Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jackson Park Express continues Al's proud tradition of gross out love songs like "Do I Creep You Out
Listened to this album alone and still managed to laugher out loud dozens of times. Stand out tracks for me are "Foil", "Tacky" and most of all "Word Crimes". Jackson Park Express continues Al's proud tradition of gross out love songs like "Do I Creep You Out?" All in all, an awesome album that will put a smile on anyone's face.
Published 7 months ago by A. Clifford

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
a little bit disappointing from Weird Al
Published 5 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jackson Park Express continues Al's proud tradition of gross out love songs like "Do I Creep You Out, 15 July 2014
By 
A. Clifford "Spectre" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mandatory Fun (Audio CD)
Listened to this album alone and still managed to laugher out loud dozens of times. Stand out tracks for me are "Foil", "Tacky" and most of all "Word Crimes". Jackson Park Express continues Al's proud tradition of gross out love songs like "Do I Creep You Out?" All in all, an awesome album that will put a smile on anyone's face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars like a certain brand of woodstain, 19 July 2014
By 
A. Ide "dumbass extraordinaire" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandatory Fun [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
Weird Al gives us another dose of polka-inspired, accordion-fuelled parodies of some of the biggest hits of the past couple of years, along with a few self-penned takes on certain artists and styles of music. The lyrical content is as high-brow as fans have come to expect(so, accessible is what I'm getting at), and the whole thing is underpinned by the accustomed musicianship and production values.
So, like a certain brand of woodstain, it does exactly what it says on the tin. Or it would do if it was in a tin. And it's understood that anything with "Weird Al" Yankovic on will be... well Weird Al.
If you're a fan, I doubt you've read this far, and have already ordered. If not, why not give it a whirl? What, you have to choose between buying the album and getting your normal brand champagne, or spending slightly less on an excellent cava? #firstworldproblems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aluminium foil and sandals with socks, 20 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Mandatory Fun (Audio CD)
Jesus H. Christ! This completely crazy Weird Al has taken the piss out of the music business for years with his parodies – more or less successful – and now he puts out another album out of the blue and that piece shoots straight to No. 1 of the US Billboard charts. Did he do anything different this time? Actually no, it’s simply Weird Al. As always, nothing is sacred to him, musically he stays close to the originals (which means on a high level) and as for the lyrics, he goes down to the bottom of irrelevance: for example, he does a whole song on aluminium foil, focusses on the pros and cons of DIY or sings about sandals with socks.

After all, it IS a little bit different this time because he does not remain completely trivial but deals some clever blows, especially to the web- and mobile generation. “Word Crimes” (based on “Blurred Lines”) is a prime example. And the Polka Mix, recycling popular chartbreakers by the dozen, is a true highlight. With this album one HAS to have fun, which is actually already stated in the album title! Of course it isn’t something for everybody, but if you are not a perfect party pooper, you should find some funny bits at least, and fans will love it anyway.

If you want to have the full fun though, you should enjoy the completely crazy videoclips as well. You will find them in the internet…come on, you now where?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He has done it again, 28 July 2014
By 
Dl miller "visionary" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandatory Fun [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
Yet another brilliant parody album and some rather cleverly written original material and even though Mr Yankovic's very funny and at times thought provoking Mandatory Fun he has great vocal range and i just love the musical arrangements on this album. And for all you Polka fans out there you will not be left disappointed ! Excellent production as always, he's music repertoire puts many of his compadres in the shade!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Solid new album, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandatory Fun (Audio CD)
I've been a die hard all fan since "running with scissors" which was a cracking album. I think mandatory fun is another great comedy album. Its unfortunate that this appears to be the last full albums worth that all will be distributing (based on various interviews that suggest he will only be realeasing singles and ep's from now on). This may mean more timely releases but I will miss these feature length releases.

I must confess having avoided radio and TV for a while, I'm not so familiar with the parodies but the homages are great fun. The only criticisms I can offer is that some of the album does feel a little formulaic and reminiscent of jokes from "poodle hat" and "straight out of Lynwood". Equally the album art and title bear no relevance to any of the tracks. Having said that I'm yet to find an album concept by Al that ever has. Criticism aside that tracks are witty and very well produced, tighter and more densely packed than I have seen Al do before. I look forward to see what the future holds for this great musician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album from the brilliant mind of Weird Al!, 26 July 2014
By 
G. Kelly "Awesomeist" (Bolton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandatory Fun [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
Bought this expecting greatness, and got exactly what I wanted! The master of parodies strikes again with a brilliant set of tracks. It's unfortunate that he will no longer be making albums, but I'm looking forward to any singles he makes in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is really funny stuff., 11 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandatory Fun [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
Hilarious and clever! Even though i do my utmost to avoid the sort of "music" that he is good-naturedly parodying (he's a much more tolerant person than me), this is really funny stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As ever, music parody at its best!!, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandatory Fun [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
Another outstanding album from the spoof/parody wizard that is Weird Al. If you're a fan, buy it. This is now the only version of blurred lines I can listen to!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Parody, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandatory Fun [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
Al has done it again Trashy and Word crimes are the stand out tracks, allong with a classic Polka that is one of the best I can remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Happy" will never quite be the same..., 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mandatory Fun (Audio CD)
Pharrell Williams' Happy will never be the same again... Another classic parody/polka album. Quick delivery in time for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mandatory Fun [+digital booklet]
Mandatory Fun [+digital booklet] by "Weird Al" Yankovic
Buy MP3 Album£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews