Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting idea
You've been attacked & survived but don't know why you were attacked in first place & your memory is very patchy - so you are trying to find out. Slowly the hero finds out things but putting 2 & 2 together isn't easy & the author throws in a couple of red herrings. Well worth trying if you enjoy a well thought out mystery.
Published 12 months ago by Michael Foster

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good
I struggled to finish this book, and it had a predictable ending. The storyline didn't grip me at all, I found it hard work.
Published 11 months ago by Reader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Not good, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I struggled to finish this book, and it had a predictable ending. The storyline didn't grip me at all, I found it hard work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I Didn't Really Understand It, 3 May 2014
By 
Lynda Kelly "Lynda" (Shipton Bellinger, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Only got to 18% into this and gave it up. I just didn't really understand it and couldn't be bothered to restart it to see if anything became any clearer. It was odd that the original crime happened around 18 months ago yet we're to believe everyone maybe involved was all of a sudden covering stuff up.
Right at the beginning he put a hyphen into ex-plained and again in bloody-well did. Service was used in place of servant. I'd no idea what an SEO carpet was and did look it up on Google and was none the wiser. We lost speechmarks along the way and fronts door was written instead of front. I got to this line which to me meant nothing and gave up-"I had time to extend him my mental thanks for having saved me from stupid cowardice"...I didn't get it so that was enough for me. I read the author died in 2005 so I think it's bad putting this out in his name with all the errors in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting idea, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You've been attacked & survived but don't know why you were attacked in first place & your memory is very patchy - so you are trying to find out. Slowly the hero finds out things but putting 2 & 2 together isn't easy & the author throws in a couple of red herrings. Well worth trying if you enjoy a well thought out mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensitively told story, well worth the time to read it., 18 April 2014
By 
Aurora (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cliff Summers isn't looking to investigate anything, that part of his life ended when he was brutally assaulted more than a year ago. All he wants to do is fit the jigsaw of his life back together and remember all that happened on that fateful day. He only has fragments of memories and they are contradictory. So little of it makes sense that, at times, he fears he is losing his mind. It is the fear of insanity which drives him on; that at the small matter of the body in the boot of his car!
The frustration and confusion of his sketchy memory of the day of the attack are well presented. the style in which the scenario is written is very empathic and takes the reader along on the journey; letting them experience a little of the confusion. Most of what Cliff thinks he remembers is challenged in some way at various times and gradually he comes to realise that the human brain makes adjustment in an attempt to make sense of what it thinks it remembers, and therefore he cannot trust the small flashes of memories he does have.

This was a compelling tale as the reader wills Cliff to make the necessary connections to be able to piece together the enigma behind what happened that day, and the consequences which arise from his attempts to recover the memories which someone would prefer that he didn't.

This is a sensitively told story of an indomitable courage and a wide stubbon streak which is well worth the time invested in reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior Crime Novel, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Author builds up plot and characters in expert way. Novel reminded me of early Peter James. Well worth trying out if fan of British Crime Fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
keeps on getting better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Page turner, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read in a few long sittings, which is testament to book's page turning qualities. As long as you buy into memory loss premise you should enjoy the ride and reveals. Would check out author's other books on strength of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Death to Remember
A Death to Remember by Roger Ormerod
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews