Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flexible and fun notebook-cum-tablet
Many years ago when my three-year-old daughter was learning to use a computer she picked up the mouse and put it on the screen where she wanted the pointer to go. I wish that instead of teaching her to use a mouse mat I had taken the hint and invented the touch screen.

In any case, the technological mainstream has now caught up with my daughter's intuition, and...
Published 3 months ago by Peter

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great hybrid notebook by HP but the screen could be better
This review is for a HP Pavilion x360 11-n001na 11.6-inch
The Intel Celeron Processor is not a full i3 processor but a derivative of an i3. It is certainly fast enough for this model and the hard drive is a normal mechanical drive and obviously not a SSD (solid state drive) at the price this is retailing it.
It is designed to work both as a notebook and a...
Published 3 months ago by Tellboy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great hybrid notebook by HP but the screen could be better, 22 Aug 2014
By 
Tellboy (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: HP Pavilion x360 11-n001na 11.6-inch Convertible Notebook PC - (Intel Celeron 2.41GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB storage, Wi-Fi, Windows 8.1) (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This review is for a HP Pavilion x360 11-n001na 11.6-inch
The Intel Celeron Processor is not a full i3 processor but a derivative of an i3. It is certainly fast enough for this model and the hard drive is a normal mechanical drive and obviously not a SSD (solid state drive) at the price this is retailing it.
It is designed to work both as a notebook and a tablet. As its name suggests it turns through 360°: the screen folds over and sits flush to the back panel in order to facilitate tablet use. This places the keyboard on the bottom face but the keys are deactivated and an on screen keyboard will appear when necessary, Some applications do not give theon screen keyboard automatically and you may need to click on the keyboard icon on the taskbar.
The 11.6in display at 1336x768 display didn't look particularly good being washed out until I increased the colour saturation and the brightness. If you are used to a retina screen it is only really OK on a 720p video.
This will warn that the battery life is reduced and it was only just over 3 hours on the default setting.
I do have an issue with the screen which has to be at a fairly precise angle as a notebook with any variation causing the screen to not display correctly being either too light or too dark. When I compare this to the angle you can view both an iPad or a Nexus 7 tablet it got to be annoying having to re-position it. It also has a fairly mirror like finish so difficult to view with your back to a window or outside
I struggled for a while with the touchpad on left and right hand mouse clicks until I realised that the bottom corners do actually depress rather than be tapped.
I thought the scrabble type keyboard was good and at this price not illuminated with fairly dark lettering . Oddly the Function keys seem to work exactly opposite to most laptops in that you press them directly to control screen brightness, volume, play etc but need to press FN to access the F1, F2 etc..keys.
I do like the bright red plastic finish on this model and the brushed aluminium finish. The hinge mechanism offset makes it very easy to flip it from tablet to tent to notebook.
I initially thought the touchscreen was not very consistent compared to an iPad but after some use realized that this lack of response was not the hardware but the Windows 8 Metro interface causing a delay between applications.
The BeatsAudio speakers did not seem particularly good quality or adequate volume to me but surely they would not promote this a worthwhile feature so I conclude it is my hearing that is faulty. Using headphones is certainly preferable.
In the notebook position if you try to use the touchscreen you will find it too wobbly on the hinge to be effective
I notice it comes with some trial software prompting you to try Office 365 and the online manual.
Mcafee Livesafe is installed and by default is managing the Windows firewall and antivirus .
As even Microsoft is recommending third party software over its own Security Essentials which is coming tenth in recent tests this was welcome.
Unfortunately this will prompt you for payment after 28 days or become disabled and I will then put on Avast Free which is about fourth in the tables.
Overall I really like it and at the price would be a worthwhile purchase

Update 26th August 2014. Battery was at 15% so connected the mains adaptor/charger. I then noticed an electrical burning smell and the 5amp fuse had blown on the 19.5volt charger which had got fairly hot. Registered the product with HP and contacted HP Support who were unable to replace the charger at the moment due to lack of stock but assured me the notebook itself was not faulty. I am not sure how they can know that for sure at this early stage until I plug in another charger. I would not feel very confident leaving it unattended on charge. This experience has reduced my review from 5 to 3 stars until I am sure the quality of it is OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flexible and fun notebook-cum-tablet, 21 Aug 2014
By 
Peter (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: HP Pavilion x360 11-n001na 11.6-inch Convertible Notebook PC - (Intel Celeron 2.41GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB storage, Wi-Fi, Windows 8.1) (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Many years ago when my three-year-old daughter was learning to use a computer she picked up the mouse and put it on the screen where she wanted the pointer to go. I wish that instead of teaching her to use a mouse mat I had taken the hint and invented the touch screen.

In any case, the technological mainstream has now caught up with my daughter's intuition, and touch-screens will soon be universal. Windows 8 is designed to work best with a touchscreen, using either a conventional laptop or a tablet. In many ways that makes this device the perfect Windows 8 platform, as it can work as a laptop or a tablet depending on your inclination and needs. The keyboard folds back to make a stand for the screen, or further back to make a tent-like (inverted-V) support, or further back again to lie flat against the back of the screen. Having a keyboard behind the tablet screen makes it bulky, of course, but buying two separate devices (a laptop and a Windows tablet) would cost an awful lot more. Also, its nice when you're reading your emails using the tablet configuration to be able to fold the device over and have a full laptop keyboard when you want to write a reply.

This little device has a matt red outer shell that feels robust, and doesn't mark easily. Inside, the keyboard is very nearly full-size (there's no numeric keypad) and there's a large trackpad. The touch-sensitive screen is glossy, so you need to watch out for refections. There's a double-hinge at the back, which is what allows the screen to be folded right over. The ports are all on the sides, and there are quite a lot for such a small device, comprising 3 x USB ports, for an external monitor, 100Mbps wired ethernet, an SD memory card port, a 3.5mm headphone jack with a volume rocker switch, and a small and rather fiddly power button. There's also a Kensington lock point, the power socket and a large vent for the fan, which only comes on if you're doing a lot of work and is fairly quiet. The power and HDD activity lights are on the right edge.

The processor is a Celeron N2830 "system on a chip" with two cores. There's 4GB of DDR3 RAM and a conventional 500GB HDD (mine has a Seagate ST500LT012, but the drive used may vary). The relatively light processing power of the 2014-released processor means that it can struggle a bit if its trying to do two things at once. All of these devices have low power consumption, which is appropriate for a portable device. The WiFi is 2.4GHz only.

The screen resolution is 1366 x 768, which is a tiny bit more pixels than a "720" HD television screen and half the number of pixels on a 1920 x 1080 monitor or "Full HD" television screen. I was a bit disappointed reading this until I realised that my other laptop has exactly the same resolution, and I hadn't noticed. Given the fairly small screen size, you don't need so many pixels to give a sharp image, and fewer pixels means longer battery life. There's a built-in webcam and microphone, so you can Skype without a headset.

Despite the "Beats Audio" branding, the sound is nothing special. Its a lot better than my Kindle Fire HD though. The speakers are positioned to provide good sound no matter what configuration the device is in.

The notebook, backflip and tent configurations all work well. The tablet configuration gives you quite a large heavy device to hold, so its best if you rest one edge on something. The keyboard becomes inactive when you fold the screen back, and the keys are recessed so you can lay the device flat, but the keyboard sticks out a bit behind the screen in tablet mode (they line up perfectly when you close the lid in laptop mode). I found tablet mode very good indeed for watching YouTube videos in bed, and for reading emails and Kindle books. You can use it landscape or portrait: the screen automatically reorientates.

Battery life is OK but nothing special. You can rely on getting four hours of use between charges, possibly up to five hours if you're not doing anything too demanding. Thankfully the charging time is quite short.

The installed Windows 8.1 on my device was not even close to being up-to-date. There were a load of Windows 8.1 patches, then the "Windows 8.1 Update" minor release, which puts back the Start button and makes some other usability improvements, and then there were another set of updates after that. I reckon there was about 1.5 GB of downloads and two hours of updating to get all the latest patches installed. And I have BT Infinity - it would take longer over ADSL.

There's not too much bundled software, which in my eyes is good, because I'd prefer to decide what software to install. There's a like to Microsoft Office, but you need to buy it if you want to use it. An Office 365 subscription is looking increasingly attractive - I may well switch over to it at some point. And there's McAfee anti-virus software - I have no idea why this is needed on a Windows 8.1 machine, which already has antivirua and firewall software built in. The McAfee license is for 30 days, after which you may choose, like me, to uninstall it.

I have always liked Windows 8. With a touchscreen device, its even better. It does take a little while to get used to how the "gestures" work, but once you know it gets very easy to use indeed. Its actually quite fun, and an awful lot more intuitive than trying to move the mouse pointer to the button you want to click.

One slight annoyance with this notebook is that after resuming from sleep I find that the Wi-Fi takes a few seconds to reconnect to the router. It can take up to 30 seconds before I'm able to browse webpages after waking the notebook up.

This is a budget device, offering loads of flexibility and the full Windows 8 experience. Its great for watching films, writing essays (once you've installed suitable software), chatting to friends on Skype, catching up with news and social updates. I suspect that its flexibility means that it will replace my (rather more expensive) laptop when I'm travelling.

Note: If you want to create a recovery disk (as you should, in case your system needs to be reinstalled), you need a 32 GB USB stick (buy the cheapest you can find). You can then run the "HP Recovery Manager" and click the "Recovery Media Creation" button, and follow instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Error in Header Description, 19 Aug 2014
By 
T. Thompson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HP Pavilion x360 11-n001na 11.6-inch Convertible Notebook PC - (Intel Celeron 2.41GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB storage, Wi-Fi, Windows 8.1) (Personal Computers)
As of 19th August 2014 the Header Description says SSD 500GB but the details listed below say •Storage 500 GB 5400 rpm SATA which is a normal mechanical drive not a high speed SSD.
Item not reviewed as not yet purchased but I thought it was cheap for a large SSD drive and would like to bring it to your attention.
If this makes no sense when you read it then correction has been done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not a replacement for a laptop, 14 Nov 2014
This review is from: HP Pavilion x360 11-n001na 11.6-inch Convertible Notebook PC - (Intel Celeron 2.41GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB storage, Wi-Fi, Windows 8.1) (Personal Computers)
not a replacement for a laptop and its too heavy for a tablet. It is slow and underperforming even on web pages. I have struggled with open office with it just lagging behind while I am entering numbers. A few online games I play are impossible on this. Had it for 2 months now and its been the worst buy of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Big Mistake, 22 Sep 2014
This review is from: HP Pavilion x360 11-n001na 11.6-inch Convertible Notebook PC - (Intel Celeron 2.41GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB storage, Wi-Fi, Windows 8.1) (Personal Computers)
I searched long and hard for a replacement of my Acer 15.4" 10 year laptop, and found this HP pavillion £20 cheaper at John Lewis,
I will not list all the pros and cons of which are already reviewed only to warn everyone not to buy this model. After just 6 weeks of low usage it failed to recharge and would only work if connected to the mains. After many weeks a replacement battery was fitted( something you can't do yourself as it's a non removeable battery) but this to solve the problem. Now I am informed that it's a faulty on/off switch The worst feature of this laptop as it's very small and on the side. Not a possitve switch at all. No help from HP , and now waiting for a replacement switch to be fitted, who knows how long that will take. After 8 weeks still waiting ,so be warned don't buy this model!

I wish had bought another laptop from Amazon as their after-sales is terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews