Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turing had a brilliant mind and was treated shamefully
This is a fascinating book, it gives such detailed information on the development and complexities of the Enigma machine that one is very impressed that the British managed to break the coding system. What was also interesting was that the British and French actually used the system successfully themselves to pass information between London and Paris. Turing had a...
Published 4 months ago by Catherine Angus

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars There are better biographies available
I thought I was getting a really long, interesting biography, but it looks cheaply produced and a very short biography, so couldn'give it as a present. Disappointing. There are better biographies available.
Published 21 days ago by Frances Bailey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turing had a brilliant mind and was treated shamefully, 22 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fascinating book, it gives such detailed information on the development and complexities of the Enigma machine that one is very impressed that the British managed to break the coding system. What was also interesting was that the British and French actually used the system successfully themselves to pass information between London and Paris. Turing had a brilliant mind and was treated shamefully; he won the War for us and should have been revered. This book really emphasizes his brilliance and is well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turing: The Tragic Life of Alan Turing (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent introduction to Turing's work and times
But also stands alone well enough for the lay person to get the essence of the times he lived in and shaped. For those wanting more there are excellent references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turing: The Tragic Life of Alan Turing (Kindle Edition)
This isn't the first book I've read on the subject, but is, perhaps one of the ones I've enjoyed most. Yes, the discussion on the enigma machines and the difficulties involved in breaking the code do (enjoyably) occupy a large portion of a book, but if one read a biography of an author one would surely expect a considerable portion of it to discuss their writing. (Wouldn't most of us prefer to be remembered for our work than for our personal life?)
I particularly appreciated the point that the author makes about varying attitudes to homosexuality during Turing's lifetime. (Certainly born out by my own contact with members of that generation, and those somewhat younger.) Prejudice and bigotry were not inevitable in any generation, and ..... the next sentence has been written five times and is still too vitriolic for a review.
A good book. I'm going to read the code breaking bit again with my mind in study mode and a note-book to hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for technology phobes., 8 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turing: The Tragic Life of Alan Turing (Kindle Edition)
A fitting tribute to Alan Turing one of the early pioneers of computing.Found this book informative and interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 20 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turing: The Tragic Life of Alan Turing (Kindle Edition)
Some useful insights and written by someone who understands the intricacies of the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This slim volume (124 pages) is well written and contains details of Turing's amazing work before, during and after the war. A sizeable portion of the book gives very clear detailed explanations of the original Enigma machines, their workings and the effects of the various refinements.......and how they were overcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this book even though some of the code breaking ..., 23 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turing: The Tragic Life of Alan Turing (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book even though some of the code breaking facts were way over my head . The facts and descriptions given placed you well into the period and helped you appreciate the genious of the man and the difficulties experienced in Turins life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed. Couldn't cope with the 750 ..., 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just what I needed. Couldn't cope with the 750 page biography. This gave me all the facts and filled in the gaps left by the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars There are better biographies available, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought I was getting a really long, interesting biography, but it looks cheaply produced and a very short biography, so couldn'give it as a present. Disappointing. There are better biographies available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very easy read. Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews