Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dish of the Day
Jon Favreau's film Chef is a simple joy - confirming that less is usually more effective and that it is okay to make a film that leaves the audience smiling, laughing and tapping its feet. However, arguably, Chef is deeper than first glance suggests. It touches on very modern themes of the power of social media (constructive and destructive) and the impact that glib...
Published 2 months ago by Robinski

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I THINK THERE'S SOMETHING DEAD IN THERE
There is nothing like a fun family film with a family message and a few F-bombs tossed in for the kids.

Carl is a chef who gets hammered with an on line review. He gets into a Twitter war with the critic leading to his termination from work. Carl most go from being with Molly (Scarlett Johansson) "will have sex for food" to living off the charity of his...
Published 1 month ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dish of the Day, 5 July 2014
This review is from: Chef [DVD] (DVD)
Jon Favreau's film Chef is a simple joy - confirming that less is usually more effective and that it is okay to make a film that leaves the audience smiling, laughing and tapping its feet. However, arguably, Chef is deeper than first glance suggests. It touches on very modern themes of the power of social media (constructive and destructive) and the impact that glib online criticism (positive and negative) can have on real lives, and it's to Favreau's great credit that he does not gloss over these things. The film's use of Tw***er is ingenious and effective, if somewhat similar to at least one previous treatment of texting (the BBC's extraordinary Sherlock), but it is not a throw-away gimmick, rather an important part of the story, showing that - like a loaded gun - social media's power derives from the will of the user.

Chef has a highly likeable cast in great form. Dustin Hoffman, Scarlett Johansson and Fav's Iron Man mucker Robert Downey Jr. provide very effective cameos. RDJ is his quirky self, and Johansson is at her most charming, while Hoffman's superbly forceful turn ensures that it's not all sweetness and light, as do chef's scenes with Oliver Platt's restaurant critic. Sofia Vergara, Bobby Cannavale and the excellent John Leguizamo provide enthusiastic and likeable support, but it is Favreau and Emjay Anthony's delightful central relationship that is the beating heart of the film, their scenes are so wonderfully natural that you can only root for them both.

The film features something of a flying foodie travelogue through the southern states, but it is much more than that. Favreau's direction feels light and empathetic, a man confident in knowing exactly what he wanted, and Chef is clearly a film made with great care and affection. The soundtrack is superb, infusing the film with a rhythm that makes it difficult not to be swept along, but why would anyone not want to be carried away by Favreau's wonderful film, which tells us it is okay to take pleasure in what we do, feel the rhythm and love life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cubanos !, 5 July 2014
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chef [DVD] (DVD)
"Chef" was an enjoyable , warm hearted film full of likeable characters. There's not so many movies you can say that about these days unfortunately. It tells the tale of an overweight,divorced chef who works in a gourmet restaurant and whose creativity is not allowed to flow in the kitchen by his boss. After some ill advised comments on Twitter , he loses his job and ends up buying a food van. He goes on a road trip from Miami to L.A. with his friend and his clever, adoring young son in tow, recovering his zest for cooking en route. Much of the film centres on the relationship between the chef and his son, with reconciliation with his ex wife still a possibility. The acting in this movie was very natural and of a high standard and "Chef" was a great "feelgood" film which passed an afternoon very pleasantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dont go on an empty stomach, 12 July 2014
By 
J. Russell (Grimsby, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chef [DVD] (DVD)
This was refreshingly different from the usual parameters films fit into. The main concentration was on the actual food (which looks delicious by the way, all of it) but it seemed as if the plot was almost crafted around the visual array of food, which left the actual semantics of the plot feeling weak at times. I didn't really mind though because it was different and i didn't get bored as such, only wished for more 'umph' at times.

I did really like this, I would have killed a man to have eaten even the cheese toastie this guy makes whilst i was sat frothing at the mouth in the cinema. If you're a foodie this is without question one of the best films you'll see which is food oriented.

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I THINK THERE'S SOMETHING DEAD IN THERE, 15 Aug 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Chef [DVD] (DVD)
There is nothing like a fun family film with a family message and a few F-bombs tossed in for the kids.

Carl is a chef who gets hammered with an on line review. He gets into a Twitter war with the critic leading to his termination from work. Carl most go from being with Molly (Scarlett Johansson) "will have sex for food" to living off the charity of his still loving ex-wife Inez (Sofía Vergara). I wish I had his bad luck.

Carl succumbs to his wife's idea of obtaining a food truck which causes him to bond with his son and other formulaic ideas to the point of nausea. The problem I had with the script and film is that it tried so hard to create a feel good formula film it seemed plastic and fake. The characters and situation never seemed real, which makes this nothing more than a substandard comedy.

A mildly entertaining film.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wholly Entertaining, 15 Sep 2014
This review is from: Chef [DVD] (DVD)
This is such a nice film to watch. It definitely falls into the `Feel Good Factor' category.
It's sharp, witty and encompasses the sort of everyday life, feelings and folk that most of us are used to and can relate to?
As for the `Chef,' well, we are all now familiar with the `celebrity' status of this humble occupation, even if it has grown out of all proportion over the last decade. Frankly, so have many of their egos! Maybe great cooking really is an art form, though I still say that it all started with my Mum!
Talking of women, the film benefits from having some nice eye-candy, with Sofia Vergara and Scarlett Johansson putting in a shift.
I like Cuba and the Deep South, so to have a film that includes the Cuban sector of Miami and then move on to Bourbon Street, in New Orleans, in a sort of posh burger van was just heaven for me.
This is a great little movie with a nice story line and very satisfactory conclusion. Worth a viewing without a doubt ... and I'd be very surprised if you don't really enjoy it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Heartwarming, 30 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: Chef [DVD] (DVD)
I love this movie, It is joyous and fun and has a fantastic soundtrack. It has the usual Favreau quickfire buddy dialogue and has some great one liners. Robert Downey Junior is a little too off the wall for me but it's still a great movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars tasty, 2 Sep 2014
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Chef [DVD] (DVD)
This is a nice film that looks good, has likeable characters and moves along at a fair old pace. The acting is good and favreau has written a film that should well be enjoyed by many. It was nice to see hoffman flex his acting chops in a role that he was great in. I wouldnt get excited about downey junior as its pure cameo but always good to see him. i have to say the film uses maybe too many cliches when i look back on it and favreau goes for an overly sweet sickly ending that i could have done without but visually this is great and the fun factor is demonstrated throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ratatouille, Anthony Bourdain, and Guy Fieri with the wit and banter of Jon Favreau. First fun comedy of 2014!, 1 July 2014
This review is from: Chef [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Jon Favreau's "Chef" is a medium-well serving of delicious, snappy humor, emotion, culture and oddball circumstances that are altogether enticing and joyous.

A chef from Los Angeles receives a negative review from a food critic that sends him into a rant that goes viral when uploaded to the Internet. Soon after, he moves to Florida, where he works a food truck with his ex-wife and son in an effort to settle old business. As his career dwindles down, he learns to appreciate being around his son more and not allowing his ego to inflate.

While not a lot is going on in the film, its simplicity and familiar culinary curiosity is what keeps the film alive and Favreau's character and humor alive. It also has some humorous supporting performances from John Leguziamo who plays Favreau character's side chef, Dustin Hoffman who plays the former restaurant manager, and Robert Downey Jr., whom makes a cameo here as a financier. The Twitter scenes are real scene stealers too including a funny scene involving comedian Russell Peters taking "selfies" with Favreau's character.

It also has a great and lively soundtrack full of music ranging from funk, soul and Cuban music which only serves to make a rather melodic experience that is fitting to the tantalizing cooking scenes. It is something that Anthony Bourdain would surely call out and say it is "adult" entertainment but with food instead.

However, all the praise doesn't necessarily mean the film is perfect. Toward the end of the film, the light-hearted nature of the film starts to turn into minor superficiality and everything about Favreau's falling career goes back to normal. However, this ending is just fine compared to other comedies I've seen before and aside from the slightly deus ex machina apporach to the ending, the film had little to no faults.

All in all, in a summer full of franchise fare and a dire year for comedy, Chef is refreshing, fun, and lively indie film that can work also as a mainstream crowdpleaser. It features fine performances from Favreau and the cooking scenes will certainly make you hungry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A sweet treat, 29 Jun 2014
This review is from: Chef [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
An easy going road movie, Chef is to the summer blockbuster schedule what salt is to caramel - unexpected, but all the better for it. Thanks to the devastation wrought by the World Cup (which has, like a fat kid at the buffet, left nothing but a few unsatisfactory crumbs for those of us not riveted by the prospect of Belgium vs. Algeria) to the usual parade of popcorn movies, Chef has managed to sneak quietly into a cineplex near you.

Part travelogue, part father-son bonding session, Chef never pretends to be complex or challenging. It’s a charming, sweet movie with a luscious line in gastro porn (I now know what a darkened room full of people salivating over a grilled cheese sandwich sounds like…) whose only challenge is whether the movie’s women (Sofia Vergara and Scar-Jo amping up the va-va-voom) or food is more appealing.

The plot, with all the substance of a poached meringue, sees chef Carl Casper (writer-director Jon Favreau in the leading role) going on a road trip in a food truck to rediscover his mojo (not to be confused with his mojo) and bond with his 10 year old son (the charming Emjay Anthony) ably supported by his motor-mouthed Man Friday (John Leguizimo) following a very public face off with a powerful food critic.

What follows is an artisanal marshmallow of a movie - some will find it cloying, but most will enjoy it for the lovingly made treat that it is. If you don’t leave the cinema with a spring in your step, a song in your -heart and a deep-sated craving for a fresh cubano sandwich, then frankly, I can only conclude that you’ve recently had your joy glands removed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tasty comedy, 27 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chef [DVD] (DVD)
Chef Carl Casper quits his restaruant job after a bad review from a food critic and buys a food truck and together with his son and one of his cooks goes across America making and selling his own food. Jon Favreau who also writes and directs gives a good performance as the chef with support from Sofia Vegara and John Leguizamo with appearances from Scarlett Johannson, Robert Downey Junior and Dustin Hoffman. It's a thin, light plot but funny and amusing and well acted and a nice feel good film. And the food looks fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chef [DVD]
Chef [DVD] by Jon Favreau (DVD - 2014)
£10.00
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews