Customer Reviews


467 Reviews
5 star:
 (372)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Debut
Wow! I discovered this band on BBC's iPlayer when I was watching a re-run of Biffy Clyro's set from T in the Park. Before they showed Biffy, they said they were going to show a few songs by a new band called Royal Blood, my thinking was - "Who? Come on just get biffy on!!" But I continued to watch as these two guys strolled on stage, one sat behind the drums, the...
Published 4 months ago by MR STUART D WILLIAMSON

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't fall for the hype.
Fell for the hype and bought this thinking they had something new and different about them. Most of the riffs have been nicked from Queens of the Stone Age. They are nothing new, and will most likely disappear on the next year or two.
Published 2 months ago by Andrew Green


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Debut, 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royal Blood (Audio CD)
Wow! I discovered this band on BBC's iPlayer when I was watching a re-run of Biffy Clyro's set from T in the Park. Before they showed Biffy, they said they were going to show a few songs by a new band called Royal Blood, my thinking was - "Who? Come on just get biffy on!!" But I continued to watch as these two guys strolled on stage, one sat behind the drums, the other strapped on a bass guitar....then they ripped into Little Monster as my jaw literally hit the floor. How is he making a sound like that with a Bass? I was an instant fan and every song the played was equally as good and catchy good as the last.

I then told everyone who would listen how good this band were, the only downside was having to wait a few months until this album to come out. How do they sound? Well certainly not like a two piece and most certainly not like just drums and a bass guitar. I don't know how they do it but they sound incredible and it's not just studio trickery either as they sound as good live as they do on the album.

Being a two piece they will draw obvious comparisons with the White Stripes and although musically they sound miles apart, although Mike Kerr's vocals do actually have a tinge of Jack White, I especially noticed this on the track Blood Hands. The band also sound a shade similar to Queens of the Stone Age in their heavy, catchy riffs. Ultimately this band have the same ability as the likes of Nirvana - the ability to write incredibly catchy lyrics and riffs that you never get bored of. Only downside is the album is just 10 tracks long and comes in at about 30 minutes, but trust me it's well worth spending 30 minutes with Royal Blood.

Can't wait to see them at the Barrowlands next year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Rock Royalty, 25 Aug. 2014
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Royal Blood (Audio CD)
Crikey! These two boys from Brighton make a big noise and no mistake.
Royal Blood, Mike Kerr (vocals and Bass) and Ben Thatcher (drums), have some
spectacular rock chemistry going on. From the moment that the explosive
opening number 'Out Of The Black' hits the back wall it's very hard to believe
that there are only two instruments at work here and the energy barely lets
up for a moment throughout these ten blistering tracks. The spirit of Led
Zeppelin would appear to be still alive and well in this fine ensemble's hands.
Mr Kerr has one helluva voice too; the third element which binds the whole
thing together and to top it all there are some really good tunes here as well.

Three listens in and it's hard to pick the winners. It's all good. Very good indeed.
'Come On Over', with its massive chugging riff, has enough power in its bones
to light up a city should the National Grid break down; 'Figure It Out', too,
thunders along on the back of a beat which makes your knees rattle and features
one of Mr Kerr's strongest vocal performances; 'Loose Change', coming in to
land at just over two and a half minutes, is a model of economy and deliciously
old-fashioned in the best possible great-band-in-a-garage kind-of way but
if I had to pick a favorite the the bluesy rip-roaring mid-paced final song
'Better Strangers' ticks all the boxes for a guaranteed Rock Royalty future.

This is terrific stuff. Play it loud. Very Loud!

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 6 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Royal Blood (Audio CD)
Wow! Proper rock is back! And it's VERY LOUD! Get out your air guitar, pound your pretend drums, scream along with Kerr's stupdendous sneer. Music that slaps you round the chops and tells you to live, big time. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The whole album is great, a bit like early Muse, 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royal Blood (Audio CD)
a friend put me onto this band; he played me one song and I bought the album on the strength of that. The whole album is great, a bit like early Muse, with the theatrics. If you like British Guitar music, this is well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best debut in years, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royal Blood (Audio CD)
How the music industry should be, a band gets itself noticed from local gigs, getting more and more airplay, building momentum until appearing at reading festival just before their album comes out. Have been waiting for this album for ages and it doesn't disappoint. Really don't understand all the claims about sounding too much like led Zeppelin, there are lots of influences to be heard through the album just like any other band but they have their sound. True rock fans should feel pleased that there is still a place for good bands to come through in the 'proper' way. Only criticism is its a bit short but what a debut and can't wait to hear where they go in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Debut, 6 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. Nigel L. Davies (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royal Blood (Audio CD)
A CD that lived up to expectations and indeed exceeded the hype. A wonerful debut from a fantadtic band. Incredible mix with VERY larger drum sound, amazing bass harmonics/riffage and superlative vocals. Great melody lines through out both memorable and humable. I can't praise it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw, powerful rock, 16 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Royal Blood (Audio CD)
It is said that power is nothing without control, Well this band has massive power and superb control. I first caught Royal Blood on Jools Holland earlier this year when they played Little Monster. What Can I say? There is a perfect balance of vocals, guitar and drums, all of which seem to be set permanently on volume 11. This album is short, sharp and loud and I'd be surprised if they didn't go through a set of drums every couple of tracks. Mike Kerr (vocals and Bass) and Ben Thatcher (drums) are just the total rock package. Seriously. If you like your steak flame grilled, then this band is for you. It's the real deal. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for rock fans., 3 Sept. 2014
At last, a British band with some substance, some soul, some passion, some power, some edge, some originality. Not Brit poop at all. Following in the footsteps of bands like Judas Priest, Def Leppard, Black Sabbath, Led Zepplin, the list is un-ending. This British band is on the cutting edge of making original music and have an original sound. A must have for any rock fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 30 Aug. 2014
By 
B. Anderson "BA" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very very good! The level of creativity and musicianship is extremely impressive and the fact that there are only two of them makes it even more so.
The songs are mostly good, foot stomping, hard rock anthems and the whole album is now on my gym playlist. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rocking, 11 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Royal Blood (Audio CD)
One of the best albums of 2014. At first I thought it was a bit loud but it's not that heavy really and after a few listens you start to realise how good every single track is. It reminds me of early Muse mixed with some White Stripes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Royal Blood
Royal Blood by Royal Blood (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews