Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great, psychological horror!
There are some things that scare each and every one of us. Things that would scare anyone - mainly because we can all relate to that one thing that terrifies us. I think it's safe to say that being attacked/haunted in your own home would be near the top of the list. Regardless of your stance, stature, bravado or common sense, if you came home and something wasn't right in...
Published 4 months ago by Stuart Keane

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Had potential
I've read quite a few of Matt Shaws books now & I do enjoy his style of writing and sense of humour as well as setting a scene and introducing characters but this one has left me cold I'm afraid. There's just too much 'other stuff' & setting the scene and the good stuff, the creepy stuff doesn't get much of a look in.
Do we really need a whole paragraph of what the...
Published 4 months ago by Laura tawn


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great, psychological horror!, 27 Jun 2014
By 
Stuart Keane "SK" (Ipswich, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A House in the Country: A Tale of Psychological Horror (Kindle Edition)
There are some things that scare each and every one of us. Things that would scare anyone - mainly because we can all relate to that one thing that terrifies us. I think it's safe to say that being attacked/haunted in your own home would be near the top of the list. Regardless of your stance, stature, bravado or common sense, if you came home and something wasn't right in your house...you'd fear for your life. Throw into that a family, two children and a doting wife...and you have A House In The Country.

Matt Shaw's latest novella - for it's very short, I read it in just over an hour - is simple in premise. A family move into their dream home in the country. However, on their arrival, the spare bedroom has a weird smell. On further investigation, over a period of a week, all isn't as it seems and it's only a matter of time until the parents realise something isn't quite right here. Then they discuss the house's past...and the death that occurred some time before. Cheap houses come with a price, ironically.

Now, we've seen this countless times. Remarkably, Shaw keeps it original and trim, focusing on the four family members (dad, mum, two daughters) as they traverse the weird activities taking place in their home. From a subtle door moving, to noises in the night and strange figures in the windows. The standard haunted house tropes are there but they are effectively creepy, providing a taut, if fairly quick read that showcases Shaw's talent to spook as well as disgust. He may be well known for his extreme horror but Shaw proves here that he can also do subtle, with alarming ease.

But it's so much fun. When was the last time a door moving was so creepy? The fear and terror is heightened because this family haven't done a thing wrong. Anyone with kids will relate to the fear of a family threatening situation. No one wants their loved ones to come to harm and Shaw capitalizes on this perfectly. He builds a basic, subtle story of horror and delivers. When the tension starts to rise and the family realise it isn't just the imaginations of their children, it's at that point where AHITC shifts into fourth gear and provides and ending all too...real. It gave me goose bumps.

5* - An excellent horror tale, and no, it's not just because I feature in this story (courtesy of a previous review). It was thoroughly enjoyable reading myself in a horror book. This aside, this book was a fast, tense, subtle and horrifying read. The gore is on hold in this one whilst Shaw uses his box of tricks to provide chills that most home owners will find scary. If you moved home recently, you might want to give this a miss. If you do though, you're missing out. A fantastic novella!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a haunted house story like no other I've read., 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A House in the Country: A Tale of Psychological Horror (Kindle Edition)
My first 5 star Matt Shaw story. Bravo Sir! Finally someone comes up with a story where the slogan “a haunted house story like no other" wouldn't be overhyped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anothre great book, 24 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A House in the Country: A Tale of Psychological Horror (Kindle Edition)
Yet again a great book from matt shaw
I have read 5 books so far and this is No 6 read this in one sitting
Mr shaw will not let you down with any of his books
I know I will be reading them all
And I think all off his books are 5 stars
Just get reading him
Keep up the good work mr shaw
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly dark as usual!!!!, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A House in the Country: A Tale of Psychological Horror (Kindle Edition)
Another amazing book by Matt Shaw....Have literally just finished it with my mouth still open in shock at the twist!! Just when you think you know where the story is going...in comes the blow of an unexpected twist! Room for a sequel I feel...a,kind of what happened next??? Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A House in the Country: A Tale of Psychological Horror (Kindle Edition)
this book was very different from tho other matt shaw books I have read but this is equally on the same.high quality level with how the family starts falling apart and loved the ending on to the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A House in the Country: A Tale of Psychological Horror (Kindle Edition)
Not what you expect...or is it. We are talking Matt Shaw here.. an ending out of the blue..Matt is going to be around for a long time I think. His versatility is amazing...from extreme horror and Gore to ghost stories and semi romance novels. If you haven't read Matt Shaw yet....then you should!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A House in the Country - Creepy Tale of Terror, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A House in the Country: A Tale of Psychological Horror (Kindle Edition)
A House in the Country Matt Shaw - A Creepy Tale of Terror

This started out like the typical haunted house story but Matt manages to pull you in and have you rooting for this family as strange things go bump in the night. Everything that happens could have a perfectly normal explanation but of course you know otherwise and the tension mounts as you urge the family to wake up and run the hell away. You are reading with one eye closed and your fists clenched as the tension mounts and you pray everything will turn out right.

The story is based around two gorgeous girls and their loving parents as they move into their dream house. It should be a new start, an idyllic environment where they can create the perfect childhood and store up some wonderful memories. BUT… Things start to get moved and one of the rooms is imbued with a foul stench that just won’t seem to leave. When things start to go wrong we wonder are the girls acting out and defying their parents or is there something more insidious at play here. A daughter with nightmares adds to the mix and confusion and as the strange incidents add up we find out the house has a disturbing past, are they just imagining things or is something evil lurking in wait.

I enjoyed Matt’s portrayal of this old favorite. It is done in a creepy manner that has you rushing through the pages, breath held. There is one scene that is so creepy it just gives me goose bumps.

This tale has a great ending, if a little rushed – but there again isn't that the ultimate compliment when things end too quickly.

Caroline Gebbie Author of Daddy Won't Kill You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A creepy spinechilling psychological horror., 19 July 2014
This review is from: A House in the Country: A Tale of Psychological Horror (Kindle Edition)
This is the story of Jess and Dean and their two children - Sophie and Caroline. They move into their dream house in the country that harbours a deep secret - the previous owners wife committed suicide in the spare room. From the first day strange things begins happening, strange smells, things moved around. Does the ghost of the wife still reside there or is the truth far more sinister?

I read this in one sitting, it was that good, but it was also a quick read with a plot that took you quickly. I was drawn in straight away and identified with the family. Featuring a small cast, the story was tight, chilling and utterly creepy. From the first page you are grabbed and as is Matts style, you care for the characters until the ultimately shocking twist at the end. In truth I would have liked this longer but that didn't detract from the quality of this excellent novella.

I received a complimentary copy of this novella in exchange for my honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5*****, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A House in the Country: A Tale of Psychological Horror (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed the story especially the twist at the end! Read in one sitting, only wished it had been longer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy stuff!, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A House in the Country: A Tale of Psychological Horror (Kindle Edition)
This was great. I always love how Matt keeps the flow perfectly.
It's a creepy book and I kept thinking, this would make a great film.
I read it too fast though :( need more but I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews