Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect Hollywood makeup, effects or production values.
Great to see this getting a wider audience but walk in with the right expectations. This is a micro budget film that works because of the chemistry and dialogue between the two leads. They are two baseball players from the same team who have ended up together after a zombie apocalypse. They move from place to place looking for survivors and supplies. I really liked...
Published 3 months ago by S. Haddow

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A new slant, worth a go
The blurb that comes with The Battery suggests it's one of the best zombie films for years. It didn't quite reach that lofty claim for me but I still found enough to enjoy and it brings a welcome alternative slant to the genre.

The film picks up after some form of unexplained zombie apocalypse. Two former baseball players, Ben and Mickey, are fending for...
Published 1 month ago by Richard Morton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect Hollywood makeup, effects or production values., 14 July 2014
By 
S. Haddow - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Battery (Amazon Instant Video)
Great to see this getting a wider audience but walk in with the right expectations. This is a micro budget film that works because of the chemistry and dialogue between the two leads. They are two baseball players from the same team who have ended up together after a zombie apocalypse. They move from place to place looking for survivors and supplies. I really liked this - but I found it by accident and it was one of those movies I could easily have switched off in the first ten minutes, especially given the low budget feel. But once the two main characters established themselves I began to get interested and was able to overlook budget restraints - by the end genuinely impressed by how much they'd been able to make me care what happened. Had it been presented on amazon as a new release zombie movie, I might have been very disappointed and I'm sure there will be a good handful of one star 'don't waste your time' reviews. I have a feeling that Jeremy Gardner especially will go on to do something better soon. Great soundtrack too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Male, 21 July 2014
This review is from: The Battery [DVD] (DVD)
The Battery is similar to Fight Club in it's view of the male as a victim of modern society. Two baseball players are the survivors of a zombie apocalypse, journeying across the country (not unlike On The Road), trying to escape from and justify their fate. Ben accepts his situation and revels in the bloody violence of a world destroyed, ticking off how many zombies he's dispatched. Meanwhile, Mickey clings to the past, seeking his ex-girlfriend and hiding in the solace of the music on his headphones.
Through their dialogue we discover that they have escaped a house in New England where they were trapped for three months. The undead lay siege whilst they resorted to eating dog food and, finally, (man's best friend) the dog.
Ben is determined and bitter, whilst Mickey refuses to kill the undead, trying to recapture the emotion and sexuality he has lost. The men start to become distant to the point were Ben goes as far as unleashing one of the monsters into Mickey's room in an attempt to make him face the situation. Everything changes when Mickey intercepts a CB message from a woman called Annie and becomes obsessed with finding her. When they finally start to make contact things don't go quite as Mickey had hoped...
The film is well produced for a low-budget project and engages the viewer in a realistic interpretation of the end of the world. It's story is typically apocalyptic but captures something stronger as a tale of masculinity and the strengths and weaknesses of being a man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IGNORE NEGATIVE REVIEWS, 7 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Battery [DVD] (DVD)
DO NOT LISTEN TO THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS!!
This film is done beautifully and is one of my favourite low budget zombie films along side 'Colin'. The zombie genre is starting to get a little tiresom, it's always the same thing. This is a refreshing film about two friends trying to survive a zombie invasion, the relationship between the two of them, and the loneliness of being isolated. Yes, there aren't many zombie scenes in it but that's because it's focusing more on the survival. Such a brilliant film and not enough recognition! Highly recommend but just remember, it's not your typical 'zombie popping out of every corner' film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It would appear there's life in the undead yet., 24 July 2014
By 
This review is from: The Battery [DVD] (DVD)
So, I just came across this on amazon instant video. When the first line of the description reads, "Labeled one of the greatest zombie films in years" you kinda get your hopes up.
I had a look at the reviews here to get an idea of general opinion and consequently decided to give it a go, and boy, am I glad I did.
Dawn of the Dead still occupies top ranking for me, as far as zombie films go. And whilst that film has plenty of thrills and (gut) spills, it was the humanity explored that made it stand out above the gore fests that followed. The Battery takes that and goes further, having the guts to dwell more on humanity, with a ridiculously small amount of characters. Even the zombie horde in this film is barely enough to surround a car.
Yes, it's low budget, though the end result defies quite how low budget (check the credits to see just how few people were involved and the basic gear used). Yes, it's short on action or violence, or even zombies for that matter, but it's this that gives it the originality missing from many films these days, but certainly zombie films.
Does this even qualify as a zombie film? It eschews so many devices typical of many zombie films. Does tagging it as such do it an injustice? Who knows? Who cares? This film is just good. Bloody good. And yet, not really bloody.
If you want an original story, told with style by people who obviously care about telling a good story well, then this is for sure worth a look. If your a zombie film fan, looking for an original take on the genre, then this is a must.
"Labelled one of the greatest zombie films in years"? You know, I think it might be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an arthouse zombie flick!, 5 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Battery (Amazon Instant Video)
A wonderful film that has everything but a big budget, and thank goodness for that. Every ounce of this film, its script, acting, production, every shot, every piece of dialogue, sings with imagination. Beautiful and subtle, a zombie film for the intelligent grown-up if you can believe such a thing could exist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Buddy Road Movie... with Zombies, 2 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Battery [DVD] (DVD)
A very low-budget movie (only $6,000) filled with ingenious ideas and some really good laughs. If you hate low budget for whatever reason this might not be for you, but you'll be missing one of the best Zombie films in years.
Just don't expect high spectacle, and be aware that these are old-school style zombies that move slow and it's no gore-fest, then you should enjoy. Highly recommended.

If you want special features you'll have to buy either the German or the U.S Blu-ray. The U.S Blu will have a commentary and a 90 minute making-of when it's released in October.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Zombie Drama, 28 Sep 2014
By 
Rob Simpson "noframeof" (Middlesbrough, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Battery [DVD] (DVD)
Best original zombie film since Pontypool thanks to the film deviating from the tired and tedious path that this genre has lost itself in. Great character work and definition founded on the premise of this is what the zombie apocalypse would be like after the chaos has died down, a lot of common ground with the walking dead. Well... if the walking dead was more stripped back, darkly funny and its use of diegetic music is actually good rather than hyper maudlin.

A fantastically subdued film is the battery, while it has issues they don't really hurt the film. One is the budget which diminishes the true feeling that this is the end of the world - a little too pristine. Two is the cinematography. Often the camera refuses to show the other side of the fence and the use of lighting is a little over saturated. Could have done with being a few frames shorter too, that ending would have benefitted from ambiguity immensely. The exact same problem found in dawn of the dead 2004's over embellished credits sting.

Fantastic zombie drama and the best film from this over populated genre since the 1/2 punch of Pontypool and Juan of the Dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A new slant, worth a go, 2 Sep 2014
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Battery [DVD] (DVD)
The blurb that comes with The Battery suggests it's one of the best zombie films for years. It didn't quite reach that lofty claim for me but I still found enough to enjoy and it brings a welcome alternative slant to the genre.

The film picks up after some form of unexplained zombie apocalypse. Two former baseball players, Ben and Mickey, are fending for themselves in the aftermath, although they seem to be having as many problems with each other as they do with the shambling undead around them. It's a very low budget affair, there aren't actually that many zombies on show to be honest (not that that's necessarily a bad thing) and rather than a bloody, all action flick it's more of character study of these two fellas.

It's grim and gritty stuff for the most part with the odd dash of natural humour. Dare I say it, it feels like a more low key, realistic tale if such a thing is possible with this type of film. The acting and scripting are decent enough and it builds to a suitably claustrophobic final reel which may well divide opinion. Overall, certainly worth a watch I'd say, just dampen those expectations a little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Slow Burning Zombie Flick but worth the effort, 25 Oct 2014
By 
This review is from: The Battery [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this movie.In style it is far more Walking dead than the faster paced Dawn remake or 28 days movies.What we have is a very realistically played out scenario of what would happen if The world hit The Fan!!!!!!!.Both by its midway content and the ending You know that there is a Sequel just round the corner Screaming to be made,so here's hoping it does well.My only Gripe is that at times it grinds to a complete halt,with the camera dwelling far too long on scenes which are being played out to death.One part in particular (and I wont spoil the ending) is the bit where the car is surrounded and One of them goes out to find the keys.This scene goes on far too long and I found myself hitting the fast forward button.All in All though A brilliant entry into the Zombie Canon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars FISH, FISH, FISH, AND MORE FISH, 3 Oct 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A minor league pitcher and catcher (a battery) mosey across rural New England during a zombie apocalypse we know nothing about. Benjamin (Jeremy Gardner) is the dominate catcher and Mickey (Adam Cronheim) is the wimp pitcher. You would think they would get along better, but they don't. Mickey is hoping things will return to normal as he keeps his winning scratch-off ticket. Benjamin wants to move on and adapt.

The film is "The Road" boring. There is a scene 35 minutes into the film, I admit I haven't seen in a zombie film and hopefully won't see again. The film is more about character relations with zombies as a distraction. Yawn.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex. Nudity (Jeremy Gardner) Walmart $9.96
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Battery
The Battery by Jeremy Gardner
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews