Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great 80's album.....Honestly!
OK, first of all, I am making the assumption that as you are reading this review, you are either a fan of Limahl, a fan of Kajagoogoo, or have an interest in 1980's artists. I'm also guessing that you are the proud owner of a turntable! To EMI's shame, this album has never been issued on Compact Disc, although shop around the cheapie compilation CD's to make up a home...
Published on 25 Jun. 2008 by LancashireLad

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wouldn't recommend it
You can ask yourself why this artist disappeared so fast. He is undoubtly a very good singer with a great voice. The fact that he looked cool as well should also contribute to make him one of the biggest stars of 80s. But somehow it wasn't to be. The reason is simple. His talent was as a singer. He had virtually no talent there as a songwriter. This album is a good...
Published 6 months ago by P.G.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great 80's album.....Honestly!, 25 Jun. 2008
By 
OK, first of all, I am making the assumption that as you are reading this review, you are either a fan of Limahl, a fan of Kajagoogoo, or have an interest in 1980's artists. I'm also guessing that you are the proud owner of a turntable! To EMI's shame, this album has never been issued on Compact Disc, although shop around the cheapie compilation CD's to make up a home burned CD yourself (as I have done) - all but one of the tracks can be bought on other CD's. Anyway, on with my review..... In my humble opinion, Limahl and indeed this album have been very badly treated over the years. The guy has a great voice, and on "Don't Suppose" is given/has written (on the whole) material worthy of his talents. Don't be taken in by the not particularly spectacular start. In my opinion, the opening 3 tracks are the weakest on the collection and may leave you swimming in a sea of blandness. It's when "Too Much Trouble" kicks in that the album takes it all up a gear. It's all good solid quality pop music from this point on, as the songs (in my opinion) get catchier, the vocal performances become stronger, and the production begins to sound less dated to a 2008 audience. This momentum is maintained as we hear "Never Ending Story", "Only For Love", the particularly good "I Was a Fool" and the haunting "The Waiting Game". Tar Beach dips a little before the final song "Oh Girl" rounds off the album nicely. This album didn't sell particularly well back in 1984 despite producing a couple of hit singles, and should be ripe for CD re-issue by EMI if they had any sense - particularly with the Kajagoogoo reunion in full swing right now. The bottom line is - "Don't Suppose" is an overlooked gem from the 1980's - dare I say a classic collection of 80's pop. One thing is for certain - in it's category (and I stress that point before all the U2, Prince, Dire Straits etc, etc...fans kick in to correct me), you would go a long, long way to find a better album. Buy it on whatever format you can and relive the days when a two-tone mullet got you noticed. For all the right reasons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely album, update oct 14, 3 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Don't Suppose (Audio CD)
Brilliant!
Aurally creative, sparkling lyrics, and this album is an album that shows how the then technology and very fine production values married to great and powerful singing, had dramatically Changed for the better, the face of how we listened too, and heard music, was at a major turning point (some would largely disagree) 1984 was a bench mark year for polish and style.
This cd album is worth it!, Limahl gets a hard time from those who havnt really listened, it is unfair considering he is a genuinely good and great singer, and this has stood the test of time brilliantly. I dont know why this album charted lowly in late 84' it has it all and more! It is having a revival now, and it seems better appreciated now, thankfully.

I've just bought the new collectors edition, and it is very very good!
And it has lovely notes and pics in there and extra versions, the move in close 12 of 'only for love' would have been a bonus, but still it is really worth having is this.
Buy it, you'll love the shiny dance pop experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty decent 80's album..............., 6 Jun. 2008
By 
OK, first of all, I am making the assumption that as you are reading this review, you are either a fan of Limahl, a fan of Kajagoogoo, or have an interest in 1980's artists. I'm also guessing that you are the proud owner of a turntable! To EMI's shame, this album has never been issued on Compact Disc, although shop around the cheapie compilation CD's to make up a home burned CD yourself (as I have done) - all but one of the tracks can be bought on other CD's. Anyway, on with my review..... In my humble opinion, Limahl and indeed this album have been very badly treated over the years. The guy has a great voice, and on "Don't Suppose" is given/has written (on the whole) material worthy of his talents. Don't be taken in by the not particularly spectacular start. In my opinion, the opening 3 tracks are the weakest on the collection and may leave you swimming in a sea of blandness. It's when "Too Much Trouble" kicks in that the album takes it all up a gear. It's all good solid quality pop music from this point on, as the songs (in my opinion) get catchier, the vocal performances become stronger, and the production begins to sound less dated to a 2008 audience. This momentum is maintained as we hear "Never Ending Story", "Only For Love", the particularly good "I Was a Fool" and the haunting "The Waiting Game". Tar Beach dips a little before the final song "Oh Girl" rounds off the album nicely. This album didn't sell particularly well back in 1984 despite producing a couple of hit singles, and should be ripe for CD re-issue by EMI if they had any sense - particularly with the Kajagoogoo reunion in full swing right now. The bottom line is - "Don't Suppose" is an overlooked gem from the 1980's - dare I say a classic collection of 80's pop. One thing is for certain - in it's category (and I stress that point before all the U2, Prince, Dire Straits etc, etc...fans kick in to correct me), you would go a long, long way to find a better album. Buy it on whatever format you can and relive the days when a two-tone mullet got you noticed. For all the right reasons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten 80s Gem, 15 Sept. 2013
By 
Jan Patrik Sahlstrøm (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a forgotten gemstone from the 80s. This synthpop at it's very best. Beautifull songs, masterfully delivered. Personal favorite is "Neverending Story", but all the songs are really good. Can be somewhat difficult to get hold off, so grab it if you see it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars À long awaited album on cd, 15 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Suppose (Audio CD)
It was a great joy to me to handle that cd
Sound quality Is astounding, a pure magicien compared to that previous tape version
Sonic intentions behind Music - and hence Music itself benefitted from this cd cut
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent re-release with bonus track and orginal remixes, 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Suppose (Collectors Edition) (Audio CD)
Excellent re-release with bonus track and orginal remixes. This is really worth purchasing and it proves what an underrated Limahl is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Suppose (Collectors Edition) (Audio CD)
had this album in the eighties on vinyl nice to hear it again on cd,also has extras cd and nice booklet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 Dec. 2014
By 
Mr. Darren Turner "rt004g2793" (Wolverhampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Suppose (Collectors Edition) (Audio CD)
Lovely collection and nice Quality packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Suppose (Collectors Edition) (Audio CD)
what more can be said - excellent :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Cd, 20 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Suppose (Audio CD)
I brought this because i had the vinyl copy and had to have the cd. All the songs are really good,favourite song is Only for Love. You should buy this if you like 80's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don't Suppose (Collectors Edition)
Don't Suppose (Collectors Edition) by Limahl (Audio CD - 2014)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews