Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good story.... awful cover.
Terrible cover....Good Story!

At just £0.77 it is a bargain and a half, and I really hope this is the loss leader intro to a series, and having said that I will state that the style, blocky paragraphs and told in the first party, does not allow much engagement with the other characters as they cannot develop much in the way of depth, but it is a good story, a...
Published 11 months ago by Bedtime Reader

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good-ish
I mostly enjoyed this book, although the 'first person' format took some getting used to. Story good, and main character believable. Biggest gripe is the recurring bad grammar. Fix that and you'd have an excellent book.
Published 11 months ago by Pat Ellisdon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good story.... awful cover., 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yorktown: Katana Krieger #1 (Kindle Edition)
Terrible cover....Good Story!

At just £0.77 it is a bargain and a half, and I really hope this is the loss leader intro to a series, and having said that I will state that the style, blocky paragraphs and told in the first party, does not allow much engagement with the other characters as they cannot develop much in the way of depth, but it is a good story, a good yarn and when you get beyond that style of writing it is thoroughly enjoyable.

We have a contemporary feel as regards the attitude of the military to the politicians, and the arrogant contempt for everybody else that the modern day politician, who has never served a second in harms-way, projects with glaring clarity whenever the spin slips.

New vessel provided by the lowest bidder and expected to achieve greater things than reasonably practicable.

Non-PC Skipper, who likes a drink or two.

Encounter with a hostile race.

Space battles.

Who could ask for more?

I have never heard of Bill Robinson before ( 'Will Robinson' Lost in Space?) but he/she has a sense of humour, and he/she knows how to write an engaging tale.

Books ARE judged by their covers and many readers will move on without giving it a second shudder, so the storytelling loses out to a stock cover and your readership base starts smaller than it could be. The trouble is having the £300-£500 for a decent cover artist (as opposed to the phony variety and the time waster, of whom I speak from experience.) But there are far worse covers out there. I looked up Bill's other work and they too would probably sell an awful lot better with non-stock covers.

I am looking forward to more, with hopefully a bit of depth in the other players. (Readers chose favourites they can empathise with.)

Read it, you will not be disappointed.

Andy Farman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 4 Sept. 2014
By 
steve b (wolverhampton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yorktown: Katana Krieger #1 (Kindle Edition)
I just love big ships and big battles. This doesn`t disappoint. Real behind the scenes politics and idiot superiors, just as it always has been in every military. As a Brit, I was a bit miffed (Brit slang) at the description of our navy. It was an accurate description of the ships during ww2 (when this story compared with). A situation that was forced by money and not dogma. I hope that the sequal is just as good (and doesn`t insult us any more).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent military science fiction, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yorktown: Katana Krieger #1 (Kindle Edition)
This book is perfect for those who want combat and physics to a believable standard basing of today's tech, however the jump/FTL method does sit a little unconventionaly. The plot itself is well written and is based in a believable universe that has a convincing back story to it. There are a few grammar errors throughout the book but nothing worth worrying over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars so finding a rip-roaring pageturner like this was a very enjoyable experience, 14 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yorktown: Katana Krieger #1 (Kindle Edition)
What a surprise this book was. I confess to not expecting too much for the price, and hadn't read any books by the author before, so finding a rip-roaring pageturner like this was a very enjoyable experience. Looking forward to reading more in the series as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aliens using zombie humans, 6 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yorktown: Katana Krieger #1 (Kindle Edition)
Well written, military science fiction with lots of subplots. Awful aliens using zombie humans, great grasp of the physics of space warfare. I really enjoyed this book up there with the best, I hope to find more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good-ish, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yorktown: Katana Krieger #1 (Kindle Edition)
I mostly enjoyed this book, although the 'first person' format took some getting used to. Story good, and main character believable. Biggest gripe is the recurring bad grammar. Fix that and you'd have an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent novel, 13 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. R. Davies "Raptor" (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yorktown: Katana Krieger #1 (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed reading this book, it had a good story that was well written and I liked the first person narrative. I can honestly say that I'm looking forward the next book. A well deserved 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very well written and a good story. Some people will not like the first ..., 27 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yorktown: Katana Krieger #1 (Kindle Edition)
Very well written and a good story. Some people will not like the first person style but for me it was a refreshing change. I look forward to further books in the series. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good. I enjoyed it; a page-turner, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yorktown: Katana Krieger #1 (Kindle Edition)
Good. I enjoyed it. Best out there? No; but more than good enough - I'd want to buy Book #2. This was a page-turner; burnt though in 48 hours and enjoyed every minute. :) Enough said !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yorktown, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yorktown: Katana Krieger #1 (Kindle Edition)
Days of Pirates and Corsairs transposed to Sci-Fi. Bags of swashbuckling action and intrigue to keep your attention from start to finish. Ignore the typos, there are a few just enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yorktown: Katana Krieger #1
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews