There are dragons, knights, woodcutters rescuing damsels from ravenous wolves dressed in the clothing of old ladies, wizards, goblins, dwarves and elves aplenty in this book. It takes a few chapters before you can see where the story might be going, but it's an enjoyable journey all the way through. There are plenty of laughs, and plenty of completely odd characters to enjoy the story with - I particularly had a soft spot for the goblin king Mordak, and you will find a couple of other characters from the previous two books who turn up again as well. Always good for a laugh, this book is definitely a great Tom Holt. Thoroughly enjoyable, and a very funny ending. It's good to see him on a roll again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, 12 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite some of other reviews, I found this much easier to follow than its precursors in the 'doughnut' series. Funny, imaginative, readable. Sure, it's not high literature, but it passes a few hours pleasurably, and it was the most enjoyable Tom Holt book I've read since 'Blonde Bombshell' - and, unlike some Holt fantasy novels, the ending wasn't disappointing either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tom Holt continues his wandering through the superbly surreal surroundings of his fantasy worlds. This one appeals to me more than the last couple he has written and I was gripped by the narrative and engaged in the story more. I was expecting something better (if you will pardon the pun), but he has got back on track. To fully understand the references and plot line, it helps if you have read "Doughnut" - but it isn't essential (and if you are a Tom Holt fan you will have read it already anyway).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars competently written and sometimes funny but overall a thin idea, 28 July 2014
By 
James Trimble (Donegal, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just doesn't really work tongue either too far in cheek or not far enough in, felt it was produced by rote rather then any real idea behind it. competently written and sometimes funny but overall a thin idea, that would probably have suited as a novella or longish short story rather than a full blown novel. None of the originality of earlier works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good but do Doughnut first, 24 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are reading this then you are interested in Tom Holt books and will probably know the story line. Won't spoil that for you but you need to read / listen to Doughnut first.
All I will say is that Ray Sawyer, the narrator, does have a range of different voices for the characters and is quite good, but if you listen to the Terry Pratchet talking books, he's nowhere near as good as Nigel Planer who is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Holt - Great fun as always!, 11 Aug. 2014
By 
Thomas Briggs (Malmesbury, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great fun as always! A follow up from Doughnut - totally different but just as good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 15 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I haven't read a Holt book in a while, and I was pleasantly surprised by this. It's laugh-out-loud funny in parts, and very engaging. I enjoyed it a lot. I usually read Pritchett when I'm in the mood for comic fantasy, but I think I'll be switching to Tom Holt in future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More Holt humour, 15 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kept me reading but nothing new which can be a plus and a minus. You know what you are getting and the threads from previous books work but at the same time I felt I'd been here before - maybe I've read too many of his books, or looked through too many toroids :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very funny the usual flight of fantasy that Tom Holt writes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Where is Theo Bernstein?, 13 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was reading this on the day that the Large Hadron Collider was switched back on. I lost a very large amount of time looking for the name Theo Bernstein in the papers. This book is exceptional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews