Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Installment
I loved the first book in this series and I think this one is as good if not better. There are bits of the book I was not completely keen on especially the amount of time on Prince Henry (though at the end I understood the reason why).
This time the Ark Royal is leading a multi-national task force into enemy space. I will not go into the specifics but suffice to say...
Published 15 months ago by Bagsy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting diversion
I've read all three Ark Royal boks and, for the most part, they were quite interesting and worked well as a bedtime read. They didn't captivate me enough to read at other times though a a really good book does.

For me the books need a good editor. There are numerous mixing up of character names, changes of names and general errors that kept me searching...
Published 9 months ago by Adrian Matthews


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Installment, 23 Mar. 2014
By 
Bagsy (Northamptonshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the first book in this series and I think this one is as good if not better. There are bits of the book I was not completely keen on especially the amount of time on Prince Henry (though at the end I understood the reason why).
This time the Ark Royal is leading a multi-national task force into enemy space. I will not go into the specifics but suffice to say it leads to plenty of action and not everything goes completely to plan.
At the end of the book the author asks the question whether he should write about what happened on Earth whilst the Ark Royal is on its mission or carry on where the second book ends. Whilst I am eager to know what happens next if he intends to write about Earth then it would be better to find that out first.
Roll on the next book I say whichever one he writes first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent second book in this series, 13 April 2014
By 
Mr. G. D. Cheal (Crawley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second instalment in the Ark Royal series following the crew and exploits of a futuristic starfighter carrier.
It is fast paced and full of gritty action and the characters from the first book continue to develop in depth.
Mr Nuttall is a prolific writer however he manages to keep on writing quality stories which grip the reader and pull you in. I like the fact that he actually concentrates on the trials and tribulations of the characters involved and they are very believable and likeable (or hateable if that's what is intended.) All too often the characters in books are super human or plain but that is not the case in this series.
I also like the fact that the story flows smoothly without any science techno babble or bull@~*& It is all too tempting to go off track in sci fi with explanations as to how things work...Do I care or need to know how a puller field might work? No, I don't. The same as I don't need a science lesson while reading a fantasy book. Thank you for not doing that Mr Nuttall.

Mr Nuttall is also very engaging with his fans and it makes his books even more fun and captivating to read when there are direct name dropping moments or veiled reference to fans. (I was ecstatic to see a reference to me in this one)

Please keep up the writing and the good quality, I look forward to reading the next instalment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Nelson touch, 1 May 2014
Great read from start to finish. Very believable storyline and characters. Leaves you wanting to know more about the aliens and Prince hrnry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good and we need a third one soon pass it on to writer please i enjoyed the first one as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BSG without the soap-opera, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great follow-up to the Ark Royal series, continues with his well thought out action and excellent pace with plenty of mystery and plot twists. There are new characters introduced and developed but it doesnt get lost in the relationships and the background world is expanded. This series will appeal to anyone who loved BSG but hated the soap-opera element.

A real bargain at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wednesday is here..., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I seem to remember that's when the Eagle used to get delivered every week, a joyous day when everything became possible and Dan Dare was seriously heroic. Mr Nuttall is too young to remember that but I bet he's got his dad's copies up in the attic.
Great stuff, proper ripping yarn time. Stuff probability, who needs it, we know the Royal Navy will win in the end. They always do. Just ask the Spanish armada, the Graf Spee and many a greater foe.

With this book an unexpected social angle emerges... Britain is ruled by a monarchistic aristocracy in x-ty years in the future. Ummm... how on earth did that happen? Probability becomes well stuffed at this point but who knows???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting diversion, 25 Sept. 2014
By 
Adrian Matthews (Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've read all three Ark Royal boks and, for the most part, they were quite interesting and worked well as a bedtime read. They didn't captivate me enough to read at other times though a a really good book does.

For me the books need a good editor. There are numerous mixing up of character names, changes of names and general errors that kept me searching back.

I've watched the same TV series as the author so there were no great surprises in the main plot but it was spoiled a bit by the way the characters jump from being almost omnipotent to missing things that would be obvious to a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great story, but way too much waffle, 2 July 2015
By 
Stuart W. Greig (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Nelson Touch: Ark Royal, Book 2 (Unabridged) (Audio Download)
Having struggled through the rather basic prose and dialog of book 1 I continued, not expecting too much. I listened to the audio version and ended up playing this as double speed, I wanted the hear the story, which I'm enjoying, but didn't want to waste too much time getting through it. The characters spend so much time on useless speculation and guessing what the enemy might be doing, some of it completely ridiculous, that I found myself shouting at the book at times, to just get on with the story. The whole side story of Prince Henry and the royal family was actually annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 24 Oct. 2014
By 
J. N. Bullock "JNB" (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent story that has the twists and turns that one has come to expect from Christopher Nuttall. Set in the far future the Ark Royal is an obsolete carrier waiting to be scrapped when contact is made with hostile aliens and the Ark is the only ship that can stand up to them. The ship and her dedicated crew have won the battles so far but the aliens are still coming.

This second book of the Ark Royal trilogy is every bit as good as the previous one and further fixes Chris Nuttalls position as one of our leading sci-fi writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read!, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Second book in the Ark Royal franchise, could not put it down, just like the last one and can't wait for the next, keep up the good work Christopher!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews