Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 January 2015
A few years ago I bought an Acer Aspire MS Windows netbook so that I could surf the web and email while on holiday. I did not use it in between. So when I did want to use it I had to spend ages installing software and security updates and charging up the battery. When it was in use it was very slow booting up and loading web pages and the battery seemed to last no time at all. In short, I was getting increasingly frustrated with it so looked around for something similar (i.e. not a tablet) that would boot up quickly, would not need constant charging up and updating and would not cost a lot of money.

I came upon Chromebooks. They seemed ideal for my usage needs and I looked in detail at two models – the Acer 720 and the Dell 11. I found that they were basically the same except for local storage size – the Acer had 32GB whereas the Dell had 16GB - and RAM – the Acer had 2GB whereas the Dell had 4GB. I went for RAM over storage (you can easily increase storage) and with Dell’s reported better build quality.

As always with technology, bigger and better is just around the corner. On Amazon’s US website you can currently get both these machines with more powerful processors (core intel i3) and bigger storage. So if you don’t need to buy now it might be worth waiting a few months for those models to arrive in the UK. If nothing else, they will be disposing of current models for less that you can get them currently!

Getting back to the machine I bought. It cost £238 on Amazon (the Acer was £237). It arrived more quickly than Amazon initially said it would, which was great. It was also very well packaged. It came out of the box in perfect condition. The box contained the Chromebook, the charger and a short Quick Start Guide. I followed the Guide but, unfortunately, it did not do what it said it should have done which caused some head scratching and the need to use my main computer to look up solutions to the issues encountered. What should have taken about 5 minutes ended up taking about 30. But I got there in the end.

I’ve been playing around with it now for a week or so in order to get acquainted with it before I go on my next holiday and I’m delighted with my choice. It feels solid and looks good. It boots up in a few seconds. The keyboard is excellent. I plugged a USB wired mouse in and it worked immediately (I can’t get used to touchpads). I put an SD card in it and it recognised it immediately and displayed both images and Word documents on the card perfectly. The screen quality is more than adequate for my and, I suspect, most people’s needs. I really don’t understand why professional reviewers are so critical of the screens on these models. Yes, it’s glossy and reflects the light if you sit with your back to a window, but there’s an easy work around for that! The battery lasts a very long time before it needs recharging. And, above all, it is extremely quick doing things like loading internet pages. Indeed, it is as good doing that, if not better, than my wired Windows desktop with a much more powerful processor. In closing, I will just mention two things. The fan. It goes on and off regularly. For me that's not disturbing but I can hear it quite clearly and it might disturb you. Chrome OS. I have only ever used Windows before so was a little concerned that I might struggle to get to grips with Chrome. It was so easy for what I want to do with it.

Everyone’s needs are different. If, like me, all you want to do is some pretty basic things quickly then I can recommend Chromebooks generally and this Dell one in particular.
22 comments|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
I was looking for an inexpensive laptop for my daughter to surf the web, when I came across the “Chromebook” - and so far I’ve been really impressed, and my daughter absolutely delighted.

A word of warning, this is a rather long and non-techie review for people who don’t know much about these devices.  So make yourself a cup of tea, sit down, and read on.

If you’re already familiar with the Chrome book, then just skip down to the section “Is this device any good?” for a quick summary.

What is it?  Is it a laptop?
-----------------------------
That may sound a daft question, but it’s actually quite sensible, because this looks like a laptop, but works like no other.  Most laptops run Windows or Apple software, this runs “Chrome” designed and built by Google.  It’s different to a typical operating system in that it actually runs “one the web” inside the Chrome Browser.   This has several advantages (and a few potential issues), but for someone looking to do online shopping or look up Wikipedia for the homework - this is a brilliant solution - but I’m getting ahead of myself.

So in short - yes, it’s a laptop, but not like any other laptop you’ll have used.

Who should buy this?
------------------------
Clearly you first need to read through the limitations to see if this will work for you, and what you want to do with it.  However, I’d have no problem recommending this for:-

* A young child to surf the web at home via WIFI, watch You Tube video update Instagram
* An adult as a second lightweight laptop for web surfing at home
* A student to take notes when at lectures, and store the notes securely before uploading to the web
* Anyone on a budget who wants a simple PC experience, but without the hassle of virus checks and backups

What can you use it for?
---------------------------
Well just about anything!   Here’s a short list:-

* Anything you can do in a browser!
* Shopping on Amazon for a start
* Reading and replying to mails or setting Calendar events
* Edit and publish photos to the web
* Updating your Facebook or Twitter status
* Even read or write Microsoft Word, Excel and Powerpoint documents (for FREE)

If you already have a PC or Mac yourself, you can try out Chrome for yourself.  Just search “Google Chrome” and download the browser, then click on this link to see the huge range of “Chrome Apps” available:-

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/category/apps

The main drawback of course is you’ll need to be connected to the internet to use these services.  This does mean you’ll need to use your device at home, but you can always connect at a coffee shop, station or hotel.  In fact if you have a modern smartphone, just click “Settings —> Personal Hotspot” and you can use your phone’s data connection get to the internet even when you’re away from a WIFI connection.

You can use some applications offline, but be aware there’s likely to be a few limitations - for example, you obviously can’t send mails while you’re offline.  You can however edit documents using Google Docs, Sheets and Slide - the Google versions of Word, Excel and PowerPoint.

What are the main drawbacks?
-----------------------------------
Clearly not everything is available offline, and this is primarily intended as a device to be use while connected to the internet.

Unlike a traditional PC you can’t just plug in any old printer.  However, if you have a relatively modern printer connected to your WIFI network you’re in luck.  There’s a service called “Google Cloud Print” which allows you to set up your printer, and print to it from anywhere in the world with a web connection.  It will even let your print from your Android phone or tablet.

Skype is a major pain as well.  You can use “Google Hangouts”, but in short, Skype is owned by Microsoft, and you’re locked out from using it on a Chrome device.  This has been a major cause of pain for my daughter, although ironically I’m happy as I’m not 100% comfortable with that kind of web access.

Local storage is limited by 16 or 32Gb after which you’re relying upon USB sticks or an SD card, and support for USB devices is patchy at best.  While you can use USB sticks you won’t for example, be able to add a CD or DVD player which is a pity.  If for example you have a USB based “hub” with a wired internet connection it may or may not work - just don’t expect it and it’ll be a nice bonus.  Google continue to make in-roads into this, but until it’s got 100% coverage, don’t expect every USB device to work perfectly.

Sorry to say you may have problems with a NAS (Network Attached Storage) device.  I tried to access a 2Tb disk using Windows (Samba) and NFS, although you may get further than I did.  Again Google may improve this, but be aware, this is designed to be a web based access device - not a sophisticated networked machine.

I have heard rumours of problems with video format support.   I did manage to watch a 2560x1440 H264 video without problems, but there are a few odd video formats you may find issue with.  Unfortunately I’m not an expert in this area, it’s just a case of be aware.

Having said all the above, if all you want to do is surf the web, buy stuff online and write notes - it’s a great value device.  Just don’t expect it to be as sophisticated as a £1,000+ laptop.

Is it Secure?
--------------
Yes.  Very.  You see unlike a Windows PC where you can install all sorts of software from the web, you only install special Chrome Apps, and this is managed centrally.  If the system detected a corrupt version of the software, it would simply be overwritten by the correct version.   This also means you don’t have to constantly update your Chrome device with the latest software version - as it’s done automatically.  You’ll therefore save on the cost of annual anti-virus software.

It’s also designed to store documents “in the cloud” (see below), so you won’t have to worry about losing all your documents if your device gets lost or stolen - a fantastic bonus.

Finally, all locally stored data is encrypted so even if you’re Chrome book were ever stolen the information is secure.  You can also remotely lock an account by changing the password remotely (although not the entire device).   I have to say, coming from a Windows background, it’s good to see this security built into the operating system - not from add-on anti-virus or security software.

What about storage?
-----------------------
Yes, it’s a bit odd to find your laptop only has 16Gb or 32Gb “hard drive” - actually it’s a solid state disk - much faster, but surprisingly it works very well.

This device is designed to use “cloud” storage.  This means unlike a traditional PC where you store your documents locally (and have to take a back-up copy in case your computer crashes), using this device you store your documents on the web itself.   Google itself provides a service (Google Drive) which gives 15Gb of storage for free, and this can be upgraded to 100Gb for $2 a month (about £1.50 in real money).   If you have a PC or Mac, you can also share your space, so documents can be saved on the PC and read/written from your Chrome book.

There’s hundreds of other storage services available, and like Google Drive, you can access these from a PC, Mac, Android tablet or even an Apple iPad or iPhone.  The only difference is these aren’t as well integrated into Chrome.

So on balance, I’d always tend towards the 16Gb device, save the money and keep the photos, documents and stuff “on the cloud”.

What is bluetooth?
---------------------
Bluetooth is just a posh name for a wireless connection.  Unlike a WIFI connection to a router, this connects your Chrome Book to another device.  One of the most popular is a speaker which is simply a fantastic way to listen to music or the radio streamed from your device.   Sound quality on these is astonishingly good - almost certainly better than the built in speaker.

The best devices I've tested and reviewed at every price point are:-

*  £25 - Lepow Modre - Really cute design, bright colours and impressive sound for the money.
*  £40 - ADX Fusion - Stylish aluminium design and excellent sound quality.  Great value for the money from a small UK based company
*  £60 - Audio Dynamix Atom V2 - Solid build in a beautiful brushed aluminium design with an impressive sound stage.  Incredible value.
*  £90 - Audio Dynamix Pulse V2 - Quirky design, but packs a punch way above its weight.  Incredible sound quality, amazing value.
* £129 - Soundblaster Roar - Fantastic design with tons of features and a great sound
* £160 - Bose Soundlink Mini - Beautifully stylish with a warm and full room filling sound
* £250 - Bose Soundlink V3 - Simple but stylish design with an incredible sound stage
* £400 - Bowers & Wilkins A5 - Mercedes top end HI FI in a bluetooth speaker.  Unlike the others, this is mains only, not rechargable
* £700 - Bowers & Wilkins A7 - Mercedes S Class.  Absolute top end HI FI quality at a price to match

All of these are available on Amazon.  Just “mouse over” the stars for these speakers.  You’ll find in each case 90% of customers rated them at FIVE STARS.  An incredible achievement.  These really are the best speakers in their class as of December 2014.

Is this device any good?
-----------------------------
OK, so firstly you’ve got to put this in context.  This is a budget machine so you can’t expect a top end build in a solid aluminium unibody case.

Having said that it’s pretty impressive specification:-

* Intel Celeron 1.4 Ghz processor.  This is the Intel “Haswell” design in machines costing £1,000+
* 16Gb of “disk” - a super fast Solid State Hard Drive (SSD).  Means it boots up in seconds.
* 4Gb of memory which is double the memory of many of these devices
* 11.6” glossy screen with 1366x768 pixels.
* At 1.3Kg it’s light and portable (not much heavier than a bag of sugar)
* Keyboard is great
* 2 USB ports (both are USB 3.0 - the faster standard)
* HDMI out socket (to plug into an external monitor your your TV)
* WI FI is the absolute latest fastest standard 802.11ac - probably better than your existing router
* Bluetooth is 4.0 (so you can stream music to a wireless speaker)
* Webcam (although be aware you can’t use Skype - a current limitation of Google Chrome)
* SD Card slot - so you can add additional storage if you need it.
* Built in speakers (although not fantastic quality)
* Headphone jack

You also get 100Gb of Google Drive space free for the first two years.

Overall not a bad budget machine which would be great for a young child to surf the web.

However, where this REALLY flies is the speed.  Lets cut to the chase, the chassis is anonymous allbeit professional looking design which shows it's "budget" class pricing.  However, despite all that it’s still probably one of the best Chrome netbooks around because of the Haswell chip - the “brains” of the operation with integrated HD graphics. Combined with the 4Gb of memory (most have half that), it makes for a compeling choice.

In short, if you want the most bang for your buck this is the Chrome book to buy.  Where you’ll really notice this is when you’re playing video (the most demanding task for most of these devices).  Despite playing full HD video this thing just works a treat with no stuttering or lag.  It zips through web pages, and is a dream to use.

OK, so lets put this in context, it’s not going to play a game, a YouTube video and open two dozen tabs and keep going, but you’ll be hard pushed to get this to the max - which you will find with most other Chrome devices - they are after all at the budget end of the spectrum.

Finally, you’ll be absolutely amazed to know the battery life on this device is nothing short of brilliant.  Even when being really pushed hard you can get over 7 hours before you need to plug it in.  If you were to run this just to take notes (for example a student at lectures), you could easily get an incredible 10 hours out of it.

A final word from PC Advisor Magazine who said:  

"Dell’s debut offering is pretty much exactly what most people want from a Chromebook. It’s fast, easily portable, smart looking, features a great keyboard, and even manages to add in a few bells and whistles like the two USB 3.0 ports. If Google’s vision for a laptop fits your needs, then the Chromebook 11 will make you very happy."

Conclusion
-------------
If you want a computer to surf the web, reply to eMails and update your Facebook page, but without all the pain grief and cost of a Windows machine this is highly recommended.    Compared to my old (and incredibly expensive) Windows laptop, this is a breeze to use.  It boots up in seconds, runs for hours and is incredibly simple to use.  It doesn’t need constant software updates or virus checking, and doesn’t need to be backed up.

In short - dump your laptop.  Buy one of these!

Highly Recommended.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
I have owned the Chromebook for around 3 weeks now and am thoroughly impressed. Although it said usually dispatched within 2-3 weeks, I received mine the next working day. Having previously used various iterations of Windows OS on laptops and computers in the past, the elegantly simple Chrome OS is a refreshing change. Further, the forthcoming updates to the OS (including Android app and phone integration and .RAW/.NEF imaging support) will provide a host of solid connectivity options alongside the existing Chromecast extension. Designed with the education sector in mind, the battery life, unusually for laptops, is exactly as described, if not better - I hit 9-10 hours consistently when using WiFi and medium-high screen brightness. While it is a little heavier than other Chromebooks, the substantially improved battery life is worth it for me.

The screen, while nothing particularly exciting, is more than sufficient in terms of resolution and quality (for instance, when watching videos). However, the glossy finish can make it a little difficult to use in direct sunlight (though not impossible), and is definitely something to consider if you will be using it outside regularly. I would definitely recommend purchasing the 4GB model as the extra RAM significantly increases the Chromebook's power. Alongside this, the Chromebook utilises a dual-core Haswell processor which is absolutely ample for any task I have thrown at it, including basic DSLR photo editing using Pixlr or watching 1080p videos via HDMI. Sound quality is, in my opinion, brilliant, especially considering the size and price. The two USB 3.0 ports work extremely well with my external storage devices, as does the SD card reader. Alongside the 16GB SSD, the Chromebook comes with two years free 100GB storage through Google Drive, which is flawlessly integrated into the system.

My main reason for making the purchase is to replace my ageing Samsung Q430 laptop for when I start medical school in October - I needed something powerful to use during lectures and throughout the day without needing a battery charge, something I am confident the Dell Chromebook will do admirably. Overall, if you know exactly what you want a laptop for, and Chrome OS ticks all the boxes, I heartily recommend this Chromebook and Chrome OS.
0Comment|49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
I purchased this as my aged windows 7 laptop finally gave up the ghost, I couldn't face the horror that is windows 8, nor the prices of ioS kit, as lovely as it is.

Being heavily integrated with the Android ecosystem due to owning an Android phone, functioning in the chrome browser 90% of the time when using a laptop, and having chrome casts in the house I decided to give the new generation of Chromebooks a look and I have to say I am glad I did.

I had an early Samsung chrome book around four years ago, but sold it within days. Slow, underdeveloped OS and very limited functionality. I'm very hard to please when it comes to technology.

The Dell has been a revelation in comparison to my old Chromebook.

Pros.

1) Lightening fast boot ups and shutdown, zips through tasks.
2) Great build quality, utilitarian and well made. Like a lenovo of old, that's been on a diet. Top marks here Dell.
3) Good speakers, loud and punchy for a laptop of this size.
4) Above par keyboard and track pad.
5) Genuine 9 hour battery life.
6) Vastly improved OS, I can now Netflix, torrent, use Google docs on and offline. Use my phone as a 3G hotspot for constant connectivity. Everything I did/do on Windows I can do on Chrome alot quicker. Huge amount of applications available in the Chrome store to cover the majority of users needs.
7) Great price.
8) Google Drive 115gb, 16GB SSD storage, coupled with a 64GB Class 10 SD card covers all my storage needs.
9) No anti virus, no constant updates, no Windoze degradation over time.
10) Plays very nicely with Google chrome cast.
11) Great selection of ports and connections.

Cons

1) Irritating fan that can kick in quite often. Not loud, but not expected for a laptop of this size with such small processing requirements.
2) Need to photoshop or run specialist software? If so this is laptop is not for you.
3) The display is not all that, glossy and don't even look at a retina display before you look at this, nothing will compare ha. However it is perfectly suited to normal everyday activities. 1080p videos on YouTube look fine and video streams are easy to watch.
4) No Ethernet.

I read a multitude of reviews on all existing Chromebook offerings. Myself and many others conclude this is currently the best Chromebook available. It was so popular in the USA Dell couldn't keep up with demand and pulled it from sale, choosing to focus on the education market instead.

It ticks alot of boxes and doesn't feel cheap like previous Chromebooks I've held and used.
This has quickly become my go to device at home.

There are a number of new Chromebooks on the way with K1 Tegra chips and even better battery life, screens. HP's new iteration of the HP14 for example, which will soon be available for preorder. But for now I think this laptop is great value for money, once you take the time to get your head round the OS and Chrome Browser. Arguably a machine like this would be the best option for 95% of the general public, not just as a secondary machine, or cheap laptop for your granny, techophobe partner or heavy handed kids!

8.5 out 10.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2015
Having owned a the first arm samsung chromebook, I have been using the chrome os platform for a few years. I am really impressed by this chromebook the build quality is amazing, the keyboard is great for such a small device and the portability of it is great as well. Also I have streamed music in the background with 15 other tabs open one of which was word online and have experience no lag with this chromebook which was a real problem with the samsung arm chromebook.

It is worth noting that while chrome os has come a long way since when I first used it and there was very limited offline functionality, now you have offline apps that enable work to be done without an internet connection. However, there is not always an offline app available for what you want to do and saying that there is not always online apps for everything you want to do either. So I would recommend before you buy one research to see whether you can live without the desktop applications.

Also without using crouton you can only play online games on this device!

If after checking chrome os is suitable for your needs and you are looking for the right chromebook to get this is a very easy recommendation.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
Beware, this is not the 2015 Dell Chromebook 11. It's the 2014 model, which has a different design. This model is sturdy enough, but it's nowhere near as resilient as the 2015 model, which is designed to withstand the abuses of a classroom environment.

That said, the machine works well. It does everything you want smoothly, including playing video, whether streaming from the internet or playing from local storage. The sound quality and volume is good.

The screen has limited viewing angles but if you're alone and sitting straight on it's fine. The most disappointing thing about the laptop, other than the fact that apparently I bought the wrong one, is that the trackpad is poor. It has a kind of matte texture to it which prevents smooth use and scrolling. Another problem with it, which may be the OS rather than the hardware, is that you can't tap to move scroll bars, you have to click. Right-clicking is also a bit of a chore: you have to do a two-fingered tap. It would have been nice to have it so that clicking on the right side of the touchpad was a right click.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
I returned Acer c720 and purchased this after being so disappointed with the c720's build quality. After I received the Dell I was so happy with my decision, the build quality is so much better in comparison. Sure this Dell is much more expensive, but if you actually Google the tear down and see what is the inside the product you will agree with me when I say this Dell is design to last.

If you are on a budget then go get yourself a Acer c720, but if you can spare the money definably invest it in this Dell. It is so much more enjoyable to use. I personally only recommend these two Chromebook right now, the rest are either over priced or just simply not as good.

I thought I'd mention one thing, I was hesitant to buy this after seen the images showing an US keyboard. But don't worry, the keyboard is different to what is listed on the image. It is a UK keyboard.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
Love it. The display has a slight blue tint, which makes it less than perfect. Also, after ~6 months use the screen will not turn on despite being fully charged.

I initially bought this as a secondary laptop for uni, but now I use it full-time.

I enjoy the chrome idea. All I ever use is google chrome anyway. If you need to download/install loads of applications, this is not for you. If you are on the internet 24/7, with good wifi access and with no need to store huge data on an internal hard drive, I would definitely recommend.

It feels so good to not have to install/update an internet protection thingy

BATTERY LIFE IS INCREDIBLE OMG
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
I think that this is currently the best chromebook out there. It looks and feels much better than the price would suggest. The keypad is really nice to use and the touchpad works very well.

The big but with it, as with virtually all CBs is the screen. It is glossy and lacks contrast. You have to have the brightness turned up full to minimise reflections and in a bright room, or with a window behind you, you will spend as much time looking at your own reflection as the screen itself. If you are used to a desktop screen, or an expensive laptop, you will be in for a shock.

On the plus side the performance is great, no lagging even with many tabs open (The original HP 11 Google-designed CB was appalling in this regard and couldn't play any Youtube video smoothly). Supports 2 screens (second one via HDMI). Can easily play full 1080P HD video (although the screen res is actually less than that of course) with no hiccups.

Doesn't play games of course - nothing much to see in the ChromeOS store, at least not until Google lets all Android apps play on ChromeOS (coming).

Much has been made of being tied to Google's infrastructure (Drive, DOCS, GMail etc). This is not true. If you want to you can create a Microsoft account and use Onedrive/Word/Excel/Powerpoint/Onenote online - all for free. Even better, you can use ONLYOFFICE which is more compatible with MS Office than even MS's Office online. It can also open and edit files directly from both Onedrive and Google drive - so no irritating having to download and upload files first. Did I say that this is also free?

Much has also been made of the speed these machines boot up and shut down. This is somewhat misleading. I have a Lenovo Z580 (i.e quite old) which now has an SSD and runs Windows 8.1. It boots up just a few seconds slower (12 vs 7 to the logon screen) and shuts down quicker. So if you are comparing this to a modern Windows 8.1 laptop this is not an argument to go with a CB.

The other thing to be aware of is the subject of viruses. True, no-one has managed to infect ChromeOS yet. But the easy way in to steal passwords and so on is via browser plugins. Google makes no attempt to regulate what is in their stores, so if you look up calculators, for example, you will find plenty that ask for permission to access and read all the information you type into any web screen anywhere. Check carefully what you install from Google's store and keep to the bare minimum.

As many have said, CBs are great for ease of use, quick to start and stop, if your only computer use is via the web. Won't replace a Windows/Mac system if your needs go beyond that.

Having said all that, this is a great CB if that is what you need.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
Have owned this device for the best part of a year, and it has taken that long to form a clear enough view of it to write a review.

Let me say upfront - it's a great machine, and at the moment I am seriously thinking of using this instead of a tablet. I'd endorse the plus points other reviews mention - fast boot time, speed of response, and portability. Anything you can do on a tablet, this will do more quickly and whilst its bigger than most tablets (and my model does not have touchscreen) its much better to use (for example) on a train journey. My main use of tablets on the move is playing music, and the hardware advantages of the Dell compared with most tablets make it a more satisfying user experience, especially in relation to battery life. Pair the Chromebook up with mobile broadband via a 4G smartphone and you are more than good to go for a day return journey.

My computing habits mean that the Chromebook won't be replacing the Windows laptop just yet, however. I think I've gotten used to having to work in the cloud for document editing and suchlike, though I'm not wild about Google Docs for creating and editing Office-compatible files - in my experience it's hit and miss, though if you have a OneDrive account you can use the scaled down online Office 365 as a workaround which works, albeit with a few quirks.

For my needs, there are two main limitations to the Chromebook. One is photo-editing - there are apps like Pixlr and Polarr which are fine if you work mainly with JPEGs, but if you edit RAW formats (I use Olympus) they're more limited, and I have found myself going back to Photoshop for the finished product. So if your photo editing needs go beyond the odd retouch, you might find Chromebooks not quite there. There is also a known issue with the CPU that comes with my model which means that apps crash regularly if I edit pics in RAW format and play music at the same time, which I do a lot.

Music is the second limitation for me with Chromebooks, I'm into my music and present a radio show so I work with a large music library. The Chromebook is great for music playback (Enjoy Music Player is a great app, up with Android's PowerAmp) - but there is nothing I have found for library management (tagging and sorting) and the audio editing apps don't compare with Audacity and similar programmes. So if you have a large mp3 collection, you may find that you do your sorting and editing on your PC or laptop, leaving the Chromebook for playback.

I don't mind these limitations too much - as others have said, the Chromebook is ideally suited to the secondary machine role. It's way more portable that my main (now ancient) laptop, and once you get your head around working in the cloud the Dell is a great machine to use, and I'd definitely think about an upgrade to a more powerful chip even though the Celeron handles everything with ease. If what you do is surf, watch, post, and listen. I would strongly recommend a Chromebook - this is my first, and on the basis of my experience I'd definitely look at another Dell. It's great value for money given what it does and how it does it - my particular needs mean that I still have a use for a more powerful Windows device, but that's to complement the Chromebook rather than replace it. So a definite thumbs-up from me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 39 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)