Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended and unique CD!
Outstanding debut CD from up-and-coming South African soprano Pumeza Matshikiza. This unique CD features Pumeza singing arias from operas such as La Boheme, Turandot and Don Giovanni as well as traditional South African songs and songs made famous by the great Miriam Makeba.
Her inspirational life story from growing up in the townships of Cape Town to singing in the...
Published 9 months ago by Peter Fagerlind

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars She has a wonderful voice and I enjoyed the CD
She has a wonderful voice and I enjoyed the CD. However I think there were too many songs of her own country and not easy listening. Perhaps later she will make a CD with some light opera that the public can easily follow
Published 7 months ago by Diana Tucker


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended and unique CD!, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voice Of Hope (Audio CD)
Outstanding debut CD from up-and-coming South African soprano Pumeza Matshikiza. This unique CD features Pumeza singing arias from operas such as La Boheme, Turandot and Don Giovanni as well as traditional South African songs and songs made famous by the great Miriam Makeba.
Her inspirational life story from growing up in the townships of Cape Town to singing in the opera houses of Europe comes to life in the tracks on this CD.
Highlight "classical" tracks ( all the tracks are magnificent though!) include O Mio Babbino Caro and Donde Lieta Usci from La Boheme.
All of the South African pieces are amazing including the famous Makeba song Pata Pata.
The magnificent Thula Baba, a lullaby in Xhosa and Zulu and the famous wedding song,Click Song,featuring the Xhosa click consonants are outstanding. For sheer vocal and orchestral beauty the track Lakutshon'ilanga (When The Sun Sets), the song that made Makeba famous in the 1959 film Come Back, Africa, is hauntingly beautiful featuring amazing lyrics and orchestration featuring the sounds of nature and seagulls!
The bonus track is Freedom, Come All Ye that Pumeza sang very recently at the opening ceremony of the Commonwealth Games to great acclaim.
In summary, a great CD with a very informative booklet including all the lyrics and translations and introductions by Pumeza herself. It also features some great photos of her.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope fulfilled..., 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voice Of Hope (Audio CD)
This is a truly uplifting album and one that I would recommend to anyone. Pumeza Matshikza's voice is angelic and rings out with clarity and maturity whether singing popular classic arias or introducing the listener to the music that has inspired her since childhood in South Africa. The lilting Thula Thula and Malaika and delightful, as are those tracks associated with the great Miriam Makeba. And for those who saw her perform at the Opening Ceremony of the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow this summer, the bonus track, Freedom Come All Ye, will bring back happy memories.
Voice of Hope is just that and one that is set to be a great voice of the future too. Enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusually the non operatic songs sit comfortably alongside the well chosen Arias, 5 Aug. 2014
By 
H. Bruce "music lover" (edin scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Voice Of Hope (Audio CD)
Hear this young lady for the first time signi9ng at the opening of Commonwealth Games and was enchnated by the beauty of her voice so took a chnace on the CD. quite simply one of the purest and mesemerisng voices I've heard in a longtime. Unusually the non operatic songs sit comfortably alongside the well chosen Arias. A big big star for years to come. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God Bless Africa, 29 July 2014
This review is from: Voice Of Hope (Audio CD)
What a fantastic most beautiful, most Angelic voice, I have ever heard singing OPERA!!! Nam Myoho Renge Kyo, LONG may you continue bringing peace and joy to all who hear your beautiful voice....be true to yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful voice, quite Callasesque at times, 24 Aug. 2014
By 
M. A. Hewings "Kentish Marmite" (Solihull UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voice Of Hope (Audio CD)
Beautiful voice , quite Callasesque at times. Strange mixture of songs , I'm not sure her beautifully trained classical voice works on all the traditional African songs but a very interesting introduction to a new ( to me at least) star of the future. I look forward to hearing more from her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine Diva who hopefully will be discovered by the world., 13 Nov. 2014
By 
P. Brown (North West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voice Of Hope (Audio CD)
Having heard and seen this young artist on TV during the Commonwealth games the CD proved that I heard correctly. What a wonderful fresh voice of power, strength and feeling. A fine Diva who hopefully will be discovered by the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The opera singing is easy on the ear, 29 Oct. 2014
By 
Derek Stiles (Bury St Edmunds) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Voice Of Hope (Audio CD)
relaxing to listen to Pumez's voice. The opera singing is easy on the ear. It makes you value the background that she has come from. From poverty to entertaining all kinds of people in the opera houses of the world. .It was a real pleasure to listen to Pumeza and take in her singing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What a voice!, 21 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voice Of Hope (Audio CD)
Excellent first album...some good tracks including the brilliant version of Hamilton's Freedom Come all ye, but a bit mixed with too much variation in content. It would have been even better if the themes were clearer rather than a bit of everything. But what a voice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Treat yourself, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After seeing her in concert I had to buy this and was not disappointed. I love the emotion in her voice compared to other singers. The mix of African songs was a delight to hear too...recommend. I want to see her live again now too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars She has a wonderful voice and I enjoyed the CD, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voice Of Hope (Audio CD)
She has a wonderful voice and I enjoyed the CD. However I think there were too many songs of her own country and not easy listening. Perhaps later she will make a CD with some light opera that the public can easily follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Voice Of Hope
Voice Of Hope by Pumeza Matshikiza (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews