Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Debut
Wow! I discovered this band on BBC's iPlayer when I was watching a re-run of Biffy Clyro's set from T in the Park. Before they showed Biffy, they said they were going to show a few songs by a new band called Royal Blood, my thinking was - "Who? Come on just get biffy on!!" But I continued to watch as these two guys strolled on stage, one sat behind the drums, the...
Published 9 months ago by MR STUART D WILLIAMSON

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dont believe the hype
Alright but reminded me too much of jack whites other bands and the black keys,
too derivative to warrant a higher rating.
Published 9 months ago by Otisdog


‹ Previous | 1 267 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Debut, 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royal Blood (Audio CD)
Wow! I discovered this band on BBC's iPlayer when I was watching a re-run of Biffy Clyro's set from T in the Park. Before they showed Biffy, they said they were going to show a few songs by a new band called Royal Blood, my thinking was - "Who? Come on just get biffy on!!" But I continued to watch as these two guys strolled on stage, one sat behind the drums, the other strapped on a bass guitar....then they ripped into Little Monster as my jaw literally hit the floor. How is he making a sound like that with a Bass? I was an instant fan and every song the played was equally as good and catchy good as the last.

I then told everyone who would listen how good this band were, the only downside was having to wait a few months until this album to come out. How do they sound? Well certainly not like a two piece and most certainly not like just drums and a bass guitar. I don't know how they do it but they sound incredible and it's not just studio trickery either as they sound as good live as they do on the album.

Being a two piece they will draw obvious comparisons with the White Stripes and although musically they sound miles apart, although Mike Kerr's vocals do actually have a tinge of Jack White, I especially noticed this on the track Blood Hands. The band also sound a shade similar to Queens of the Stone Age in their heavy, catchy riffs. Ultimately this band have the same ability as the likes of Nirvana - the ability to write incredibly catchy lyrics and riffs that you never get bored of. Only downside is the album is just 10 tracks long and comes in at about 30 minutes, but trust me it's well worth spending 30 minutes with Royal Blood.

Can't wait to see them at the Barrowlands next year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Rock Royalty, 25 Aug. 2014
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Royal Blood (Audio CD)
Crikey! These two boys from Brighton make a big noise and no mistake.
Royal Blood, Mike Kerr (vocals and Bass) and Ben Thatcher (drums), have some
spectacular rock chemistry going on. From the moment that the explosive
opening number 'Out Of The Black' hits the back wall it's very hard to believe
that there are only two instruments at work here and the energy barely lets
up for a moment throughout these ten blistering tracks. The spirit of Led
Zeppelin would appear to be still alive and well in this fine ensemble's hands.
Mr Kerr has one helluva voice too; the third element which binds the whole
thing together and to top it all there are some really good tunes here as well.

Three listens in and it's hard to pick the winners. It's all good. Very good indeed.
'Come On Over', with its massive chugging riff, has enough power in its bones
to light up a city should the National Grid break down; 'Figure It Out', too,
thunders along on the back of a beat which makes your knees rattle and features
one of Mr Kerr's strongest vocal performances; 'Loose Change', coming in to
land at just over two and a half minutes, is a model of economy and deliciously
old-fashioned in the best possible great-band-in-a-garage kind-of way but
if I had to pick a favorite the the bluesy rip-roaring mid-paced final song
'Better Strangers' ticks all the boxes for a guaranteed Rock Royalty future.

This is terrific stuff. Play it loud. Very Loud!

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 6 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Royal Blood (Audio CD)
Wow! Proper rock is back! And it's VERY LOUD! Get out your air guitar, pound your pretend drums, scream along with Kerr's stupdendous sneer. Music that slaps you round the chops and tells you to live, big time. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums I have ever owned, 1 Oct. 2014
By 
Katie Kelly "blossom" (Belfast, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royal Blood (Audio CD)
One of the best albums I have ever owned. Glorious. Have almost worn it out. Muse meets QOTSA meets The White Stripes. I am in my mid 40's & female if that helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best debut in years, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royal Blood (Audio CD)
How the music industry should be, a band gets itself noticed from local gigs, getting more and more airplay, building momentum until appearing at reading festival just before their album comes out. Have been waiting for this album for ages and it doesn't disappoint. Really don't understand all the claims about sounding too much like led Zeppelin, there are lots of influences to be heard through the album just like any other band but they have their sound. True rock fans should feel pleased that there is still a place for good bands to come through in the 'proper' way. Only criticism is its a bit short but what a debut and can't wait to hear where they go in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars uk concert ticket are a rip off, 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royal Blood (Audio CD)
Cd of the year! Watched them at Glastonbury with a keen eye. Travelled to Milan to watch them as the uk tickets were a total con but then the frontman was taken ill so lost out there. Milan was nice though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome debut album, 27 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royal Blood (Audio CD)
Awesome debut album! Absolutely love it - great rock tunes played by two very talented guys. Sounds like there's a lot more instruments then just the two of them, amazing how they create the sound with just an electric guitar and drums! Catchy straight out rock songs with good riffs and lyrics; the songs are pretty similar but still distinguishable, and if you like the sound then you'll enjoy them all. Get it now and you'll be thanking me later. Also, listen to their song 'Hole' - it's the B side of 'Little Monster' but isn't on the album. It's very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROCKS!!!, 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royal Blood (Audio CD)
Where did this come from? I ordered this on a whim after seeing a clip of them on TV and reading some excellent reviews. When I heard the whole thing it blew me away. This is amazing, reminds me a bit of The White Stripes, best new Rock band I've heard in ages. We need bands like this to help keep rock music fresh and alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reminder of how Rock should sound, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royal Blood (Audio CD)
Got to be one of the more different bands to release an album in 2014. Really enjoyed the heavy rifts and the fact they are just a 2 piece band, with no guitarist. I think their also a reminder of how hard rock should sound, edgy and raw. I think there producer really hasn't done much work on their actual sound outside of mixing and balancing as live performances by them (were the sound it half decent) are almost like listening to it at home. Got a lot of pleasure from this I just hope it won't become a one trick pony for the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, i love all the tracks and have ..., 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Royal Blood (Audio CD)
Great CD, i love all the tracks and have played the CD everyday since it was released. Only down side is that its short at around 30mins total play time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 267 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Royal Blood
Royal Blood by Royal Blood (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews